Plainwell, MI
Calvary DGC Share
Uploaded By: jonesydesign Hole #4 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 190ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Ace City

1    4/7/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 79  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.1 Years
Pros: - Baskets, compaired to the other 9 holers in the area this is one of the few that has actual baskets.

- Navigation - every tee has a different colored box to show you were it is. Everything flowed well and it seemed the fairways were mowed to show you which basket you are shooting at.

- Tee pads while they are a little short and rubber they are better then the sand boxes it appears that everyone has mentioned before.
Cons: -No real difficulty. They are all pretty much ace runs, but they do have a little bit of shot mix up.

-By the highway (also a plus as it's easy to get too) but it's very loud.

-Hole 8, appears to have two shots, one that is a huge weight hyzer that the tee pad doesn't really face the basket and one small like 80ish ft hyzer spike. Not sure if they moved the basket and made a new tee.
Other Thoughts: From what i read on the other peoples reviews it looks like they are trying to fix it. This isn't anything that is a destination, but if you are coming north to go to Kzoo or battle Creek, this is a quick stop off the high way for a nice little warm up round.

I am guessing by being at a church it's made to get kids and new players into the game, and it is very good for that.

I enjoyed this more then what most people did, but I also like throwing putters at watching them go for ace runs :D

Nice little nine holer

1    9/20/2013   9/20/2013
Review By: hevyevie
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2013
Pros: A nice short course with many ace opportunities. It was well groomed making a lost disc near impossible. Well signed and easy to follow. Laid out in a nice fashion to where you finish by where you started. Excellent tee markers with bag holders, and trash bags. Very little grafitti. Not much litter. Good baskets. Hole 8 had two tee positions. Not very crowded. Easy access and good parking.
Cons: It was a really short course using every inch of space available. Not exactly the most challenging course ever, but is an excellent beginners course. If there were a lot of people playing it would be crowded quick. The tees were uneven and had a rubber mat over dirt. Most holes were the same in length. Not very scenic as you're playing in everybodys back yard and right next to the highway. There was a fire pit in the middle of the fairway on 8.
Other Thoughts: It is an awsome course for the beginner, or an amatuer looking for an ace race. If you're in the area and have 45 minutes to throw a quick 9 this is your course. The play is so fast you might just play 2 rounds to get another ace!

Not good

1    7/18/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays in a small field behind a church. It seems like a good spot to expose people to the sport, with baskets visible from the church and parking lot, and some visible from the highway. The course uses the scattered trees reasonably well to protect a few of the pins and force one interesting up and over line. There is a course map at the parking lot, and despite the lack of signage it's not hard to follow the flow here.
Cons: There's not really any challenge or variety here. 8 of the holes are similar lengths and require basic straightforward shots, and the only different shot is not all that difficult, with a 150' spike hyzer or overhand over a bush. There aren't enough obstacles to make any of the shots feel obstructed, it's basically a wide open, short field course. The tees are terrible, they're just dusty rutted out areas that are expanding as people throw from outside the worst of the ruts.
Other Thoughts: Beginners can have a good time trying out the sport here, there's not much punishment for errant shots and the lengths are reasonable. Experienced players will find no challenge here, even with nothing but a putter.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 195  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- kind of reminds me of a mini-golf course that is really trying to be a par 3 golf course. the property is in decent condition.

Baskets-- reasonable condition, some of the "basket portion" were slanted and uneven.

Map-- yep, there's a map, thank god..

Easy to find-- right off 131.
Cons: Navigation-- HARD even with the map. finding the basket for 4 is difficult if not impossible. there are two baskets in a direct line from the tee... ALSO, the tee for 4 does not point towards the basket, rather it points at the basket for 5.

SandBoxes-- the teeboxes are like sand boxes, I found myself taking my steps to the side.

