Round Rock, TX 
Brushy Creek MUD DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #17 (Taken 10/2006)
3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good neighborhood Course

5+    8/31/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cat Hollow provides a good, fun challenge for a wide range of player abilities. It's a pretty solid white level challenge, but still gives blue/gold players sufficient challenge to keep them coming back. It's also not too difficult for red level players.

The park is attractive, clean, and well-maintained. The schule is minimal and finding discs is pretty easy.

The variety of shots required is good. There's a good balance between power shots and technical shots. There are several good basket locations near drop-off's that make putting more interesting.

The course has its own parking lot and the location in a huge neighborhood is ideal for bringing families and younger players into the sport.

The tees, baskets, and tee signs are all good. There are plenty of trash cans and benches.

Highlights:

Hole 2 is a unique, short par 3 that requires good touch. It's about 200 ft., slightly uphill with a drop-off behind the basket. The tee is protected from the wind near the basket, requiring good knowledge of disc flight and execution.

Hole 8 is my favorite hole on the course. It's a fairly tight, slight right to left, 300 footer. The hole frames out very nicely through the woods, birdie is well earned and bogey or worse is always possible.
Cons: There are no directional signs from hole 4 to 5 and many players wander through hole 12 and 13's fairways.

Hole 6 is squeezed a little tightly between hole 5 and hole 7.

Drives on hole 11 frequently end up over the fence in the neighbor's yard.

The walk from hole 14 to hole 15 goes through hole 4's fairway and behind hole 3's basket.

Drives on hole 17 can hit cars in the parking lot.

The course is very popular and rounds can be pretty slow during peak times.
Other Thoughts: I'd say that Cat Hollow is like the North equivalent of Searight. I gave them both a 3.0, although I prefer Searight aesthetically.

Please do your part to help keep Cat Hollow clean! Happy discin'!

For information on my review philosophy, check out the other info section on my profile.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/3/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid design with wide tee shot variety, both in dog legs and distance. A few tight lines through the cedars, a few open shots across some fields, and a few blind shots. Great opportunities for aces/birdies. Nothing super-long for players with shorter arms. Fast playing and usually not too crowded. Great Northside alternative to Zilker due to its ease, playability, and brevity. Good flow to the course: ends where it started, right by the new parking lot.
Cons: Tee boxes are wretched, even when they're dry. The mix of dirt, gravel, and mulch make for very unsteady footing; coupled with that is the fact that they're all pretty well worn into the ground. They might make you over-conscious of your footing, which might have a negative effect on your release. Four holes cross over (or come close to) which can cause for a delay in play or an increase in the risk of being caught off guard by an errant throw. Tee markers are pretty crappy, especially in comparison to some of the other courses in the area. The distance and par are marked, but there's no indication of where the pin is; however, most of the holes are straightforward enough that there isn't a whole lot of confusion. Close to an apartment complex with a fence that's not easy to climb if your disc crosses it, and some houses with fences that aren't exactly delightful to scale; fortunately, it's only a very regrettable throw that will land you over. Fairly easy. None of the holes are difficult enough to make you want to come back and want to "conquer" them.
Other Thoughts: What's with the benches? Is it erosion, shifting soil, or were they just put in haphazardly? They're high, uneven, angled; maybe that was Round Rock's answer to Austin's keeping it weird campaign.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not the most challenging or creative, but still a good time

2-4    8/10/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -There are many "greens" that are built-up flat with substantial drop-offs either behind or to the side, or both. If your score is close during the last couple holes, those drop-offs behind the baskets can get a bit intimidating.

-Good variety of shots from open field shots to tighter wooded holes, but nothing too terribly long. There's one par 4 that turns right and runs along the treeline that can be dangerous if you anhyzer it too much.

-Decent flow except for having to cross a fairway after one of the holes.

-Good use of available man-made elevation changes that arise because of drainage design. A couple holes shoot down a hill, which is always welcome and a couple others are blind and shoot up and over man-made berms. Btw, be sure not to overshoot the blind Hole 2 by more than ten feet or you'll blow an easy birdie op by going down the hill beyond the green.

Cons: -Teepads are possibly the worst in Austin with many jagged rocks protruding on multiple teeboxes.

-The trees are mostly weed trees, aka cedars, which are short, provide no shade, and create a very thick underbrush for when you go off the fairway. Most of the course is in the sun so it's probably not the best summer course especially when the shaded Williamson County and Brushy Creek Sports Park courses are just around the corner.

-A few too many short holes that are too easy, especially on the back 9. I don't mind short holes, but there needs to be some sort of challenge to them, and there's a lot of shorter holes on this course that offer very little in the area of "challenge" other than being able to park an approach shot.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is an enjoyable course to play because it offers just enough challenge (on most of the holes) to make me feel satisfied when I do well. However, there are still about 5 holes that I would consider "filler holes" that really add nothing to the course. The only thing that saves some of these holes are the the slopes around the greens, which punishes you for not having precision drives and makes you think twice when putting towards the slope.

