Palmyra, IN 
Buffalo Trace Park Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #17 (Taken 12/2012)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Short Tee Sign



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Early Fall

1    10/5/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: DitchBall
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging course, with plenty of trees and minor hills. This was my first time playing the course and I found the layout very simple to follow. Low canopy makes many of the holes challenging. For bonus points, a few holes have great views of the lake, but it never is in play. The course appears to be well maintained.
Cons: Very few. A garbage can or two would be a nice addition.
Other Thoughts: We camped at the park. Well worth the short trip from Louisville.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/5/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Buffalo Trace Disc Golf Course is a scenic little 19-hole course that is both fun and challenging for players of all levels. There is a small fee to enter the park ($5/vehicle), but well worth it for the disc golf experience you'll get for your money.

Course Essentials:
Baskets: Innova DISCatchers. Baskets are all in good shape.
Tee Pads: All holes have level, concrete Pro tees, and many holes have an alternate rubber Am tee that offers a slight distance advantage over the Pro tees.
Tee Signs: All holes have accurate tee signs that show hole layout and distance.

Navigation:
Course maps (with scorecard), and individual scorecards are available upon request at the park entrance. I only used the map to locate the first hole, after that, you won't need it. The course flows great from hole to hole, and navigation is a breeze. There is a small sign near the each basket pointing the direction to the next tee.

Course Design:
Buffalo Trace offers a great layout through narrow, heavily wooded fairways with low canopies and gently rolling hills. The course plays just under 6000ft, but don't be deceived by the lack of distance, the fairways are well defined, and well protected. A lot of drives get knocked down or off line due to the low ceiling, so be prepared to navigate through small gaps in and around the trees on your approach. It seems like the front nine is a little easier, so try to grab your birdies here and hold on for the back nine. Despite the short holes, you'll likely find yourself tossing up shots at the basket on the back nine as opposed to putting for birdie, or at least that was my experience.

The course offers a good variety in right/left dogleg fairways and uphill/downhills shots. The first and last holes are pretty open, but otherwise a semi-technical layout that will challenge all skill levels. The park is built around a nice lake, and several of the holes on the course run near the water as well. No big risk of losing a disc in the water except for number six where the lake runs all down the right side of the fairway. The course is very scenic, and enjoyable.

Maintenance:
The park itself was clean and very well-maintained, the disc golf course is no exception. You can tell that they take a lot of pride in their park, it shows. There was little over-growth or underbrush on the course, not really enough to even notice. The fairways were nicely manicured and the rough was very manageable.

Ammenities:
Camping is available with restrooms and shower houses. Parking was adequate. I actually got to park in the campground area since it wasn't so busy, but still a little bit of a hike to the first tee.
Cons: A few things to mention, but nothing major, and really these things are only for someone new to the course to keep in mind. There is one crossing fairway (2's basket to 3's tee crosses 7's fairway). Several holes require the player to walk back in the general direction of the hole they just played, so if you are on the tee, just make sure the areas are clear before throwing. These areas are going from 3's basket to 4's tee, 5's basket to 6's tee, and players walking from 15's basket to 16's tee will be walking near the fairway for 16, so make sure everything is clear before proceeding. And the practice basket, I thought. Walking toward the first tee, there was a basket in an open field. I thought it was a practice basket, but when I got to the tee for 19, I realized that the practice basket was actually 19's basket, and the tee shot is blind, so if someone was using the basket for practice, it would be easy to throw without realizing others are in the area. Granted, 19 is 500+ ft, so not a lot of people are going to be driving the green here, but just keep it in mind.
Other Thoughts: All in all a great experience for me and well worth the 1.5hr drive and $5 entry fee. The course is fun and challenging for all. The course length is a bit short overall, but given the space, the design is efficient and well thought out. The park offers camping, paddle boats, canoes, playground equipment, tennis/basketball courts, etc and is very family friendly. The staff was helpful and courteous, as were all the people that I ran into while I was there. A great disc golf experience and a very solid 3.5 disc course.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/12/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: dr.chainslove
Played: 46  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course in a great park. Brilliant layout. Very forgiving rough (the place is too well-kept for those nasty, thorny, thick rough areas to exist!). great variety of shots and angles through defined, tight fairways. It's tough. I felt good about my last outing here of a 4+ (playing everything as a 3). That's what I shoot on a good day at the beast-of-a-course Charlie Vettiner Park!!!
Cons: concrete tee pads are great but are a little short. the walk to the course around the lake is a bit of a hike. hole 6 plays way too close to a popular walking path and some park benches. a family was hanging out on the benches, thus forcing me to layup my drive to avoid decapitating a small child (probably not a problem on the weekdays or offseason when the park isnt crowded). These are very minor complaints. This course is otherwise a very satisfying play!
Other Thoughts: Most of the course is cut through a pine forest (a rarity in this part of the country). I love that each hole has a unique shape. Some holes have multiple approaches from the tee to the basket carved through the many trees. My trusty tomahawk has no value here as most holes have a ceiling of 15 ft or less! Although the distances are shorter than many other courses, the need for accuracy and placement will still have you hucking your disc hard and low. For a shorter course, you still wont find many finesse holes with this setup. Well worth the trip. turn off hwy 150 at the Subway and park on the gravel lot on the end of the street. Walk around the lake to the left. start at hole 6 and end at 5 if you're coming from that direction. avoid the park entrance fee and save some serious walking.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Additions

