Plainwell, MI 
Calvary DGC Share
Uploaded By: jonesydesign Hole #5 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 217ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Ace City

1    4/7/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: - Baskets, compaired to the other 9 holers in the area this is one of the few that has actual baskets.

- Navigation - every tee has a different colored box to show you were it is. Everything flowed well and it seemed the fairways were mowed to show you which basket you are shooting at.

- Tee pads while they are a little short and rubber they are better then the sand boxes it appears that everyone has mentioned before.
Cons: -No real difficulty. They are all pretty much ace runs, but they do have a little bit of shot mix up.

-By the highway (also a plus as it's easy to get too) but it's very loud.

-Hole 8, appears to have two shots, one that is a huge weight hyzer that the tee pad doesn't really face the basket and one small like 80ish ft hyzer spike. Not sure if they moved the basket and made a new tee.
Other Thoughts: From what i read on the other peoples reviews it looks like they are trying to fix it. This isn't anything that is a destination, but if you are coming north to go to Kzoo or battle Creek, this is a quick stop off the high way for a nice little warm up round.

I am guessing by being at a church it's made to get kids and new players into the game, and it is very good for that.

I enjoyed this more then what most people did, but I also like throwing putters at watching them go for ace runs :D

 9 Practice Holes

5+    10/12/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: Anheuser
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets, Course map at the start of the course. Very little traffic. Easy to find. Well maintained. An ace opportunity on ever hole. This will be the first place I take people who have never played the game before. I met two guys on the course who come out there every day on their lunch break.
Cons: Holes are short and mostly straight with not many trees or obstacles to use different styles of throwing. More than anything, I think that is the biggest drawback to this course, not the short links or the fact that it's only nine holes. It seemed flat and barren to me. The tees are basically sand boxes and usually offer no hope of an X step (not that you really need to out here).
Other Thoughts: I tried to review this course as a 9 hole course on it's own and not let the hole count sway my vote. The fact remains, though, it will still be boring for the veteran player. Where it could really shine though is as a "disc golf training center". You could try out new shots, tweak your drive and practice your putting and midrange shots with what I'm assuming would be very little interference from other players. This course and a soccer field for long drive practice would be all you would need to become a great player on your own time. I wish I lived next door to it. I'd be out there every day before work.

No play during Sunday morning services- 10:45 am til ?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 oh.... Plainwell

5+    9/21/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: adam8706
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its a course, no wait, never busy, almost impossible to lose a disc, good baskets, very clean, & very close to the interstate. good to work on short game and putting.
Cons: verry short, not challanging, very open not many obsticles.
Other Thoughts: good place to practice, no wait ever, quick play,

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 short, simple

1    8/23/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Basic teaching skills design
- Free
- Easy to figure out
- Great baskets
Cons: - Dirt tees
- Very, very short
- No obstacles/challenges, should shoot -6 to -9 during a hurricane.
Other Thoughts: Not worth the trip, good stretcher course between Kzoo and Grand Rapids if on the highway and bored.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/21/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: jacob baptiste
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: short holes with few trees makes this a good course for beginner, nothing fancy required to make par
Cons: wont pose a challange to a golfer of moderate skill level
Other Thoughts: usualy pretty clean, not a lot of activity makes so you dont have to wait to play

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.