Disc Golf Store
Pittsburgh, PA 
Schenley Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 147ft.   3 / 246ft.   3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 White Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

5+    9/7/2013   10/2/2013
Review By: Jabumbo
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this park and its location, so it quickly became one of my most played courses once I got wheels. Most of the holes are in the woods and so it makes for some interesting shots. A great place to bring a beginner. It is short enough that a single player can finish inside of an hour.
Cons: The park tends to be crowded and people management can be a concern. It's also very tightly placed so you need to beware of the other players around you (my eyebrow will never be the same). The holes are almost all short enough that a candy arm like myself can have a chance to birdie every hole.
Other Thoughts: This is the only course that I have played under par and have an ace on so it has some sentimental value with that. The central location is great and I love swinging through on a whim to play a quick round after work and still getting home early enough to make dinner!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not Just a Pitch and Putt

2-4    6/21/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 81  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 2.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located in a huge, well-maintained park right outside of Oakland, only a few miles from downtown. The park has pretty much everything you could ask for with bike trails, walking trails, ball golf course (including an indoor golf virtual simulator of famous courses), tennis courts, playgrounds, soccer fields, skating rink, a pool and more. This is definitely a park you can bring your whole family to and everyone can find something they enjoy doing
-Bathrooms, water fountains, parking, garbage cans, and course map located near holes 1 and 18
- This is one of the best parks I've played as far as little chance to lose discs. Virtually impossible here, allowing for a more enjoyable round
-Great view of downtown Pittsburgh
-3 tees (red, white, and blue) and 3 pin locations, giving the course a great variety. White and blue have very nice long concrete tees and the baskets are Mach 3.
-Variety with open (1-6,18) and wooded (7-17) holes. Good mix of straight, hyzer, and anhyzer shots
-Good course to take a beginner to. Advanced and serious players may get bored with this course, but I feel an intermediate level/average player would enjoy it as well
-Multiple benches located throughout the course
-A lot of things to do in the city after your round
Cons: -Schenley Park is often highly populated throughout the day, which can make finding a parking space difficult and sometimes can slow down your round with multiple groups out playing at a time. Also, holes 1-5 play on a huge field where many non-golfers like to sprawl out, causing conflict. Holes 2-6, 12, and 18 play close to a road
-Finding the next tee can be confusing in the woods, as some the holes are very close together. This also can create problems with discs landing in opposite fairways. My first time playing, I threw at the wrong basket once or twice because it was hard to tell which basket belonged to which tee.
-Only a few holes really stood out to me in any way
-There can be awful traffic returning to the highways in the evenings
Other Thoughts: A lot of people refer to this course as a pitch and putt - I would agree with them as far as a few holes playing from the red tees. However, 7/18 holes are over 300 feet from the blue tees, none being under 200 feet, and only 2 holes are under 200 feet from the white tees. Also, the shortest wooded holes play through some tight lines, so it's not just an easy layup to the basket from the tee. I do have mixed feelings about this course, as there are some definite cons to playing here, but I still find it to be an enjoyable round. My point being that there aren't too many holes that are definite ace runs or throw-aways. To me, the wooded holes are still technical enough to make them fun, even if some of them are fairly short. The course only plays about 45 minutes for one person to play, so it is quick enough to get 2 rounds in.
The holes I especially enjoyed were:
2- A chance to really bomb your disc while getting a great view and often times fighting the wind on your shots
15- A long par 4 hole starting in the open then playing through the woods to an elevated basket
17- Plays along a tight path uphill to a tight pin location
18- Tee is on a hill and plays across the road to another hill

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course in the city

5+    9/11/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 79  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very nice signs and tee pads. Easy to navigate from hole to hole. Well planned course, could easily find next tees even if the signs weren't there.
Cons: After the first 6 holes it gets very heavily wooded. The first couple of holes play on a hill where there might be a lot of non golfers milling around. They are usually out of the way, but it could cause trouble on a nice day.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Another Great Pittsburgh Course

5+    8/10/2010   9/10/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets, signs, and tee pads are great. There is a bunch of elevation change that went into the course. It is easy to navigate. The overall park is really nice. The course uses the woods well and the surroundings well.
Cons: Some shots you might hit people if the course is crowded. Some of the holes criss cross so you might walk into a fairway of another hole.
Other Thoughts: If you keep walking up the road past the ice rink from #1, there is a small buildling with rest rooms, water fountains, and a pop machine.

