Pittsburgh, PA 
Schenley Park Share
Uploaded By: timg  
View from the top of the hill near tee #1

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

1    6/29/2015   7/5/2015
Review By: Jags
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2015
Pros: Nice short course with lots of ace opportunities. Beautiful views of Pittsburgh from tee #1. Worth stopping if in the area.
Cons: Being close to the city the park can get rather busy. Just watch out where your throwing your discs. Can be muddy on some holes if it rained recently. Some people don't have the patience to wait for you to move before throwing their discs. I had discs land @ my feet right next to my young children. I understand it can get crowded but have some courtesy for other people who are having to wait for people in front of them too.
Other Thoughts: I rather enjoyed this short little course. Going to have to make this a stop when I'm in the city.

5+    6/2/2015   6/2/2015
Review By: oneCarney
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Nice Lay out in the park.
-I really like wooded holes.
-Nice Short lines with a few Ace run opportunities
-Concrete tees.
Cons: -Park itself can get really crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: Great view of the City Skyline by Hole 1.
I have Aced 16 and Just today chained out from the Red Tee on Hole 2.

If you park by Hole 10 and play the back 9 first, you finish right where you park.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course

1    5/26/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: benwilly
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. 3 tee offs at each hole providing different difficulties.
2. Directions to the next tee at most holes.
3. Large concrete slabs at the start of each tee.
4. Good variety of distances throughout the holes.
5. Course was easy to find once you enter the park.
Cons: 1. Most holes are straight shots not many left or right curve holes.
2. Some heavily treed holes making it difficult for new players
3. Could get pretty muddy after a rainy day
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Original course

5+    11/9/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: mlicata
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 27.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice view from 1 -4. Some interesting shots once you go into the woods. Great elevation/tree shots. Very easy access when you are in the 'burg. Great food and drink nearby.
Cons: The course is a little worn around the edges. Some of the improvements (t-signs) are no longer as helpful due to changes and/or alternate pin placements. No need for a massive arm save one hole.
Other Thoughts: I'm lifetime PFDS #02; there at the start. The course got better from 1988 - 2005, then has been on a slow decline. Not sure why. Still a lot of fun and the bench on 13 still serves it's purpose.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    8/31/2013   10/23/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 61  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Some nice open holes
- Good tee boxes
- Good signage
- Baskets were in great shape
- In the woods
- It looked new; no garbage on the course

Cons: - Some holes were confusing
- In a crowded park
Other Thoughts: Good course for all levels.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/7/2013   10/2/2013
Review By: Jabumbo
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this park and its location, so it quickly became one of my most played courses once I got wheels. Most of the holes are in the woods and so it makes for some interesting shots. A great place to bring a beginner. It is short enough that a single player can finish inside of an hour.
Cons: The park tends to be crowded and people management can be a concern. It's also very tightly placed so you need to beware of the other players around you (my eyebrow will never be the same). The holes are almost all short enough that a candy arm like myself can have a chance to birdie every hole.
Other Thoughts: This is the only course that I have played under par and have an ace on so it has some sentimental value with that. The central location is great and I love swinging through on a whim to play a quick round after work and still getting home early enough to make dinner!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/21/2013   9/21/2013
Review By: nytrate
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I am rating this a 3.5 because Schenley really is a very good course. The holes progressively move into the woods and several holes have varying lines to the pin. The course starts out with some great open holes and goes into the wooded area around holes 6 and 8. Great mix of different shots.

Course has a great view of the Pittsburgh skyline. One of the more beautiful areas of Schenley.
Cons: The course can be very crowded on nice days when Pitt or CMU is in session. Often people will play in large groups and it can get backed up.

The ratings on here may be because of how short the course is. There aren't many 400+ ft holes.
Other Thoughts: I've always been impressed with the layout of this course. It is a great use of land