5+    7/3/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice layout, in a nice park. Very good use of terrain, and a beautiful view of a nice lake. Sat by the parking lot and talked too a worker at Buffalo Trace, she seemed very interested in any feedback I had to give. It was all positive too say the least but I reassured her that what they had was a great course. You can tell the locals really take pride in this course, so kudos too them.

One positive too this course is that it makes you use every shot in your bag. It had been awhile since I have had the chance to go too a course and use a thumber, backhand roller, forehand roller, sidearm, forehand, & backhand all in the same round. I thought that was pretty cool, it will keep your on your toes for sure.
Cons: The tee pads weren't completed when we were there, but they were well on there way. They seemed kind of short at times but I wouldn't necessarily call it a con.
Other Thoughts: I had played this course right when it was initially put in the ground, I was a bit disappointed with it then. Now that it is all its glory I would definitely recommend this too anyone. I am always happy too see more courses go up in Southern Indiana, good job too all of the locals and whomever had a hand in this course. Your work is definitely appreciated.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    4/25/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice variety of holes, and makes good use of the land available. Nearly all the holes play through various densities of trees, making this course more of an accuracy challenge. A few holes call for fairly precise lines down narrow fairways or around doglegs.

The scenery is nice, with pretty views of the lake (though the water doesn't ever come into play). The course seems well maintained, with adequate signs, and no issues following the course. The rubber tee pads were mostly in good shape and fine to throw from. I was playing with some less experienced players, and they appreciated the more beginner-friendly short tees available on each hole. Many of these tees give very different looks at the basket, and so a round from each would really feel like two very different games. We played the course as 19 holes, as the short and long 18th play to two different baskets, and the long 18 flows nicely after the short one.

The park was well maintained, and there was evidence of significant cleanup work done after recent storms. Overall, the course is well laid out and an enjoyable walk.
Cons: The course starts behind the campground, so to get there you have to either pay to enter the park/campground and find a place to park, or park at the far end of the lake and walk around to the course. The walk around the lake is a little long, but the trail is nice, and this didn't take too much away from the course.
Other Thoughts: Though this course is almost completely flat, the designer(s) made good use of the terrain available. I thought this was a fun little course, and certainly worth playing. Few of the holes had much length, but it was fun to play a course where accuracy was the real key. Obvious improvements have been made recently, and if this keeps up this course could be even better.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful setting, good challenge

2-4    3/20/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2009
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had heard mixed reviews about this course, but I decided I wanted to hit it up even if some had said it was a short boring course. Man I'm glad I did, because it is a very nice course in a beautiful park that has lots of other activities.

Memorable holes:
3 - Tight fairway with several trees, takes a well-placed drive to lay up for two.
7 - Hyzer to some rows of trees, then back to the basket, nice accuracy challenge.
9 - Out of some trees, up over a rise the the basket, tough to keep it right enough (due to trees on the right of the fairway) to not fade out left of the basket.
12 - Throw between some grown-up foliage, down a small hill into the woods back to the basket, really neat playing hole.
14 - Down a hill, then sweep right back up a hill, tough tough annie shot.
15 - Ate my lunch, low ceiling tunnel shot down a slope, if you don't hit it you're shooting 4+.
18 - Wide open 500'+, but row of trees down the right side keeps you from throwing a big S-curve shot.

Signs were great, and the course flowed pretty well, I didn't have any problems finding the next tees without a map. Baskets are in great shape, and there are restrooms and plenty of parking on premises.

I also really like the use of wood chips around the baskets to keep them from getting all muddy and nasty.
Cons: I guess the biggest con is the short holes...18 is by FAR the longest, the others struggle to hit 300 feet. That is not a horrible thing, and it makes good use of the land available.

There used to be rubber tee pads when I first reviewed, which have now been replaced with concrete for the pro tees, oops now that is a PRO!.

