Pittsburgh, PA 
Schenley Park Share
Uploaded By: discteacher Hole #15 (Taken 9/2008)
3 / 147ft.   3 / 237ft.   4 / 555ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Solid City Course

5+    7/25/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: Beable
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a nice, old course that is still heavily played. As someone else mentioned, even though the majority of the course is heavily wooded, there are definitely lanes available. You will need to be accurate with your 200 feet and under game to score well here. The quintessential Schenley experience is a short downhill drive.

The markings are OK. Mostly the course is so packed together that you'll easily find where to go next. As I mention in the "cons" area though, make sure you're not skipping holes. The tee signs are very good for the white and red tees.

Schenley is a great family park. I live in the city, and my wife, two year old and I often go to Schenley for part of a weekend day. I can play a couple rounds solo in about 1.5 hours. There are great playgrounds for the baby to play on. There's a fountain that she can play in near the library, and of course all the well known stuff in Oakland like the main Carnegie library, museums, carousel, food, and so on. All of that is adjacent to Schenley, although you might have to drive from one parking lot to another. Finding parking is rarely difficult in these areas.
Cons: It's in a city park and the space is crowded. Sometimes there are cars parked on the fairway around hole 9. There are a few downhill shots that terminate near a parking lot that is often full of cars. There are often sunbathers or other people on hole 1's fairway. Sometimes this will also happen on 2.

The wooded holes are kind of jumbled together. I've played them out of order several times when I wasn't really paying attention. Double check that you're on the right number.

I've never played the blue tees, but they're not marked as well as the other two sets.
Other Thoughts: This is an older course so the shots are not very difficult (from the white tees). Good players often shoot ten under. I get around par as a Rec level guy. Just go in expecting that, and leave the crazy fast plastic at home. You can play this course pretty well with one driving putter, although I bring a second faster disc to let 'er rip on #2. You will see many 1-3 disc players here of varying skill.

If you keep walking up the road past the ice rink from #1, there is a small buildling with rest rooms, water fountains, and a pop machine.

If you are not from Pittsburgh, I would not recommend going out of your way to play this course. Knob Hill is another par 3 course, but it's on steroids compared to this one. Deer Lakes, Moraine, and 2MRX are all superior, modern courses. But if you happen to be in Pittsburgh, or you live in the region...this one is definitely worth checking out.

If I had time, I'd go to the weekly Wednesday league. I've heard that it is a lot of fun and seems to be very organized.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  My local standby

5+    5/30/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: Peot
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The location is obviously extremely accessible for anybody living within Pittsburgh's city limits, particularly the student crowd (myself included). Great to stop here if you're coming into the city to eat or see a show.

The wood's can be pretty unforgiving, but the wooded holes feature just the right mix of challenge and practicality to make a good shot that weaves through some trees feel excellent. Holes 8 and 10 stand out, while 13 would be the only one where hitting trees sees almost inevitable for at least one person in the party.

The course is well maintained, the red and white tee pads are all concrete, and three baskets are moved every week.

This is a great course for beginners, as your arm doesn't get tested nearly as much as your ability to pick a good lane and mix up your shots.

There is a great weekly league on Wednesdays at 6.
Cons: There isn't an incredible amount of variety. Hole 2 is the only hole that might test your arm, but not if the basket is in the A position. Not necessarily a true par 4, which is a shame given that it's the only such hole on the course.

Once you get acclimated to the course finding your way around is easy, and there are signs for every tee, but I can certainly see how some of the tightly packed holes in the woods could create confusion due to the perception of overlapping fairways/baskets.

Have fun throwing LHBH on a few holes, since it's nearly impossible on some of them. The course is certainly designed for accessibility (RHBH), so expert players might not be sufficiently challenged.
Other Thoughts: Play hole A! The tee is on the other side of the pavilion at hole 14, next to the playground. This isn't an ideal course for an expert, but it's hard to complain due to its sheer convenience. Don't go out of your way to play it if you're from outside the region, but if you're in the area, I'd definitely recommend it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Cramped, Busy, Old.....Wonderful!

