St. Cloud, MN
Calvary Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: kjtw55 Hole #2
3 / 229ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
great course

5+    8/9/2012   1/3/2013
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 54  Reviewed: 24
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 is great for practicing your anny shots fron the long tee. perfect control range. The short tee on 9 is great for perfecting accuracy with mids and putters. 16 is great for control straight or hyzer drives. could practice on those all day.

The holes start off somewhat out in the open then you go up and around the hill then back down. Good elevation change. Then you are back out in the open for the last holes. Over all challenging enough, good use of open area and the woods. Not much trash laying around.

Tee signs marked distances which is always helpful.
Cons: Road traffic very close to a few holes. Sometimes cant see baskets on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Great course, always come here when I'm in town. This and riverside makes a great pair.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

No Riverside

2-4    5/10/2012   12/20/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 38  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course offers a wide variety of shots, with many open holes out in the open and some challenging holes in the woods that offer some unique shots with the elevation change and tight lanes to hit. It also has decent tee pads with signs on every hole.
Cons: The holes out in the open are not very impressive. The mosquitoes are also quite bad in the woods.
Other Thoughts: It's not as busy as Riverside and it's close by, so if Riverside is busy, make the trip to Calvary.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate

1    7/22/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set amongst a city park, with some parts out in the open, and others inside a hilly forest. The course plays near some tennis courts, the parking lot, a playground and near some houses, but it seems like the area is mostly dedicated to discing.
- The best holes here are situated inside the woods, which offer tight lines and hilly terrain. #4, #7, and #10 play up a pretty steep uphill slope, this adds a great deal of difficulty to these holes. #5, #8, #11, and #12 play down the same slope, with #5 long being a very long downhill shot over the canopy. The lines in here are not easy either, #4 is a long skinny RHBH flex shot, #7 is a tight anny, #8 and #11 are tunnellish shots in the woods, and #10 is a very tough uphill shot that finishes into a skinny window on the right. The long pin position is very tough to get to.
- Most of the other holes are out in the open, with the odd mature tree to worry about. #1's basket it tucked behind a large cluster of skinny trees, #9 has woods on the right and larger trees on the left, #15 has some trees by the pin, and there are a few easier hyzers and anhyzers. A few gentle elevation changes out here, like a slight uphill on #2 and #18, and a slight downhill on #15.
- Some really cool holes here, with #5 standing out the most. The pro pad is a hike to the top of the hill with a huge, blind downhill shot over the canopy of the forest below. Plenty of danger to end up way off course into the woods. #10 is probably the toughest hole, an uphill RHBH anny that finishes in a low window behind a tree.
- Good pads, with pro pads on about half the holes. Good baskets, with alternate pin positions that add a lot of challenge. Signs are good, and lots of navigation aids to help get around.
Cons: - A lot of the holes here are pretty wide open, with one or two trees to worry about. Most of the ones out of the forest fall into this category.
- Part of the course play right next to a residential road, like #1, #12, #13, and #18, and #6's basket is right by the parking lot. Never fun to have the concrete and asphalt in play, it can be a major distraction.
- A few places where holes brush up against each other, but nothing too dangerous. I would be wary of errant shots from #5's pro tee, those things could end up nearly anywhere, heh heh.
Other Thoughts: - Well, this course has two faces. A pretty vanilla section out in the open, and some tough, hilly areas inside the woods. The pro tees and/or long pins add a huge amount of difficulty, with plenty of rough and jail to get into. More advanced players won't find much excitement in the open, but everyone else should find it enjoyable and/or tough.
- This course is listed as mostly flat, oh geez... my legs were tired after going up those wooded holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course Khloe Kardashian!

1    7/20/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is just like Khloe, the kinda fat, not near as hot as Kim, Kardashian sister. Calvary sits just 1.6 miles from Riverside Park. Calvary is a nice course. The problem is, she's not nearly as hot as Riverside.
Calvary Hill Park plays in and out of the woods. There are two tee pads for each hole. Each pad has a tee sign with all the usual info.
Nice mix between open and technical wooded holes.
Some elevation especially on the signature hole # 5.
Many of the pars listed are a little bit underwhelming such as # 7= 235' Par 4, # 18 = 235' Par 4. Golly, I hope you guys are shooting under par here.
Cons: The holes across the street are kind of open and unimaginative.
I wasn't too impressed with the wooded holes.
There seemed to be a fair amount of trash left around, especially in the woods. Pack it out guys.
Other Thoughts: Calvary suffers by comparison with Riverside which I really liked. That's too bad, as this is a decent little course in it's own right. Coupled with Riverside, these two would make for a great tournament set-up. I'd say the players in St. Cloud are pretty fortunate to have these two course available to them. Take advantage and play your little hearts out guys.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/10/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Sargentgeneral
Played: 80  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2011
Pros: - Multiple tee pads
- Multiple pin positions
- Decent course signs
- Doesn't get as crowded as the nearby Riverside Park
Cons: - Holes 4 and 7 riddled with trees
- Can get boring in holes across the road
- Some mosquitoes and poison ivy
- Some tee pads could use improvement or even replacement
Other Thoughts: Fun alternative to Riverside.