If you are not from Pittsburgh, I would not recommend going out of your way to play this course. Knob Hill is another par 3 course, but it's on steroids compared to this one. Deer Lakes, Moraine, and 2MRX are all superior, modern courses. But if you happen to be in Pittsburgh, or you live in the region...this one is definitely worth checking out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent discin’ in the ‘Burgh

1    5/26/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pleasant course in a large park with loads of activities for non-discers.
• Greets you with a wonderful view of the city skyline at the 1st hole.
• Starts out with several fairly open holes, (some with guarded baskets), before rambling into the woods for a short, technical, control game for most of the round - strikes a decent balance between the two. Solid design encourages shot shaping and finesse shots with good hyzer, annie, straight balance.
• Slight to significant elevation change is a factor on many (if not most) fairways. A few tricky basket locations have rollaway potential.
• Absence of nasty underbrush or schule for the most part makes finding discs pretty easy (but still some places where a horrible shot could get lost).
• Great place to learn the game and a great venue for an Ace Race.
• Compact layout allows you to skip some holes and return them fairly easily in spots.
• 3 sets of tees (red & white = concrete, blue =grass with toe board) change things up a bit.
• 3 pin placements means locals can play this course a variety of ways over a period of time.
• Baskets catch fine and tee markers show hole layout and distance from all tees (some are looking a bit beat up).
• Benches located here and there along the course.
• Convenient for a quick round before a Pirates or Steelers game, or anything else that might bring you into the city. Course plays quickly if you can play through/around slower groups.
• Park offers bolf course, tennis courts, track & field oval, skating rink, swimming pool, soccer fields, pavilions, bike/walking trail… too much to list. If you really want to see what they have, link here: http://www.pittsburghparks.org/schenley
Cons: • Compact layout and close proximity to roads, parking lots, and other park goers means discs can end up where they don't belong… this means you could be on the receiving end of things as well.
• Popular location and low degree of difficulty attracts crowds and less than serious players - you may need to be proactive in asking slower groups to play through and other etiquette issues.
• I had a guide, but I can see where navigation could get a bit sketchy - print the map.
Other Thoughts: Solid course, plays well, makes for a really fun round. Definitely not an "every shot in your bag" type of course (no crime in my book). If you really want to run with the big dogs, head to Knob Hill, Deer Lakes, or Moraine, you'll be much happier playing one of them.

Sure, sun bathers tend to congregate in the field near the first two holes, but a little courtesy and common sense should avoid any potentially ugly situation. Besides, when did seeing college girls lying in the sun become a con? ;-) You gotta love that most courses in this area feature 3 sets of tees and rotate through 3 sets of pin placements; ensures a bit of variety and keeps things from getting boring. Wish they did it where I live! Can't bag on the fact that the blue tees aren't concrete - there were already two sets of pads, and they added a 3rd set of blue toe boards… that's a good thing. On the whole, Schenley's a wonderful addition to the local DG scene. Looks great when you consider this course is older than many of the people playing it! Bonus points for nice views driving into the city as well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 i learned on this course!

5+    11/1/2008   5/23/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great rec course. Awesome views of the city. good mix of elevation, wide open shots, tight shots, left to right, right to left. everything except water! great place for beginners!
Cons: safety. when the weather is right, there will be a LOT of clueless bystanders in the grassy areas. also, beware of errant shots. the course plays fast, so if you're by yourself and need to kill and afternoon, you'll need to play it a few times.
Other Thoughts: This was THE course where i was introduced to disc golf. i HATED disc golf for exactly one hole. and then i got angry, and happened to sidearm a perfect shot on hole two. the rest...is history.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Shorty Course in the City

1    5/16/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of trees and evevation. A quick trip from downtown. People from out of town can (and should) play a quick round here.
Cons: I can imagine that if crowded it would cause issues with throwing on others. Dont bring the big boy discs.
Other Thoughts: Holes #1-5 play on the open park. Then the course plays some nice tecnical holes through the woods.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hucking at Shady Side

5+    12/12/2010   2/13/2011
Review By: EasyGoinD
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2011
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I did a bad job on this review the first time so let me try again.

