Milwaukee, WI 
Brown Deer DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 224ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course!

5+    5/15/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: droppedthenuke
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Multiple basket placements. Makes it fun, unless it's not in your favorite position.

- Lots of tight wooded holes that are a nice change of pace in the area.

- Great variety of holes. Anywhere from grip and rip to conrol and finesse. and every where inbetween.

- Despite the heavy traffic in the park, the course is designed well so that no one is in your way.

- Great, large tee pads.

-Great mix of shots. Bring everything in your bag for sure.
Cons: - Blind holes you can't see the pin. Not too good. Some people may like it, but I'd rather know what/how to throw.

-Horrid signage. Only the hole number, nothing else.

-Sometimes an idiot will wander onto the course. SEE ABOVE.

- Sometimes people there are a bit, loud, obnoxious. But hey, thats milwaukee.
Other Thoughts: For sure the best course in the area. A must play if you're in town.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 best in Milwaukee

2-4    5/9/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 711  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mix of wooded and open (bomber) holes should suit all styles of play, i.e. this is a good tourney course, that tour players will feel tests their overall skills. Technical players and big arms, will each believe they have an advantage on certain holes.
Dual pin placements. These seemed split rather evenly between long and short when we were there.
Shot shaping required on most holes. No shortage of length, even on the "shorter" holes. No pitch and putt going on here. Often, baskets that are reachable, are defined by forcing low ceiling shots, or something similar, to gain access to pin. This requires a skip at the end of a good line, to actually get to pin.
My roller is currently not in good form; but Brown Deer offers opportunities to use a roller shot on just about all of the long holes.
Bonzai trees on #11 and #12 (some sort of pines) are exquisite. I have a feeling that the course ideas here were begun with these holes; i.e. designer said, these MUST be part of the course.
Long hole that finishes at top of hill....has a fence behind pin; but, locals have broken/dismantled a 10 foot section of fence;; directly behind pin. Big arms can overshoot this pin and find themselves at the bottom of the hill, with a tough, 60+ foot shot back up the hill. Nice touch.
Course represents right and left favored holes equally.
Lots of putts/upshots with trees in play on the non open holes. Brown Deer utilizes this feature much better than Dredzka's more open pin placements.
Cons: Long, bomber holes are kind of plain; but, that's what bomber holes are about. Gold level players may feel there should be a finishing difficulty that is not present? Most of them require some shaping to get to desired landing area, for mere mortal players. Less than gold level players may find these plain; but the rest of us will be forced to make a good shot to get to landing area; followed by another long, quality shot to get near pin; and a good putt for a three.
Signs are nice looking; and add to the overall golf course feel of this course. However, there is no footage, nor hole diagrams. Signs simply have number for hole and attractive oak leaf; that is park logo.
One set of tees.
Primarily flat course. I don't really hold this against Brown Deer; as you only have, what you have, to work with. However, it can't earn any bonus points for elevation or water in play.
No directional markers. After #2, you must cross the park road to find #3. Somewhere around #12, there is also an unmarked road crossing required. The first crossing is right near the main lot and so you should be able to ask a local. Cross the road by the lot and stay to the left of the pond and enter woods on path to left if no one is around.
Other Thoughts: This course is close to a 4.5; or more properly, it should be noted that it's a strong 4 rating. Less than stellar signage, slight navigational issues, single tees, and lack of terrain available make rating this one as a slightly less than very top course appropriate.
With this said, anyone coming to Milwaukee should play Brown Deer and Dredzka and consider themselves blessed.
This course is played fairly heavily, but is a breeze, compared with the much more played Dredzka.
Original Brown Deer course was beat up as heck looking, with baskets falling over and glass and litter everywhere; by the time it went extinct. By comparison, this course is beautiful, visually. Gorgeous trees, and green grass everywhere....a course with a ball golf look, feel, but lots of technical, wooded holes.
54, for mere mortals, is a good score here. Under par, is an open rated round. If you save the bomber holes, and hit your lines in the wooded portions, it is possible though.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 First time played

1    4/27/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: ThomasOrion
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging, but nothing too extreme.
Most of the holes are long enough to be able to use all 3 types of disc. Driver, Mid, and Putter. Which I really like, because on many courses i seem to use my mid's mostly and never get to bust out my drivers.
A mix of tree trunks, pine trees, open field and little nooks. There was one long hole that shot through a row of tree's then opened up and slightly went downhill, then there are wide spaced larger trees with the pin in a circled area kinda open. it had to of been a par 4 at least.

