Monroeville, PA 
Monroeville Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 157ft.   3 / 177ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

2-4    11/22/2009   11/22/2009
Review By: HarkeyPuck
Played: 48  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout around soccer and baseball fields. Mach 5 baskets. Bathrooms and water fountain.
Cons: Not too challenging. No concrete tees. Signage is faded, thus making it hard to find tee boards the first time through.
Other Thoughts: Nice 9 hole course. 1 - 6 are mostly wide open with slight elevation changes. # 3 is a nice straight "tunnel" hole with trees and weeds lining the fairway. Holes 7 - 9 were the nicest as they are in a more wooded area of the park. Great place to work on your game without killing your confidence.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not my favorite

1    7/23/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: gobias
Played: 85  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for beginner to intermediate golfers that live near Monroeville.
Cons: Probably the most poorly marked course I have ever played. Most of the signs are unreadable, and hence useless. Locating the following tee boxes can be a challenge the first time through.
Other Thoughts: Considering some of the other courses in the Pittsburgh area (Deer Lakes, Moraine, Knob Hill), I don't see much reason to drive to the Monroeville course. Unless you live in Monroeville, I would not recommend playing this course. Even Schenley will offer more variety, and ultimately a more enjoyable round of disc golf.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A good find in the greater Pittsburgh area

1    6/8/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course includes a nice map that helps you navigate from hole to hole. Bathroom facilities are also a plus. Most of the holes are in open fields with few hazards nearby. If you like lots of trees and challenges, this course probably isn't for you. Nevertheless, it's a good place to practice a lot of midrange techniques. It's also a very quick 9 holes, which is good if you're in a hurry.
Cons: The tees -- probably installed with the course in 1988 -- are pretty hard to find at times. The last hole, in my opinion, is kind of anti-climactic because all you have to do is throw into the woods.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I had a good time at this course. I personally like courses like these because I'm just starting out. As such, this is a nice place to practice the fundamentals. Few hazards, open areas, and easy pars are all good confidence builders for those starting out. I tried to review the course in a way that would help people more experienced than myself. Try some others around the area if you want more difficulty.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    3/27/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: fogle1193
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most of the holes are well placed. There is a need for both short and long shots. It is a nice nine-hole course that close to home for me.
Cons: The tees could use some work. I don't know why the signs all face north to get bleached by the elements. There are alot of thorns around the course for inexperienced golfers. Some holesw are pretty far apart.
Other Thoughts: The climb after 6 is a nice little adventure.
Also the flags over the pins are helpful. The course loops around nicely.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 If you find yourself close to Monroeville...

1    7/15/2007   10/9/2008
Review By: Jimb
Played: 76  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The time that I played it the course was in very good shape. The facilities are convenient to the course... parking, bathrooms, picnic areas, etc. Hole #9s pin does bring you back around to the parking lot and tee #1 nicely. And right across the road is an even more elaborate park setting with much more updated equipment. (The park is in two sections across the road from each other.)

Once you make it through your first nine (see below) the course is very easy to navigate and you can play a really quick round or two here. Fortunately, nice little scorecards with basic maps on them are available near tee #1.

The holes do provide a decent amount of variety. There are a couple tight shots through low trees and there's a totally blind shot too. The holes are generally on the short side but some have enough length to let you air it out some.
Cons: The first time around the course, even with the map, can be frustrating because the tees are marked with treated lumbers at ground level. There are two sets of tees and one of the sets has a vertical hole marker beside it. It might take you a while to find the alternate tees, though, if the grass grows up at all.

For the more experienced player, holes 1, 2 & 4 will play very short. This is OK as long as you're not expecting a big challenge. Even the longer holes should be relatively simple pars for experienced players.
Other Thoughts: I hated to give this course a 1.5 as I enjoyed my round. But if 2 is average, based upon the courses that I've played, then this would have to be slightly below average.

In any case, I just love the game and can enjoy a round at the worst of courses. And this definitely doesn't qualify in that category. So if you're in the Monroeville, SE Pittsburgh, area give it a shot and ignore my low "score" for the course. Enjoy.

***1-1-09***
Updated score to 2 based upon changes made to descriptions of course scores on the site after I did my review.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course if you live nearby

11/24/2006   7/12/2007
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/28/2007
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As a small, municipal beginner course goes, this is one of the nicer ones. Some actual thought seemed to go into the pin layout, and as such it plays as something more than a simplistic "pitch and putt". Most of the holes have well defined fairways, the majority of which favor lefties, but the last two favor the right handers to balance it out.
Cons: The par is outdated; play every hole as a 3. Many of the original tee signs have eroded away, and the tee boards in the ground can be hard to locate and get muddy at times. Almost all shots that miss the fairways end up in the thorns.
Other Thoughts: Nobody will or should travel across the country to play Monroeville park. However anyone drawn to this newly expanded park who takes the time to check out what disc golf is about should find a nice place to learn the sport.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.