Pittsburgh, PA 
Schenley Park Share
Uploaded By: crandellfamily Hole #6 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 165ft.   3 / 270ft.   3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Bring Your Mids/Putters

1    4/28/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 18-hole beginner friendly course in a heavily used city park.
- Being so close to a major city (5 minute drive from downtown), it's a great spot for a quick round after work, before a game, while in from out-of-town, etc.
- Multi-use park provides restrooms, water, other sporting facilities, etc.
- Easy to find - follow signs to the sporting oval and park on the road right near the large course map
- 3 tees (2 are concrete) and 3 pin locations provide for a lot of variety
- Mach 3 baskets in great shape with big number plates
- Tee signs have good hole map, show all tee/pin locations and distances to all pin locations
- Starts with some open holes and ends with (2/3 of the course) wooded holes
- Holes in the woods are challenging enough to give beginners a good sense of wooded disc golf, but are not so long that they would become super difficult or frustrating
- Good place to work on mid-ranges and short game for more seasoned players
- Low chance for lost discs - not much thick brush and the dead leaves are mostly packed and matted down
- Hole #2 is obviously fun to let it rip out over the downhill field
- Hole #17 was a fun uphill hyzer to a pin tucked in a little cutout in the treeline
Cons: - Heavy park use inevitably leads to conflict with non-discers - even though it was an overcast, rainy day, I had to wait for walkers crossing paths or hanging nearby fairways
- The majority of the wooded holes (7-17) feel like they were all jammed into the same 500' x 500' area of land - you're always near other tees or baskets and need to be very aware of shots from other holes headed your way
- Fairly muddy down in the low parts of the woods - I know I played in spring, but still
- Some of the early holes play right alongside the park road, so shots that hyzer out too far could end up meeting up with cars
- Difficult navigation - no next tee signs that I saw and with so many holes so close together, finding the next tee was not always easy
- Pretty repetitive - oh, another 200' hole in the woods?
- Don't think there is any indication of which pin position the basket is currently in - not a huge deal since you can almost always see the basket from the tee, but since all listed distances are to the "center of green", different pin locations can have a fairly significant effect - even a difference of 30-40 feet could be the difference between putter, mid-range, thumber/tomahawk, etc.
Other Thoughts: - Benches on a few holes
- Awesome view of the Pittsburgh skyline at the start of the course

This was a decent course for what it is - a simple, older design not meant for ultra-speed drivers. There were very few memorable or spectacular features and got pretty repetitive, but it's definitely a solid option for the downtown area or a quick practice round.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course in the city

5+    9/11/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 109  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 17.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very nice signs and tee pads. Easy to navigate from hole to hole. Well planned course, could easily find next tees even if the signs weren't there.
Cons: After the first 6 holes it gets very heavily wooded. The first couple of holes play on a hill where there might be a lot of non golfers milling around. They are usually out of the way, but it could cause trouble on a nice day.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Another Great Pittsburgh Course

5+    8/10/2010   9/10/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 87  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets, signs, and tee pads are great. There is a bunch of elevation change that went into the course. It is easy to navigate. The overall park is really nice. The course uses the woods well and the surroundings well.
Cons: Some shots you might hit people if the course is crowded. Some of the holes criss cross so you might walk into a fairway of another hole.
Other Thoughts: If you keep walking up the road past the ice rink from #1, there is a small buildling with rest rooms, water fountains, and a pop machine.

If you are not from Pittsburgh, I would not recommend going out of your way to play this course. Knob Hill is another par 3 course, but it's on steroids compared to this one. Deer Lakes, Moraine, and 2MRX are all superior, modern courses. But if you happen to be in Pittsburgh, or you live in the region...this one is definitely worth checking out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent discin’ in the ‘Burgh

1    5/26/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 208  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 12.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pleasant course in a large park with loads of activities for non-discers.
• Greets you with a wonderful view of the city skyline at the 1st hole.
• Starts out with several fairly open holes, (some with guarded baskets), before rambling into the woods for a short, technical, control game for most of the round - strikes a decent balance between the two. Solid design encourages shot shaping and finesse shots with good hyzer, annie, straight balance.
• Slight to significant elevation change is a factor on many (if not most) fairways. A few tricky basket locations have rollaway potential.
• Absence of nasty underbrush or schule for the most part makes finding discs pretty easy (but still some places where a horrible shot could get lost).
• Great place to learn the game and a great venue for an Ace Race.
• Compact layout allows you to skip some holes and return them fairly easily in spots.
• 3 sets of tees (red & white = concrete, blue =grass with toe board) change things up a bit.
• 3 pin placements means locals can play this course a variety of ways over a period of time.
• Baskets catch fine and tee markers show hole layout and distance from all tees (some are looking a bit beat up).
• Benches located here and there along the course.
• Convenient for a quick round before a Pirates or Steelers game, or anything else that might bring you into the city. Course plays quickly if you can play through/around slower groups.
• Park offers bolf course, tennis courts, track & field oval, skating rink, swimming pool, soccer fields, pavilions, bike/walking trail... too much to list. If you really want to see what they have, link here: http://www.pittsburghparks.org/schenley
Cons: • Compact layout and close proximity to roads, parking lots, and other park goers means discs can end up where they don't belong... this means you could be on the receiving end of things as well.
• Popular location and low degree of difficulty attracts crowds and less than serious players - you may need to be proactive in asking slower groups to play through and other etiquette issues.
• I had a guide, but I can see where navigation could get a bit sketchy - print the map.
Other Thoughts: Solid course, plays well, makes for a really fun round. Definitely not an "every shot in your bag" type of course (no crime in my book). If you really want to run with the big dogs, head to Knob Hill, Deer Lakes, or Moraine, you'll be much happier playing one of them.

