Marstons Mills, MA 
Burgess Park Share
Uploaded By: seano2222 Hole #8 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / --   3 / 115ft.   3 / 175ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
technical, fair, but navigation tough

1    8/3/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: franko
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
Pros: The course is built at a public park with holes weaving through the woods adjacent to a large lake. There is a good mix of lefty and righty friendly lines throughout the course which is a quality of courses that I appreciate from course designers since it is sometimes overlooked. Holes were strategically designed to use many oak and pine trees as obstacles. Though the course is mostly technical, there are a couple of holes both in and out of the woods that gives an opportunity for the distance thrower to open up.
Cons: Tee signs are in need of upgrade or replacement. Where they were present, they were not very clear, and sending someone down the fairway was necessary to clarify where we were throwing to. Hole 10 in particular - it had a tee sign, but described a much shorter hole than we appeared to be playing on. Navigation was difficult and zig-zagged a bit too much, especially after hole 12. Tee signs would go a long way to clearing up which tee pad corresponds to which basket.
Other Thoughts: Memorable holes include 8 which throws downhill towards a slightly elevated basket, hole 12 which comes back across an open field and into a patch of guardian trees, and hole 13 which has a perfectly placed dead pine tree in the fairway to challenge players. Overall, the course was very fun and pretty, and could just use a little TLC.

Missing the forest for the beach

2-4    3/15/2014   3/15/2014
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 110  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As Cape Cod's only course, people will battle horrific traffic and spend thousands of dollars per week to rent small cottages just to be near this course (or maybe it's the beaches; but who is to say).

All but two of the holes are wooded. When I looked at the distances of the holes online, I thought it would be a pitch and putt. Not quite. There are definitely birdies to be had, but there are a double bogeys to be had as well. The fairways tend to have trees interspersed, so you have to be careful about the gaps you're trying to hit.

The blue tees are all pavers except for one or two. I liked them. The course is mostly flat, but three or four of the holes have some nice elevation changes that complicate your shot selection in a good way.

Navigation isn't bad. There are next tee signs on every hole.

The scenery is pleasant. The back half of the course overlooks a nice pond. It might not be beginner friendly, but there could have been some terrific holes along the banks.
Cons: The tee signs are either non-existent or not very useful (they are handmade). The first time through you don't always know where the basket is. In addition, in a couple places the holes are so close that you could easily play to the wrong basket. On hole 10, I accidentally threw to basket 3, and you could also inadvertently throw to hole 17. In general, the holes are on top of each other. It didn't feel unsafe, but you could easily end up on the wrong fairway with a subpar throw.

There are three sets of "tees" on each hole, which is kind of overkill. The red tees are absurdly short, but I suppose if you are introducing someone to the game, a 50-foot drive may keep them from getting discouraged. The red and white tees are just stakes in the ground.

A few of the holes don't seem like they have realistic lines to the basket. None are horribly unfair, but they could use a couple fewer trees.

Holes 11 and 18 have intersecting fairways, which really isn't necessary since they could switch tee pads and still be pretty similar holes. You really don't see this very often, and for good reason.

There were a lot of brambles off the fairways. The rough isn't thick, but you can count on getting caught in something thorny once or twice.

In general, the design here left something to be desired. There are lots of holes with a clear fairway for maybe 150-200 feet, and then you're just hoping you make it through the clump of trees.
Other Thoughts: My 100th course!

If you're on the Cape, this is your only option, but it's worthwhile. And on this March afternoon while the central Massachusetts courses were still under a foot of snow, there was no snow here. It was nice to feel human again and ditch the boots.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

New Layout rocks

2-4    7/13/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: Noahlearner
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New tee pads, new layouts, new signs. Lots of energy going into course improvement. Super friendly locals, and pretty views. Challenging lines make you pay if you get a bad kick. Great DGA baskets. I reall enjoyed 7,8, 16, 10.
Cons: Tough to read tee box signage. Lack of par 4 or fives. But it isn't even a fair criticism, based on land they had to work with. New lay out could use a little more pruning of dead trees on 10, 17.
Other Thoughts: This course played better than the older reviews would lead you to believe. It is the home of a burgeoning disc golf community and is worth checking out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Summertime Bliss

2-4    6/12/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: bdc105@gmail.com
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for mixed company. I brought my wife and my sisters-in-law to enjoy time together in the wooded setting. The shots are wonderfully technical, but the best part is the wooded setting for a hot day on the Cape (when many would rather be cutting the heat out on the beach so the course was accessible (one group every three baskets, more or less)). Many hippie-era late baby-boomers the first time I played the course - many with tie-died shirts. That was lovely.
Cons: I'm easy. There were no cons what-so-ever. Perhaps the basket location on 18 but we just used the practice basket in the middle of the field as an alternate. Issue solved.
Other Thoughts: Traffic can be very busy as you travel to the more secluded setting in which the course is laid out. Don't make any wrong turns as coming back on the main roads from a side street might take a while. Give yourself some extra time before and after the round to schedule other activities.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Review from a Beginner

