Round Rock, TX 
Brushy Creek MUD DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #17 (Taken 10/2006)
3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Great course for a quick round

5+    10/9/2008   10/11/2008
Review By: Dude
Played: 152  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an extremely fun course to play. It has enough short holes for newer players while not pandering to them like some other shorter courses but has enough diverse shot selection to keep experienced players interested.

One of the best things about this course is that requires a lot of different shots. You'll need to be able to throw forehand or anhyzers whether you are a left or right hand player. There are a number of holes where you really have to let loose and rip some long shots (4,5,10,11,12) and there are some short holes where a overhand shot may be the right choice (1,2,7,14,17). There are a few holes where you can drive with your putter or mid.

For amateurs it's a nice place to build your skills and shot types b/c you're going to need to use a flick or anhyzer to play this course well. Honestly, it's the basic course layout and needed shots that make this a good course.

There are lots of opportunities for aces and birdies. But it's not a bunch of wide open straight shots for aces. Making a run for an ace may cost you the birdie shot due to roughs or elevation changes. And roughs most likely will cost you a stroke but it's relatively hard to lose a disc here.

There's a parking lot now so no more need to spend time looking for places to park on the street!
Cons: If you haven't played here before...most likely you'll be confused about the layout. Though most of the baskets are visible from the tee there are a couple that might require a walk up or need someone to point out the basket. The main 2 culprits are holes 4 and 5. Hole 4 is on the other side of a levee. It's best to walk along the left side by the fence to take a look and make sure there's no one still putting. But for a reference point, there's a culvert cutting through the right side of the levee and points to a lighter colored/non cedar tree, which won't have leaves in the "winter." The pin is a little to the left of that tree. Hole 5 is a long right curve. From the tee box you'll look directly at the pin for #11. After your first shot you'll see a basket short and to the right, that's #6. There will then be 2 baskets on the right side of the field, it'll be the one on the right side, nearest the trees. The other is hole #10.

After hole #4 you have to walk down the right side of the ditch and past the tee box for #13 and then the basket for #12. You're a little lower than the tee box but be aware that people are driving from your right and from the far left. And when it's windy there may be some errant throws from the left right in your direction. Just pay attention and you'll soon be at the hole #5 tee box.

Hole #10 is a great hole. It starts with a fairway then opens to allow for wind. Be careful not to get your disc up too much here because there is an apartment complex to the right. I've played here many times and while not often (mostly people who haven't played here), discs can get caught in the wind and lifted up over the trees and into the fenced area.

The tee boxes on a few of these holes are really bad. Luckily on the holes with the worst boxes you don't really need too much of a run up but it would be nice if they were better groomed.

There are also a couple rocky fairways (6-9) here so watch your footing and your discs may take some damage if not careful.

The parking lot. Yeah, that's strange to say. But they basically put the lot right on the edge of hole #18 so you're throwing right near or over parked cars. Not a good idea. Honestly, I think they're going to need to move the tee box for 18 because of this.
Other Thoughts: A good twosome can finish in about an hour if they don't get caught behind other groups. But most people are friendly and courteous to offer to allow smaller groups to play through.

There is a mixed doubles mini on Thursdays at 5pm so expect a bigger crowd and longer wait on that day.

I think that this course along with Wilco are 2 courses that will help to expand your game considerably. There isn't a lot here that is left up to luck since you're not throwing through too many trees. There are clear fairways and you're going to have to learn how to shoot left and right hooks. There are longer shots where wind comes into play.

If the tee box issue were taken care of, better signs at the tee boxes and a course map put up, this could move into the 4 star zone. But until the boxes are fixed I can't justify it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not so good first time, better the second

1    7/30/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 123  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/28/2009
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good setting for disc golf in the trees and nicely carved out fairways on some holes. Some elevation change. Good baskets. There are signs that give you the distance and the par. You may be lucky, like I was, to see deer walking around on the course.
Cons: This course is very confusing to navigate. I played at about 2:30 in the afternoon and it was hard to stay in the shade while playing the course. No concrete teepads. The signs don't tell you where the basket is. This is definitely a course that would require someone who knows the course for your first time out. Telephone lines run through some of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I stopped by to play on a trip down for disc golf in the Austin area.. I left after hole 5 when I threw blind into the fairway on a 599 ft hole only to get out there and find 5 baskets in view that could be the one that I was shooting at. The signs do not show you the fairway or basket placement. It was too hot to bother without a map, so I left and came back the next day with a printed map. The next day there were a couple of other guys playing that I jumped in with and they showed me the way around the course. Without them, I'd have been lost trying to find my way around.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The funnest course in Round Rock!

6/5/2008   7/17/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2008
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots like blind right and left hooks, blind over a man-made dam, tight tunnels, two great tees from the top of hills.
Cons: Not as naturally beautiful as some courses due to it being on a man made drainage ditch between two neighborhoods. Too many local cooler draggers. The trashcans are usually overflowing with empties.
Other Thoughts: You better take water and wear a hat. There's not much shade to be found on the back nine.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


8/10/2007   7/6/2008
Review By: bacr
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good variation of shots required. There are several long, open holes as well as some tight, technical holes.
Cons: The back nine can get confusing. There are also several holes that throw across the same area, so if the course is crowded, be sure to watch your head.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a pretty decent course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    4/27/2008   4/29/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 201  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Nice tee signs. Very well defined "greens". Baskets in good shape as are most of the tee boxes. Some fun elevation changes. Good balance of hyzer & anhyzer shots will not favor righties or lefties. Minimal pedestrian interference.
Confusing layout without a map, especially #5 which could easily be played to #6's basket by mistake. A map will guide transitions from hole #4 to #5 and #14 to #15. No fairways actually cross, but several play very close to each other. Multiple blind holes make this a more difficult course the first time(s) you play it.
Other Thoughts:
Narrow fairways through the trees will challenge your shot making ability. I question some of the posted distances, but didn't have my range finder with me so I can't dispute them with evidence, but be wary of the accuracy of posted numbers. Course is also known as "Cat Hollow" by locals due to it's location in the Cat Hollow subdivision.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.