Pittsburgh, PA 
Schenley Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 174ft.   3 / 243ft.   3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 White Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 i learned on this course!

5+    11/1/2008   5/23/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great rec course. Awesome views of the city. good mix of elevation, wide open shots, tight shots, left to right, right to left. everything except water! great place for beginners!
Cons: safety. when the weather is right, there will be a LOT of clueless bystanders in the grassy areas. also, beware of errant shots. the course plays fast, so if you're by yourself and need to kill and afternoon, you'll need to play it a few times.
Other Thoughts: This was THE course where i was introduced to disc golf. i HATED disc golf for exactly one hole. and then i got angry, and happened to sidearm a perfect shot on hole two. the rest...is history.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great local course!

2-4    10/10/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: brianlpowers
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course was very good with the variety of holes - long and open to thread-the-needle through the trees. Also, the elevation changes were a welcome challenge.

You won't find a better course this close to Pittsburgh!
Cons: Signs to the next tee would be nice... I had to pull out the map a couple of times to make sure I was headed in the right direction.

Someone has used a Sharpie on the backs of the tee signs so that you can see which hole they're for from a distance. This helped me not have to backtrack any more than necessary.
Other Thoughts: When I played it this morning, I had the whole place to myself. I did come across a dog walker who evidently didn't know she was walking through one of the fairways. I had to stop mid-drive!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Shorty Course in the City

1    5/16/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of trees and evevation. A quick trip from downtown. People from out of town can (and should) play a quick round here.
Cons: I can imagine that if crowded it would cause issues with throwing on others. Dont bring the big boy discs.
Other Thoughts: Holes #1-5 play on the open park. Then the course plays some nice tecnical holes through the woods.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Average Course great for College Students

2-4    4/15/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: 412Disc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2011
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Location can't be beat. Great view on the first hole. The course is well maintained, Pittsburgh city parks prides itself on its cleanliness. Minimal graffiti. Great for beginner. Quality baskets and tees.

As someone else mentioned, there is the Wednesday league. From what I have heard, many people show up to this. There is also an ace prize.
Cons: Can be crowded at times. A lot of trees. Other non-disc golfers can get in the way, especially on the first hole. Sunbathers (although great to look at) always see, to be in the way when it is nice out.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for the college student or anyone in the area looking to get in a quick round. I would highly recommend it for beginners. If anyone wants to play PM me.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hucking at Shady Side

5+    12/12/2010   2/13/2011
Review By: EasyGoinD
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2011
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I did a bad job on this review the first time so let me try again.

This course is quick, challenging and fun. Learning how to play in the midwest didn't really give me an appreciation for well used trees. At Schenley the trees can drive you nuts...but this is a good thing. Your first throw can bomb straight over a rise and into a swimming pool !! (from the white tees). On #2 you really get to air it out off that hill. From there on it's a gradual progression towards more technical holes. 13 can be a real bear...talk about threading the needle. There's decent elevation (including a basket up on a pylon on 15). The blues offer some great distance for those with a massive arm on 1 and 15, great challenge. Theirs plenty of parking and a few chances to catch some hotties jogging or tanning when it's warm out.
Cons: It's either 9 or 10 that can be easily missed, so get a map or go with someone who knows it. The signs are small. If you're new to the area finding the park entrance can be confusing, but maybe I just suck at navigation. During off season at the pool they have a skating rink in there... but if it's closed you're either losing your disc or climbing the fence if you toss it in (a big RHBH hyzer off the tee 18 will get you in there too!!!) Other than that it's pretty chill and quick, two rounds are usually necessary as it only takes 45 minutes to get through this short course.
Other Thoughts: I mentioned the leaves on my first attempt at this review just because I lost two disc in them. Despite the annoyance with that, it's part of the risk so take bright discs with you so you can spot them. There's three holes where the landing is totally blind and without a spotter it can be frustrating. So take a partner and have some fun!!!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for a quick round.

5+    10/10/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: joshmo65
Played: 127  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~Location, location, location: The course is located 4 miles from downtown Pittsburgh and less than 1 mile from Oakland with the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University less than a 5 minute drive to the park. Allows for a quick outing with friends to satisfy the disc golfing fix.

~Three tee pads and three pins: Red and white concrete tees with signage for the hole while the blue tees are natural. Allows for play for all levels.