5+    3/21/2012   3/22/2012
Review By: SteveSpartan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's a beautiful course, especially the back 9.
Basket placements on the front 9 allow you to utilize many different throwing styles to get to where you want to be.
Cons: A ridiculous amount of trees. Some holes have walls of trees directly in front of the tee, forcing you to throw away from the basket. This is particularly problematic on hole 6. Also, there's a plethora of briers at Burgess. Having only played for two years, I often find myself wading through thick brier patches looking for my discs.
Other Thoughts: The group that does the upkeep of the course generally does a good job. I just wish they would refrain from moving baskets to areas where a 3 isn't feasible (hole 6) and do more brier and brush removal,

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

1    2/23/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course to get your fairway drivers working as it plays pretty short, through the woods, and adds a few field shots for good measure. You will have a variety of shots going every which way with slight elevation on some holes. It's very wooded and technical with two tee pads per hole. The shorts are pretty easy and the longs will provide a fair challenge for intermediates, yet advanced players will find this a "pitch and putt" course. I found some of the hole design to be creative and fun for the limited space provided.

It's all par 3, but you will be kicking yourself if you don't get your 2's on many holes.
Cons: The crowds. I stood on #18 tee and counted 30 people (within eyesight) at 2:00 on a winter weekday (it was actually sunny and about 45 degrees - a very nice winter day in MA). I have been told that this course easily can get crowded, so it's recommended to get here early.
People on a course don't bother me, but they do when they cut in front of you -as one group continually did - skipping here and there, wherever they saw an empty hole. A second group came out of nowhere and cut in front of me, too.

Other Thoughts: With such a lack of courses in southern MA, it's no wonder why this is so popular. I hear that Cape Cod is relatively snow-free when other places (like Borderland) have snow on the ground - making it a winter destination.

I found the tees fairly well marked - contrary to what some reviewers have said. Sometimes it is a little difficult to find the next tee (going from #3 to #4 - go 7:00 from #3 basket)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golfin On The Cape Cod!

1    8/2/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Burgess Park is what I've figured out to be a pretty typical New England style course. That is one which plays primarily through a forested area with some minor elevation changes. Burgess has natural pads and decent baskets with the numbers on top. #'s 2,3 and 4? had different teepads. I got a little confused with the navigation at times stumbling about. Some more next tee signs could have helped my experience out here. There are some nice ACE opportunities. Mostly this is a recreational course. It's not going to challenge advanced players. I thought # 9 was kind of a strange hole standing out in the middle of a field by itself about 325'??? And is there another basket here for another # 9. I never found the # 10 pad. Also are there two baskets for # 13?

# 14 was a very pretty fairway. # 13 and # 14 both have new DGA baskets with the red numbers on top. There is a nice view of the lake from just behind # 14 pad.
Cons: The natural teepads could be improved. If not concrete, how about building blocks inside a wooden frame. I think they work very well. Navigation was fairly difficult for me here. Some next tee arrows or maybe some little metal signs hanging from the baskets rungs would help. Anything to help us first time players would be appreciated.

I never found # 18.
Other Thoughts: The course is crammed in this space pretty tightly at times. I'm sure the locals know the route. This would be one of those courses where you play it twice or with a guide and you would know it well. There are some fun throws here and the closest course from here that's not on an island is 47 miles away, so this might be your course choice today.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    7/5/2010   3/28/2011
Review By: Nemer06
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course for the cape. Variety of shots.
Good course to work on your overall game. Very technical course, some areas are heavily wooded.
Cons: Dirt tee pads. No map.
Other Thoughts: only place to disc if your on the cape for vacation im glad i checked it out.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Burgess

5+    1/29/2011   2/8/2011
Review By: Greenleaf
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful in the summertime. It is on a pond which is a great place to swim in the summer or skate in the winter. There are trash cans on most every hole. Terrain has moderate elevation changes and hole design is challenging with trees.Technical shots are required. Much redesign has happened in the past two years so I am updating my review
Cons: Tee signs have all been redone but some kids keep pulling them out of the ground and trashing them. All holes now have a paver stone tee pad, very nice. While still a relatively short overall course length, the lengthening of holes and expansion continues with the support of the Cape Cod Disc Golf Club and its members.
Other Thoughts: A great place to practice and play, especially since this is the only course on Cape. Burgess, you have come a long way baby...Thank you to all the members of Cape Cod Disc Golf Club for caring and improving this park!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Could use a little TLC...

1    9/24/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes with extra baskets on a few holes. A few tees to each hole makes it great for kids/newbs. Baskets in great shape, and very little brush allows for low disc loss. A few more open holes mixed in a mostly wooded and short course design. Not bad for the only Cape course I'm aware of.
Cons: Although the choice of tees isn't such a bad thing, not having them well marked hurts a first-timer. Some confusion as to which hole/basket to throw from. There is also only one long hole that really stood out, other than that there wasn't a whole lot of variety.
Other Thoughts: It is not bad for the only Cape course, but if there was a little more work with some signs and a little clarification on the tees, it would jump the rating on the course a disc. It was still a solid play and I nearly took home my first career ace.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.