This course is quick, challenging and fun. Learning how to play in the midwest didn't really give me an appreciation for well used trees. At Schenley the trees can drive you nuts...but this is a good thing. Your first throw can bomb straight over a rise and into a swimming pool !! (from the white tees). On #2 you really get to air it out off that hill. From there on it's a gradual progression towards more technical holes. 13 can be a real bear...talk about threading the needle. There's decent elevation (including a basket up on a pylon on 15). The blues offer some great distance for those with a massive arm on 1 and 15, great challenge. Theirs plenty of parking and a few chances to catch some hotties jogging or tanning when it's warm out.
Cons: It's either 9 or 10 that can be easily missed, so get a map or go with someone who knows it. The signs are small. If you're new to the area finding the park entrance can be confusing, but maybe I just suck at navigation. During off season at the pool they have a skating rink in there... but if it's closed you're either losing your disc or climbing the fence if you toss it in (a big RHBH hyzer off the tee 18 will get you in there too!!!) Other than that it's pretty chill and quick, two rounds are usually necessary as it only takes 45 minutes to get through this short course.
Other Thoughts: I mentioned the leaves on my first attempt at this review just because I lost two disc in them. Despite the annoyance with that, it's part of the risk so take bright discs with you so you can spot them. There's three holes where the landing is totally blind and without a spotter it can be frustrating. So take a partner and have some fun!!!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 First Timer!

1    8/27/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: m1morri1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice mix of wooded and open fairways with some elevation changes. Concrete tees and signs which is nice. The baskets are in good shape.
Cons: Almost every hole is less than 300 feet, makes for a pretty easy course.
Other Thoughts: Very user friendly. Nice course for beginners.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid City Course

5+    7/25/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: Beable
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a nice, old course that is still heavily played. As someone else mentioned, even though the majority of the course is heavily wooded, there are definitely lanes available. You will need to be accurate with your 200 feet and under game to score well here. The quintessential Schenley experience is a short downhill drive.

The markings are OK. Mostly the course is so packed together that you'll easily find where to go next. As I mention in the "cons" area though, make sure you're not skipping holes. The tee signs are very good for the white and red tees.

Schenley is a great family park. I live in the city, and my wife, two year old and I often go to Schenley for part of a weekend day. I can play a couple rounds solo in about 1.5 hours. There are great playgrounds for the baby to play on. There's a fountain that she can play in near the library, and of course all the well known stuff in Oakland like the main Carnegie library, museums, carousel, food, and so on. All of that is adjacent to Schenley, although you might have to drive from one parking lot to another. Finding parking is rarely difficult in these areas.
Cons: It's in a city park and the space is crowded. Sometimes there are cars parked on the fairway around hole 9. There are a few downhill shots that terminate near a parking lot that is often full of cars. There are often sunbathers or other people on hole 1's fairway. Sometimes this will also happen on 2.

The wooded holes are kind of jumbled together. I've played them out of order several times when I wasn't really paying attention. Double check that you're on the right number.

I've never played the blue tees, but they're not marked as well as the other two sets.
Other Thoughts: This is an older course so the shots are not very difficult (from the white tees). Good players often shoot ten under. I get around par as a Rec level guy. Just go in expecting that, and leave the crazy fast plastic at home. You can play this course pretty well with one driving putter, although I bring a second faster disc to let 'er rip on #2. You will see many 1-3 disc players here of varying skill.

If you keep walking up the road past the ice rink from #1, there is a small buildling with rest rooms, water fountains, and a pop machine.

If you are not from Pittsburgh, I would not recommend going out of your way to play this course. Knob Hill is another par 3 course, but it's on steroids compared to this one. Deer Lakes, Moraine, and 2MRX are all superior, modern courses. But if you happen to be in Pittsburgh, or you live in the region...this one is definitely worth checking out.

If I had time, I'd go to the weekly Wednesday league. I've heard that it is a lot of fun and seems to be very organized.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.