Round Rock, TX 
Brushy Creek MUD DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #4 (Taken 10/2006)
3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Not so good first time, better the second

1    7/30/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 106  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/28/2009
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good setting for disc golf in the trees and nicely carved out fairways on some holes. Some elevation change. Good baskets. There are signs that give you the distance and the par. You may be lucky, like I was, to see deer walking around on the course.
Cons: This course is very confusing to navigate. I played at about 2:30 in the afternoon and it was hard to stay in the shade while playing the course. No concrete teepads. The signs don't tell you where the basket is. This is definitely a course that would require someone who knows the course for your first time out. Telephone lines run through some of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I stopped by to play on a trip down for disc golf in the Austin area.. I left after hole 5 when I threw blind into the fairway on a 599 ft hole only to get out there and find 5 baskets in view that could be the one that I was shooting at. The signs do not show you the fairway or basket placement. It was too hot to bother without a map, so I left and came back the next day with a printed map. The next day there were a couple of other guys playing that I jumped in with and they showed me the way around the course. Without them, I'd have been lost trying to find my way around.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The funnest course in Round Rock!

6/5/2008   7/17/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2008
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots like blind right and left hooks, blind over a man-made dam, tight tunnels, two great tees from the top of hills.
Cons: Not as naturally beautiful as some courses due to it being on a man made drainage ditch between two neighborhoods. Too many local cooler draggers. The trashcans are usually overflowing with empties.
Other Thoughts: You better take water and wear a hat. There's not much shade to be found on the back nine.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

8/10/2007   7/6/2008
Review By: bacr
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good variation of shots required. There are several long, open holes as well as some tight, technical holes.
Cons: The back nine can get confusing. There are also several holes that throw across the same area, so if the course is crowded, be sure to watch your head.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a pretty decent course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/27/2008   4/29/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice tee signs. Very well defined "greens". Baskets in good shape as are most of the tee boxes. Some fun elevation changes. Good balance of hyzer & anhyzer shots will not favor righties or lefties. Minimal pedestrian interference.
Cons:
Confusing layout without a map, especially #5 which could easily be played to #6's basket by mistake. A map will guide transitions from hole #4 to #5 and #14 to #15. No fairways actually cross, but several play very close to each other. Multiple blind holes make this a more difficult course the first time(s) you play it.
Other Thoughts:
Narrow fairways through the trees will challenge your shot making ability. I question some of the posted distances, but didn't have my range finder with me so I can't dispute them with evidence, but be wary of the accuracy of posted numbers. Course is also known as "Cat Hollow" by locals due to it's location in the Cat Hollow subdivision.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.