Round Rock, TX 
Brushy Creek MUD DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #18 (Taken 4/2008)
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Good All Around Fun

5+    10/3/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: stevepetrik73
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a lot to like about this course. Even on the shorted holes there is some risk involved like flying the green on 2 and missing left on 15 & 16. I love the risk reward offered on 17 & 18 and, contrary to some of the other reviews here, I LOVE "Birdie Alley" on the back side as an opportunity to make up for mistakes made prior to #13. They help me to keep my head in the game knowing I have a chance on the back 9 to pull out a good round if I have a few slips on the front. I like that the course rewards me with rounds under par when I manage it well (best is -6) and punishes me when I make some mental/mechanical errors (worst is uhh...let's say over par LOL). The 3 longest holes offer a chance to really air it out and MAN does it feel good when you get a good release on one or all of them...nothing feels quite like a monster drive.

Although 4&5 cross up with 12&13, the area is pretty open and I have never seen an instance where a player threw into traffic and it caused an issue. There are opportunities all over the course to see other players air it out, which is always fun. Ace runs on 1,2,3,7,9,13,14,15 and 18 all require precision and (while this is a lot of ace runs on one course...which I like), most of them will penalize you pretty heavily if you make an aggressive run at them and miss.

Which leads me to my favorite thing about this course - there is risk/reward on just about every hole.

Excellent use of what elevation changes are present. John designed the course with wind in mind and it definitely comes into play on 3, 4, 10, 11 and 13, 15, 16 (although the wind sometimes feels stronger than it actually is). I like that this kind of nuance is something you can only learn from playing many rounds out there.

I can get in 2 rounds in under 2 hours if there is light traffic and I can ALWAYS find a player/group to join up with when I head out there as a single.

There are nice benches on 10 of the holes and the newly installed recycling bins are a welcome addition.

As of last weekend, the rock pile beside the new parking lot (SWEET!) is now in the line-of-site on 18 making it much more challenging.
Cons: The only cons on this course are the Tee Boxes...which suck. If there aren't rocks protruding through them, they are rutted DEEP. Concrete pads are something the city needs to look at here FOR SURE!
Other Thoughts: The new parking lot screams of locals complaining about all the parking on the street. The park is located on the inside of a long sweeping curve in the road so I think it is a good idea but I would have MUCH rather seen them address a much bigger safety concern on the course by installing and/or at least re-grading the Tee Pads. In my humble opinion, I think the risk of someone twisting an ankle when teeing off far outweighs the possibility of someone getting hit by a passing car on the street.

This is however and will probably always be my favorite course in the north of town.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not the most challenging or creative, but still a good time

2-4    8/10/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -There are many "greens" that are built-up flat with substantial drop-offs either behind or to the side, or both. If your score is close during the last couple holes, those drop-offs behind the baskets can get a bit intimidating.

-Good variety of shots from open field shots to tighter wooded holes, but nothing too terribly long. There's one par 4 that turns right and runs along the treeline that can be dangerous if you anhyzer it too much.

-Decent flow except for having to cross a fairway after one of the holes.

-Good use of available man-made elevation changes that arise because of drainage design. A couple holes shoot down a hill, which is always welcome and a couple others are blind and shoot up and over man-made berms. Btw, be sure not to overshoot the blind Hole 2 by more than ten feet or you'll blow an easy birdie op by going down the hill beyond the green.

Cons: -Teepads are possibly the worst in Austin with many jagged rocks protruding on multiple teeboxes.

-The trees are mostly weed trees, aka cedars, which are short, provide no shade, and create a very thick underbrush for when you go off the fairway. Most of the course is in the sun so it's probably not the best summer course especially when the shaded Williamson County and Brushy Creek Sports Park courses are just around the corner.

-A few too many short holes that are too easy, especially on the back 9. I don't mind short holes, but there needs to be some sort of challenge to them, and there's a lot of shorter holes on this course that offer very little in the area of "challenge" other than being able to park an approach shot.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is an enjoyable course to play because it offers just enough challenge (on most of the holes) to make me feel satisfied when I do well. However, there are still about 5 holes that I would consider "filler holes" that really add nothing to the course. The only thing that saves some of these holes are the the slopes around the greens, which punishes you for not having precision drives and makes you think twice when putting towards the slope.

If you're in the area and haven't played Wilco then definitely play that course even if you have to drive right past this one. You can actually play this course pretty quickly and get a round in here and at the challenging 9 hole Brushy Creek Sports Park in the same amount of time it would take you to play 18 at Wilco.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Got some dirt on my sholder will you brush it off for me?

2-4    5/27/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.5 Years
Pros: Great elevation shots! Awesome turns. Not much water. Pretty quiet during the week. trails to every hole.
Cons: Tee boxes are dug out of rock. Unsafe footing! I throw from beside the box or behind. When grass is tall, its real tall. Wind can come into play on several holes.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. No too much of anything. Not terribly hard, but challenging enough to make me want to come back. I shot 7 over, an improvement from last time. I'm such an amateur.

