Round Rock, TX 
Brushy Creek MUD DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #7 (Taken 10/2006)
3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Wide Variety

2-4    11/24/2015   11/26/2015
Review By: williamlbird
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.8 Years
Pros: - A good variety of open holes, partially open, and technical holes.
- Not very difficult even for the Advanced Senior Grandmasters out there (I'm one).
- Water will come into play (wet low areas after period of rain) so pay attention to reviews during the dry and rainy times of the year.
- Plenty of trash cans and the yardages signs, for the most part, depict the holes (a few are slightly faded/worn).
- Very quiet and well-maintained since it is in a residential area.
Cons: - A few holes start where you wouldn't expect it (#1 starts past #17 basket and cannot be seen from the parking lot).
- When the course is busy it is easy to throw into other players without knowing they are walking obstacles.
Other Thoughts: - Accuracy is obviously the key on the narrow holes but they aren't long enough to make any of the holes difficult. Easy to score birdies after playing this course one time.

The Hometown Course

5+    8/28/2014   8/28/2014
Review By: 5c077l20x
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great dedicated parking lot.
-Houck designed. Great for beginners, but provides enough of a challenge that experienced players won't be bored by any means. It's about as good as it gets without being tournament quality.
-Very well maintened. Mowed often. Dense roughs but not thick enough to lose a disc in. Just keep an eye on it.
-Concrete tee pads and innovation baskets. Painted oftw.
-Signage, benches, and trash cans a plenty.
-Pretty decent variety. Some elevation. Some tight, some open. Most holes have multiple options off the Tee.
Cons: -Crowded. This is probably the most popular course in North Austin.
-A little odd to navigate your first time through. Flows pretty well for the most part though.
-Kinda short. But provides some fun ace runs.
-Gets a bit stanky over by the apartments sometimes.
-Floods when it rains. Dries pretty quickly though.
Other Thoughts: This was my home course for almost 7 years and I still play it regularly. Very similar to Searight down south. Although it's set in a neighborhood along a trail and some backyards, they never come into play. It's pretty self contained.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    9/22/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: JerryW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 35.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots. Tunnel shots, open shots, blind shots.
Cons: Without a map, it's difficult to navigate where the next hole is. We had to ask a few players where hole 1 was as well as a couple of other holes.
Other Thoughts: In the middle of a residential area. Surrounded by condos and houses.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent for all skill levels

5+    6/13/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: davids
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brushy Creek is one of my favorite courses for just relaxing and playing a fun game of disc golf. It's tough to lose discs on this course, and it's forgiving while not being too easy. You can bring a complete novice or an advanced player out here and they'll both have fun. This is very much a social course rather than a challenging course.
Cons: It'd be nice to see a few bells and whistles like tee signs and benches at the tees. The course is definitely showing its age.

I also hate #1. Not only is it one of the more difficult holes on the course, which is bad enough for a first hole, but it requires a good deal of touch, which is terrible for a first hole.

It's also very crowded, although it doesn't have the massive groups that Williamson attracts for some reason. People are usually friendly and willing to let you play through.
Other Thoughts: Got my first ace on the old #17.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

1    6/8/2013   6/8/2013
Review By: benwilly
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 1. has long and short holes
2. Nice wooded course
3. Signs that tell you where the basket is from the starting position
Cons: 1. some times its a little confusing to find the next hole
2. Could lose a Frisbee if you aren't careful
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course

5+    4/1/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: noobynoober
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee Boxes, decent signage, some elevation changes. Several trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: Hard to follow course from hole 4-5 and you must cross in front of a tee box and a fairway from 2 different holes. No practice basket, unless you use 18
Other Thoughts: This is my neighborhood course where I have learned to play disc golf. It is challenging enough for a fun round, but you can also bring a beginner without to much worry. Trash cans are a plus and the Tee boxes are nice. the Tee signs could be better, but at least there is something. There are a few open holes that are almost like throwing in a field. There are a ton of birdie opportunities and shooting Par is not all that difficult. Experienced players could play the course with a handfull of discs. There is a creek but it is usually dry.

