Pittsburgh, PA 
Schenley Park Share
Uploaded By: crandellfamily Hole #3 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 138ft.   3 / 216ft.   3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Red Tee

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3

1    6/29/2015   7/5/2015
Review By: Jags
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.1 Years
Pros: Nice short course with lots of ace opportunities. Beautiful views of Pittsburgh from tee #1. Worth stopping if in the area.
Cons: Being close to the city the park can get rather busy. Just watch out where your throwing your discs. Can be muddy on some holes if it rained recently.
Other Thoughts: I rather enjoyed this short little course. Going to have to make this a stop when I'm in the city.

5+    6/2/2015   6/2/2015
Review By: oneCarney
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Nice Lay out in the park.
-I really like wooded holes.
-Nice Short lines with a few Ace run opportunities
-Concrete tees.
Cons: -Park itself can get really crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: Great view of the City Skyline by Hole 1.
I have Aced 16 and Just today chained out from the Red Tee on Hole 2.

If you park by Hole 10 and play the back 9 first, you finish right where you park.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course

1    5/26/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: benwilly
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. 3 tee offs at each hole providing different difficulties.
2. Directions to the next tee at most holes.
3. Large concrete slabs at the start of each tee.
4. Good variety of distances throughout the holes.
5. Course was easy to find once you enter the park.
Cons: 1. Most holes are straight shots not many left or right curve holes.
2. Some heavily treed holes making it difficult for new players
3. Could get pretty muddy after a rainy day
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/7/2013   10/2/2013
Review By: Jabumbo
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this park and its location, so it quickly became one of my most played courses once I got wheels. Most of the holes are in the woods and so it makes for some interesting shots. A great place to bring a beginner. It is short enough that a single player can finish inside of an hour.
Cons: The park tends to be crowded and people management can be a concern. It's also very tightly placed so you need to beware of the other players around you (my eyebrow will never be the same). The holes are almost all short enough that a candy arm like myself can have a chance to birdie every hole.
Other Thoughts: This is the only course that I have played under par and have an ace on so it has some sentimental value with that. The central location is great and I love swinging through on a whim to play a quick round after work and still getting home early enough to make dinner!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not Just a Pitch and Putt

2-4    6/21/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 114  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located in a huge, well-maintained park right outside of Oakland, only a few miles from downtown. The park has pretty much everything you could ask for with bike trails, walking trails, ball golf course (including an indoor golf virtual simulator of famous courses), tennis courts, playgrounds, soccer fields, skating rink, a pool and more. This is definitely a park you can bring your whole family to and everyone can find something they enjoy doing
-Bathrooms, water fountains, parking, garbage cans, and course map located near holes 1 and 18
- This is one of the best parks I've played as far as little chance to lose discs. Virtually impossible here, allowing for a more enjoyable round
-Great view of downtown Pittsburgh
-3 tees (red, white, and blue) and 3 pin locations, giving the course a great variety. White and blue have very nice long concrete tees and the baskets are Mach 3.
-Variety with open (1-6,18) and wooded (7-17) holes. Good mix of straight, hyzer, and anhyzer shots
-Good course to take a beginner to. Advanced and serious players may get bored with this course, but I feel an intermediate level/average player would enjoy it as well
-Multiple benches located throughout the course
-A lot of things to do in the city after your round
Cons: -Schenley Park is often highly populated throughout the day, which can make finding a parking space difficult and sometimes can slow down your round with multiple groups out playing at a time. Also, holes 1-5 play on a huge field where many non-golfers like to sprawl out, causing conflict. Holes 2-6, 12, and 18 play close to a road
-Finding the next tee can be confusing in the woods, as some the holes are very close together. This also can create problems with discs landing in opposite fairways. My first time playing, I threw at the wrong basket once or twice because it was hard to tell which basket belonged to which tee.
-Only a few holes really stood out to me in any way
-There can be awful traffic returning to the highways in the evenings
Other Thoughts: A lot of people refer to this course as a pitch and putt - I would agree with them as far as a few holes playing from the red tees. However, 7/18 holes are over 300 feet from the blue tees, none being under 200 feet, and only 2 holes are under 200 feet from the white tees. Also, the shortest wooded holes play through some tight lines, so it's not just an easy layup to the basket from the tee. I do have mixed feelings about this course, as there are some definite cons to playing here, but I still find it to be an enjoyable round. My point being that there aren't too many holes that are definite ace runs or throw-aways. To me, the wooded holes are still technical enough to make them fun, even if some of them are fairly short. The course only plays about 45 minutes for one person to play, so it is quick enough to get 2 rounds in.
The holes I especially enjoyed were:
2- A chance to really bomb your disc while getting a great view and often times fighting the wind on your shots
15- A long par 4 hole starting in the open then playing through the woods to an elevated basket
17- Plays along a tight path uphill to a tight pin location
18- Tee is on a hill and plays across the road to another hill