Fairways-- overgrown and hard to follow in places.
Other Thoughts: I played this course during a day where I played three 9-hole courses and an 18. this was the worst of the 9-holes by far.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 9 Practice Holes

5+    10/12/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: Anheuser
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets, Course map at the start of the course. Very little traffic. Easy to find. Well maintained. An ace opportunity on ever hole. This will be the first place I take people who have never played the game before. I met two guys on the course who come out there every day on their lunch break.
Cons: Holes are short and mostly straight with not many trees or obstacles to use different styles of throwing. More than anything, I think that is the biggest drawback to this course, not the short links or the fact that it's only nine holes. It seemed flat and barren to me. The tees are basically sand boxes and usually offer no hope of an X step (not that you really need to out here).
Other Thoughts: I tried to review this course as a 9 hole course on it's own and not let the hole count sway my vote. The fact remains, though, it will still be boring for the veteran player. Where it could really shine though is as a "disc golf training center". You could try out new shots, tweak your drive and practice your putting and midrange shots with what I'm assuming would be very little interference from other players. This course and a soccer field for long drive practice would be all you would need to become a great player on your own time. I wish I lived next door to it. I'd be out there every day before work.

No play during Sunday morning services- 10:45 am til ?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Warm Up

1    8/2/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: nabaah
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course map in the parking lot, easy to navigate, nice baskets, lots of ace runs on all the holes, good to work with the putter and mid range, Nice little 9 hole course.
Cons: Short, Dirt tees(Sand really), Close to the highway, Not much of a challenge to play or many hazards.
Other Thoughts: I like to use this as a nice warm up 9 on my way to Kalamazoo or Battle Creek. This is one of the nicer little 9 hole courses that I've played compared to Middleville, Hudsonville or Norton Shores.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Plainwell

5+    6/26/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: Junkr
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -No waiting, ever.
-Easy to navigate (Has a course map at #1)
-Generally clean, nearly impossible to lose a disc.
-Nice locals.
-A course with baskets. Fair enough.
-Nice and easy to play in big groups.
Cons: -Difficulty level. This is one of the easiest courses you will play.
-Very little hole variety.
-Flat.
-Hole #5. Aim right, or there's a chance your disc will float over the fence towards the highway. It is a pain to retrieve.
-Tee pads are "dirt" (at this point they are almost sand) and if it has rained at all, they will be puddles and you'll have to drive to the sides of them.
Other Thoughts: This course will not appeal to skillful players. It is a very short, 9-hole course with very little incentive to make someone return.

However, I feel this course deserves a 2 for one reason - this is the best learning course I have ever seen. If you are just starting out, or are still trying to perfect your anhyzers/forehands and midrange/putting game, I feel like there is no better course around to go play a couple rounds and practice. The owner clearly did not have this in mind, but if he was trying to create a practice course, he hit it spot on.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

1    5/23/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: BlueBells
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very rare to have a wait time.
-Generally clean
-Baskets
-Ideal course to practice mid-range throws and putts.
-Ideal course to learn how to drive accurately
-Easily accessible
-Not terribly difficult to locate
Cons: -Poses no real challenge to players of a fairly decent skill level
-Hole distances are all fairly identical
-Course is almost completely flat
-Dirt tee-boxes
-No hole indicators
Other Thoughts: This is my hometown course. I learned to how to play here and still am not bored with the course. I would not recommend going out of your way to play this course, but for those that it is available to, it is an ideal location to take your game to the next level.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 oh.... Plainwell

5+    9/21/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: adam8706
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its a course, no wait, never busy, almost impossible to lose a disc, good baskets, very clean, & very close to the interstate. good to work on short game and putting.
Cons: verry short, not challanging, very open not many obsticles.
Other Thoughts: good place to practice, no wait ever, quick play,

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 short, simple

1    8/23/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 224  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 15.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Basic teaching skills design
- Free
- Easy to figure out
- Great baskets
Cons: - Dirt tees
- Very, very short
- No obstacles/challenges, should shoot -6 to -9 during a hurricane.
Other Thoughts: Not worth the trip, good stretcher course between Kzoo and Grand Rapids if on the highway and bored.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.