The only other cons I can think of is that the parking is a decent hike from the course, although there is a nice walking path around the lake to the course. Also if you go in the spring through fall, and get there after 10am or so, you have to pay a few bucks to get in.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, I highly suggest this course. It is a little off the highway, but it's good highway the whole way there, and only 15 minutes off of I-64. The technical holes might be rough on a beginner, but overall it is a very satisfying course.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/28/2009   3/1/2009
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 21.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very beautiful setting, much like Otter Creek Park once was, with the only difference being that this park has a huge lake. Lots of very technical shots through low ceilings and tight rows of trees. Several elevation changes play into shots. There are also several blind shots on this course to test your skills. Plenty of camping spots located walking distance from the course that would come in handy during summer months. All and all this is one of the funner courses I have played in the area and will be bringing more people to play. Whoever designed this course gets an A+.
Cons: Only 2 to speak of.....
It has Rubber mat tee pads that I like to twist ankles on.
And has a huge lake that only comes into play on one hole, and that's only if you shank it to the right. I personally would like to see a huge over the lake shot put in somewhere on this course. We need somewhere to lose our discs on this course!
Other Thoughts: I played here for the first time after hearing about it from Martin Young. This is becoming one of his favorite courses and I can see why. I will most defiantly be coming back more often now. With it only being 15 miles off the exit ramp, it is well worth the extra few minutes of driving time. Besides now there are 3 courses all in close vicinity to travel too. This is a great course and would recommend it to anyone of any caliber.

I would love to see a huge PDGA tournament here sometime this year. Make it a 2 day, 4 round tournament and offer camping. I would bet that it would pull in a lot of people. I would also like to see a few leagues offered at this course this year!!!!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/5/2010   12/4/2008
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Buffalo Trace is a beautiful, clean park with views of the lake from the course (although water only comes into play on one hole). The course is very challenging and requires skilled shots if you're gonna get a birdie. It plays mainly in the woods where roughly half the trees are pine. This really challenges you with a low ceiling in some areas. Many of the holes have a little elevation that comes into play more than you realize at first.

The course starts out easy enough on hole 1 and gets progressively harder until you get to hole 5 which sets the tone for the rest of the course; trees! The back 9 gets even tougher and holes 12, 13 & 14 are particularly challenging par 4's. The course ends with a monster, an open, 500 foot hole over a hill.

Many of the holes have multiple routes to the basket which keeps things interesting and make you think. The course isn't especially long, but it is so technical you really have to work for your birdies once you get past hole 4.

There are short tee pads made out of rubber making the course more friendly to new players. The short pads are often give a completely different shot than the long pad.

***Update***
No more rubber mats, extra grippy concrete tee pads were added Summer 2009.

This course continues to get better. Hole 9's basket was elevated on 8/5/10 to make it more challenging.
Cons: The course is pay to play, but only during the warmer months. If you show up before 9:30a during the months they charge, you get in for free.

There is a bit of a walk from the parking lot to hole one. When no one is camping there, you can park much closer.

In the summer, the rough can get bad in a few areas and there is a lot of poison ivy off the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Because of the short pads, this course is pretty good for beginners and a nice challenge for more advanced golfers. I recommend going out of your way to play here.

A big thanks to Terry for all the great work and many hours he's put into this fantastic course!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Aaarghhh

2-4    11/16/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: john campbell
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice scenery and camping on a clean, well-manicured course. Storm damage was quickly cleared away. Nice variety, neat terrain changes, low ceilings, tight fairways, mean dog-legs, all of the challenges we look for in an interesting round of disc golf.
Cons: Accuracy is absolutely neccessary. There are a lot of trees and several tight fairways lined on both sides with rows of pines. I think part of the course might be an overgrown Xmas tree farm due to the symmetrical spacing and perfect rows. Anyway, it makes for some tight, long channels and (unless you can throw a perfect line drive) you will hit trees.
Other Thoughts: Park entrance was $5 per car in season. We played today, November 16, free. Park office looks like it will be boarded up for the winter.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Camp Buf Trace

1    10/26/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 25.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2009
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good course if you are into accuracy, several holes have tight treeline fairways. Looks as though it was a Christmas tree farm for a while with the rows of trees. Beautiful park and lake with plenty of amenities. Tree canopy limits your shot on several holes. Thick dense tree reach out and grab your discs. Nice technical course. Score cards available at checkpoint Charlie. Bathrooms and vendings near entrance.
Cons: Rubber short tee pads. Too many holes with rows of trees. They really need to break the course up with a few different type holes. Shooting tree keyholes gets a little old. If it is windy fagitaboudit.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.