I love this course because it is within walking distance and it is a great course for casual rounds with friends.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    3/13/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think the overall rating of this course at 3.5 is pretty accurate. The park has a nice parking lot. I love the tee signs and tee pads, its a typical Houck course. The maps on the tee signs seemed to be fairly accurate. I read one of the previous reviews and I agree that Cat Hollow is similar to Searight. It is not to long but has some open holes if you want to air it out. I appreciated some of the technicallity of the course for example 1,2,6,7,16,17. I liked how on one it was a dog leg and I loved how tight hole 2 was. I threw a comet on most of the technical holes and did great. The course made use of the elevation that was provided by the land. I really liked 17 when you have a tunnel shot then the basket has a stone wall built up so you can fall off sort of like hole 6 at Lake Lewisville( Lewisville, Texas). I appreciate a good risk/ reward type putt.
Cons: The navigation was difficult in a few spots, To get to hole 1 walk by the street and it will be on your left. Also, I couldn't find hole 5 until I walked all the way around and finally found it. Besides that everything else is pretty easy to navigate. I did not like hole 5, 10,11,12 because they were just long open holes. I like some challenge on a hole even if it is a 500ft hole. There were no obstacles on these holes which made them a little bit boring. The front part and back part of course make up for it though. The stone that is throughout the fairs takes a beating on your disc. Many of mine had chunks taken out of the them.
Other Thoughts: The course was also packed. It seems that many recent reviewers also noted how crowded the course can get( I don't know because I was from out of town). I put that here instead of a pro or con because that can go both ways. If you take it as a pro, this means many people find the course enjoyable, and more people playing are sport. If you take it as a con, there could be some long waits on holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for everyone

5+    2/1/2013   2/4/2013
Review By: Throbbert
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many Par 3s from 200-300 feet. Perfect distance for beginners.
Both par 4s are very open for players to be able to open up and huck it.
Short enough that even when it is packed you can still make it all the way through in just over an hour.
Tee boxes are nice and have hole maps
Cons: Usually pretty packed
Some holes the brush is pretty thick and it is easy to lose a disc on a bad throw
Other Thoughts: Great place to start out disc golf if you have never played before

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good neighborhood Course

5+    8/31/2012   8/31/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 17.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cat Hollow provides a good, fun challenge for a wide range of player abilities. It's a pretty solid white level challenge, but still gives blue/gold players sufficient challenge to keep them coming back. It's also not too difficult for red level players.

The park is attractive, clean, and well-maintained. The schule is minimal and finding discs is pretty easy.

The variety of shots required is good. There's a good balance between power shots and technical shots. There are several good basket locations near drop-off's that make putting more interesting.

The course has its own parking lot and the location in a huge neighborhood is ideal for bringing families and younger players into the sport.

The tees, baskets, and tee signs are all good. There are plenty of trash cans and benches.


Hole 2 is a unique, short par 3 that requires good touch. It's about 200 ft., slightly uphill with a drop-off behind the basket. The tee is protected from the wind near the basket, requiring good knowledge of disc flight and execution.

Hole 8 is my favorite hole on the course. It's a fairly tight, slight right to left, 300 footer. The hole frames out very nicely through the woods, birdie is well earned and bogey or worse is always possible.
Cons: There are no directional signs from hole 4 to 5 and many players wander through hole 12 and 13's fairways.

Hole 6 is squeezed a little tightly between hole 5 and hole 7.

Drives on hole 11 frequently end up over the fence in the neighbor's yard.

The walk from hole 14 to hole 15 goes through hole 4's fairway and behind hole 3's basket.

Drives on hole 17 can hit cars in the parking lot.

The course is very popular and rounds can be pretty slow during peak times.
Other Thoughts: I'd say that Cat Hollow is like the North equivalent of Searight. I gave them both a 3.0, although I prefer Searight aesthetically.

Please do your part to help keep Cat Hollow clean! Happy discin'!

For information on my review philosophy, check out the other info section on my profile.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/17/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: teebob
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee boxes With newer tee signs than what are in the pictures.

Good baskets that are a consistent height.
most baskets have erosion control around and under them in the form of crushed granite and large stones marking a "green"

The course is kept mowed

The course has a wide variety of shots from tight controlled tunnels to wide open bombs.

Elevation changes on most of the holes.

Nothing here is a 100% gimme shot

This is a great place to work on mid range accuracy.

The course really does reward accurate drives and solid putting. It also punishes Bad drives.

No mulch, although a few places could use some.
Any weaknesses in a player's game will be made apparent here. The course requires power, shot-shaping, accuracy, strategy, escaping from trouble, and putting on risky greens.

This course is a great practice course and usually a quick round.
Cons: Layout is a little tricky. Play with a local or get a map.
Other Thoughts: To avoid a common heard complaint and to avoid crossing fairways from hole 4 to hole 5 simply walk over to the hiking/jogging path. From there you can walk down to hole 5s tee box without ever crossing fairways.
From 14 to 15 stay right till fence and look, if anyone is on 3s tee they will usually wave you by. I have played the course more times than i can count and have never encountered a problem at these crossings.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.