Disc Golf Store
Monroeville, PA 
Monroeville Park Share
Uploaded By: amccarrison Hole #7 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 184ft.   4 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Course improvements

5+    9/26/2014   10/4/2014
Review By: paulkray
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open fairways.
Cons: Open fairways.
Other Thoughts: The course just received new course signs, tee boxes were cleared and marked. The overgrown areas were also cleared out. This is thanks to a group of volunteers from a local business.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Pittsburgh Practice Course!

5+    6/22/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: amccarrison
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Easy to Find Location.
Large Parking Lot.
Community Park Facilities.
Great Use of Park Land / Layout / Elevation.
Cons: Most holes did not have a post.
Only one of the post was readable.
Most holes had only one tee placement.
All holes only had one pin placement.
There are no arrows to guide you from holes.
There is thick jungle on many of the holes so be very careful when throwing off course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great practice course for the eastern Pittsburgh region. You must review the pictures, map, and hole advise before beginning any adventure at this park or you will probably get very lost within the first few holes. Also, do not use the older photos as a guide.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Lack of Course Flow and Signage

1    10/4/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 81  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a nice city park that is divided into two sections - East and West. I ignored the DGCR directions and turned into the West entrance, hoping I would find the East park on the other side. Don't do this - pass the two West entrances and turn left into the East entrance shortly after. While the West section is bigger, newer, and nicer, the East park is still well maintained and clean. There is a very large parking lot, bathroom, playground, and water fountain near the first tee. I was surprised by how pretty of a setting the course is in.

The course offers multiple (blue and red) tees on a few holes, marked by colored wooden planks in the grown, has two pin positions for each hole (not sure how often they're changed), and has solid Mach 5 baskets.

The course does give a good variety of hole types, with a few tunnel shots and a few more open holes. There is a good mix of anhyzer, hyzer, and straight shots. There were a few bright technical spots in hole 3's long tunnel shot, 5's longer anhyzer over a slope, 7's tight anhyzer shot, and 9's sharp hyzer in the woods. Holes 7-9 were my favorite, for their technicality but also for how visually striking that section of the park was. The course uses the park's elevation to it's maximum potential (holes 1, 2, and 5).
Cons: -There are tee signs, but they are worthless. I think two of them were any bit readable, but most are faded to where they don't provide any information. The baskets don't have numbers either, so it is impossible at times to know what hole you're playing without a map. Even then, it can be confusing.
-The park is well maintained, but it seems like the course was designed half-heartedly. It seemed that second tees were added randomly, as they do not provide any kind of different technical approach. There were holes that I could only find 1 tee, and I could not even find the tees for holes 4 and 7.

-Navigation is good in that it starts near the parking lot, loops completely around the park, then ends near the parking lot. Getting from 1-9, though, is not easy. There are no (much needed) next tee signs or arrows. Course flow is not great as you have to backtrack to 2's tee from 1's basket and 3's tee from 2's basket. Also, getting to hole 4 is confusing because there are multiple paths from 3's basket. This adds wasted time when taking the wrong path and can easily be fixed with a sign. There are long walks from 4-5 and 6-7. Finally, hole's 7 and 8 play through the same fairway. I wasn't sure which sign, tee, or basket is for which one.
-The rough is pretty brutal, so the multiple tight shots can be more frustrating than fun when your disc fades the slightest bit. Holes 3, 4, and 6 probably have the worst rough. It is not just thick, but filled with thorns.
Other Thoughts: I would only play this course if you are trying to bag courses. It is fortunately not too far off Rt. 22 or I-376, but you will hit awful traffic in this area if you go during rush hour. Don't go much out of your way to play here and come with a map handy. I would've given up on this course if I didn't have a map. The course's navigation and lack of appropriate signage are what especially gives it a low rating. The holes themselves can be enjoyable, but aren't anything special. Took me about 40 minutes to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Forgotten relic on a hill top.

1    6/23/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ummm. There are baskets, even some elevation (course is on one of the highest elevations in town)
2 tees and 2 pin positions per hole.
Cons: Abysmal flow and navigation. I almost walked off the course after 3 holes.

Baskets are unmarked, so I played hole 2 first thinking it was one. The signs were mostly unreadable so even if you found the tee, you did not know what hole you were on at times. After hole 2 there was no navigational aid to guide you to hole 3. I walked mile down a trail to nowhere looking for basket 3. On hole 3 I spent time looking for my disc in the thick brush. I wasted a lot of time looking for tee 4, when I found it there was no sign. It was a short blind anny that could leave you looking for your disc. There was a long walk to hole 5, once again no navigational aids to point your way or confirm you are going the correct way. On hole 7 the basket you see is 8, not 7. You throw right back up the hill for 8. On hole 9, I had no idea where the basket was. I took a safe shot down the fairway and realized I was 50 feet past the basket.
Hole 7 was the only legible sign. Many baskets were old dented and greatly abused. This course seems to be a forgotten relic wasting away on a hill top.
Other Thoughts: I had to pay 2 separate tolls to get off the Expressway to play this course. This course was not worth a single toll. Move on to a different course and save yourself a lot of time and frustration. I saw another sign near hole 9 and thought there was another hole and felt disappointment, then excitement when I realized it was not another hole, it was honestly that bad.
I have played around 200 courses and this was in my bottom 5.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great for a Quick Round

