Round Rock, TX 
Brushy Creek MUD DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #11 (Taken 10/2006)
3 / 393ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Meow Cat Hollow

1    1/25/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 13.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brushy Creek is a short and sparsely wooded course populated with short cedars. A few holes are wide open with rolling hills. There is a very high fun factor here. I wanted to play it again as soon as I finished my round. When I played here it was busy and the course was full of people. Luckily there is great disc golf etiquette here and I was able to play through every single group I encountered. This course has a good variety of holes that flow together well. The rocks around the putting area on numbers seventeen and eighteen are a classy touch that highlight the risk reward of having the pin positions high above a creek A good number of ace runs had me pumped. For me, I enjoyed the middle parts of the course, holes six through eleven the most. I do not think there was a real signature hole just lots of decent quality holes.
Cons: The tee boxes are not paved, and have well worn pits with jagged rocks exposed from the earth just waiting to grab you by the toe in mid x-step. The signs are just yellow posts which someone was nice enough to write distances on. However the course seems busy and there is decent map available in the links section. A few fairways are whitewashed in a few spots with very jagged rocks that could eat plastic. At times I would say this course is too easy, like number two which I imagine is aced daily. There is a few crazy spots in which a person without a guide or map could get lost. Particularly from basket to tee-box on number four to five. Number five is confusing itself with a long blind dogleg that stays out in the open but hugs around the cedars. Some of the holes in the back nine that are out in the open felt like filler to get you back to the parking area.

The day I played had perfect weather and as a result the course had a ton of traffic. The parking situation is off street, and since it was busy we needed to park a little far away before I could get to throwing. Being an easy course, I encountered a good share of recreational and 420 golfers. All of them friendly of course! However, as I mentioned in the pros, good golf etiquette here.
Other Thoughts: The course is shorter than I expected, which added to my enjoyment of it. An experienced golfer will be looking to string together a flock of birdies. Brushy Creek might be one of the best "behind a housing development" courses I have ever played. I played here after playing nearby Williamson County DGC, which is very long, and the shortness was a welcome transition. Do not skip this course based on distance because it is still pretty fun.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Cat Hollow

1    12/28/2008   12/28/2008
Review By: milow369
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every tee box is marked with hole # and distance to basket. Lots of ace runs possible. Great use of a wet weather runoff area between two subdivisions. Nice benches at most tee boxes.
Cons: Tee boxes are a little rough/worn. One area of the course, on the back, has 4-5 holes that converge. On a busy day, could be issues with discs flying errant. Trash in the creek bed along holes 1 & 18 is unfortunate. Not too many great views as this course takes advantage of land used for wet weather runoff. The occasional 7-some.
Other Thoughts: Fun course if you've got an hour and are in the area. Offers some elevation changes and requires more than just a backhand shot. Centrally located between Old Settlers and Wilco. I will play it again

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent for beginner/intermediate players

5+    11/20/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: metis314159
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of shot selection required for the optimal approach. There are elevation changes on several holes, including several with drop-offs on one side of the disc catcher making putting & approach interesting. There are signs at each tee indicating the distance and par; however, they do not show the hole location which is annoying the first time you play some of the blind holes. Good mix of open and tight tree-lined fairways.
Cons: Rocks jut up into the tee pads on several of the holes and several holes have telephone lines running across the fairways, though if you keep your shot down they shouldn't matter. Also, there are several (smallish) patches of cactus on a couple of the holes. There are a few too many short holes (even if they do usually have a narrow fairway or curvature) since a good drive for an intermediate player will put you in putting range on most holes. For first timers, the location of the next hole can be confusing at times unless you bring a map.
Other Thoughts: If the course had concrete tees and better signage to indicate the next hole location, etc. then it would rate at least a 4.0. I have not seen the course with water, but there is a dried up creek bed (there hasn't been much rain this year) that runs through the course and would come into play on several holes if it was rainy. The rough is not overly punishing - most of the time if you throw into the trees you can still shoot out of them. This also means the chance of loosing a disc is minimal.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for a quick round

5+    10/9/2008   10/11/2008
Review By: Dude
Played: 184  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an extremely fun course to play. It has enough short holes for newer players while not pandering to them like some other shorter courses but has enough diverse shot selection to keep experienced players interested.

One of the best things about this course is that requires a lot of different shots. You'll need to be able to throw forehand or anhyzers whether you are a left or right hand player. There are a number of holes where you really have to let loose and rip some long shots (4,5,10,11,12) and there are some short holes where a overhand shot may be the right choice (1,2,7,14,17). There are a few holes where you can drive with your putter or mid.

For amateurs it's a nice place to build your skills and shot types b/c you're going to need to use a flick or anhyzer to play this course well. Honestly, it's the basic course layout and needed shots that make this a good course.

There are lots of opportunities for aces and birdies. But it's not a bunch of wide open straight shots for aces. Making a run for an ace may cost you the birdie shot due to roughs or elevation changes. And roughs most likely will cost you a stroke but it's relatively hard to lose a disc here.

