Round Rock, TX 
Brushy Creek MUD DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #3 (Taken 10/2006)
3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Always Dry

5+    5/6/2016   8/12/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 46  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - I find the course layout fairly enjoyable.
- Lots of above average to interesting shots to make. Short, long, right, left, blind, open and overtop.
- Good hole signage and fairly easy to navigate.
- Park patrons have always been friendly.
- Tee pads are concrete and are satisfactory in length.
- Good parking area, however it fills up regularly. Parking on the street appears safe.
- A relatively quick play. The course can be crowded but most groups will let you threw if you catch them.
- The course has a good reputation to dry up quickly after a pouring rain.
- Weekly minis held each week.
- No chance to lose a disc in the water. There is a mostly dry creek bed that comes into play. but it plays as casual water when wet.
Cons: - No course map or community board
- No practice basket or practice area. Although hole 17 fills the void to practice
- Course lacks shade at several tee boxes. Can be taxing during the summer months
- No restroom facilities.
- Reputation is that the course is patrolled at night. You may be escorted out of the park after sunset.
- No alternate baskets or tee pads.
- The course gets a lot of traffic. almost as much as wells branch.
- Fairly rocky in spots. A good place to twist an ankle. Not the greatest for disc carts.
Other Thoughts: - One of the better courses on the north side of Austin in my opinion. Most seasoned players and beginners will enjoy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Neighborhood Course

2-4    1/27/2016   1/27/2016
Review By: markmcc
Played: 159  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and tight, wooded holes. The wooded holes play through fairways cut through the local cedar trees, so if you get off of the fairway things get tight, fast. Good mix of straight, right-finishing and left-finishing holes that require some touch to get the birdie.

The open holes are wide open and give you an opportunity to air things out. There is some elevation here as the course is built in a drainage/detention area with a variety of dams, spillways and pipes across the course. These holes include a couple of challenging hillside basket placements.

Most of the holes are in the 200' - 325' range, with a couple of par 4's at 498' and 585' to add length.

Good smallish concrete tees. Simple signs with hole information. Baskets catch well. Benches and trash cans at just about every holes.
Cons: Navigation is a little tricky for first timers. From the parking lot it is easy to find the 18th tee and the 17th basket. You'll need to continue past the 17th basket to find the first tee. The transition from hole 4 to 5 is confusing as you'll encounter the 13th tee and the 12th basket along the way.

For some holes multiple baskets are visible. From the 5th tee you'll see the baskets for holes 10 and 11. What you won't see is the basket for 5 as it is hidden around the corner to the right.

The diagrams on the tee signs are basic but many don't show the basket position (faded out?) so you'll be guessing on a couple of holes. For instance, Hole 4 is a blind throw over an earthen dam to the basket "somewhere" on the other side. I yelled before I drove just to make sure someone wasn't over there.

Hole 17 plays to a basket near the parking lot and on the path to the first tee. There can be heavy foot traffic near that pin.

Crowded! I played once in the morning at it was fine, but later that afternoon the course was backed up with chucker groups and I ended up skipping a few holes to avoid the aggravation.
Other Thoughts: This course is showing it's age, with quite a bit of bare ground around the baskets and some exposure of the concrete foundations. Some mulch around the baskets might help with erosion.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wide Variety

2-4    11/24/2015   11/26/2015
Review By: williamlbird
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A good variety of open holes, partially open, and technical holes.
- Not very difficult even for the Advanced Senior Grandmasters out there (I'm one).
- Water will come into play (wet low areas after period of rain) so pay attention to reviews during the dry and rainy times of the year.
- Plenty of trash cans and the yardages signs, for the most part, depict the holes (a few are slightly faded/worn).
- Very quiet and well-maintained since it is in a residential area.
Cons: - A few holes start where you wouldn't expect it (#1 starts past #17 basket and cannot be seen from the parking lot).
- When the course is busy it is easy to throw into other players without knowing they are walking obstacles.
Other Thoughts: - Accuracy is obviously the key on the narrow holes but they aren't long enough to make any of the holes difficult. Easy to score birdies after playing this course one time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Hometown Course

5+    8/28/2014   8/28/2014
Review By: 5c077l20x
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great dedicated parking lot.
-Houck designed. Great for beginners, but provides enough of a challenge that experienced players won't be bored by any means. It's about as good as it gets without being tournament quality.
-Very well maintened. Mowed often. Dense roughs but not thick enough to lose a disc in. Just keep an eye on it.
-Concrete tee pads and innovation baskets. Painted oftw.
-Signage, benches, and trash cans a plenty.
-Pretty decent variety. Some elevation. Some tight, some open. Most holes have multiple options off the Tee.
Cons: -Crowded. This is probably the most popular course in North Austin.
-A little odd to navigate your first time through. Flows pretty well for the most part though.
-Kinda short. But provides some fun ace runs.
-Gets a bit stanky over by the apartments sometimes.
-Floods when it rains. Dries pretty quickly though.
Other Thoughts: This was my home course for almost 7 years and I still play it regularly. Very similar to Searight down south. Although it's set in a neighborhood along a trail and some backyards, they never come into play. It's pretty self contained.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lost

