Milwaukee, WI 
Brown Deer DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 191ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Milwaukee's Beast

5+    5/10/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: jdowsett
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brown Deer is without question the best disc golf offering in Milwaukee if you are seeking a challenge. The first two holes are very intimidating and set the tone for the course. Holes 7 and 9 make you bring out the big guns each at well over 600 feet across a valley. After a couple of a holes out in the open you return to chutes in the woods that are manageable but very challenging.

The course is in a great location in a beautiful park, and is very well maintained. There are concrete pads and signs denoting the hole number at each hole. It is probably the least crowded of all the Milwaukee courses and waiting has never been an issue.
Cons: There are a few downsides to Brown Deer most of which could be fixed with relative ease. Mostly being course navigation and tee signs that show the distance and location of the pin. Unfortunately there are also no water hazards or much elevation change to speak of.
Other Thoughts: All in all Brown Deer provides a varied, challenging, and fun disc golf experience, and is a must play if in the Milwaukee area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fan and challenge in Milwaukee

5+    9/30/2008   5/6/2009
Review By: beardown4life
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The magical forest... A lot of course goes through tall trees with minimal low brush which makes it easy to find retrieve discs. some tight squeezes and some grip and rippers.
Cons: very minimal elevation change and no water hazards for extra entertainment. Other than that you can't really complain about this well kept course.
Other Thoughts: Very quality course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Milwaukee

5+    5/15/2011   5/3/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) This is by far the best overall course in Milwaukee in my opinion. It has most ingredients that I factor in when evaluating courses.

2) Lots of challenges forcing accurate shot making and less power (except the couple of wide open holes across the field.

3) Even though most of the holes run through the woods, they each have their own special character. Well positioned trees create forced shotmaking skills. This always adds to the fun factor and challenge.

4) Some holes go left to right, some go right to left, some are dead straight, but they all require some thought before you tee off. The straight ones are not necessarily easy either because of trees guarding the baskets, or the two wide open ones are so darn long they are definitely not par 3's for most players of the game.

5) Nice concrete tee pads, nice baskets, and nice wood signs indicating hole helping with navigation. (It would be nice to have a hole layout and distance on the very nice signs. They are true to the Milwaukee County Signage with Brown painted posts and signs with yello writing. it is their character (poop brown wow who thought of that back in the day)

6) Massive swing in distance between longest and shortest. Over 700' on one hole and 660' on another, down to one hole under 200 at about 185'. That really will change the discs you want to throw which makes it more fun.

7) Massive course in a massive park. The disc golf is pretty well shielded from other activites except one or two holes that open up into an open field. on a nice sunny day I would imagine people out in this field, and also some soccer fields on another hole or two, other than that the disc golf course has its own property basically.
Cons: 1) The two holes #7 and #9 are long yes, but they do not have much character. They were very boring fo a guy who can't throw much over 2225-250' Basically just throw two of those a nice upshot and a putt. It isn't challenging at all for my skill level because I know it will take me 2-3 shots to get even close enough for a putt. It might be better if I had more power and could throw closer to the basket.

2) Would be very buggy in summer I am sure because of the woods and wetter environment.

3) There are a couple of the tight wooded holes that appear to have nearly impossible shots. Ones that have two direction changes at points where there are no discs that turn that quickly one way then back the other way. I will play it more often and update this con then, but a couple of the shots appeared almost impossible to throw without hitting a tree and slamming into the ground, or shooting left or right off the fairway.

