Charlton, MA 
Buffumville Lake Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 BuffumVille

5+    5/21/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: tmc3442
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great for beginners
free
well maintained
cool tee locations

Cons: some tees are over water which isn't good for beginners
some holes aren't marked and some tees have moved
not to sure if there in process of moving tees but hard to find baskets
Other Thoughts: fun course lots of holes makes for a good day

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cha-cha-cha-changes!

5+    8/7/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: erbguy
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm sure that the course will be labeled, re-mapped, and playable soon. A couple of the new holes are very challenging, and it's nice to see the back side of the dam... plus its always fun to play the holes before they are completely cleared.
Cons: There are no updated course maps, scorecards, navigation help, or anyone with a clue at the moment. The new 18-course loops onto the back side of the dam, across the waterside path you see from old hole 16, thru the back-back 9 area, and back to the first parking area. See "other thoughts" for directions on the course as we've figured it so far.
Other Thoughts: The 27 holes have been split into a beginner-9 and a pro-18. Beginner-9 is the loop from old-3 to 11. Directions for Pro-18 as follows, as best as we could figure.
#1: tee from old 3, basket at old 4. (3 and 4 combined)
#2: tee from old 5, basket far ahead by road.(at end of dam)
#3: tee from top of dam, basket on right treeline (in a cluster of pines)
#4: tee from in woods, basket to the right (blind corner)(next tee is uphill & a little back from basket)
#5: tee from dam treeline, basket on mound (straight thru on next rise)
#6: tee on trail entrance, basket on rock hill in woods
#7: tee on dam treeline, basket in gully on right (just past large birch)
#8: tee on dam treeline, basket in woods on right (just before end of tree line)
#9: tee from waterside, basket at old 16 (over water, disc eater)
#10: tee from canal, basket at old 19
(#11 & 12 not marked/ played old 20 & 21)
#13: tee from old 22, basket into left treeline at red trail marker
#14: tee in woods, throw out along dam to basket in gully on left
#15: old pro 27? not marked yet
#16: old 18? not marked yet
#17: old pro 1? not marked yet
#18: tee from old 14 pro, basket at old 2?
Hope this helps... I know I was lost the first time out. I'll update as it gets clearer out there.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I felt like i was in an episode of lost

1    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: dyland34
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First 11 holes were awesome and had a terrific variety, good use of elevation, wooded sections and open sections really great atmoshpere and a good challenging course plus 28 holes!
Cons: It was the most difficult course to navigate no signage at all holes pretty much random placed and no real great place to start i started on hole three because that is where the main parking lot is and played most holes however once i started to reach 14 holes disappered i would throw on 16 then discover i was throwing at hole 20 something also grass is getting high and plenty of ticks are waiting
Other Thoughts: with a little work and some signs this would be an amazing course and could really stand out however there are some major roadblocks, they are working on some holes now and it seems they are attmpting to make it easier to navigate

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = Be Bery Bery nice!

1    2/27/2010   3/2/2010
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 and more hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B+
(Several huge downhill holes (1, 14, 16) have water in play big time and really force you to make the go-for-it versus play-it-safe decision - I imagine that decision is often influenced by the wind (it was calm the day I played). I love the creativity of hole 10 with 2 different fairways......but it easily could have been 3 with even better choices. Other than those holes (and some artificial OB (yellow rope) along the rocks of the dam), Buffumville is a pretty low risk course which makes the rewards on many beautiful holes much less rewarding.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B+
(About 1/2 of the holes just right for me, 1/4 are too long, and 1/4 are too short. It seems like the course was designed to make everyone happy.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B
(This course is unique and amazing in both the aesthetic and the use of the dam. Great disc golf terrain too. Overall, the course is too open to really force a challenging line on the majority of the holes. There seems to be an inordinate amount of left-to-right shaped holes.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B
(There are some incredibly beautiful spots - I would hold basket 21 up against any spot anywhere - a basket on a secluded bluff over a beautiful lake. The aesthetic of the dam is unique and rugged and interesting....but not beautiful in a classic sense (other than the amazing tee shot off the top of the dam on #16). Much of the course runs along the park road and that it a real downer in my book. That takes a lot away from the huge "upper" of having a beautiful lake in view for a lot of the course and in play for a few holes.