 Decent, challenging course

1    8/3/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: pallen03
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Hole variety, you see around half the course in thick woods, another portion in areas with light trees, and on hole 5 you have a chance to test out your arm
-Forgiving pars for newbies, however this is not the case in the woods.
-Can potentially find new discs in the woods, I did.
-Multiple tees for different skill sets
-The hills make it a good workout
-Spacious park area for a lot of walking
Cons: -Sometimes tricky to navigate course
-Baskets are sometimes hidden, can't see the baskets from a lot of tees. This means you have no idea where to throw if its your first time.
-Road can be a dangerous hazard on a couple holes, I wonder how many cars have been hit
Other Thoughts: A nice course in a nice park with variety. Hole 5 is epic. You feel challenged and a bit tired after the course, especially on a 95+ degree day when I went. Definitely worth the trip to STC.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fFirst Impersions are good

1    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: revmatty
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 22.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Tee Signs in fairly good shape
-Practice basket at the begining of the course
-Multiple Tees and Pin Placements
-Excellent use of elevation changes
-Up in the hills is challengeing, real tight fairways and tree's to navigate around.
-Great place to practice your hyzers and anhyzers as a couple holes require them.
-Tee #5 comes off the top of the sledding hill to the basket at the bottom, so even weak arms can make par as you dont have to toss hard to get it down bellow. Go for the 460' tee up there, and chose a light stable driver and let it rip. Be suprised at how close you get to the pin. Even my wife ripped on halfway down the hill, and she can barely throw 100ft.
-A few blind basket shots
-For as busy as it was a fairly clean park.
Cons: -Pin 4 was missing the day I played.
-The hills and woods may not be sutiple for beginers as they require pin point accuracy or some fancy navigation skills. Excluding #5 which is wide open downhill throw.
-The the mosiqutoes in the woods are bad
-Few holes play near the road, so a bad throw could mean trouble if you hit a moving car.
-Can be pretty crowded, so pay attention to the other players as not to hit them.
-Tee #14 was missing the sign.
Other Thoughts: -Weekends the local founder of the St Cloud DG Club (Ken) is there in the afternoons selling discs from his shop, great prices (or find him at Riverside)
- #5 would be my epic hole choice. As I tee'd off at over 400 ft (down hill of course) But it was awesome to see that disc just buxxr (what looked like inches) above the ground.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    7/24/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: Mopbrothers
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: i like this course because there are signs posted (unlike most courses). the trees and hills also make good scenery and give it diversity. i live close by so naturally thats a pro also.
Cons: some of the holes in the forest area can be hard to find and navigate, so sometimes i just skip them.
Other Thoughts: FUNNY STORY: I was throwing terrible on this course one time and got so angry i flung my putter into the street. of ALL the places for the disc to go, it went into the SEWER GRATE!!! To this day it's still there and you can see it! good luck trying to get it out!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very cool course

2-4    6/1/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: Da Bonger
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging front 11 holes. Throwing up a huge hill and then back down is a lot of fun if you catch the breeze. The last few holes across the street are pretty much wide open for clean drives. The people are always friendly and quick to offer tips and bug spray to new players. A lot of players since it's located in a neighborhood.
Cons: Dirt tees, some of which are tiered with a foot and a half drop coming down the hill. Kinda dangerous if you get a lot behind your throw. Bring some bug spray.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful natural course. If you're ever in St. Cloud, MN look it up.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

5+    6/8/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: slash87
Played: 121  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a great course. You have trees that are in play on almost every whole. There are short and long wholes and they move the baskets into alternate spots often.
Cons: There is not water and there can be crowds at times.
Other Thoughts: The new holes 7 and 8 are still being worked on. There still is no easy path through the woods for these two holes. I wish they would of left the other two wholes which were awesome. I have to change my rating after playing many more courses and realizing that this is a great course but not as highly rated as I originally thought.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.