Marstons Mills, MA 
Burgess Park Share
Uploaded By: seano2222 Hole #10 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 258ft.   3 / 315ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
technical, fair, but navigation tough

1    8/3/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: franko
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is built at a public park with holes weaving through the woods adjacent to a large lake. There is a good mix of lefty and righty friendly lines throughout the course which is a quality of courses that I appreciate from course designers since it is sometimes overlooked. Holes were strategically designed to use many oak and pine trees as obstacles. Though the course is mostly technical, there are a couple of holes both in and out of the woods that gives an opportunity for the distance thrower to open up.
Cons: Tee signs are in need of upgrade or replacement. Where they were present, they were not very clear, and sending someone down the fairway was necessary to clarify where we were throwing to. Hole 10 in particular - it had a tee sign, but described a much shorter hole than we appeared to be playing on. Navigation was difficult and zig-zagged a bit too much, especially after hole 12. Tee signs would go a long way to clearing up which tee pad corresponds to which basket.
Other Thoughts: Memorable holes include 8 which throws downhill towards a slightly elevated basket, hole 12 which comes back across an open field and into a patch of guardian trees, and hole 13 which has a perfectly placed dead pine tree in the fairway to challenge players. Overall, the course was very fun and pretty, and could just use a little TLC.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Review from a Beginner

5+    3/21/2012   3/22/2012
Review By: SteveSpartan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's a beautiful course, especially the back 9.
Basket placements on the front 9 allow you to utilize many different throwing styles to get to where you want to be.
Cons: A ridiculous amount of trees. Some holes have walls of trees directly in front of the tee, forcing you to throw away from the basket. This is particularly problematic on hole 6. Also, there's a plethora of briers at Burgess. Having only played for two years, I often find myself wading through thick brier patches looking for my discs.
Other Thoughts: The group that does the upkeep of the course generally does a good job. I just wish they would refrain from moving baskets to areas where a 3 isn't feasible (hole 6) and do more brier and brush removal,

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

1    2/23/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course to get your fairway drivers working as it plays pretty short, through the woods, and adds a few field shots for good measure. You will have a variety of shots going every which way with slight elevation on some holes. It's very wooded and technical with two tee pads per hole. The shorts are pretty easy and the longs will provide a fair challenge for intermediates, yet advanced players will find this a "pitch and putt" course. I found some of the hole design to be creative and fun for the limited space provided.

It's all par 3, but you will be kicking yourself if you don't get your 2's on many holes.
Cons: The crowds. I stood on #18 tee and counted 30 people (within eyesight) at 2:00 on a winter weekday (it was actually sunny and about 45 degrees - a very nice winter day in MA). I have been told that this course easily can get crowded, so it's recommended to get here early.
People on a course don't bother me, but they do when they cut in front of you -as one group continually did - skipping here and there, wherever they saw an empty hole. A second group came out of nowhere and cut in front of me, too.

Other Thoughts: With such a lack of courses in southern MA, it's no wonder why this is so popular. I hear that Cape Cod is relatively snow-free when other places (like Borderland) have snow on the ground - making it a winter destination.

I found the tees fairly well marked - contrary to what some reviewers have said. Sometimes it is a little difficult to find the next tee (going from #3 to #4 - go 7:00 from #3 basket)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 could be a great spot

1    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: eastcoastf
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very nice area..the back 9 is really scenic with the lake (water) in the background

short distance holes can get through it pretty quickly
but holes are challenging due to the amount of trees.
Cons: course is poorly marked. mutliple marking, .worn out signs..couldn't find certain holes..took me a 2nd round and following the group in front of me to finally grasp the course.

the back 9 is less confusing than the front 9
Other Thoughts: cool be a really great course if the town took the time to just resign all the holes and map it better .

would definetly go again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hello

1    7/28/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: smalcome
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -decent baskets
-parking
-not too many people in the way (i.e. dog walkers etc...)
-location (the only course on the cape? i think so)
Cons: -confusing if there is no one to ask where the next hole is
-can be trashy- literally with trash, and also with some "vibey" attitudes
-a lot of trees
Other Thoughts: i play this course typically on a lunch break if i'm working nearby. i really enjoy giving my champion leopard a run for its money (seeing how it fares after hitting a million trees) and when you hit the holes it's pretty rewarding. the last time i played (late july '10) there were multiple tee pads for each basket- but they weren't easily distinguishable. usually you get to one and think "THIS IS THE PRO TEE" or "THIS IS THE AM TEE." but these were at times just ten feet apart... i tried to stick to a single course layout, but i may have been combining two courses (a new and an old layout?) on some holes. a can of spray paint would go a long way if someone thought to mark each type with different colors. when i was there, i think there was a blue and an unmarked. but the blue was sometimes worn out and the unmarked was, well, unmarked. some had newer looking trash cans- which needed to be emptied. still a good course though- loved the wide open shots after all the tight ones.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Variety Pack