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
(Holes 16, 19, 22 and 27 were set up in positions that took 2 shots to reach the basket. None were particularly taxing or required a lot of strategy. But it is great to see multi-throw holes!)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (150+ 18-hole, 90+ 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me…..and that's the fun of things here.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting Dam course

1    2/23/2010   2/23/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/28/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The navigation is pretty easy if you have the course map (you must bring your own as the only one they have there is on a bulletin with all the walking trails and is confusing). The tees have post next to them with the hole number, par, distance, and bag hooks. The tee pads are concrete and level. There are benches scattered throughout the course near slower playing holes. The pathways in between holes are lined with fallen timbers. The upper parking lot has a porta pottie (near hole 5). There is an amazing assortment of shots between holes. A great use of OB between the dam rocks is used (marked by a faint blue line painted on the rocks). Some holes are grip and rip while others offer a variety of pathways for tunnel shots. There is also a warmup basket in between holes three and twelve(which share the same teepad). Hole sixteen was my favorite as the basket sits on the edge of the water and it's a long downhill par four. Hole twenty was pretty amazing too as it's a tight wooded shot with the basket sitting in a pile of rocks.
Cons: A large majority of the holes overlap at some point; whether it be the fairways or the walkways to get to the next hole. Although the tee pads are level and concrete they are wide at the back and narrow near the front. They are also shorter and I would like. Throughout the wooded area it looks as if there are random saplings just sitting there trying to guard the basket. There are poorly placed next tee signs (I.E. 10` in the air or right on the ground nowhere near the basket). Throughout the course there is probably almost a foot of difference in height of the baskets. Hole fifteen is a dogleg left over a small parking lot (which seems to be crowded with dog walkers vehicles). There are no scorecards and/or course specific maps available.
Other Thoughts: There are Ace tags on all the tees. The tags have the name, date, and pin location of the ace engraved on a small placard. There is a bulletin board for the course on hole three's and twelve's tee pads.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Nice way to spend a morning

1    9/17/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: RHINESEL
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple basket positions, clean, well maintained, "bonus" 9 holes, practice basket, and even a grill.
Cons: Markings could be better, some shots close to a road, a couple of overlapping fairways, can get busy on weekends.
Other Thoughts: I was lucky I played this course with a friend that had played it many times. Without his guidance It would be easy to get lost without a map in hand.

Other than that I really loved this course. It had a nice mixture of wide open shots where you can let loose, tunnel shots, wooded shots, water shots, and large elevation drops. There were not many holes where an errant shot would kill your whole round. Baskets were placed in challenging postions, but none what gave you a feeling that the shot was impossible.

The grounds were kept up perfectly. There were bathrooms on site and while parking isn't the most spacious, it was basically empty for the time were were paying (weekday morning).

We parked at the first lot which is right at hole 3. It seems like a popular thing to do because there was a billboard, practice basket, and picnic tables there. In fact I think the only reason why that hole isn't #1 is because it would screw up the flow into holes 19-27. Still, you can do those holes after 17 and finish up with 18, 1, and 2.

Well worth the trip from anywhere. Thanks for the Army Corps of Engineers for allowing a beautiful course on the property!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 decent course

1    8/20/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: liked alot of the holes. some interesting water play and use of elevation makes this course worth trying out. well maintained when i went. 27 holes.
Cons: hard to find your way around,,,tees not well marked and i rarely could find the blue tees.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/1/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: shamroc333
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice looking course. It has a wide range of holes. Close ones, long ones, up hill, down hill, tight ones, and open ones. I would recommend playing it.
Cons: It isn't marked off well. I got lost looking for the first hole. It is by a small pond not by any parking lot. If you park in the second lot you will drive by it. There is a small map by the billboard at hole 3.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course. It is nice to have 27 holes. You can stop at 18 or if you are on fire keep shooting.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 27 holes...can't be beat

5+    10/10/2008   4/1/2009
Review By: frizgolfkiller
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 27 holes here!!!

A couple holes have 2 tees (longer/shorter) they really make things more interesting. A couple play over water, most are out in the open, a couple wooded holes but nothing that will make you want to pull your hair out in frustration. Everytime I have played here the course has been kept well groomed. Disc lost and found. Excellent use of the dam to make things interesting.
Cons: There are a couple holes that cross each other which can slow things down if there are alot of people out.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great variety

5+    11/30/2008   3/30/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+Great 27 holes.
+Uncrowded.
+Free course.
+Excellent use of large dam for severe elevation changes.
+Several holes play over water, and rocks are OB on some holes adding difficulty.
+A few holes have alternate tees adding elevation and distance.
+Holes 19-27 are longer, more challenging and more solitary.
+Good concrete tee pads.
+Combination of tightly wooded and open holes.
+Beautiful setting.
+Friendly locals.
Cons:
-First time navigation is difficult.
-Lack of signs (Tees are marked with wooden stakes showing hole # and distance, but several are missing).
Other Thoughts:
This place is something special. I have played this course more than 20 times and have never seen anyone else on holes 19-27. 1st tee is near the second parking lot, behind the park headquarters.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.