Sure, sun bathers tend to congregate in the field near the first two holes, but a little courtesy and common sense should avoid any potentially ugly situation. Besides, when did seeing college girls lying in the sun become a con? ;-) You gotta love that most courses in this area feature 3 sets of tees and rotate through 3 sets of pin placements; ensures a bit of variety and keeps things from getting boring. Wish they did it where I live! Can't bag on the fact that the blue tees aren't concrete - there were already two sets of pads, and they added a 3rd set of blue toe boards... that's a good thing. On the whole, Schenley's a wonderful addition to the local DG scene. Looks great when you consider this course is older than many of the people playing it! Bonus points for nice views driving into the city as well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course for the area

5+    5/19/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: madcow
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good for beginners to average players
can be played quickly pending crowd
good mix of open area and woods
wooded area is open enough that its hard to lose a disc
always someone else playing the course
easily identifiable tees
Cons: probably too easy for expert players
the course can get super crowded
holes 1 and 2 are usually covered with people sunbathing in the summer time which means you may have to skip over them
course can get old quickly

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 i learned on this course!

5+    11/1/2008   5/23/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 43  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great rec course. Awesome views of the city. good mix of elevation, wide open shots, tight shots, left to right, right to left. everything except water! great place for beginners!
Cons: safety. when the weather is right, there will be a LOT of clueless bystanders in the grassy areas. also, beware of errant shots. the course plays fast, so if you're by yourself and need to kill and afternoon, you'll need to play it a few times.
Other Thoughts: This was THE course where i was introduced to disc golf. i HATED disc golf for exactly one hole. and then i got angry, and happened to sidearm a perfect shot on hole two. the rest...is history.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great local course!

2-4    10/10/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: brianlpowers
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course was very good with the variety of holes - long and open to thread-the-needle through the trees. Also, the elevation changes were a welcome challenge.

You won't find a better course this close to Pittsburgh!
Cons: Signs to the next tee would be nice... I had to pull out the map a couple of times to make sure I was headed in the right direction.

Someone has used a Sharpie on the backs of the tee signs so that you can see which hole they're for from a distance. This helped me not have to backtrack any more than necessary.
Other Thoughts: When I played it this morning, I had the whole place to myself. I did come across a dog walker who evidently didn't know she was walking through one of the fairways. I had to stop mid-drive!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Shorty Course in the City

1    5/16/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of trees and evevation. A quick trip from downtown. People from out of town can (and should) play a quick round here.
Cons: I can imagine that if crowded it would cause issues with throwing on others. Dont bring the big boy discs.
Other Thoughts: Holes #1-5 play on the open park. Then the course plays some nice tecnical holes through the woods.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Average Course great for College Students

2-4    4/15/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: 412Disc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2011
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Location can't be beat. Great view on the first hole. The course is well maintained, Pittsburgh city parks prides itself on its cleanliness. Minimal graffiti. Great for beginner. Quality baskets and tees.

As someone else mentioned, there is the Wednesday league. From what I have heard, many people show up to this. There is also an ace prize.
Cons: Can be crowded at times. A lot of trees. Other non-disc golfers can get in the way, especially on the first hole. Sunbathers (although great to look at) always see, to be in the way when it is nice out.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for the college student or anyone in the area looking to get in a quick round. I would highly recommend it for beginners. If anyone wants to play PM me.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hucking at Shady Side

5+    12/12/2010   2/13/2011
Review By: EasyGoinD
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2011
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I did a bad job on this review the first time so let me try again.

This course is quick, challenging and fun. Learning how to play in the midwest didn't really give me an appreciation for well used trees. At Schenley the trees can drive you nuts...but this is a good thing. Your first throw can bomb straight over a rise and into a swimming pool !! (from the white tees). On #2 you really get to air it out off that hill. From there on it's a gradual progression towards more technical holes. 13 can be a real bear...talk about threading the needle. There's decent elevation (including a basket up on a pylon on 15). The blues offer some great distance for those with a massive arm on 1 and 15, great challenge. Theirs plenty of parking and a few chances to catch some hotties jogging or tanning when it's warm out.
Cons: It's either 9 or 10 that can be easily missed, so get a map or go with someone who knows it. The signs are small. If you're new to the area finding the park entrance can be confusing, but maybe I just suck at navigation. During off season at the pool they have a skating rink in there... but if it's closed you're either losing your disc or climbing the fence if you toss it in (a big RHBH hyzer off the tee 18 will get you in there too!!!) Other than that it's pretty chill and quick, two rounds are usually necessary as it only takes 45 minutes to get through this short course.
Other Thoughts: I mentioned the leaves on my first attempt at this review just because I lost two disc in them. Despite the annoyance with that, it's part of the risk so take bright discs with you so you can spot them. There's three holes where the landing is totally blind and without a spotter it can be frustrating. So take a partner and have some fun!!!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.