Disc Golf Center
Round Rock, TX 
Brushy Creek MUD DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #12 (Taken 10/2006)
3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Fairway



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Lost

1    9/22/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: JerryW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 34.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots. Tunnel shots, open shots, blind shots.
Cons: Without a map, it's difficult to navigate where the next hole is. We had to ask a few players where hole 1 was as well as a couple of other holes.
Other Thoughts: In the middle of a residential area. Surrounded by condos and houses.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent for all skill levels

5+    6/13/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: davids
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.3 Years
Pros: Brushy Creek is one of my favorite courses for just relaxing and playing a fun game of disc golf. It's tough to lose discs on this course, and it's forgiving while not being too easy. You can bring a complete novice or an advanced player out here and they'll both have fun. This is very much a social course rather than a challenging course.
Cons: It'd be nice to see a few bells and whistles like tee signs and benches at the tees. The course is definitely showing its age.

I also hate #1. Not only is it one of the more difficult holes on the course, which is bad enough for a first hole, but it requires a good deal of touch, which is terrible for a first hole.

It's also very crowded, although it doesn't have the massive groups that Williamson attracts for some reason. People are usually friendly and willing to let you play through.
Other Thoughts: Got my first ace on the old #17.

 Fun Course

5+    4/1/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: noobynoober
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Boxes, decent signage, some elevation changes. Several trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: Hard to follow course from hole 4-5 and you must cross in front of a tee box and a fairway from 2 different holes. No practice basket, unless you use 18
Other Thoughts: This is my neighborhood course where I have learned to play disc golf. It is challenging enough for a fun round, but you can also bring a beginner without to much worry. Trash cans are a plus and the Tee boxes are nice. the Tee signs could be better, but at least there is something. There are a few open holes that are almost like throwing in a field. There are a ton of birdie opportunities and shooting Par is not all that difficult. Experienced players could play the course with a handfull of discs. There is a creek but it is usually dry.

I love this course because it is within walking distance and it is a great course for casual rounds with friends.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    3/13/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think the overall rating of this course at 3.5 is pretty accurate. The park has a nice parking lot. I love the tee signs and tee pads, its a typical Houck course. The maps on the tee signs seemed to be fairly accurate. I read one of the previous reviews and I agree that Cat Hollow is similar to Searight. It is not to long but has some open holes if you want to air it out. I appreciated some of the technicallity of the course for example 1,2,6,7,16,17. I liked how on one it was a dog leg and I loved how tight hole 2 was. I threw a comet on most of the technical holes and did great. The course made use of the elevation that was provided by the land. I really liked 17 when you have a tunnel shot then the basket has a stone wall built up so you can fall off sort of like hole 6 at Lake Lewisville( Lewisville, Texas). I appreciate a good risk/ reward type putt.
Cons: The navigation was difficult in a few spots, To get to hole 1 walk by the street and it will be on your left. Also, I couldn't find hole 5 until I walked all the way around and finally found it. Besides that everything else is pretty easy to navigate. I did not like hole 5, 10,11,12 because they were just long open holes. I like some challenge on a hole even if it is a 500ft hole. There were no obstacles on these holes which made them a little bit boring. The front part and back part of course make up for it though. The stone that is throughout the fairs takes a beating on your disc. Many of mine had chunks taken out of the them.
Other Thoughts: The course was also packed. It seems that many recent reviewers also noted how crowded the course can get( I don't know because I was from out of town). I put that here instead of a pro or con because that can go both ways. If you take it as a pro, this means many people find the course enjoyable, and more people playing are sport. If you take it as a con, there could be some long waits on holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course for everyone

5+    2/1/2013   2/4/2013
Review By: Throbbert
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many Par 3s from 200-300 feet. Perfect distance for beginners.
Both par 4s are very open for players to be able to open up and huck it.
Short enough that even when it is packed you can still make it all the way through in just over an hour.
Tee boxes are nice and have hole maps
Cons: Usually pretty packed
Some holes the brush is pretty thick and it is easy to lose a disc on a bad throw
Other Thoughts: Great place to start out disc golf if you have never played before