Its a fun course, not too many pedestrians and not too crazy of elevation and muck. So for being challenging, its really not too bad.

Fun, give it a try, the only reason I can't rate it a 4 or 5 is because I've played nicer courses before, but 3.5 is very good in my opinion.
Cons: I luckily went with a person who has played it enough.
If this was your first time without a "guide" good luck, there are a few holes that are hard to find the next, and at least a few holes where you might think one pin is your target when it totally isn't. SO, other than not knowing where to aim, and not being able to see the pin to a whole every time, its good.
but that can get frustrating.
Other Thoughts: word

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Brown Deer for Beginners

1    5/14/2009   2/14/2010
Review By: tbone618
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Long and tricky holes. A variety of holes types for every player. Fun for groups of varied experience.
Cons: Very narrow wooded areas makes it difficult.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful and complex course. Difficult for beginners, but awesome for moderates.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Trees are humbling...

5+    9/15/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: timmi_g
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.2 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -challenging course.
-nice tee pads.
-alt pin placements are nice, & change hole completely.
-lot's of shade on the warmer days. (comes at the cost of a lot of trees though)
-some shots are just grip it & rip it.
-some tight control shots as well.
-well rounded, tough 18 to play.
-bathroom near several holes. (the boat house thing)
-surprisingly, there are not many mosquitoes in this park.
Cons: -tons of trees, not really a beginner course.
-lots of traffic on the soccer fields in the summer, but it really only effects 2, maybe 3 holes.
-could use some signage updating.
-I'm of the mind they need to remove that tree blocking 1... (how about you?)
Other Thoughts: This is one of the first courses I played on regularly when I picked up some discs again in '07.
Nice 18 hole course to play. Starting here, then hitting Dretzka, a few miles away, is a good afternoon of throwing plastic. Browendeer kicks your ass, then you have the game of your life @ Dretzka.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult 18 holes

1    8/28/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 20.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of variety. Also lets you air it out in several places. Holes in the woods have some very majestic looking trees. First hole has an enormous tree intersecting the fairway, about 10 feet above ground. This is a really cool looking hole, and I can see why they tried to keep two holes in this area.
Cons: Somewhat tough to navigate your first time. Even the printable map is a bit inaccurate in 2-3 places. With the map, you should be O.K. however. Two holes are labeled as Pro par 4's. Holes 7 & 9 are both 700 ft of wide open driving, followed by a somewhat demanding second or third shot.
Other Thoughts: Finally got around to playing all 18 holes in the order they are supposed to be played in. Home course being Dretzka, I'll shoot a -2 to +2 there. My first round at Brown Deer today was a +22. That's right.... Granted, I was on my lunch break, and hurried through it solo, I found it very tough to park my second shot withing 25 feet of the pin. This is a course you'll want to put at least two hours aside to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wooded challenge - nuf said

