Disc Golf Store
Round Rock, TX 
Brushy Creek MUD DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #12 (Taken 10/2006)
3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 OK for beginners

2-4    3/27/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: pablo.diablo
Played: 58  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There are a few nice technical shots in the trees that I like.

Plenty of ace runs.

It's in a nicer neighborhood.

Good course for beginners, or intermediates+ looking to work on midrange game.
Cons: Much like the nearby Wilco course, it is very rocky! Don't take your sweet CE stuff out there, swap out for regular champ or star plastic before you go. Trust me.

Cat Hollow has the worst course flow/design in the Austin area, just taking the trophy over Northtown in Pflugerville.

Eventually you are basically criss-crossing back and forth across the drainage ditch on several holes during the back nine, and playing across or near the fairways to other holes.

it feels very repetitive somehow. Probably because most of the holes are pretty short and not very challenging for Advanced players.

Hole #18 is about as bland a final hole as I can remember, medium range hyzer for a RHBH thrower, and you are blind to the basket so you can't even see it if you ace. #17 would be a much better final hole.

Your skills will plateau at a low level if you do not play tougher courses than this.
Other Thoughts: If you like technical woods course and are in the area, go play Brushy Creek Sports Complex (9-hole course) instead.

If you want a much better designed, more challenging, and much longer Advanced-level course, go play nearby at Wilco instead.

In my opinion, this is one of the lowest rated overall 18-hole courses in the Austin area along with Benbrook. Sorry guys, that's just my opinion. I know beginners tend to really enjoy this place and I don't mean any offense to ya if you like it.

Beginners should play here instead of Brushy Creek Nine.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/16/2011   12/17/2011
Review By: Turner512
Played: 44  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course. A great combination of long, short, wide, and narrow holes. Starts a little wooded and then opens up, gets narrow again, then gets open and so on. A little variety in elevation. You have to throw over hills, up hills, down hills; its pretty fun. This course has something for everyone. Holes that reward Forehand and holes that reward backhand. I find holes really fun to throw tomahawks on. Terrain ranges from grass to gravel to rocks.Tee pads are concrete and signs tell you distance. Basket location is pretty good. Most holes are standard but a couple holes have drop offs directly off the "green" forcing you to make it or take it short. One hole is on a 45 degree hill really requiring precise shots.
Cons: If it's your first time playing it might be a little confusing when trying to find your way around. I most recently went on a muddy day and people wiped their feet off on the tee pads which is a little annoying. Typically a pretty popular populated course. You might run into some traffic. Some houses around the area. Its possible to throw your disc in someones back yard but only for pretty bad throws. None of the holes are really that creatively designed. Typical dog legs and distances but nothing that makes you say wow. A little plain.
Other Thoughts: I will just say I don't write long reviews because I don't like reading them but this course is pretty good. If you are in the North Austin area it is definitely worth your time. Stop by Wanna Play Disc Golf while you are over there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 This Cat loves to play Cat Hollow

5+    3/5/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: discgolf512
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the busiest course in North Austin (technically, a suburb of Austin). This course appeals to a wide range of player capabilities. It is a good course for a novice who wants to graduate from one of the pitch and putt courses. Most of the holes are around 200' - 300', can be seen from the teepad and can be birdied. There is a nice mix of hyzers, anhyzers, straight shots... combined with tunnel shots and open fairways.

On the other hand, this course will also appeal to a more experienced player, because if you are going to birdy these holes (consistantly) you are going to need accuracy and finesse. In all there are probably 12 holes that should be easily made in 2 shots and 3 holes are probably true par 4's.

The course is set in a flood plain with some minor elevation/erosion control landscaping incorporated nicely into the design and also makes use of paths cut through cedar brush for tunnel shots. The combination of environments makes for a course with a good mix and variety of shots.

Overall, the course is in good condition... trash cans and benches at most holes, the innova baskets are in good shape and tee pads were recently added. Most of the tee pads were not placed in the traditional ruts previously used, some were set back a few feet while others were shifted a few feet to the left or right (making tee shots slightly tougher) .

Note: Some major changes were also made:
Hole 10 basket was moved back almost 100' and placed on the side of the hill, in front of old 11 tee box(now a par 4).
Hole 11 tee box was moved further down, with no straight shot at the basket (either a anhyzer or hyzer).
Hole 17 now plays to old 18's basket location, making the hole almost 100' longer (now a par 4?).
Hole 18 is completely new, roughly a 275' hyzer shot (in the opposite direction of what it used to be).

I would still consider Hole 5 to be the signature hole. A 600', par 4, anhyzer shot out of the woods with a tree line always on your right and open space out left. A good par 4 that can be occasionaly done in 3 but don't be surprised when you take a 5 or higher.

With the addition of a parking lot a couple years ago and the recent attention/upgrades by the mud district... this course can only get better.
There are also several groups/clubs that run regular events at this course (on week days and weekends)... including night golf.
Cons: The only major con I can see... would be traffic. This course is busy can take longer than expected to play.

