St. Cloud, MN 
Calvary Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: kjtw55 Hole #8 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Fun

5+    6/8/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: slash87
Played: 140  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a great course. You have trees that are in play on almost every whole. There are short and long wholes and they move the baskets into alternate spots often.
Cons: There is not water and there can be crowds at times.
Other Thoughts: The new holes 7 and 8 are still being worked on. There still is no easy path through the woods for these two holes. I wish they would of left the other two wholes which were awesome. I have to change my rating after playing many more courses and realizing that this is a great course but not as highly rated as I originally thought.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/25/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: kjtw55
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a well-layed out 18 hole course. Most of the tee pads are concrete and there are multiple pin placements. Both the short and the long tees have signs that tell the hole number and the distance to the pin. The course is easy to follow and once in the woods, there are signs telling you where the next tees are located. There are a good mix of wooded/tight holes and open holes. The fairways are nicely mowed and there is not much underbrush, so not much chance for losing discs. There is also some elevation on this course. There are 3 pairs of pins where the first hole is an uphill shot, then the second shot is down another part of the hill.
Cons: Some of the holes in the woods you cannot see the basket from the tee. A quick walk down the fairway to find it is needed. After hole 12, you have to cross the road to finish the course. There should be some signs warning cars to watch for people crossing the road here.
Other Thoughts: The parking lot has a porta-pottie and this is also where the only garbage is located. The course layout is roughly divided into thirds. After the 6th hole, you are back at the parking lot. Then after hole 12, you are at a little playground located across the street from the parking lot. Hole 18, of course, also ends across from the parking lot.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Par 3 for real?

2-4    5/24/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a different sort of a course. On most courses I play I use a par 3 on every hole and at most courses if I have a good drive I get a shot at a 2. This course is not like that.

Hole 1 starts just off the parking lot and the challenges the course are going to throw at you are immediatly apparent. A short shot into a grove of trees with a OB road just to the right. Yeah, you can Hyzer in (rhbh) but if you clunk a tree and roll in to the street your round is off to a rough start. Several holes are like this, especially once you get into the woods. I found myself wondering how many times out of a hundred I would get a 3 on several holes. Actual par 4's that aren't really long? Unpossible!

I would call this an advanced intermediate course except many holes are pretty easy. Maybe a place to take the buddies after they are starting to get a good hold of their midrange and fairway drivers.

It should be mentioned that the long downhill hole is very well designed. Even if you have a big arm you may not make the shot.

When I played it last all holes were in and in good shape with mulitlple pin and teepad placements on many holes. Parking is adequate and there are porta potties.
Cons: Signage was damaged and teepads are not all in. Has where to go markers on several holes but really needs a pointer to the pin on many in the woods. The teepads don't always point towards the pin and they are hard to see in the woods.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the 3 courses in St Cloud I make sure I play when I spend time there. Perfect skins game sort of course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/2/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course layout is fairly easy to follow, except it was a little tricky to find out what you were supposed to do after hole 4, as two holes were closed and you were supposed to play from some place else. I guess they are putting in two new holes soon in a different spot to get back up to 18 holes.
There is a great mix between partially wooded holes and wide open holes with pretty much everything in between.
My favorite hole, as well as I'm sure many peoples favorite, is a long downhill throw over some trees.
There is a good amount of distance on a few holes, though nothing undriveable.
Cons: There were two holes missing and it was really not clear where to go. It said they were closed for erosion but it didn't direct you to anywhere else. After a while of wandering, we just decided to play number 7?
There aren't a whole lot of hazards, though the street comes into play a few times.
Other Thoughts: Once the two other holes get added in, I'll be sure to bump it up to a 4.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Play before 3pm

5+    11/16/2008   1/16/2009
Review By: RadarRandall
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It is a great course with lots of challenging holes. Some long & some skill holes. I always play the long tee boxes.
Cons: In the spring before Riverside opens all the local youth and collage kids take over the course after 3 makes it hard to play a couple of quick rounds
Other Thoughts: all 18 holes are reopened now that the watertower is built

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Interesting

1    8/18/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual tees.
-Interesting to follow.
-Lots of challenges from trees and vegetation.
-Its called Cavalry "Hill" for a reason! Its on a nice sized hill which makes for some fun shots.
-Porta-Potties located at 1+9 holes.
-Local disc shop owner is often at the course selling discs at good prices.
-Takes a variety of power to get distances and accuracy to cut through the wooded holes.
Cons: -It was a little busy when I was there.
-Have to cross road to get to last 5 holes, road could be a little busy.
-A bit confusing at times to find next hole for first timers.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure which course I enjoyed more of the two major St. Cloud ones. I think this one may overcome the far more popular Riverside park.
-Bring water in the summer because there isnt any at the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.