5+    6/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has lots of woods and lots of distance. I love this combination. Besides just lots of woods, there are some very unique and majestic trees here. On 14-16 there are many red pines that are shaped like giant banzai trees. Throughout the park there are huge majestic pines, oaks, and maples.
The wooded holes here offer extreme challenge through tight tunnels with tough rough on either side and a canopy overhead. Of note are holes 1, 12, and 16 which offer some pretty good distance through very tight corridors. Other wooded holes are a bit shorter and offer diversity with left and right balance.
There is a small muck hole on #4 but it isn't much of a unique water hazard.
Hole 7 and 9 let you air it out with 500'+ length, although 7 is pretty bland.
The use of multiple pin placements (2-3) seems to be a Milwaukee staple, and offers great variety.
The crowds here are far less than at Dretzka. The course is extremely more challenging than Dineen and Dretzka. There are alternate pin placements but just one tee.
Cons: Just one tee. In a city park like this with lots of ability to draw local younger players who can walk or bike, and also families, dual tees are a huge benefit to newcomers and ams to get them more interested in the sport, rather than tackling such a hge challenge from the long tees, and/or hoping pin placements are short.
There are a few holes which lack character and give you the same ol' feel of playing in a city park (#10 & 11 mostly). The signs are very neat, little mini-Milwaukee County parks signs on every tee. However they do not have distance or any depiction of the hole (UPDATE - some local player took it upon himself (or herself, or themselves) to make very nice hand painted depictions of the hole along with distances to all pins - VERY NICE!).
It is a bit difficult to find #1 so you'll have to look, finding some other holes could be difficult your first time too. The concrete tees are pretty poorly installed. Apparently the county would not allow deeper excavation due to tree roots. Thus, tees are slightly elevated and there is a lip on all sides which you could roll an ankle on. They are also not extermely long (the best concrete pads are like landing strips, but not these). The woodchips along the edges do little to help the problem.
As with any city of Milwaukee course, trash is a major problem.
There is not much elevation here, and not even good use of many of the sharper changes in elevation or more unique terrain except the ridge in the woods for hole 16. Greens here are lacking good risk, and are old school style wide open for the most part.
The use of multiple pins impedes the ability to judge how well you've thrown relative to other rounds because the combinations are endless (pins move seemingly without reason or pattern, unlike alternating even-short, odd-long, for example). For a 'numbers geek' like me, this annoys me a bit not being able to compare round to round because the layout changes every day.
Other Thoughts: I truly believe this is the Milwaukee course avid disc golfers should play. It offers more challenge and more variety than the other courses imo. The course is mostly flat, even flatter than Dretzka, but uses some of the few ridges in the park. There is not much of a water hazard here either. It would be nice if the trash was kept up (yeah we know the useless and worthless litterers won't help any). Without drastic elevation, water, and OB uniqueness, and being in the middle of a big city without the quiet and beautiful peacefulness of a remote setting, I can't rate the course higher.
My rating is based slightly on personal opinion that I like this best of all Milwaukee courses, but relative to my other reviews and favorites, a 4 is fitting for Brown Deer, not quite a 4.5 but definitely one of my favorite 3.5-4 disc courses.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A Top-Notch Course In a Top-Notch Park

1    6/14/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. Holy crap, do you need to have EVERY shot in your arsenal to score well out here! Tight wooded corridors (early and late trouble), long open holes, doglegs, gentle elevation, blind shots, and more will challenge even a seasoned veteran.
2. Beautiful, well-manicured park. Brown Deer is a HUGE park, very well-cared for, and your first visit here will likely net a few surprises. Awesome variety of trees and wildlife, mowed and trimmed fairways, just a very scenic area. I think I remarked, "Man, what a beautiful park!" 6 or 7 times throughout my round.
3. Concrete tees. You'll need a stable, reliable teeing surface on most of these holes, which the course designers were considerate enough to include.
4. Trash cans/tables at every tee. This feature can never be underappreciated in a heavily used park. There were actually several trash cans at many holes, and people seem to use logic and separate their trash and recyclables. Awesome.
5. Probably the most challenging course I've played in this part of the state. The tight wooded holes aren't just finesse shots where you can take an easy 2...you've gotta be on point (or very lucky) to get anywhere close on your tee shot. Even if your drive manages to weave through without hitting many trees, chances are your approach will wind up leaving you with many more trees to navigate in the last 40 or 50 feet, so play smart. Not a course for a round of speed golf.
Cons: 1. Signage, or lack thereof. While there is a nicely sculpted wooden sign at every tee, there are no directional signs telling you where to go after you hole out, and it can be confusing walking from 2 to 3, as well as in a few other areas. Also, there is no hole layout indicated on the signs, which can sometimes be confusing (for example, Hole #6 is a sharp dogleg right, but the basket of #9 is the only thing visible off the tee, and we almost shot to that basket had it not been for the help of some friendly locals to steer us in the right direction). Bring a course map!
2. The longest holes are also just wide open, very little risk/reward involved, just a few big-arm throws to take a 3 or 4 (the latter in my case, which I was content with).
3. It would have been awesome to see some water holes out here, or maybe have them utilize some of the bigger elevation in the transition holes (7-10), but I can't really complain. I wasn't even wishing for that DURING my round; I just had to think of another "con" to place here, but I guess it's more of an afterthought/suggestion.
Other Thoughts: I went out with my wife and kids, and while they enjoyed the beauty of the park and walking through the woods, it was an extremely frustrating course for them. I'm not saying to avoid bringing the family with, but make sure you can occupy your children with something if they're not REALLY into disc golf. This is a long, extremely challenging course that requires thought and planning for nearly every shot. Don't expect to just "wing it" and take a decent score.

UPDATE: In retrospect, this course falls a bit short of the other 4.5s I have played in the last 3 years, so I am adjusting my rating (not the review, at least until I get back to play again) to reflect this perspective.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A for Awesome!