There's a parking lot now so no more need to spend time looking for places to park on the street!
Cons: If you haven't played here before...most likely you'll be confused about the layout. Though most of the baskets are visible from the tee there are a couple that might require a walk up or need someone to point out the basket. The main 2 culprits are holes 4 and 5. Hole 4 is on the other side of a levee. It's best to walk along the left side by the fence to take a look and make sure there's no one still putting. But for a reference point, there's a culvert cutting through the right side of the levee and points to a lighter colored/non cedar tree, which won't have leaves in the "winter." The pin is a little to the left of that tree. Hole 5 is a long right curve. From the tee box you'll look directly at the pin for #11. After your first shot you'll see a basket short and to the right, that's #6. There will then be 2 baskets on the right side of the field, it'll be the one on the right side, nearest the trees. The other is hole #10.

After hole #4 you have to walk down the right side of the ditch and past the tee box for #13 and then the basket for #12. You're a little lower than the tee box but be aware that people are driving from your right and from the far left. And when it's windy there may be some errant throws from the left right in your direction. Just pay attention and you'll soon be at the hole #5 tee box.

Hole #10 is a great hole. It starts with a fairway then opens to allow for wind. Be careful not to get your disc up too much here because there is an apartment complex to the right. I've played here many times and while not often (mostly people who haven't played here), discs can get caught in the wind and lifted up over the trees and into the fenced area.

The tee boxes on a few of these holes are really bad. Luckily on the holes with the worst boxes you don't really need too much of a run up but it would be nice if they were better groomed.

There are also a couple rocky fairways (6-9) here so watch your footing and your discs may take some damage if not careful.

The parking lot. Yeah, that's strange to say. But they basically put the lot right on the edge of hole #18 so you're throwing right near or over parked cars. Not a good idea. Honestly, I think they're going to need to move the tee box for 18 because of this.
Other Thoughts: A good twosome can finish in about an hour if they don't get caught behind other groups. But most people are friendly and courteous to offer to allow smaller groups to play through.

There is a mixed doubles mini on Thursdays at 5pm so expect a bigger crowd and longer wait on that day.

I think that this course along with Wilco are 2 courses that will help to expand your game considerably. There isn't a lot here that is left up to luck since you're not throwing through too many trees. There are clear fairways and you're going to have to learn how to shoot left and right hooks. There are longer shots where wind comes into play.

If the tee box issue were taken care of, better signs at the tee boxes and a course map put up, this could move into the 4 star zone. But until the boxes are fixed I can't justify it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not so good first time, better the second

1    7/30/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 146  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/28/2009
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good setting for disc golf in the trees and nicely carved out fairways on some holes. Some elevation change. Good baskets. There are signs that give you the distance and the par. You may be lucky, like I was, to see deer walking around on the course.
Cons: This course is very confusing to navigate. I played at about 2:30 in the afternoon and it was hard to stay in the shade while playing the course. No concrete teepads. The signs don't tell you where the basket is. This is definitely a course that would require someone who knows the course for your first time out. Telephone lines run through some of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I stopped by to play on a trip down for disc golf in the Austin area.. I left after hole 5 when I threw blind into the fairway on a 599 ft hole only to get out there and find 5 baskets in view that could be the one that I was shooting at. The signs do not show you the fairway or basket placement. It was too hot to bother without a map, so I left and came back the next day with a printed map. The next day there were a couple of other guys playing that I jumped in with and they showed me the way around the course. Without them, I'd have been lost trying to find my way around.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The funnest course in Round Rock!

6/5/2008   7/17/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2008
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots like blind right and left hooks, blind over a man-made dam, tight tunnels, two great tees from the top of hills.
Cons: Not as naturally beautiful as some courses due to it being on a man made drainage ditch between two neighborhoods. Too many local cooler draggers. The trashcans are usually overflowing with empties.
Other Thoughts: You better take water and wear a hat. There's not much shade to be found on the back nine.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


8/10/2007   7/6/2008
Review By: bacr
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good variation of shots required. There are several long, open holes as well as some tight, technical holes.
Cons: The back nine can get confusing. There are also several holes that throw across the same area, so if the course is crowded, be sure to watch your head.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a pretty decent course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    4/27/2008   4/29/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 209  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Nice tee signs. Very well defined "greens". Baskets in good shape as are most of the tee boxes. Some fun elevation changes. Good balance of hyzer & anhyzer shots will not favor righties or lefties. Minimal pedestrian interference.
Confusing layout without a map, especially #5 which could easily be played to #6's basket by mistake. A map will guide transitions from hole #4 to #5 and #14 to #15. No fairways actually cross, but several play very close to each other. Multiple blind holes make this a more difficult course the first time(s) you play it.
Other Thoughts:
Narrow fairways through the trees will challenge your shot making ability. I question some of the posted distances, but didn't have my range finder with me so I can't dispute them with evidence, but be wary of the accuracy of posted numbers. Course is also known as "Cat Hollow" by locals due to it's location in the Cat Hollow subdivision.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.