Palmyra, IN
Buffalo Trace Park Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #14 (Taken 12/2012)
5 / 235ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Long Tee Sign



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Par confusion??

1    4/9/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Attractive course set in a pretty park. The nearby lake doesn't come into play during a round, but it adds to the beauty of the course.
-Upkeep looks good, appears to be regularly mowed. Mulch around the baskets is a nice touch that I wish more courses would employ.
-Picnic tables near most (all?) teepads. Very nice.
-Concrete teepads on the longs (a bit small for my liking, however)
-Signs were good, navigation from hole to hole was smooth. As first timers without a map, we had no trouble finding our way around.
-Course makes good use of the available land. Some of the holes are sort of bunched up near each other, but there's just no more land to be had here.
Cons: -What is the par on this course??? The hole info listed on this site is completely different from what is on the teepad signs. In fact, the pars on the course signs were the most ludicrously generous pars I've ever seen. I don't buy into the "everything is par 3" line of thinking. I like to measure my game against the expected score for a given hole, ie par. But....par 4 on a 250 open hole?? Really? I don't think I've ever played a course where it felt like I was getting charity, but going by the tee signs, it felt exactly like that. Our round was like this: birdie, eagle, birdie, eagle, eagle, etc. Who are these pars set for? Children? Old ladies?

I think if you took the pars posted on the teepad signs, and subtracted 1 stroke from every one of them, you'd have a decent, semi-challenging par. That's probably how I'll play this course the next time I go.
-We played this course after a heavy rain, and being mostly flat, there was some puddling in places.
Other Thoughts: Despite the fact that you have to decide upon your own par when you play this course, this is a nice course, and I'll play it again. In fact, I want to bring my kids to play this course. With the posted pars being so generous, it will probably make them feel really good to be able to get some pars and birdies of their own!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Oh give me a home where the Buffalo roam...

2-4    7/22/2009   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are some very tough technical holes; and a few grip and rip to boot. The scenery is nice as several holes line the large lake in the middle of the park/campground. When through with a round you can go fishing, canoeing, or for a swim.
Cons: There are some lower lying areas for several holes which can become mesquito heaven (Or hell based on your point of view!); so be forewarned and forearmed with some Deep Woods Off! Very little in the way of elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: There has been inquiries from the park owner's in 2009 as to adding more holes; and there are some more elevated terrain areas that could be well utilized which would help increase this courses overall rating. If you like to camp and play DG, this is a fine destination.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    4/25/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice variety of holes, and makes good use of the land available. Nearly all the holes play through various densities of trees, making this course more of an accuracy challenge. A few holes call for fairly precise lines down narrow fairways or around doglegs.

The scenery is nice, with pretty views of the lake (though the water doesn't ever come into play). The course seems well maintained, with adequate signs, and no issues following the course. The rubber tee pads were mostly in good shape and fine to throw from. I was playing with some less experienced players, and they appreciated the more beginner-friendly short tees available on each hole. Many of these tees give very different looks at the basket, and so a round from each would really feel like two very different games. We played the course as 19 holes, as the short and long 18th play to two different baskets, and the long 18 flows nicely after the short one.

The park was well maintained, and there was evidence of significant cleanup work done after recent storms. Overall, the course is well laid out and an enjoyable walk.
Cons: The course starts behind the campground, so to get there you have to either pay to enter the park/campground and find a place to park, or park at the far end of the lake and walk around to the course. The walk around the lake is a little long, but the trail is nice, and this didn't take too much away from the course.
Other Thoughts: Though this course is almost completely flat, the designer(s) made good use of the terrain available. I thought this was a fun little course, and certainly worth playing. Few of the holes had much length, but it was fun to play a course where accuracy was the real key. Obvious improvements have been made recently, and if this keeps up this course could be even better.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Aaarghhh

2-4    11/16/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: john campbell
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice scenery and camping on a clean, well-manicured course. Storm damage was quickly cleared away. Nice variety, neat terrain changes, low ceilings, tight fairways, mean dog-legs, all of the challenges we look for in an interesting round of disc golf.
Cons: Accuracy is absolutely neccessary. There are a lot of trees and several tight fairways lined on both sides with rows of pines. I think part of the course might be an overgrown Xmas tree farm due to the symmetrical spacing and perfect rows. Anyway, it makes for some tight, long channels and (unless you can throw a perfect line drive) you will hit trees.
Other Thoughts: Park entrance was $5 per car in season. We played today, November 16, free. Park office looks like it will be boarded up for the winter.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    8/6/2008   8/18/2008
Review By: discpilot.com
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course. The course has a variety of shots with varying distance and elevation from hole to hole. Additionally, there are multiple tees, which provide players with a couple of different looks and shots to choose from (in most cases). This is more of a finesse course that requires a player to have control and some skill (not too much). However, players from all levels can play this course without too much difficultly and have a fun round of golf.
Cons: This course is pretty short. For professional players, this course may be a little too short which makes it too easy. Many holes would be considered ace run holes (when trees are not in the way). Some holes have trees hovering over the fairway forcing players to keep their shots down (an in many cases too low to gain quality distance).
Other Thoughts: The course has improved over the last 1 years. This park has a lot of potential and with continued work; this park could transform this into a really nice DGC.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.