1    5/5/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a tremendous park with the best skyline views (sorry Wickham) of any city park I've played. Blends challenging tight woods, elevation and an open sloping windy field into a memorable experience. Meticulously cared for park with 3 sets of tees that amp up the challenge significantly from the beginner to the expert tees. Perfect place to introduce the game while still interesting enough to keep a more experienced player interested. I don't know if it's possible to lose a disc on this well broken in course. I particularly enjoyed teeing off on #1 and #2 and sensing that I had a gallery watching me...and I did dozens of people swarm the hillside to relax and take in the skyline and views and inevitably they are watching you play. I felt like a touring pro LOL! The woods are interesting as the lanes are very tight and often there is a hill to climb or float down. The elevated basket perched atop a stone foundation was a treat as was the extra hole(13A) hidden behind the pavillion and firing uphill before finding the basket hiding at the top of a steep bank. I was surprised at the distance and challenge that the blue tees provided. From the shorts you can ace hunt and get through a round pretty fast. I really enjoyed the booming drive of blue #2 ...just the perfect elevation change and distance to allow your disc to perform it's full flight path and have a shot at birdie.....all the while taking in th skyline view and spectacors watching your throw. Concrete tees for shorter tees and blue wooden slabs for pros. These natural long tees were in surprisingly good condition. A good place to enjoy a relaxing round and work on your mid-range game. A fun little course,a wonderful disc golf scene in a pleasant city park, does it get any better.
Cons: Wheres the map? Although it's small I had some minor irritation finding my way as the baskets and tees are often cramped together in such small spaces. So its not a matter of knowing where the next tee and basket is but more of which tee and which basket? Not only confusing but dangerous as well. The public is nearby often on hole #1 and oob roads come into play on several holes which is less than aesthetically pleasing. Often in the woods due to ricochets off trees and the proximity of the fairways I felt someone might get hurt. More than once I disrupted another party's round or they disrupted mine as discs often end up in adjoining fairways. There was a smooching couple on a blanket I never saw and I drove right over their heads apparently. Just be careful it's a public park that your playing in not a disc golf course the public has invaded. Often the blue tees are just stretching out the holes and don't add much more to the holes outside of danger to fellow golfers. I felt the shorter tees were really safer for everyone involved. Of course these short tees are pretty boring for a more experienced player.
Other Thoughts: If you play the course it's worth it to hunt for the bonus hole betwenn 14 and 15. There is far superior disc golf in the region but Schenley is worth a stop if you have time for a relaxing interesting round. Just remember to play safe, pay attention, and enjoy the course for what it is...a fun little course in a spectacular park.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Beginning Course

5+    4/7/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: tfoley
Played: 45  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful view of the skyline of downtown Pittsburgh. A good course for a beginner and to practice your accuracy. Three tee pads as well as three pin placements on every hole! Nice, new Mach 3 baskets. Good variation of open and wooded areas. Nice use of elevation changes. Easy to navigate and nice sign usage. Water fountains for drinking after finishing 14 and bathrooms are located at the park.
Cons: The park can get extremely crowded; not only with disc golfers, but non disc golfers as well. Usually holes 1 and 2 have the most hazards in the way of people. Once you get to hole 6 one does not have to worry about the people anymore because it is mostly through the woods. Pars on the tee signs may not match what should be the actual par. All the holes should be a par three. Throwing towards parked cars on hole 8, 14, and 16 can happen sometimes in the busy summer months.
Other Thoughts: The course is basically a simple par 3 course. It's not an extrememly long course, but it makes up for it in tight, accurate throws through the trees.