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course in the city

5+    9/11/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 92  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 16.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very nice signs and tee pads. Easy to navigate from hole to hole. Well planned course, could easily find next tees even if the signs weren't there.
Cons: After the first 6 holes it gets very heavily wooded. The first couple of holes play on a hill where there might be a lot of non golfers milling around. They are usually out of the way, but it could cause trouble on a nice day.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Another Great Pittsburgh Course

5+    8/10/2010   9/10/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 81  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets, signs, and tee pads are great. There is a bunch of elevation change that went into the course. It is easy to navigate. The overall park is really nice. The course uses the woods well and the surroundings well.
Cons: Some shots you might hit people if the course is crowded. Some of the holes criss cross so you might walk into a fairway of another hole.
Other Thoughts: If you keep walking up the road past the ice rink from #1, there is a small buildling with rest rooms, water fountains, and a pop machine.

If you are not from Pittsburgh, I would not recommend going out of your way to play this course. Knob Hill is another par 3 course, but it's on steroids compared to this one. Deer Lakes, Moraine, and 2MRX are all superior, modern courses. But if you happen to be in Pittsburgh, or you live in the region...this one is definitely worth checking out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent discin’ in the ‘Burgh

1    5/26/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 186  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 11.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pleasant course in a large park with loads of activities for non-discers.
• Greets you with a wonderful view of the city skyline at the 1st hole.
• Starts out with several fairly open holes, (some with guarded baskets), before rambling into the woods for a short, technical, control game for most of the round - strikes a decent balance between the two. Solid design encourages shot shaping and finesse shots with good hyzer, annie, straight balance.
• Slight to significant elevation change is a factor on many (if not most) fairways. A few tricky basket locations have rollaway potential.
• Absence of nasty underbrush or schule for the most part makes finding discs pretty easy (but still some places where a horrible shot could get lost).
• Great place to learn the game and a great venue for an Ace Race.
• Compact layout allows you to skip some holes and return them fairly easily in spots.
• 3 sets of tees (red & white = concrete, blue =grass with toe board) change things up a bit.
• 3 pin placements means locals can play this course a variety of ways over a period of time.
• Baskets catch fine and tee markers show hole layout and distance from all tees (some are looking a bit beat up).
• Benches located here and there along the course.
• Convenient for a quick round before a Pirates or Steelers game, or anything else that might bring you into the city. Course plays quickly if you can play through/around slower groups.
• Park offers bolf course, tennis courts, track & field oval, skating rink, swimming pool, soccer fields, pavilions, bike/walking trail... too much to list. If you really want to see what they have, link here: http://www.pittsburghparks.org/schenley
Cons: • Compact layout and close proximity to roads, parking lots, and other park goers means discs can end up where they don't belong... this means you could be on the receiving end of things as well.
• Popular location and low degree of difficulty attracts crowds and less than serious players - you may need to be proactive in asking slower groups to play through and other etiquette issues.
• I had a guide, but I can see where navigation could get a bit sketchy - print the map.
Other Thoughts: Solid course, plays well, makes for a really fun round. Definitely not an "every shot in your bag" type of course (no crime in my book). If you really want to run with the big dogs, head to Knob Hill, Deer Lakes, or Moraine, you'll be much happier playing one of them.

Sure, sun bathers tend to congregate in the field near the first two holes, but a little courtesy and common sense should avoid any potentially ugly situation. Besides, when did seeing college girls lying in the sun become a con? ;-) You gotta love that most courses in this area feature 3 sets of tees and rotate through 3 sets of pin placements; ensures a bit of variety and keeps things from getting boring. Wish they did it where I live! Can't bag on the fact that the blue tees aren't concrete - there were already two sets of pads, and they added a 3rd set of blue toe boards... that's a good thing. On the whole, Schenley's a wonderful addition to the local DG scene. Looks great when you consider this course is older than many of the people playing it! Bonus points for nice views driving into the city as well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 i learned on this course!

5+    11/1/2008   5/23/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 41  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great rec course. Awesome views of the city. good mix of elevation, wide open shots, tight shots, left to right, right to left. everything except water! great place for beginners!
Cons: safety. when the weather is right, there will be a LOT of clueless bystanders in the grassy areas. also, beware of errant shots. the course plays fast, so if you're by yourself and need to kill and afternoon, you'll need to play it a few times.
Other Thoughts: This was THE course where i was introduced to disc golf. i HATED disc golf for exactly one hole. and then i got angry, and happened to sidearm a perfect shot on hole two. the rest...is history.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Shorty Course in the City

1    5/16/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of trees and evevation. A quick trip from downtown. People from out of town can (and should) play a quick round here.
Cons: I can imagine that if crowded it would cause issues with throwing on others. Dont bring the big boy discs.
Other Thoughts: Holes #1-5 play on the open park. Then the course plays some nice tecnical holes through the woods.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.