Marstons Mills, MA 
Burgess Park Share
Uploaded By: seano2222 Hole #9 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / --   3 / 324ft.   3 / 441ft.   3 / 449ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Missing the forest for the beach

2-4    3/15/2014   3/15/2014
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As Cape Cod's only course, people will battle horrific traffic and spend thousands of dollars per week to rent small cottages just to be near this course (or maybe it's the beaches; but who is to say).

All but two of the holes are wooded. When I looked at the distances of the holes online, I thought it would be a pitch and putt. Not quite. There are definitely birdies to be had, but there are a double bogeys to be had as well. The fairways tend to have trees interspersed, so you have to be careful about the gaps you're trying to hit.

The blue tees are all pavers except for one or two. I liked them. The course is mostly flat, but three or four of the holes have some nice elevation changes that complicate your shot selection in a good way.

Navigation isn't bad. There are next tee signs on every hole.

The scenery is pleasant. The back half of the course overlooks a nice pond. It might not be beginner friendly, but there could have been some terrific holes along the banks.
Cons: The tee signs are either non-existent or not very useful (they are handmade). The first time through you don't always know where the basket is. In addition, in a couple places the holes are so close that you could easily play to the wrong basket. On hole 10, I accidentally threw to basket 3, and you could also inadvertently throw to hole 17. In general, the holes are on top of each other. It didn't feel unsafe, but you could easily end up on the wrong fairway with a subpar throw.

There are three sets of "tees" on each hole, which is kind of overkill. The red tees are absurdly short, but I suppose if you are introducing someone to the game, a 50-foot drive may keep them from getting discouraged. The red and white tees are just stakes in the ground.

A few of the holes don't seem like they have realistic lines to the basket. None are horribly unfair, but they could use a couple fewer trees.

Holes 11 and 18 have intersecting fairways, which really isn't necessary since they could switch tee pads and still be pretty similar holes. You really don't see this very often, and for good reason.

There were a lot of brambles off the fairways. The rough isn't thick, but you can count on getting caught in something thorny once or twice.

In general, the design here left something to be desired. There are lots of holes with a clear fairway for maybe 150-200 feet, and then you're just hoping you make it through the clump of trees.
Other Thoughts: My 100th course!

If you're on the Cape, this is your only option, but it's worthwhile. And on this March afternoon while the central Massachusetts courses were still under a foot of snow, there was no snow here. It was nice to feel human again and ditch the boots.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golfin On The Cape Cod!

1    8/2/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Burgess Park is what I've figured out to be a pretty typical New England style course. That is one which plays primarily through a forested area with some minor elevation changes. Burgess has natural pads and decent baskets with the numbers on top. #'s 2,3 and 4? had different teepads. I got a little confused with the navigation at times stumbling about. Some more next tee signs could have helped my experience out here. There are some nice ACE opportunities. Mostly this is a recreational course. It's not going to challenge advanced players. I thought # 9 was kind of a strange hole standing out in the middle of a field by itself about 325'??? And is there another basket here for another # 9. I never found the # 10 pad. Also are there two baskets for # 13?

# 14 was a very pretty fairway. # 13 and # 14 both have new DGA baskets with the red numbers on top. There is a nice view of the lake from just behind # 14 pad.
Cons: The natural teepads could be improved. If not concrete, how about building blocks inside a wooden frame. I think they work very well. Navigation was fairly difficult for me here. Some next tee arrows or maybe some little metal signs hanging from the baskets rungs would help. Anything to help us first time players would be appreciated.

I never found # 18.
Other Thoughts: The course is crammed in this space pretty tightly at times. I'm sure the locals know the route. This would be one of those courses where you play it twice or with a guide and you would know it well. There are some fun throws here and the closest course from here that's not on an island is 47 miles away, so this might be your course choice today.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Could use a little TLC...

1    9/24/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes with extra baskets on a few holes. A few tees to each hole makes it great for kids/newbs. Baskets in great shape, and very little brush allows for low disc loss. A few more open holes mixed in a mostly wooded and short course design. Not bad for the only Cape course I'm aware of.
Cons: Although the choice of tees isn't such a bad thing, not having them well marked hurts a first-timer. Some confusion as to which hole/basket to throw from. There is also only one long hole that really stood out, other than that there wasn't a whole lot of variety.
Other Thoughts: It is not bad for the only Cape course, but if there was a little more work with some signs and a little clarification on the tees, it would jump the rating on the course a disc. It was still a solid play and I nearly took home my first career ace.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun to play on vacation

1    7/1/2003   12/1/2009
Review By: jonnieoh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I got to play disc golf while on vacation in Cape Cod!
Cons: Woods. If you don't like wooded courses, this may turn you off.
Other Thoughts: It wasn't my favorite course, but just the fact that I got to play while on vacation in another state, well that was just plain fun... I'd go back again, definitely.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.