Other Thoughts: Very slight difference keeps this course from being a 4.5. I have played 3 other course I rated 4.5 and this is only missing a few things 1) A sign directing you where to park and where hole #1 is. 2) tee signs with maps and distance rather than just the hole #, 3) elevation change, 4) water in play (I do not consider the water on hole #4 as in play)

All in all this is by far the best course I have played to date in the Milwaukee area. It has the most elements that i incorporate into my reviews. I wish there was some elevation change and maybe a little more water in play. There certainly are a few places that could take an alternate pin like on he mound left of #8 instead of down to the right in the woods. I think #10 is the one that finished right back by a small creek, I would like to see a basket across the stream to bring more water into play. The hole is short enough it would certainly add some more character.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 BD DGC

5+    11/15/2008   2/4/2009
Review By: kmrynders
Played: 73  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging course for all players, this course has a great combination of tight wooded holes and long ripper holes. All of the discs and throws you have will be needed to do well here.
-Concrete pads are in great shape
-CHALLENGING - I say it again - this course keeps me coming back because even when I shoot a 'great' round there is always something I could have done better - this course really will hone your skills, I enjoy the test of my abilities.
-The different pin locations make this course completely different depending on where they are. It's almost like an entirely different course when the locations have changed. This is a huge plus in my book
Cons: -A little hard to find the first hole. (it's in the back of the tennis courts)
-Signage could be better, I'd advise following someone or bringing a friend who has played it before if you are a first time player of this course
-Don't wear sandals - many small stumps and very rarely there are geese in the field that leave crap behind
-Doesn't stay up for the winter

Other Thoughts: -This is a beast of a course that will really make you pay for mistakes and reward you for risks, especially in the wooded holes.
-Not a beginner course

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 BEAST of BD

5+    11/20/2008   12/24/2008
Review By: Stashride
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging Long Course..If you like chucking you will enjoy Brown Deer..Mix of Extremes from tight wooded and technical for the first 5 then opens up and lets you Rip! 2 holes of 700+ ft..then finishes back in the woods..Beautiful in the fall..Not crowded on the weekdays at all..You rarely play up on anyone..
Cons: Still a young course only a little over a year old so shes still rustic..Some stumps, dont wear Sandals!
Other Thoughts: Plenty of other things to do..Just a huge plot of land..Tennis courts and soccer fields..a great pavillion, and even a playground for the kiddies..The course follows a road around so if others are on the tee just walk a little ways and tee off at another hole..

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Woods, woods, woods

5+    11/11/2008   11/11/2008
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2009
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -very technical wood shots
-nice park for all types of sports
-good tees(one set)
-some long ripper holes
-laid back
-lengthy course
-good cement tees
Cons: -too many of the same tight wood shots
-not beginner friendly
-may have trouble finding hole 1
-lots of "jimmies" to break toes on
-may have to play through picnickers on nice days on the open holes
-spring, summer=mosquitoes
Other Thoughts: This was the first course that intimidated me. I remember stepping up to hole 1 and looking down a tight wooded fairway and saying "you are kidding me, right?" That was when I first started, so needless to say not a beginner friendly course...BUT for mid skill and above players truly a challenge and worth a play.

A lot of the holes are the tight tree tunnel variety, but where this course shines are the ones that are long and open and the twisty fairways of the back nine. Just enough variety to make this a pretty good course. Signage is ok, not great. Can actually miss a hole or two if not careful, cement tees are very good but lacking in am/pro. Lengthy course, so it feels like you are playing a round of disc golf as opposed to shooting, then next hole, shooting, then next hole syndrome.

This is one of the Milwaukee areas better courses, especially if you like tight wood shots. Def worth a play if in the Milwaukee area!

UPDATE: A great suggestion is to park your car on the road and start at hole 12. This really makes the course spread it's "feel" out. It also takes away the intimidating feel of hole 1 till later. Really has made Brown Deer a bit more enjoyable.

