Brewton, AL
Burnt Corn Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: Manson Hole #9 (Taken 4/2011)
4 / 343ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Clean

2-4    4/18/2013   4/18/2013
Review By: westflagator
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Nice small course. Has 9 holes. Good for practicing short game. Does have some obstacle with trees, and river does come in play.
Cons: Small and walkers do start to come out after work. And I do not believe the par and feet are accurate.
Other Thoughts: Warning: Don't over throw hole 4 you will end up in the river.

 my "home course"

5+    5/17/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: beepee311
Played: 105  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very little foot traffic from pedestrians. i spend a lot of time out there and compared to other courses, this place is practically deserted more often than not. a few regular locals come to enjoy walks on the nicer days and more often than not present little distraction or interruptions and are even delighted to learn about disc golf and have even cheered me on on occasions.

located in a manicured park near a gas station and fast food restaurants so nearby necessities are literally within a few steps away.

beginner friendly but with an array of challenges

hole #1) straight forward 222 foot shot with a few shrubs down the left side and trees on the right near the basket but with alot of room to work with. easy birdie hole
hole #2) 296 foot hyzer shot with a tree half up the fairway to the left and gnarly woods with deep drainage ditch to the right.
hole #3) 222 foot shot directly behind a large bush with plenty of room out left after an intial tree immediately on the left and shrubs lining the right side.
hole #4) 156 foot tunnel shot with low ceiling and small drainage ditch to left and large creek directly behind basket.
hole #5) 286 footer with large creek running down the right side with an assortment of trees in front of the basket. big hyzer out over the creek back to the basket is my preferred approach although i have lost many discs over the last 2 years on this hole. some people prefer to lay up to the left. signature hole of the course in my eyes.
hole #6) 365 foot tight S curve shot needing to clear 2 bridges and a large ditch. GNARLY woods to the right full of briars, vines, and brush. luckily the city cleaned alot of the trashy, gnarliness up but is still a risk factor of losing a disc. basket is directly guarded by a large, tall oak which my group of friends call "dwight howard" because he blocks everything and averages 10 blocks a game, so does the tree. blind curve after second bridge, must lookout for predestrians.
hole #7) 223 foot tight shot with an assortment of gaps to hit and trees to miss on an elevated green. drainage ditch directly behind basket and to the right.
hole #8) 246 foot straight forward shot to the basket. few trees on the left which more often than not are not an issue and with a large tree with low branches on the right to knock down a shot too far to the right. walking path directly behind the basket.
hole #9) 343 foot hyzer shot near a main road to the right with skatepark to the left. special care should be taken as there are usually skaters and children using the skatepark and it's rather close. 2 saplings directly in front of teebox which are definitely in play. wide open all the way to basket which is nestled among a group of pecan trees.

Cons: needs alternate pin positions on a few of easier, straight forward open holes. could be a way to liven up the course a bit.

some of the mach 5 baskets are bent but very playable. it appears as if someone accidently hit a few of the baskets with heavy equipment or an automobile of some type which has warped them. definitely still playable and have no problem catching a disc considering i have 10 aces on this course alone just in the last year.

very small disc golf community in brewton. every now and again my friends and i will see a random golfer stopping to play on the way through the town on the way to some other place. sure, we have the course to ourselves most of the time but it gets lonely out there sometimes.

on a couple of holes, some shots are blind and foliage causes walkers and other potential victims of disc strikes to become hidden so special attention is needed to watch out for pedestrians. using common sense, this shouldn't be a problem.

holes 4 and 5 run along a large creek (sometimes could be considered a river) which varies in size depending on weather or time of year and is lined with large limestone rocks. easy for a wayward shot to land in the creek or in the rocks and special care should be taken to retrieve discs. the rocks can be dangerous if proper footing isn't achieved and snakes can also be an issue but more than likely not. again, common sense is best used on these holes.

Other Thoughts: seeing as how i am landlocked from most the courses in alabama, this course is close enough for me to come play on a regular basis, even if i do have to make a 60 mile round trip (30 miles or 40 minutes one way). this course is a diamond in the rough. designed by old school world champion tom monroe, with open birdie holes, tight finesse shots, hyzers, anhyzers, and water, this course has everything a person could need to enjoy a round of golf. this is my "home course" although i don't live in the town or county for that matter. i do most of my practicing on this course because of the variety of shots needed and it doesn't hurt it's close to me. this course has helped me mold myself into the disc golfer i am today and i'm thankful to have it. due to the little use of this course besides walkers and skateboarders, sometimes i feel like my small handful of friends and i, most of the time just me, have it all to ourselves. playing the same 9 holes was fun but became rather monotonous after a whole year of play. last year, my friends and i have made up an alternate set of holes using the 9 existing baskets. we basically play the course backwards (we say we play the "front nine" and then the "backwards nine") after we finish #9 for a full 18 holes that loop back through the course and finishes up back at the parking lot. but with more alternate holes to choose from. i feel it is a good way to customize your round and add alittle spice to the day so with as much space as there is, the number of holes and alternate teeboxes is limitless. i would love to show more people our alternate holes and am willing to play with anyone there anytime. just contact me and i'll be more than happy to meet you and play a round or 4. i rated the course a 3.5 although i love this course and think the world of it, but there could be little changes or additions and with alittle care, attention, and love, we could make this course even better than it is today.

