Marstons Mills, MA
Burgess Park Share
Uploaded By: seano2222 Hole #8 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / --   3 / 115ft.   3 / 175ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Hello

1    7/28/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: smalcome
Played: 32  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -decent baskets
-parking
-not too many people in the way (i.e. dog walkers etc...)
-location (the only course on the cape? i think so)
Cons: -confusing if there is no one to ask where the next hole is
-can be trashy- literally with trash, and also with some "vibey" attitudes
-a lot of trees
Other Thoughts: i play this course typically on a lunch break if i'm working nearby. i really enjoy giving my champion leopard a run for its money (seeing how it fares after hitting a million trees) and when you hit the holes it's pretty rewarding. the last time i played (late july '10) there were multiple tee pads for each basket- but they weren't easily distinguishable. usually you get to one and think "THIS IS THE PRO TEE" or "THIS IS THE AM TEE." but these were at times just ten feet apart... i tried to stick to a single course layout, but i may have been combining two courses (a new and an old layout?) on some holes. a can of spray paint would go a long way if someone thought to mark each type with different colors. when i was there, i think there was a blue and an unmarked. but the blue was sometimes worn out and the unmarked was, well, unmarked. some had newer looking trash cans- which needed to be emptied. still a good course though- loved the wide open shots after all the tight ones.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Don't let the lack of Distance fool you.

5+    11/17/2011   8/24/2010
Review By: CummaquidDiscgolfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New and Improved Excellent all Par 3 Course.

-New Modified and Leveled Tee Boxes with Gravel/Stone.
-New Tee Signs which are custom handmade.
-A few holes have been lengthened/extended which -includes 3,5,11, and 14.
-New up and down hill pathway trails to the 10th and 12th tee.
-The back 9 offers longer par 3's with wider fairways with some elevation change.


Cons: Too Many Trees
-More Course Maintenance such as dead debris removal, removal of dead branches for safety reasons.
Clean up some of the roughs.
-The club got permit form the down the burn dead debris this winter.
Other Thoughts: A lot of major work has been done to the course by the Cape Cod Disc Club over the past six months. The course recently just held it's first PDGA tournament. The event was such a huge success that this tournament will be held next year. This PDGA will be held again next for Summer of 2012.

This course allows you to work on your short game, because there are a lot of narrow fairways, and you might hit a few trees if your not use to a short wooded narrow course. On some holes for more experienced players all you need to do is pull out your putter. The front 9 offers many birdie opportunities. This offers short par 3's which are getting more technical with new improvements and will continue to get more technical. The narrow tight fairways make up for the lack of distance. Hole 11 is Downhill right which is tough to birdie. This can be a nightmare hole for some players on their bad day. Play here, this course is improving more and more. The guys are slowly but surely lengthening the course.


1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Variety Pack

5+    6/25/2009   4/3/2010
Review By: jdjossel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Uphill, downhill, to the right, to the left, woodsy, and open fields. This course has a little of everything, and never gets old. I play the majority of my disc golf here. Great family course.
Cons: Some tees have trees almost directly in front of them. Also, tees can be hard to find sometime, if you're new to the course.
Other Thoughts: Play here, it's awesome.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun to play on vacation

1    7/1/2003   12/1/2009
Review By: jonnieoh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I got to play disc golf while on vacation in Cape Cod!
Cons: Woods. If you don't like wooded courses, this may turn you off.
Other Thoughts: It wasn't my favorite course, but just the fact that I got to play while on vacation in another state, well that was just plain fun... I'd go back again, definitely.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short, wooded

5+    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: aboule13
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is fun and you can play about 3 rounds in a visit pretty easily. There are plenty of birdie opportunities. While the course is short, the small skinny trees make it difficult to make it to the hole in one shot sometimes.
Cons: I grew up on cape cod and I am ashamed at how trashy this park is. I regularly run into people smoking butts and throwing them right on the ground when they are done. Beer cans, litter, grafitti everywhere. Pretty pathetic because the land is very nice. Course is very tightly packed together so you are never alone.
Other Thoughts: There is a nice swimming spot off of the 15th green.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short, wooded, and fun.