1    9/22/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: JerryW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 36.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots. Tunnel shots, open shots, blind shots.
Cons: Without a map, it's difficult to navigate where the next hole is. We had to ask a few players where hole 1 was as well as a couple of other holes.
Other Thoughts: In the middle of a residential area. Surrounded by condos and houses.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent for all skill levels

5+    6/13/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: davids
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 21.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Brushy Creek is one of my favorite courses for just relaxing and playing a fun game of disc golf. It's tough to lose discs on this course, and it's forgiving while not being too easy. You can bring a complete novice or an advanced player out here and they'll both have fun. This is very much a social course rather than a challenging course.
Cons: It'd be nice to see a few bells and whistles like tee signs and benches at the tees. The course is definitely showing its age.

I also hate #1. Not only is it one of the more difficult holes on the course, which is bad enough for a first hole, but it requires a good deal of touch, which is terrible for a first hole.

It's also very crowded, although it doesn't have the massive groups that Williamson attracts for some reason. People are usually friendly and willing to let you play through.
Other Thoughts: Got my first ace on the old #17.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

1    6/8/2013   6/8/2013
Review By: benwilly
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 1. has long and short holes
2. Nice wooded course
3. Signs that tell you where the basket is from the starting position
Cons: 1. some times its a little confusing to find the next hole
2. Could lose a Frisbee if you aren't careful
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course

5+    4/1/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: noobynoober
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee Boxes, decent signage, some elevation changes. Several trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: Hard to follow course from hole 4-5 and you must cross in front of a tee box and a fairway from 2 different holes. No practice basket, unless you use 18
Other Thoughts: This is my neighborhood course where I have learned to play disc golf. It is challenging enough for a fun round, but you can also bring a beginner without to much worry. Trash cans are a plus and the Tee boxes are nice. the Tee signs could be better, but at least there is something. There are a few open holes that are almost like throwing in a field. There are a ton of birdie opportunities and shooting Par is not all that difficult. Experienced players could play the course with a handfull of discs. There is a creek but it is usually dry.

I love this course because it is within walking distance and it is a great course for casual rounds with friends.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/13/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 163  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think the overall rating of this course at 3.5 is pretty accurate. The park has a nice parking lot. I love the tee signs and tee pads, its a typical Houck course. The maps on the tee signs seemed to be fairly accurate. I read one of the previous reviews and I agree that Cat Hollow is similar to Searight. It is not to long but has some open holes if you want to air it out. I appreciated some of the technicallity of the course for example 1,2,6,7,16,17. I liked how on one it was a dog leg and I loved how tight hole 2 was. I threw a comet on most of the technical holes and did great. The course made use of the elevation that was provided by the land. I really liked 17 when you have a tunnel shot then the basket has a stone wall built up so you can fall off sort of like hole 6 at Lake Lewisville( Lewisville, Texas). I appreciate a good risk/ reward type putt.
Cons: The navigation was difficult in a few spots, To get to hole 1 walk by the street and it will be on your left. Also, I couldn't find hole 5 until I walked all the way around and finally found it. Besides that everything else is pretty easy to navigate. I did not like hole 5, 10,11,12 because they were just long open holes. I like some challenge on a hole even if it is a 500ft hole. There were no obstacles on these holes which made them a little bit boring. The front part and back part of course make up for it though. The stone that is throughout the fairs takes a beating on your disc. Many of mine had chunks taken out of the them.
Other Thoughts: The course was also packed. It seems that many recent reviewers also noted how crowded the course can get( I don't know because I was from out of town). I put that here instead of a pro or con because that can go both ways. If you take it as a pro, this means many people find the course enjoyable, and more people playing are sport. If you take it as a con, there could be some long waits on holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for everyone

5+    2/1/2013   2/4/2013
Review By: Throbbert
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Many Par 3s from 200-300 feet. Perfect distance for beginners.
Both par 4s are very open for players to be able to open up and huck it.
Short enough that even when it is packed you can still make it all the way through in just over an hour.
Tee boxes are nice and have hole maps
Cons: Usually pretty packed
Some holes the brush is pretty thick and it is easy to lose a disc on a bad throw
Other Thoughts: Great place to start out disc golf if you have never played before

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.