*unofficial alternate holes - i'd like to take the time to describe the "backwards nine" my friends and i designed to break up the monotony of the front nine. it goes like this:
#10) from the 9th basket, walk over to the left down the walking path and we use the path directly behind the triangle shaped flower garden to throw to number 2s basket.
#11) directly in front of 2s basket through gap to 9s basket.
#12) directly from 9s basket, beside shrub from the walking path back to 8s basket.
#13) from skatepark concrete slab beside quarter pipe to 7s basket.
#14) walk down sidewalk to other side of the ditch. throw from concrete slab through the trees over drainage ditch back to 6s basket.
#15) walk to the left of the basket over the bridge up the hill to top from the asphalt and throw back over to 6s basket.
#16) from 6s basket, walk back over bridge to left down 6s fairway and we throw from walking path beside shrubs between the 2 bridges. throw back to 5s basket.
#17) from 5s fairway on walking path, throw over water back to 4s basket.
#18) walk down past 4s teebox and throw back to 2s basket. this is a really blind hyzer shot and a spotter is needed to avoid hitting pedestrians.

* this is just our design of a course of alternate holes and teeboxes and this is only due to the little to even no play from other disc golfers. like i said, i basically have the park to myself every day so i can easily navigate all these new holes and i'm sure you can, too. don't be afraid to alter these holes and paint your own new back nine. thanks for reading. enjoy!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park, Ok golf

1    4/5/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Manson
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful, well maintained park great for walking both humans and canines (going to bring mine next time). Signs at each tee telling hole #, distance and par. River made 4 & especially 5 interesting. Poor drainage in park, couple of holes were barely playable as I went the day after a good thunderstorm the night before.
Cons: Course not particularly challenging, for the most part an easy par for am's. Birdie opportunites there if your drive is decent. 5, 6, and 7 where kinda tough. Course could use #'s on baskets. Not a huge deterence, but I had to stand at the tee for a second each time and figure out where I was supposed to be throwing. Right next to busy streets. Not the fault of the course, but I generally enjoy the quiet, get away from it all when I disc. Seemed like the whole town was watching me.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful, well maintained park (met a friendly old timer who was working there, actually had to skip hole 6 as I didn't want to take a chance of braining him with a disc) set by a river. River comes into play on 4 & 5. No prob on 4 as you can merely slide your disc down a walking path to layup close to the basket. 5 was a tough shot (s curve over river) but as long as the wind isn't a factor, which it was the day I played, it's a very makeable shot that gives a bit of an ego boost as throwing over water and taking a chance of losing a disc is very real. 6 is a long hole over walking areas and lots of people use this park. I went on a Tuesday at lunch time and several times I had to wait for traffic. Weekends will probably have more traffic. 7 seemed to be the most challenging for me as you had to choose how to layup. The rest were pretty much just throw with not a lot of planning. I scored well under par my first time there whereas a challenging course will usually make me have several shots at the course before I can master it. Sounds like I'm bashing this course but I'm not. Enjoyed my experience there and would play again. It's a great "take your lunch and eat in the park along with 9 or 18 of discing", I was just hoping for a bit more of a challenge.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging 9 holer

1    8/1/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 63  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 really varied and some outright difficult holes. Concrete tee pads and signs at every hole. Some unique challenges using a large river and botanical arrangements.
Cons: Bunk par. Some shots just seemed impossible and that might be why the par was so high, so you could lay up and take the safe way around. Seemed to have poor drainage as there was standing water in many fairways. Baskets are not numbered but usually was fairly obvious which one you were shooting for.
Other Thoughts: Since there are no pictures and I had no camera, I will give a short hole description:

1) A straight ahead field shot to deceive you into thinking this would be a cake walk.
2) A slight dogleg across a walking path.
3) Quick dogleg right hidden behind bushes.
4) Short, 156', low ceiling AND there is a 15' dropoff into a raging river about 10' behind the basket
5) You either s-curve wide over the river or lay up from tree cluster to tree cluster to the left.
6) Blind 300+' approach, all your lay up zones are amid landscaping, if you can throw 365' dead straight you will love this hole
7) 2 very tight approaches through brush to dogleg left
8) Caty-corner to the skate park, open field shot.
9) Open field shot as well

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.