1    6/1/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: adam423
Played: 27  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'd say this is a very fun course to play. Its short, which means there are lots of opportunities for 2s, and everything else should be a 3. Three tees on each hole. The course has good flow except for a couple in the middle. All but 4 are in the woods, and all of the holes have a clear way of getting through the trees. Didn't seem to interfere with anything else in the park. Had a practice basket and I didn't notice any litter on the ground.
Cons: The tee pads weren't always easy to find, they were just marked with wooden posts in the ground. They were also all dirt, which would only be a problem if it rains because there is no real reason to do a run up on any of the holes. I remember 2 of the fairways being close to each other, and had trouble deciding which basket to throw at. Wasn't a huge deal because the holes are so short. I didn't see any bathrooms or water fountains.
Other Thoughts: Super short holes, but if you only bring a putter it makes for a fun game.

The red tees were a bit strange, some of them were ~30 ft from the basket.

My girlfriend loved being able to get 2s on most of the holes because they were inside her range. We ended up having a close game because of it.

If you're visiting the cape, this is your only choice. There is another course on Martha's Vineyard, but I didn't get to check that one out.

Overall a good place to bring the whole family, or if you're in the area. Probably not a place you'd want to drive too far out of the way for.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My home Course

5+    6/21/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: capedcodder
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the only course close by so I play it a few times a week. Like many courses, the more times you play it, the more risk/reward opportunities that can be found. The front nine is easy to navigate and has a couple ace opportunities (never for me) as well as some very tightly wooded holes that can be tricky.
9 and 10 are long field shots.
The back nine offers a lot of interesting shot opportunities and tough decisions.
Most of the holes have double tees and a few have double baskets.
Cons: The course is too short. The guys working on the course are lengthening it slowly but surely.
Certain holes have no implied fairway, just a screen of trees.
Gets crowded on the weekends and after work.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Cape Cod's only course

5+    6/4/2013   4/25/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 89  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Major changes have happened recently! There are now brand new concrete tile tees on most holes. Course is clean and the rough has been trimmed back in several places. Many signs have been replaced, but lots are still missing. 18 holes. Practice basket, playground and picnic tables. Access to a beach on a pond near the 9th tee. Tall trees provide good shade on most of the holes.
Cons: Lots of poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: Can be crowds at times, but considering this is the only course on Cape Cod it's not that crowded. Heavily wooded. Accuracy is greatly rewarded.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of trees!

2-4    7/5/2008   8/22/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 186  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Burgess Park is short, evidenced by their ace list that you will run into after you park the car and orient yourself to the course. Burgess makes up for its lack of distance by being crammed into the woods. Once you find number one, which is next to the parking lot near the entrance, its very easy to catch on to the flow of the course, you just kind of flow right along to the end. There is a great view of a nearby pond when you get into the back nine. If you only play the front nine you wont see it. There is also a park for kids to play on. The course does not interfere with any other functions as far as I can tell. The unique thing about Burgess Park that sets it apart from some other courses, is the multiple tee boxes, your small kid can tee off from a well marked box, as well as blues and whites for added variety. I did not see a spec of garbage when I played. The course does find its way into the only area of open space a few times so they we can bomb it out at least twice. On a personal note, I love mach 3's!
Cons: The only con that sticks out in my mind is the lack of distance. Better signage and tee boxes would improve play. There is a point in the middle that has different tee boxes for different holes in the same general area it could be easy to play the wrong hole. As far as amenities goes, in July they had a porta potty by the parking lot. I'm not sure if there is any running water at all.
Other Thoughts: If you like the challenge of weaving it through trees and tight fairways than this is your type of course. Very nice scenery, well worth checking out if you are on the cape.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.