2-4    7/23/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some shorter holes and some longer ones, but on the shorter ones you need to use more tactical shots which makes them better. The longer ones you get to throw in the open except for #5 where the tee is right under this tree which adds some difficulty. Great use of the land provided around the edge of the park. Hole 1 and the end of Hole 9 are right near the parking lot which is awesome. It only took 2 of us 40 minutes to play 9 holes.
Cons: The signs are very small and worn down so it is difficult to see them sometimes for first time players. The wood front of the tee pads is hard to see unless you grab the map/scorecard at the beginning of the course and then it is easy.
Other Thoughts: The pars on the scorecard seemed a bit high because on the par 5s it was very easy to get a 3 and even have a chance at a 2. If you used all par 4s and 3s it is still not difficult but it makes it more fair.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad course

2-4    7/23/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 79  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course isn't super hard, but it does offer a few challenges with some precision turns and elevation changes early on. There is good variety with no two holes being the same. Good course design using the space they have around the park. It's also nice that the 9th hole ends right beside the parking lot. It doesn't seem like much, but i've been to a couple where you play the last hole and have to go on an epic adventure to get back to your car. The course overall is maintained fairly well.
Cons: The signs for the course aren't very good. It is pretty easy to lose track of where the next tee is if you don't grab a scorecard with a map at the beginning. With the map it is pretty easy to figure out where to go though. The tees could use a little more attention. A bit of trimming of the grass around the boards and a new coat of paint would go a long way.
Other Thoughts: I have no other thoughts...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fast Round

1    11/21/2010   12/1/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course located in a nice small park has two tees and two pin positions per hole. The seperate tee's do a good job of adding variety to the holes.

Although the holes are not too challenging there is at least a little variety in layout. With some right turning, left turning, a tunnel shot, and some protected baskets.

There are bathroom facilities and a nice map available. Course navigation is fairly easy and this would be a good course for beginners or intermediate players to practice on or if you really need to get your disc golf fix.
Cons: Over all the course is short and not particularly difficult.

There are some wicked thorn bushes through out the course. You really should not be getting off the fairway on this course but if you do, getting to your disc can be difficult.

Natural tees with only an inset board to mark them. The boards are a little grown over making them more difficult to spot. I am not sure where hole # 4's tee is. My friend and I did not see any tee sign or board for it so we just tee'd off from near where the map showed it should have been.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad little course but really not one that anybody should be going out of their way for. From what I can tell there is very little traffic on this course so if you lived nearby it would be easy to get in some fast practice rounds whenever you want without having to wait. This course is only about 15-20 minutes away from Deer Lakes so depending on which way you are coming from it can be used as a nice place to stop and warm up before tackling that monster.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good for Practice

5+    7/24/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: Raptor
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're in the immediate area, Monroeville Park is a good place to practice your tosses. You'll have the opportunity to throw a lot of mid-range shots, including different angles and curves.

The fairways are well-maintained, and the baskets are in pretty good condition (aside from #8, which is crooked). The fairways are all pretty open and well-defined.

Hole #9 is kind of cool. And immediate dogleg right, then shooting into the woods.

For such a small park, you don't need to worry about throwing into other park-goers and picnickers. Space is pretty well-used.

It's never really crowded. I've only ever seen a couple other groups playing there at the same time I was.
Cons: The worst part of playing here is the poison ivy, especially in the summer. If you throw into the rough on most of the holes, you're going to get a rash. It does force you to learn to shoot really straight (especially on #2 and #7), but it is pretty irritating knowing you have very little wiggle room.

Some of the tees are difficult to find the first time, as they're just wooden planks in the ground. You can pick up a map at the first tee, though, and then you shouldn't have too much of a problem.
Other Thoughts: Really, it's nothing special. Like I said, it's great for practice if you're in the area. The roughs can get pretty dense, but that also means you might end up finding a couple discs.

If you go when people aren't using the baseball or soccer fields, they're decent places to work on airing out some drives.

Don't make a long trip out to Monroeville Park; but if you live nearby, the course is a nice place to get in 30-40 minutes of practice.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  It hurts

1    7/23/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: Fizzy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The fairways are well maintained and the baskets are in working order.
Cons: If you're ever off the fairway you're in for a treat: there are briers everywhere, chest high in some places. It's deceiving: if you stray off the fairway at all... good luck finding your disc. I only ended up in the rough twice but probably spent 30 min. looking for discs.
I couldn't find the tee for holes 1 or 4. There are no signs directing you to the next tee and intuition often leads you astray. This is extremely annoying. At some point I just gave up: I got to hole 6 or 7 or something and it seemed like a dead end. I wasn't sure where to go for the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Do yourself a favor and skip this course. It's painful mentally and physically. Schennley is much nicer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Different Doctrine

2-4    6/26/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two tee locations/pin positions per hole. The map, when combined with the vertical posts which held the tee signs, made navigation fairly easy. The long tees were very effective in making each hole quite different than from the shorts, adding not just length, but also the type of turning required, or window to hit.
Cons:
The tee signs themselves were faded and useless. The tee locations were natural and marked by narrow in-ground boards, some a bit difficult to find (#4 long is even with the sideline of the soccer field, NOT the fence). Vertical posts missing on 2, 4, and 8 (map should help orient you). Uphill walk from 6 to 7 wouldn't be fun if wet.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in a counter-clockwise direction in the fragmented open space located behind baseball/soccer fields and a rim of woods. Makes very good use of the limited amount of space and elevation available, and stays well away from other park users. Most holes, other than right-turning #1 and left-turning #8, require fairly straight shots off the tee into open space, but each hole will also have a challenge at some point along the way - trees near the basket, windows at the early/midpoint, small rises to throw up-n-over, fast green, etc.

Was pleasantly surprised at the difference between the two tee locations, since many alt-tees in small parks simply add 50' or so of length, but do not make much of a difference in the actual look of the hole.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.