~Great beginner course: With an average hole length of 255' from the white tees, and all but two holes visible from the tee pads, beginners can see the goal and should be able to score in the 70s here. In addition, the course is nicely beat in, so the risk of losing a disc is minimal. This is great as beginner's throws tend to go all over the place.
Cons: ~Busy: With the great location comes large numbers of people; both disc golfers and park users. The fairway for hole one is a popular spot for picnickers and sunbathers who often have to be asked to move. Throwing from the blue tees on hole 1 a Saturday or Sunday is practically impossible. Many runners throughout the park as well that one must watch out for when throwing.

~Cramped in park: Many of the holes in the woods are in close proximity to each other. Be aware of people throwing from other holes as any bounce off of a tree or even bad throws can result in discs careening in your direction.

~Navigation may be difficult: With the holes so close to each other, one may see a tee sign and go to it just assuming that it is the next hole. Be sure to check to make sure you are on the right hole. The most difficult navigation will be from hole 14 to 15 where you need to walk to the right from the hole, through the parking lot to the base of the stairs where hole 15 shoots up the hill.

~Blue tees hard to find: Be sure to bring a map if you want to play the blue tees (recommended as it completely changes the course) as they are natural tees with no signage. Some tees are a long ways back from the white tee such as hole 1's tee being back near the practice basket and hole 15's tee being a long ways down the path. Also note that there are no blue tees for holes 7, 11, and 17, so you should throw from the white tee.
Other Thoughts: ~Well attended league runs through the summer months on Wednesday nights at 6:00PM. Three baskets get moved each week which changes the course nicely from week to week.

~Bathrooms located near the track and soccer field. I assume there is water there as well, but have never noticed. There is a water fountain located at the pavilion after hole 8 and 14.

~Once of the best views of Pittsburgh from above hole 1. If you are there in the summer months, the sun sets perfectly over the city and makes for some superb pictures.

~With a good mix of wooded and open holes as well as holes to both the left and right, this course is great to work on your approach shots. Not a course to change your route for, but a nice place to stop for a quick round.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 First Timer!

1    8/27/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: m1morri1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice mix of wooded and open fairways with some elevation changes. Concrete tees and signs which is nice. The baskets are in good shape.
Cons: Almost every hole is less than 300 feet, makes for a pretty easy course.
Other Thoughts: Very user friendly. Nice course for beginners.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid City Course

5+    7/25/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: Beable
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a nice, old course that is still heavily played. As someone else mentioned, even though the majority of the course is heavily wooded, there are definitely lanes available. You will need to be accurate with your 200 feet and under game to score well here. The quintessential Schenley experience is a short downhill drive.

The markings are OK. Mostly the course is so packed together that you'll easily find where to go next. As I mention in the "cons" area though, make sure you're not skipping holes. The tee signs are very good for the white and red tees.

Schenley is a great family park. I live in the city, and my wife, two year old and I often go to Schenley for part of a weekend day. I can play a couple rounds solo in about 1.5 hours. There are great playgrounds for the baby to play on. There's a fountain that she can play in near the library, and of course all the well known stuff in Oakland like the main Carnegie library, museums, carousel, food, and so on. All of that is adjacent to Schenley, although you might have to drive from one parking lot to another. Finding parking is rarely difficult in these areas.
Cons: It's in a city park and the space is crowded. Sometimes there are cars parked on the fairway around hole 9. There are a few downhill shots that terminate near a parking lot that is often full of cars. There are often sunbathers or other people on hole 1's fairway. Sometimes this will also happen on 2.

The wooded holes are kind of jumbled together. I've played them out of order several times when I wasn't really paying attention. Double check that you're on the right number.

I've never played the blue tees, but they're not marked as well as the other two sets.
Other Thoughts: This is an older course so the shots are not very difficult (from the white tees). Good players often shoot ten under. I get around par as a Rec level guy. Just go in expecting that, and leave the crazy fast plastic at home. You can play this course pretty well with one driving putter, although I bring a second faster disc to let 'er rip on #2. You will see many 1-3 disc players here of varying skill.

If you keep walking up the road past the ice rink from #1, there is a small buildling with rest rooms, water fountains, and a pop machine.

If you are not from Pittsburgh, I would not recommend going out of your way to play this course. Knob Hill is another par 3 course, but it's on steroids compared to this one. Deer Lakes, Moraine, and 2MRX are all superior, modern courses. But if you happen to be in Pittsburgh, or you live in the region...this one is definitely worth checking out.