Minor issues: players have to walk through 13 fairway to get from hole 4 to tee 5. and a bad shot on 5 could put you by 6 basket.
Other Thoughts: This is really just a neighborhood course that is really way better than it should be... but it is NOT a championship calliber course. For that it would need way more parking, some sort of water hazard and little more distance added to most holes.
There are several courses nearby that have a higher course par, longer holes, require more finesse.... etc. but for what it is (a nice little/friendly neighborhood course), Cat Hollow is an over-achiever.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ego Booster

1    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: Clue
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty fun course. There's a little bit of shot variety. Tee pads were in so they're solid. Signs are nearly vandal proof, but not particularly informative. I loved the landscaping on some of the greens.
Cons: A little too easy, not a whole lot of challenge. Terrain is a little gnarly, and cedars aren't very forgiving (although you really shouldn't get in them much at all). A couple tees are a little tricky to find. Not sure where these elevation changes are, maybe some nuances, but there aren't any hills.
Other Thoughts: It is what it is, a fun little neighborhood 18 holer. I'd love to have it in my backyard, but it's not much more than a 3 or 4 disc course. Just keep in mind the overall flow. 1-8 play away from the parking lot and 9-18 play toward the parking lot. And you never cross the walking trail on the right.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Well Rounded Course

5+    11/3/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: vince
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scoring Opportunities. I like getting birdies and I love shooting under par. 'Cat Hollow' has plenty of birdie holes with some technical ones mixed in there and a few holes where you need to bring the lumber to get it there. I appreciate a hard course as much as the next guy...but I play DG because it's fun.

All in all this makes for a well rounded course.

Navigating the course is fairly straight forward...you might have a little trouble getting to the 5th tee. It's a a big sweeping blind right hander.
Cons: As mentioned by several reviews the tee pads are pretty janky. It also gets crowded at peak times.
Other Thoughts: Go to 'Cat Hallow' and have fun! If you want a challenge head to Wilco or Brushy Creek sports park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Everything you need...

5+    8/24/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: Chain_Smoker
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The small time I've been playing, this course has probably kept me coming back the most. You have a wide variety of shots that range from very easy to very hard. Some holes are almost completely covered with trees and some are wide open leaving you free to rip one as far as you want. The course is pretty easy to navigate but can be confusing around hole #5. You want to go past the basket for hole #16 and go up the path to your right. The tee is pretty easily marked. It's kind of a long course, you'll walk a good distance while you're out there. I would same that it is some what forgiving but some holes might get to you. Regardless, it's fun, it's beautiful and it's perfect for any new comer or pro. Bring some water for those summer time trips, it can get quite humid around all those trees.
Cons: None really, there are a couple of holes that you may hit some power lines on some holes depending on your throwing style. It can also be frustrating if you're prone to throwing in trees. You may lose a disc or two. I have.
Other Thoughts: This is a perfect course to brush up your skills, take on a few obstacles, and still come out feeling good about your game. This is one of Round Rock's finest courses, everyone should try to play it at least once. Have fun with #15, it's my FAVORITE! Have fun!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great diversity

1    3/6/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: breakingday
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course with a wide range of shots. This is a great way to spend the day rounding off your game in all areas.
Cons: Crowded. This isn't a course you go to and expect to take your time, there's almost always someone in front of you and behind you.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the residential areas, though they're usually pretty nice about getting a lost disc out of their back yard.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/3/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid design with wide tee shot variety, both in dog legs and distance. A few tight lines through the cedars, a few open shots across some fields, and a few blind shots. Great opportunities for aces/birdies. Nothing super-long for players with shorter arms. Fast playing and usually not too crowded. Great Northside alternative to Zilker due to its ease, playability, and brevity. Good flow to the course: ends where it started, right by the new parking lot.
Cons: Tee boxes are wretched, even when they're dry. The mix of dirt, gravel, and mulch make for very unsteady footing; coupled with that is the fact that they're all pretty well worn into the ground. They might make you over-conscious of your footing, which might have a negative effect on your release. Four holes cross over (or come close to) which can cause for a delay in play or an increase in the risk of being caught off guard by an errant throw. Tee markers are pretty crappy, especially in comparison to some of the other courses in the area. The distance and par are marked, but there's no indication of where the pin is; however, most of the holes are straightforward enough that there isn't a whole lot of confusion. Close to an apartment complex with a fence that's not easy to climb if your disc crosses it, and some houses with fences that aren't exactly delightful to scale; fortunately, it's only a very regrettable throw that will land you over. Fairly easy. None of the holes are difficult enough to make you want to come back and want to "conquer" them.
Other Thoughts: What's with the benches? Is it erosion, shifting soil, or were they just put in haphazardly? They're high, uneven, angled; maybe that was Round Rock's answer to Austin's keeping it weird campaign.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

5+    4/5/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: destrokhan
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: There is a lot of variety to the course. BC has a great mix of short technical holes and long distance holes (nothing over 600ft. though) requiring a variety of shots. The course has a great layout and flows nicely dropping you off where you start. There aren't any water hazards and for the most part wind isn't an issue except on a few elevation holes. It's generally well maintained, at times overgrown but rarely. They've also added recycling for cans and plastic bottles which is a great idea and there are plenty of trash cans.
Cons: Some spots eat discs, especially holes 9 and 10, mainly 10 nicknamed the "Indian Burial Ground". There are plenty of thick brush and when there's enough rain overgrowth is common to make finding discs nearly impossible. Wind is a big issue on a few holes where you're throwing down a hill or over one but that's a given.
Other Thoughts: I play this course the most since it's relatively close to my house and it's fun and has plenty of hole variety. You should definitely stop by BC if you're in the Round Rock/Cedar Park area

 Great course!!!

2-4    1/24/2010   1/26/2010
Review By: texaspride73
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is well layed out in my opinion. A good variety of short and long shots. You wont throw your arm out on this one but you need good precision on some. The pictures on the site do this course no justice. I have played Cirlce C and Pease. I really liked Brushy(aka Cat Hollow) a lot more. One of the best I played in Austin area. They have layed out mulch and the greens around the basket are very nice. New parking lot was very nice too.
Cons: To be really honest I would have to say the only things I can say bad is the tee boxes are a bit rocky and there is no good layout of the holes when teeing off.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and will be playing it every time I am in Austin.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.