5+    6/25/2009   4/3/2010
Review By: jdjossel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Uphill, downhill, to the right, to the left, woodsy, and open fields. This course has a little of everything, and never gets old. I play the majority of my disc golf here. Great family course.
Cons: Some tees have trees almost directly in front of them. Also, tees can be hard to find sometime, if you're new to the course.
Other Thoughts: Play here, it's awesome.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short, wooded, and fun.

1    6/1/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: adam423
Played: 27  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'd say this is a very fun course to play. Its short, which means there are lots of opportunities for 2s, and everything else should be a 3. Three tees on each hole. The course has good flow except for a couple in the middle. All but 4 are in the woods, and all of the holes have a clear way of getting through the trees. Didn't seem to interfere with anything else in the park. Had a practice basket and I didn't notice any litter on the ground.
Cons: The tee pads weren't always easy to find, they were just marked with wooden posts in the ground. They were also all dirt, which would only be a problem if it rains because there is no real reason to do a run up on any of the holes. I remember 2 of the fairways being close to each other, and had trouble deciding which basket to throw at. Wasn't a huge deal because the holes are so short. I didn't see any bathrooms or water fountains.
Other Thoughts: Super short holes, but if you only bring a putter it makes for a fun game.

The red tees were a bit strange, some of them were ~30 ft from the basket.

My girlfriend loved being able to get 2s on most of the holes because they were inside her range. We ended up having a close game because of it.

If you're visiting the cape, this is your only choice. There is another course on Martha's Vineyard, but I didn't get to check that one out.

Overall a good place to bring the whole family, or if you're in the area. Probably not a place you'd want to drive too far out of the way for.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My home Course

5+    6/21/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: capedcodder
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the only course close by so I play it a few times a week. Like many courses, the more times you play it, the more risk/reward opportunities that can be found. The front nine is easy to navigate and has a couple ace opportunities (never for me) as well as some very tightly wooded holes that can be tricky.
9 and 10 are long field shots.
The back nine offers a lot of interesting shot opportunities and tough decisions.
Most of the holes have double tees and a few have double baskets.
Cons: The course is too short. The guys working on the course are lengthening it slowly but surely.
Certain holes have no implied fairway, just a screen of trees.
Gets crowded on the weekends and after work.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Cape Cod's only course

5+    6/4/2013   4/25/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Major changes have happened recently! There are now brand new concrete tile tees on most holes. Course is clean and the rough has been trimmed back in several places. Many signs have been replaced, but lots are still missing. 18 holes. Practice basket, playground and picnic tables. Access to a beach on a pond near the 9th tee. Tall trees provide good shade on most of the holes.
Cons: Lots of poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: Can be crowds at times, but considering this is the only course on Cape Cod it's not that crowded. Heavily wooded. Accuracy is greatly rewarded.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of trees!

2-4    7/5/2008   8/22/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Burgess Park is short, evidenced by their ace list that you will run into after you park the car and orient yourself to the course. Burgess makes up for its lack of distance by being crammed into the woods. Once you find number one, which is next to the parking lot near the entrance, its very easy to catch on to the flow of the course, you just kind of flow right along to the end. There is a great view of a nearby pond when you get into the back nine. If you only play the front nine you wont see it. There is also a park for kids to play on. The course does not interfere with any other functions as far as I can tell. The unique thing about Burgess Park that sets it apart from some other courses, is the multiple tee boxes, your small kid can tee off from a well marked box, as well as blues and whites for added variety. I did not see a spec of garbage when I played. The course does find its way into the only area of open space a few times so they we can bomb it out at least twice. On a personal note, I love mach 3's!
Cons: The only con that sticks out in my mind is the lack of distance. Better signage and tee boxes would improve play. There is a point in the middle that has different tee boxes for different holes in the same general area it could be easy to play the wrong hole. As far as amenities goes, in July they had a porta potty by the parking lot. I'm not sure if there is any running water at all.
Other Thoughts: If you like the challenge of weaving it through trees and tight fairways than this is your type of course. Very nice scenery, well worth checking out if you are on the cape.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center