 A Lot of Fun

2-4    3/30/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 94  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all I love this course. For someone like me who is a decent player but far from great it always offers a challenge while also offering many ace and birdie opportunities. It has a good amount of elevation changes with some pretty decent views of the surroundings. The park has not been busy the two times I played it and seems to move very quickly. I like the variety of holes with some large open holes to rip on and some tight technical holes as well.
Cons: I am hard pressed to say there is anything I dislike about this course. It is what pros or ams would consider "easy". But for someone like myself its the most fun I have playing disc golf. The only other issue I could see coming up with the course is the lack of parking as there is no parking lot and you have park on the street.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. Yes its not as challenging as East Metro or Pease. Yes it can have some derivative holes. But for an overall fun laid back day of DG there is no better course in Texas.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/11/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.3 Years
Pros: 18 holes, brushy trees, variety of shots. No water that I have ever seen, and the brush is not to dense. No very busy
Cons: Tee pads can get bad at times. A little confusing at first but you can pick it up rather quickly.
Other Thoughts: A fun play and some good ace runs. we all like ace runs.

 Nice quick round

5+    2/3/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: Djza
Played: 61  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can agree with many here that for a course built in some retention ponds behind some apartments, it is pretty nice.

That being said, the park is more than just some open fields*cough cough*(Old Settlers) and takes good use of the trees in the Northwest corner.

I like the layout for some holes requiring good lines to avoid trees to actually being able to air it out every now and then.

Some ace runs make it fun and quick and also not too tough for beginners, with enough challenge to the adv. players.

I've always thought it pretty easy to find your way around out here, and there is plenty of shade and even benches on most tees. Some of the benches are set a little jankily, but at least they are there.
Cons: Having to walk in front of two tee boxes to get to hole 5 is a bit scary.

Rough ground can be pretty hard on discs.
13-15 seem pretty boring and repetitive for an experienced golfer.
Other Thoughts: For some reason I always manage to catch great sunsets out here. A round can be played quickly, allowing for extra holes either here or maybe up in Wilco, etc.
Not the best course in town, but not to be forgotten either.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Meow Cat Hollow

1    1/25/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brushy Creek is a short and sparsely wooded course populated with short cedars. A few holes are wide open with rolling hills. There is a very high fun factor here. I wanted to play it again as soon as I finished my round. When I played here it was busy and the course was full of people. Luckily there is great disc golf etiquette here and I was able to play through every single group I encountered. This course has a good variety of holes that flow together well. The rocks around the putting area on numbers seventeen and eighteen are a classy touch that highlight the risk reward of having the pin positions high above a creek A good number of ace runs had me pumped. For me, I enjoyed the middle parts of the course, holes six through eleven the most. I do not think there was a real signature hole just lots of decent quality holes.
Cons: The tee boxes are not paved, and have well worn pits with jagged rocks exposed from the earth just waiting to grab you by the toe in mid x-step. The signs are just yellow posts which someone was nice enough to write distances on. However the course seems busy and there is decent map available in the links section. A few fairways are whitewashed in a few spots with very jagged rocks that could eat plastic. At times I would say this course is too easy, like number two which I imagine is aced daily. There is a few crazy spots in which a person without a guide or map could get lost. Particularly from basket to tee-box on number four to five. Number five is confusing itself with a long blind dogleg that stays out in the open but hugs around the cedars. Some of the holes in the back nine that are out in the open felt like filler to get you back to the parking area.

The day I played had perfect weather and as a result the course had a ton of traffic. The parking situation is off street, and since it was busy we needed to park a little far away before I could get to throwing. Being an easy course, I encountered a good share of recreational and 420 golfers. All of them friendly of course! However, as I mentioned in the pros, good golf etiquette here.
Other Thoughts: The course is shorter than I expected, which added to my enjoyment of it. An experienced golfer will be looking to string together a flock of birdies. Brushy Creek might be one of the best "behind a housing development" courses I have ever played. I played here after playing nearby Williamson County DGC, which is very long, and the shortness was a welcome transition. Do not skip this course based on distance because it is still pretty fun.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Cat Hollow

1    12/28/2008   12/28/2008
Review By: milow369
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every tee box is marked with hole # and distance to basket. Lots of ace runs possible. Great use of a wet weather runoff area between two subdivisions. Nice benches at most tee boxes.
Cons: Tee boxes are a little rough/worn. One area of the course, on the back, has 4-5 holes that converge. On a busy day, could be issues with discs flying errant. Trash in the creek bed along holes 1 & 18 is unfortunate. Not too many great views as this course takes advantage of land used for wet weather runoff. The occasional 7-some.
Other Thoughts: Fun course if you've got an hour and are in the area. Offers some elevation changes and requires more than just a backhand shot. Centrally located between Old Settlers and Wilco. I will play it again