If you're in the area and haven't played Wilco then definitely play that course even if you have to drive right past this one. You can actually play this course pretty quickly and get a round in here and at the challenging 9 hole Brushy Creek Sports Park in the same amount of time it would take you to play 18 at Wilco.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Got some dirt on my sholder will you brush it off for me?

2-4    5/27/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.7 Years
Pros: Great elevation shots! Awesome turns. Not much water. Pretty quiet during the week. trails to every hole.
Cons: Tee boxes are dug out of rock. Unsafe footing! I throw from beside the box or behind. When grass is tall, its real tall. Wind can come into play on several holes.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. No too much of anything. Not terribly hard, but challenging enough to make me want to come back. I shot 7 over, an improvement from last time. I'm such an amateur.

 

2-4    1/11/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.5 Years
Pros: 18 holes, brushy trees, variety of shots. No water that I have ever seen, and the brush is not to dense. No very busy
Cons: Tee pads can get bad at times. A little confusing at first but you can pick it up rather quickly.
Other Thoughts: A fun play and some good ace runs. we all like ace runs.

 Meow Cat Hollow

1    1/25/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brushy Creek is a short and sparsely wooded course populated with short cedars. A few holes are wide open with rolling hills. There is a very high fun factor here. I wanted to play it again as soon as I finished my round. When I played here it was busy and the course was full of people. Luckily there is great disc golf etiquette here and I was able to play through every single group I encountered. This course has a good variety of holes that flow together well. The rocks around the putting area on numbers seventeen and eighteen are a classy touch that highlight the risk reward of having the pin positions high above a creek A good number of ace runs had me pumped. For me, I enjoyed the middle parts of the course, holes six through eleven the most. I do not think there was a real signature hole just lots of decent quality holes.
Cons: The tee boxes are not paved, and have well worn pits with jagged rocks exposed from the earth just waiting to grab you by the toe in mid x-step. The signs are just yellow posts which someone was nice enough to write distances on. However the course seems busy and there is decent map available in the links section. A few fairways are whitewashed in a few spots with very jagged rocks that could eat plastic. At times I would say this course is too easy, like number two which I imagine is aced daily. There is a few crazy spots in which a person without a guide or map could get lost. Particularly from basket to tee-box on number four to five. Number five is confusing itself with a long blind dogleg that stays out in the open but hugs around the cedars. Some of the holes in the back nine that are out in the open felt like filler to get you back to the parking area.

The day I played had perfect weather and as a result the course had a ton of traffic. The parking situation is off street, and since it was busy we needed to park a little far away before I could get to throwing. Being an easy course, I encountered a good share of recreational and 420 golfers. All of them friendly of course! However, as I mentioned in the pros, good golf etiquette here.
Other Thoughts: The course is shorter than I expected, which added to my enjoyment of it. An experienced golfer will be looking to string together a flock of birdies. Brushy Creek might be one of the best "behind a housing development" courses I have ever played. I played here after playing nearby Williamson County DGC, which is very long, and the shortness was a welcome transition. Do not skip this course based on distance because it is still pretty fun.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Cat Hollow

1    12/28/2008   12/28/2008
Review By: milow369
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every tee box is marked with hole # and distance to basket. Lots of ace runs possible. Great use of a wet weather runoff area between two subdivisions. Nice benches at most tee boxes.
Cons: Tee boxes are a little rough/worn. One area of the course, on the back, has 4-5 holes that converge. On a busy day, could be issues with discs flying errant. Trash in the creek bed along holes 1 & 18 is unfortunate. Not too many great views as this course takes advantage of land used for wet weather runoff. The occasional 7-some.
Other Thoughts: Fun course if you've got an hour and are in the area. Offers some elevation changes and requires more than just a backhand shot. Centrally located between Old Settlers and Wilco. I will play it again

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not so good first time, better the second

1    7/30/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 106  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/28/2009
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good setting for disc golf in the trees and nicely carved out fairways on some holes. Some elevation change. Good baskets. There are signs that give you the distance and the par. You may be lucky, like I was, to see deer walking around on the course.
Cons: This course is very confusing to navigate. I played at about 2:30 in the afternoon and it was hard to stay in the shade while playing the course. No concrete teepads. The signs don't tell you where the basket is. This is definitely a course that would require someone who knows the course for your first time out. Telephone lines run through some of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I stopped by to play on a trip down for disc golf in the Austin area.. I left after hole 5 when I threw blind into the fairway on a 599 ft hole only to get out there and find 5 baskets in view that could be the one that I was shooting at. The signs do not show you the fairway or basket placement. It was too hot to bother without a map, so I left and came back the next day with a printed map. The next day there were a couple of other guys playing that I jumped in with and they showed me the way around the course. Without them, I'd have been lost trying to find my way around.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.