Charlton, MA 
Buffumville Lake Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 418ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Bring your arm

2-4    3/18/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: anttiwalt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: - very well marked, great tee pads, cool shots, sweet terrain
Cons: -course really benefits people that can throw the farthest, most of the baskets do not have any high risk/reward shots, except for one shot over the dam (my disc blew into the spillway)
- Front 18 are great, but must really play the back 9 also to get some tight wooded shots. However, the back 9 are poorly marked
Other Thoughts: If your within an hour and half, make the drive. it is a very long course and very fun, people with big arms will really enjoy, but shorter arm people will need to be on their putting game to compete

 Cha-cha-cha-changes!

5+    8/7/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: erbguy
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm sure that the course will be labeled, re-mapped, and playable soon. A couple of the new holes are very challenging, and it's nice to see the back side of the dam... plus its always fun to play the holes before they are completely cleared.
Cons: There are no updated course maps, scorecards, navigation help, or anyone with a clue at the moment. The new 18-course loops onto the back side of the dam, across the waterside path you see from old hole 16, thru the back-back 9 area, and back to the first parking area. See "other thoughts" for directions on the course as we've figured it so far.
Other Thoughts: The 27 holes have been split into a beginner-9 and a pro-18. Beginner-9 is the loop from old-3 to 11. Directions for Pro-18 as follows, as best as we could figure.
#1: tee from old 3, basket at old 4. (3 and 4 combined)
#2: tee from old 5, basket far ahead by road.(at end of dam)
#3: tee from top of dam, basket on right treeline (in a cluster of pines)
#4: tee from in woods, basket to the right (blind corner)(next tee is uphill & a little back from basket)
#5: tee from dam treeline, basket on mound (straight thru on next rise)
#6: tee on trail entrance, basket on rock hill in woods
#7: tee on dam treeline, basket in gully on right (just past large birch)
#8: tee on dam treeline, basket in woods on right (just before end of tree line)
#9: tee from waterside, basket at old 16 (over water, disc eater)
#10: tee from canal, basket at old 19
(#11 & 12 not marked/ played old 20 & 21)
#13: tee from old 22, basket into left treeline at red trail marker
#14: tee in woods, throw out along dam to basket in gully on left
#15: old pro 27? not marked yet
#16: old 18? not marked yet
#17: old pro 1? not marked yet
#18: tee from old 14 pro, basket at old 2?
Hope this helps... I know I was lost the first time out. I'll update as it gets clearer out there.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice way to spend a morning

1    9/17/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: RHINESEL
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple basket positions, clean, well maintained, "bonus" 9 holes, practice basket, and even a grill.
Cons: Markings could be better, some shots close to a road, a couple of overlapping fairways, can get busy on weekends.
Other Thoughts: I was lucky I played this course with a friend that had played it many times. Without his guidance It would be easy to get lost without a map in hand.

Other than that I really loved this course. It had a nice mixture of wide open shots where you can let loose, tunnel shots, wooded shots, water shots, and large elevation drops. There were not many holes where an errant shot would kill your whole round. Baskets were placed in challenging postions, but none what gave you a feeling that the shot was impossible.

The grounds were kept up perfectly. There were bathrooms on site and while parking isn't the most spacious, it was basically empty for the time were were paying (weekday morning).

We parked at the first lot which is right at hole 3. It seems like a popular thing to do because there was a billboard, practice basket, and picnic tables there. In fact I think the only reason why that hole isn't #1 is because it would screw up the flow into holes 19-27. Still, you can do those holes after 17 and finish up with 18, 1, and 2.

Well worth the trip from anywhere. Thanks for the Army Corps of Engineers for allowing a beautiful course on the property!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great variety

5+    11/30/2008   3/30/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+Great 27 holes.
+Uncrowded.
+Free course.
+Excellent use of large dam for severe elevation changes.
+Several holes play over water, and rocks are OB on some holes adding difficulty.
+A few holes have alternate tees adding elevation and distance.
+Holes 19-27 are longer, more challenging and more solitary.
+Good concrete tee pads.
+Combination of tightly wooded and open holes.
+Beautiful setting.
+Friendly locals.
Cons:
-First time navigation is difficult.
-Lack of signs (Tees are marked with wooden stakes showing hole # and distance, but several are missing).
Other Thoughts:
This place is something special. I have played this course more than 20 times and have never seen anyone else on holes 19-27. 1st tee is near the second parking lot, behind the park headquarters.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.