2-4    7/27/2007   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A (Overall, the wooded holes are superb! Even the open holes have tricky approaches to the pin that can punish you hard for lack of execution. I mark down this category from an A+ to an A since 5 & 14 present too much "poke and hope" dumb luck.)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A+ (This course was designed for me!....and people of my skill level. 5 & 15 are a little too easy to be really rewarding deuces, but that is more than made up for by the rest of the course.)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A (Great variety of holes that take perfect throws along a typical flight path, but also a lot that force creatively weird yet make-able flight paths. Terrain and water are the only things missing.)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A- (There is a county club feeling to this course - nice!)
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == B- (Hole 6 is the best - an incredible S shaped hole that requires a well placed drive off a wide open tee, but then a very touchy approach to a wooded basket. 7 is a little ho-hum although the trees near the basket add a little punishment and force you to make a loooong drive if you want an easy birdie 3. Ditto on 9, but the dense shrubbery near the basket will exact even more punishment for errant approaches than the trees on 7. The only thing missing on the course in the multi-shot area is 1-3 more good dogleg holes.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

Check out this video I made for a friend of mine in honor of his 1020 rated final round in AM Worlds 2007. It gives a good feel for the course: http://www.charlottedgc.com/f...WithHenry.wmv

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bring A Flannel Shirt, You're Going LumberJacking

2-4    5/15/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A painted post at every tee. All concrete pads. Baskets in mostly good shape. Course mowed regularly.

From the first hole to the last, this course will push the limits of your distance and control, often at the same time. Most of the holes are 3-able, except for the two monster 4's. For many of the holes, its a stretch to make par. Often two good drives are needed, or a good, laser-accurate drive through trees followed by a long uphsot. There are several birdies opportunities here, on at least 7 holes, but accuracy and at least moderate length are required to give yourself a chance. Usually you need a big (300+), strategically placed drive to set this up.

One thing I appreciate about this course is that parking the basket from the tee is not a given goal, as you see all too often on many courses. Birdies are available, but not easy, and many holes are extremely hard to deuce. You won't hear "ace run" and "Brown Deer" in the same sentence, because this course has no freebies. You will tee off with a driver on every hole here, and you will need accuracy to shoot well. The shule is thick and punishing, and the holes are too, and there are lots of trees to hit. Several holes will force quite specifically shaped shots to weave through the trees. The tunnels here are some of the hardest I've played, probably in part because they are so long. This course also forces some long curved tunnels as well, which is both challenging and interesting.

This is one of the top five hardest courses I've ever played, eclipsed by the likes of Justin Trails Big Brother & Oak Meadow Park (TX).I think it's no coincidence it also ranks among the longest as well.

Despite a lack of extreme terrain, this course is not flat, and delivers several holes where elevation is a factor, including the giant hill on hole 7's fairway, and the downhill slope of the following hole. However, those are just side notes to the bread and butter of this course, distance and trees. While most courses will cut you a break on length on the more technical heavily wooded sections, this course gleefully torments you with long, technical holes, and mostly longer open holes. This course uses distance as an effective weapon, forcing players to control distance drives, a difficult combo to be sure, and is always waiting to punish you when you let a wild one get away from you.

You will need to curve your long range drivers both directions, throw straight, and shape shots through some narrow tree routes to shoot effectively on this course. If you fail to do even one of these things, you are in for a frustrating round. I shot a +16, and still felt like I played pretty well, so get excited about par's here.

This course will push you, and takes awhile to play. If you are tired of throwing midranges off the tee, this is your spot. Plenty of chances to rip it in wide open fields, and plenty more to try to shoot one through the gauntlet.

Several of the holes on this course are technical and challenging enough that they would be signature holes on most courses, but here, they are the standard. Not that the holes blur together, but they are just all that hard, so no single one sticks out. Holes one and two are quite hard to start off with, but this course never switches to autopilot.
Cons: While most of the wooded holes are tricky and quite interesting, the open holes in the field area, including the two 600ft ones, are all wide open and pretty boring. They are just that, long open holes, with no intrigue and little strategy. To me, it feels like this course has a few too many of that type of hole. Distance prevails on this course. blah.

Signage. After driving around the park trying to figure out where to park, I found hole 3. I looked and didn't find hole 1 or 2, not realizing they were across the street. There is no course map at the start, and the first two holes being separate from the rest of the course was a bit confusing. Plus, Tee 1 is hidden behind the tired-looking tennis courts without any signs or arrows pointing towards it.