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent for beginner/intermediate players

5+    11/20/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: metis314159
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of shot selection required for the optimal approach. There are elevation changes on several holes, including several with drop-offs on one side of the disc catcher making putting & approach interesting. There are signs at each tee indicating the distance and par; however, they do not show the hole location which is annoying the first time you play some of the blind holes. Good mix of open and tight tree-lined fairways.
Cons: Rocks jut up into the tee pads on several of the holes and several holes have telephone lines running across the fairways, though if you keep your shot down they shouldn't matter. Also, there are several (smallish) patches of cactus on a couple of the holes. There are a few too many short holes (even if they do usually have a narrow fairway or curvature) since a good drive for an intermediate player will put you in putting range on most holes. For first timers, the location of the next hole can be confusing at times unless you bring a map.
Other Thoughts: If the course had concrete tees and better signage to indicate the next hole location, etc. then it would rate at least a 4.0. I have not seen the course with water, but there is a dried up creek bed (there hasn't been much rain this year) that runs through the course and would come into play on several holes if it was rainy. The rough is not overly punishing - most of the time if you throw into the trees you can still shoot out of them. This also means the chance of loosing a disc is minimal.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for a quick round

5+    10/9/2008   10/11/2008
Review By: Dude
Played: 139  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an extremely fun course to play. It has enough short holes for newer players while not pandering to them like some other shorter courses but has enough diverse shot selection to keep experienced players interested.

One of the best things about this course is that requires a lot of different shots. You'll need to be able to throw forehand or anhyzers whether you are a left or right hand player. There are a number of holes where you really have to let loose and rip some long shots (4,5,10,11,12) and there are some short holes where a overhand shot may be the right choice (1,2,7,14,17). There are a few holes where you can drive with your putter or mid.

For amateurs it's a nice place to build your skills and shot types b/c you're going to need to use a flick or anhyzer to play this course well. Honestly, it's the basic course layout and needed shots that make this a good course.

There are lots of opportunities for aces and birdies. But it's not a bunch of wide open straight shots for aces. Making a run for an ace may cost you the birdie shot due to roughs or elevation changes. And roughs most likely will cost you a stroke but it's relatively hard to lose a disc here.

There's a parking lot now so no more need to spend time looking for places to park on the street!
Cons: If you haven't played here before...most likely you'll be confused about the layout. Though most of the baskets are visible from the tee there are a couple that might require a walk up or need someone to point out the basket. The main 2 culprits are holes 4 and 5. Hole 4 is on the other side of a levee. It's best to walk along the left side by the fence to take a look and make sure there's no one still putting. But for a reference point, there's a culvert cutting through the right side of the levee and points to a lighter colored/non cedar tree, which won't have leaves in the "winter." The pin is a little to the left of that tree. Hole 5 is a long right curve. From the tee box you'll look directly at the pin for #11. After your first shot you'll see a basket short and to the right, that's #6. There will then be 2 baskets on the right side of the field, it'll be the one on the right side, nearest the trees. The other is hole #10.

After hole #4 you have to walk down the right side of the ditch and past the tee box for #13 and then the basket for #12. You're a little lower than the tee box but be aware that people are driving from your right and from the far left. And when it's windy there may be some errant throws from the left right in your direction. Just pay attention and you'll soon be at the hole #5 tee box.

Hole #10 is a great hole. It starts with a fairway then opens to allow for wind. Be careful not to get your disc up too much here because there is an apartment complex to the right. I've played here many times and while not often (mostly people who haven't played here), discs can get caught in the wind and lifted up over the trees and into the fenced area.

The tee boxes on a few of these holes are really bad. Luckily on the holes with the worst boxes you don't really need too much of a run up but it would be nice if they were better groomed.

There are also a couple rocky fairways (6-9) here so watch your footing and your discs may take some damage if not careful.

The parking lot. Yeah, that's strange to say. But they basically put the lot right on the edge of hole #18 so you're throwing right near or over parked cars. Not a good idea. Honestly, I think they're going to need to move the tee box for 18 because of this.
Other Thoughts: A good twosome can finish in about an hour if they don't get caught behind other groups. But most people are friendly and courteous to offer to allow smaller groups to play through.

There is a mixed doubles mini on Thursdays at 5pm so expect a bigger crowd and longer wait on that day.

I think that this course along with Wilco are 2 courses that will help to expand your game considerably. There isn't a lot here that is left up to luck since you're not throwing through too many trees. There are clear fairways and you're going to have to learn how to shoot left and right hooks. There are longer shots where wind comes into play.

If the tee box issue were taken care of, better signs at the tee boxes and a course map put up, this could move into the 4 star zone. But until the boxes are fixed I can't justify it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.