If I had time, I'd go to the weekly Wednesday league. I've heard that it is a lot of fun and seems to be very organized.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  My local standby

5+    5/30/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: Peot
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The location is obviously extremely accessible for anybody living within Pittsburgh's city limits, particularly the student crowd (myself included). Great to stop here if you're coming into the city to eat or see a show.

The wood's can be pretty unforgiving, but the wooded holes feature just the right mix of challenge and practicality to make a good shot that weaves through some trees feel excellent. Holes 8 and 10 stand out, while 13 would be the only one where hitting trees sees almost inevitable for at least one person in the party.

The course is well maintained, the red and white tee pads are all concrete, and three baskets are moved every week.

This is a great course for beginners, as your arm doesn't get tested nearly as much as your ability to pick a good lane and mix up your shots.

There is a great weekly league on Wednesdays at 6.
Cons: There isn't an incredible amount of variety. Hole 2 is the only hole that might test your arm, but not if the basket is in the A position. Not necessarily a true par 4, which is a shame given that it's the only such hole on the course.

Once you get acclimated to the course finding your way around is easy, and there are signs for every tee, but I can certainly see how some of the tightly packed holes in the woods could create confusion due to the perception of overlapping fairways/baskets.

Have fun throwing LHBH on a few holes, since it's nearly impossible on some of them. The course is certainly designed for accessibility (RHBH), so expert players might not be sufficiently challenged.
Other Thoughts: Play hole A! The tee is on the other side of the pavilion at hole 14, next to the playground. This isn't an ideal course for an expert, but it's hard to complain due to its sheer convenience. Don't go out of your way to play it if you're from outside the region, but if you're in the area, I'd definitely recommend it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Cramped, Busy, Old.....Wonderful!

1    5/5/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a tremendous park with the best skyline views (sorry Wickham) of any city park I've played. Blends challenging tight woods, elevation and an open sloping windy field into a memorable experience. Meticulously cared for park with 3 sets of tees that amp up the challenge significantly from the beginner to the expert tees. Perfect place to introduce the game while still interesting enough to keep a more experienced player interested. I don't know if it's possible to lose a disc on this well broken in course. I particularly enjoyed teeing off on #1 and #2 and sensing that I had a gallery watching me...and I did dozens of people swarm the hillside to relax and take in the skyline and views and inevitably they are watching you play. I felt like a touring pro LOL! The woods are interesting as the lanes are very tight and often there is a hill to climb or float down. The elevated basket perched atop a stone foundation was a treat as was the extra hole(13A) hidden behind the pavillion and firing uphill before finding the basket hiding at the top of a steep bank. I was surprised at the distance and challenge that the blue tees provided. From the shorts you can ace hunt and get through a round pretty fast. I really enjoyed the booming drive of blue #2 ...just the perfect elevation change and distance to allow your disc to perform it's full flight path and have a shot at birdie.....all the while taking in th skyline view and spectacors watching your throw. Concrete tees for shorter tees and blue wooden slabs for pros. These natural long tees were in surprisingly good condition. A good place to enjoy a relaxing round and work on your mid-range game. A fun little course,a wonderful disc golf scene in a pleasant city park, does it get any better.
Cons: Wheres the map? Although it's small I had some minor irritation finding my way as the baskets and tees are often cramped together in such small spaces. So its not a matter of knowing where the next tee and basket is but more of which tee and which basket? Not only confusing but dangerous as well. The public is nearby often on hole #1 and oob roads come into play on several holes which is less than aesthetically pleasing. Often in the woods due to ricochets off trees and the proximity of the fairways I felt someone might get hurt. More than once I disrupted another party's round or they disrupted mine as discs often end up in adjoining fairways. There was a smooching couple on a blanket I never saw and I drove right over their heads apparently. Just be careful it's a public park that your playing in not a disc golf course the public has invaded. Often the blue tees are just stretching out the holes and don't add much more to the holes outside of danger to fellow golfers. I felt the shorter tees were really safer for everyone involved. Of course these short tees are pretty boring for a more experienced player.
Other Thoughts: If you play the course it's worth it to hunt for the bonus hole betwenn 14 and 15. There is far superior disc golf in the region but Schenley is worth a stop if you have time for a relaxing interesting round. Just remember to play safe, pay attention, and enjoy the course for what it is...a fun little course in a spectacular park.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.