The tee signs are simply posts with a neat leaf decal and the hole number on them, nothing else. This got frustrating after the first few holes, since I was sometimes not sure where the next teepad was, or what basket to shoot on, especially once I got out into the field, where you can see about 4 different baskets, none of which are numbered.
(HINT: Shoot at the one furthest to the right first. A few holes later you'll end up shooting at the second from the right basket, then third from the right, and so on.)

I would've liked to have at least known the distances of the holes before throwing, but the signs don't even have that.

Also, the fact that there were only one set of teepads was a bit of a letdown to me. Not that this course needs longer teepads, and every hole is well-designed to be played from the current tees, and I'm not sure you could install short tees that dont just eliminate the fun of these holes (an ailment Beaver Dam suffers from), but the added variety would've added to the replay value.

Also, some of the locals said there were alt pins on at least some holes, some of them EVEN longer than the current placements, which they just use for tournaments. Ok, but it seems like it would be nice if there were even two pin placements they switched it between for regular play as well, like many lesser courses have.

Yes, this course is long, and that does make it tougher. It also has many technical holes, most of which are also longer. This is like a regular course, just stretched. The technical wooded tunnel shots that would be 200ft on most courses are 250+ here (im guessing, since there are no marked distances on the signs), so often 3's evoke a sigh of relief. At even harder courses like Justin Trails Big Brother, you shoot over par on a hole because the holes are technical and difficult, here you shoot over because they are fairly technical and long. There's a difference, and this course uses length almost as a crutch at times (holes 7 & 9)

Another thing to watch out for on this course is drainage. After a rain, this course holds water, and has lots of muddy areas. Even the times I've got in a water hazard after a disc, I'm not sure I got much muddier that I did playing here. There is only standing water in a few bad spots, but the ground is gets soggy everywhere, and clumps on your shoes, if you wear something with grip like hiking boots. It was annoying to scrape off my shoes several times each round, but this is not the worse drainage I've seen on a course (see: Tom Bass, Agnes Moffitt, TC Jester - Houston, TX)

After everything I had heard about this course, it being the best one in Milwaukee, super-hard, and so on, I was surprised, and a bit disappointed by the basic nature of this course's amenities, compared to Dretzka.

If this course was as well maintained as Dretzka, with hole maps, dual tees, and even just two pin positions per hole, and maybe some more intrigue on the 600ft holes, this could be an amazing course. As it stands now, its a beast, but not quite as much fun or nice as Drezka, in conclusion. Its still a close second though, for all the tricky and unique wooded holes contained herein
Other Thoughts: Most courses have that one hole. You know, the longer hole that's still pretty technical in some way, the one that shipwrecks or saves many a round.At Dretzka it's Hole 17, at Parkside its Hole 16, at Acorn Park its Hole 9, . This course keeps heaping on more and more of those holes until your head spins, like a monkey sitting in a tree throwing wrenches at you while you tee off. It's a great thing about this course, but sometimes it seems a little excessive. Many of the holes here, if they were 50 ft shorter, would still be hard, so sometimes it feels like overkill, but some course had to hold the title of hardest course in Milwaukee, and Brown Deer is the undisputed Heavyweight Champion, like Andre the Giant in contrast with midget Valley View, on the other end of the length spectrum. Welcome to Brown Deer, meet the 800 lb gorilla.

Many people would say this is the toughest and best course in milwaukee. I only agree with half of that statement, just because Dretzka is so good across the board that it edges out BD for best.

IMO this course has 14-15 cool holes, that are mostly quite technical and challenging.
Then there's wide open 6, 7, & 9
6 is longish and forgettable
9 is super long, but forgettable
7 is boring wide open at the start and middle, but the pin is in an interesting stand of trees next to a giant hill, which makes it alrite.
I've got no problem with open holes. The lone 600ft monster at Anna Page is okay. But not two of them in one course (plus another wide open hole).

However, the details are mainly what hold back this course, the signage in particular. This is not an FTF course, and as difficult as it is to boot, that makes it extra non-FTF. Most courses, even some of the more challenging ones, I feel like I could bring a novice player, and they would enjoy it. Not this one. If this course is just an exercise in frustration for you, you're not ready, mentally and/or skill-wise. But for players with some experience, this is a good place to test your mettle, and get a good reminder what humble pie tastes like, when this course gives you a face full of it.

CAUTION: Wear close-toed shoes on this course. Many of the wooded holes, #2 in particular, are full of small stumps that would be easy to stub toes or roll ankles on, so WATCH YOUR STEP.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.