5/25/09
after playing Brown Deer for a year now I am actually knocking my rating down from a 4 to a 3.5. I feel it in no way is a four star course. It is a good course but def not a great one. It has become rather monotonous and without variety except for the occassional pin placement locations.
-no pro/am tees
-poor signage. Yes, hole location numbers at every hole but there are no distance signs, or next hole signs. I have seen so many skip two specific holes on many occasions.
-flat. elevation almost nill.
-it's all about tree tunnels and tight lines with the exception of a few open holes which are just rip and rip and upshot holes.
-this is NOT the premier Milwaukee course. For that honor I bestow on Dretzka. I still feel Milwaukee doesn't have a world class course, or none that are higher than a four, and I live here.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  The best course in Chillwaukee

5+    10/20/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: greenfish
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of wooded holes that challenge your shot. It keeps you thinking which is good. You want duece or die go to Dretska short, Lime Kiln, Dineen, Homestead. This is a challenging course. It makes you a better player.
Cons: Hole placements are very similar on 1,2,4,5,7,9,11,14,15,17. That's too many. It is still hard to play though. A very minor complaint.
Other Thoughts: We, the Milwaukee disc golfers, need to bring an "A" tier event to Brown Deer and Dretska long placements(not short!). To shoot even at this course is challenging. There is nothing else around here that can do that. Even Dretska longs. Lets get this course more exposure in the national spotlight!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tough but fun course

1    10/18/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big course with ample parking, which is nice. There is a practice basket right before you go to the first hole. The shots are extremely challenging and require a lot of skill, while some of the more open shots are very long. Definitely not a pitch and putt course. The wooded holes do vary a bit and provide different challenges, requiring a variety of shots. Holes are clearly marked with posts and each hole has concrete tees. Course is generally in good shape.
Cons: Lots of smaller stumps sticking out from the ground. It would really behoove the maintenance crew to remove those from the ground as they're easy to trip over. The course could definitely be too challenging for a lot of players. You may end up getting sick of tough, wooded holes by the time you're done here, because Brown Deer has lots of them.
Other Thoughts: I really had a fun time at this course, despite my ridiculously high score. You shouldn't come here expecting much of anything else, as it is so tough. You can still come here and have a good time, so long as you don't beat yourself up. All told, though, Brown Deer is a really beautiful course and a great place for a round of disc golf. Definitely recommended, though beginners and easily discouraged players may want to avoid it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Poor tee markers, signs, etc, make for poor course

6/11/2008   6/11/2008
Review By: slingerman99
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There are some challenging holes through the woods.
Cons: I couldn't even find Hole number 1. I drove my truck all over the park. I never found the designated starting area. There were signs for everything else, besides the disc golfing. I had to search through the woods for the next tee pad. There were no maps of hole layout at the tee boxes. I missed a couple of holes all together.
Other Thoughts: There was alot of mud, mesquitoes, misdirection, and more in my day at this course. I will definitley not go back. I find Dretzka Course to be much better and very close by.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great

5/28/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: TenaciousMV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.2 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: To truly score low, you need to master both forehand and backhand drives, midrange, and (due to the number of trees) putts; great variety of hole lengths; concrete tee pads; 16 of the 18 holes require precision right off the tee; well maintained; generally attracts a respectful crowd; multiple hole locations; isn't usually too busy (usually!); you will need to find a new way to get out of trouble every time you play; even on the most difficult holes you can envision making an incredible shot - execution is always a different story
Cons: Some may say too many holes have the same feel (narrow fairway that requires a very straight/slight hyzer/slight anhyzer off the tee) - specifically 1-5 and 15-18; first-timers will have trouble finding a few holes and may easily skip one - print the map!!; there are MANY small tree stumps in the wooded fairways and you WILL hit your toes and/or trip on them - bring good shoes; many dead leaves on the sides of the wooded fairways can make finding a disc that went astray very difficult at any time of year; lack of any real elevation changes
Other Thoughts: Brown Deer is my go-to course. Along with Dretzka, it is one of the best two courses within 20 miles of Milwaukee. I curse the sun going down nearly every time I play here later in the day, because I always leave thinking I could have done better. The two long holes are some of the longest in the Milwaukee area and still manage to have small additional challenges at the end via hole placement.

A rating of 5.0 is considered ultimate, and this course has let me begin to think of what that may be. While I love this course, I can't give it a 5.0 mainly due to a *slight* lack of variety of hole types and no elevation changes. Along with the other very minor 'cons' I listed above, this course is still Excellent = 4.0

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.