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not Just a Pitch and Putt

2-4    6/21/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 114  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located in a huge, well-maintained park right outside of Oakland, only a few miles from downtown. The park has pretty much everything you could ask for with bike trails, walking trails, ball golf course (including an indoor golf virtual simulator of famous courses), tennis courts, playgrounds, soccer fields, skating rink, a pool and more. This is definitely a park you can bring your whole family to and everyone can find something they enjoy doing
-Bathrooms, water fountains, parking, garbage cans, and course map located near holes 1 and 18
- This is one of the best parks I've played as far as little chance to lose discs. Virtually impossible here, allowing for a more enjoyable round
-Great view of downtown Pittsburgh
-3 tees (red, white, and blue) and 3 pin locations, giving the course a great variety. White and blue have very nice long concrete tees and the baskets are Mach 3.
-Variety with open (1-6,18) and wooded (7-17) holes. Good mix of straight, hyzer, and anhyzer shots
-Good course to take a beginner to. Advanced and serious players may get bored with this course, but I feel an intermediate level/average player would enjoy it as well
-Multiple benches located throughout the course
-A lot of things to do in the city after your round
Cons: -Schenley Park is often highly populated throughout the day, which can make finding a parking space difficult and sometimes can slow down your round with multiple groups out playing at a time. Also, holes 1-5 play on a huge field where many non-golfers like to sprawl out, causing conflict. Holes 2-6, 12, and 18 play close to a road
-Finding the next tee can be confusing in the woods, as some the holes are very close together. This also can create problems with discs landing in opposite fairways. My first time playing, I threw at the wrong basket once or twice because it was hard to tell which basket belonged to which tee.
-Only a few holes really stood out to me in any way
-There can be awful traffic returning to the highways in the evenings
Other Thoughts: A lot of people refer to this course as a pitch and putt - I would agree with them as far as a few holes playing from the red tees. However, 7/18 holes are over 300 feet from the blue tees, none being under 200 feet, and only 2 holes are under 200 feet from the white tees. Also, the shortest wooded holes play through some tight lines, so it's not just an easy layup to the basket from the tee. I do have mixed feelings about this course, as there are some definite cons to playing here, but I still find it to be an enjoyable round. My point being that there aren't too many holes that are definite ace runs or throw-aways. To me, the wooded holes are still technical enough to make them fun, even if some of them are fairly short. The course only plays about 45 minutes for one person to play, so it is quick enough to get 2 rounds in.
The holes I especially enjoyed were:
2- A chance to really bomb your disc while getting a great view and often times fighting the wind on your shots
15- A long par 4 hole starting in the open then playing through the woods to an elevated basket
17- Plays along a tight path uphill to a tight pin location
18- Tee is on a hill and plays across the road to another hill

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Your Mids/Putters

1    4/28/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 18-hole beginner friendly course in a heavily used city park.
- Being so close to a major city (5 minute drive from downtown), it's a great spot for a quick round after work, before a game, while in from out-of-town, etc.
- Multi-use park provides restrooms, water, other sporting facilities, etc.
- Easy to find - follow signs to the sporting oval and park on the road right near the large course map
- 3 tees (2 are concrete) and 3 pin locations provide for a lot of variety
- Mach 3 baskets in great shape with big number plates
- Tee signs have good hole map, show all tee/pin locations and distances to all pin locations
- Starts with some open holes and ends with (2/3 of the course) wooded holes
- Holes in the woods are challenging enough to give beginners a good sense of wooded disc golf, but are not so long that they would become super difficult or frustrating
- Good place to work on mid-ranges and short game for more seasoned players
- Low chance for lost discs - not much thick brush and the dead leaves are mostly packed and matted down
- Hole #2 is obviously fun to let it rip out over the downhill field
- Hole #17 was a fun uphill hyzer to a pin tucked in a little cutout in the treeline
Cons: - Heavy park use inevitably leads to conflict with non-discers - even though it was an overcast, rainy day, I had to wait for walkers crossing paths or hanging nearby fairways
- The majority of the wooded holes (7-17) feel like they were all jammed into the same 500' x 500' area of land - you're always near other tees or baskets and need to be very aware of shots from other holes headed your way
- Fairly muddy down in the low parts of the woods - I know I played in spring, but still
- Some of the early holes play right alongside the park road, so shots that hyzer out too far could end up meeting up with cars
- Difficult navigation - no next tee signs that I saw and with so many holes so close together, finding the next tee was not always easy
- Pretty repetitive - oh, another 200' hole in the woods?
- Don't think there is any indication of which pin position the basket is currently in - not a huge deal since you can almost always see the basket from the tee, but since all listed distances are to the "center of green", different pin locations can have a fairly significant effect - even a difference of 30-40 feet could be the difference between putter, mid-range, thumber/tomahawk, etc.
Other Thoughts: - Benches on a few holes
- Awesome view of the Pittsburgh skyline at the start of the course

This was a decent course for what it is - a simple, older design not meant for ultra-speed drivers. There were very few memorable or spectacular features and got pretty repetitive, but it's definitely a solid option for the downtown area or a quick practice round.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course in the city

5+    9/11/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 92  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 16.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very nice signs and tee pads. Easy to navigate from hole to hole. Well planned course, could easily find next tees even if the signs weren't there.
Cons: After the first 6 holes it gets very heavily wooded. The first couple of holes play on a hill where there might be a lot of non golfers milling around. They are usually out of the way, but it could cause trouble on a nice day.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.