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/16/2011   12/17/2011
Review By: Turner512
Played: 44  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course. A great combination of long, short, wide, and narrow holes. Starts a little wooded and then opens up, gets narrow again, then gets open and so on. A little variety in elevation. You have to throw over hills, up hills, down hills; its pretty fun. This course has something for everyone. Holes that reward Forehand and holes that reward backhand. I find holes really fun to throw tomahawks on. Terrain ranges from grass to gravel to rocks.Tee pads are concrete and signs tell you distance. Basket location is pretty good. Most holes are standard but a couple holes have drop offs directly off the "green" forcing you to make it or take it short. One hole is on a 45 degree hill really requiring precise shots.
Cons: If it's your first time playing it might be a little confusing when trying to find your way around. I most recently went on a muddy day and people wiped their feet off on the tee pads which is a little annoying. Typically a pretty popular populated course. You might run into some traffic. Some houses around the area. Its possible to throw your disc in someones back yard but only for pretty bad throws. None of the holes are really that creatively designed. Typical dog legs and distances but nothing that makes you say wow. A little plain.
Other Thoughts: I will just say I don't write long reviews because I don't like reading them but this course is pretty good. If you are in the North Austin area it is definitely worth your time. Stop by Wanna Play Disc Golf while you are over there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great diversity

1    3/6/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: breakingday
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course with a wide range of shots. This is a great way to spend the day rounding off your game in all areas.
Cons: Crowded. This isn't a course you go to and expect to take your time, there's almost always someone in front of you and behind you.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the residential areas, though they're usually pretty nice about getting a lost disc out of their back yard.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Lot of Fun

2-4    3/30/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 94  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all I love this course. For someone like me who is a decent player but far from great it always offers a challenge while also offering many ace and birdie opportunities. It has a good amount of elevation changes with some pretty decent views of the surroundings. The park has not been busy the two times I played it and seems to move very quickly. I like the variety of holes with some large open holes to rip on and some tight technical holes as well.
Cons: I am hard pressed to say there is anything I dislike about this course. It is what pros or ams would consider "easy". But for someone like myself its the most fun I have playing disc golf. The only other issue I could see coming up with the course is the lack of parking as there is no parking lot and you have park on the street.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. Yes its not as challenging as East Metro or Pease. Yes it can have some derivative holes. But for an overall fun laid back day of DG there is no better course in Texas.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice quick round

5+    2/3/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: Djza
Played: 61  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can agree with many here that for a course built in some retention ponds behind some apartments, it is pretty nice.

That being said, the park is more than just some open fields*cough cough*(Old Settlers) and takes good use of the trees in the Northwest corner.

I like the layout for some holes requiring good lines to avoid trees to actually being able to air it out every now and then.

Some ace runs make it fun and quick and also not too tough for beginners, with enough challenge to the adv. players.

I've always thought it pretty easy to find your way around out here, and there is plenty of shade and even benches on most tees. Some of the benches are set a little jankily, but at least they are there.
Cons: Having to walk in front of two tee boxes to get to hole 5 is a bit scary.

Rough ground can be pretty hard on discs.
13-15 seem pretty boring and repetitive for an experienced golfer.
Other Thoughts: For some reason I always manage to catch great sunsets out here. A round can be played quickly, allowing for extra holes either here or maybe up in Wilco, etc.
Not the best course in town, but not to be forgotten either.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent for beginner/intermediate players

5+    11/20/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: metis314159
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of shot selection required for the optimal approach. There are elevation changes on several holes, including several with drop-offs on one side of the disc catcher making putting & approach interesting. There are signs at each tee indicating the distance and par; however, they do not show the hole location which is annoying the first time you play some of the blind holes. Good mix of open and tight tree-lined fairways.
Cons: Rocks jut up into the tee pads on several of the holes and several holes have telephone lines running across the fairways, though if you keep your shot down they shouldn't matter. Also, there are several (smallish) patches of cactus on a couple of the holes. There are a few too many short holes (even if they do usually have a narrow fairway or curvature) since a good drive for an intermediate player will put you in putting range on most holes. For first timers, the location of the next hole can be confusing at times unless you bring a map.
Other Thoughts: If the course had concrete tees and better signage to indicate the next hole location, etc. then it would rate at least a 4.0. I have not seen the course with water, but there is a dried up creek bed (there hasn't been much rain this year) that runs through the course and would come into play on several holes if it was rainy. The rough is not overly punishing - most of the time if you throw into the trees you can still shoot out of them. This also means the chance of loosing a disc is minimal.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.