They make good use of the land there and there are two practice baskets on the course. One close to hole 1's tee and the other close to hole 14's tee. The second practice basket can be used as a "14 and a half" basket during your regular play. Wednesday night is league nights so come out and play!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Target golf at it's best

5+    4/1/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: JDaley522
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Holes 6 through 17 are packed in the woods...you'll hear alot of trees getting hit as you play
Cons: Next tee signs could be easier to see
Other Thoughts: After the first four holes, I put away my driver...if you're not accurate, you can easily score 70+ on this course

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course that Serves Pittsburgh Well

5+    12/4/2009   12/4/2009
Review By: vslaugh
Played: 46  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 19.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Schenley is a course that serves its purpose well as a convenient (for much of Pittsburgh) place to enjoy a casual round or two of Par 3 disc golf.

It offers the standard amenities for a good course...Concrete tee pads (white and red tees). Baskets are nice and in excellent shape. A practice basket, three pin positions per hole, an extra hole (14A), and blue tees add variety to the course.

You get at least a little bit of wide open shots, mostly open shots, wooded shots with big lanes, and wooded shots with small lanes--all with substantial elevation changes. And there are some ace runs and risk/reward decisions to make things interesting. All holes are Par 3, so putting is key and playing Schenley often will make your putting improve.

The course is conveniently located to the city of Pittsburgh, and especially its college campuses, so it does good work promoting the sport to families and college students.

Bring your best driver for hole 2, as it's long, open, and downhill. Other than that, almost every hole will have you throwing a unique style tee shot.
Cons: The design is nothing spectacular, especially when compared to championship courses in the Pittsburgh area. The wooded holes simply try to pack too many holes into too small of an area, making for teepads which are in danger of being hit by players on other holes.

I also feel like the open holes (1-4) could have been designed and laid out better to make better use of the space. I don't like how a poor shot can hit parked or moving cars on Holes 3 or 4. Similarly, watch out for a hole or two that requires a downhill tee shot with a parking lot not far behind the basket.

Store all valuables and power cords out of view. The park has had problems this fall with car windows being smashed to steal contents inside.

As an urban park, Schenley gets a lot of use by the general public with many people unaware of the disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: Definitely play later in the day so you can see a panorama of Pittsburgh's city lights.

Be sure to check out hole 14A, which is on the other side of the pavilion after you finish hole 14.

Come play in Wednesday night leagues (handicapped) from mid-spring to mid-fall.

Overall, it's a fairly typical/decent course, but the location (convenience and panorama) and quality baskets give it a bump up.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/21/2009   11/22/2009
Review By: HarkeyPuck
Played: 86  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Close to Downtown. Concrete on white and red tees. Great view of Pittsburgh from the first tee.
Cons: Not long at all. Hard to go a whole round without hitting a tree. Can get very crowded.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I started on. You need a variety of shots to navigate the tight woods from # 8 thru # 17. Beginners can play here without getting overwhelmed. And more experienced players have to be on their game to hit a string a duece runs. A very entertaining course when playing with friends. #13 great hole to take a "break". Not a championship course by any means, but a definite gem in the heart of Pittsburgh.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good urban course

5+    10/15/2007   10/15/2009
Review By: beaker
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of terrain changes with challenging tunnel shots and a couple of long open drives. Tee pads are nice, and the course flows pretty well.
Cons: Sometimes drives can get close to picnic areas. Some drives get close to other drives and risk hitting other players.
Other Thoughts: This course will challenge you to learn to throw accurately.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Beginner Course

2-4    6/5/2008   9/22/2009
Review By: PsyStal
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course for beginners and families, Schenley also offers nice views of Oakland and downtown Pittsburgh. Play is quick and fun, and provides just enough hole variety to offer new players a chance to practice the shots they'll need for more difficult courses. The course also makes good use of the limited city space.

Location is a big plus for Schenely. Situated right in Pittsburgh, it's a short trip to nearby amenities and also well placed in a beautiful city park. There are also a number of other great courses not far away, if you improve your game and are looking for more!
Cons: This course is quite short, and not particularly challenging. It's also typically quite crowded, which only adds to the space problems already inherent in a small city park. While holes are generally laid out well, there are moderate issues with holes 8-12, with stray shots (of which there are many at a beginner friendly course) often flying into nearby fairways.
Other Thoughts: A good beginner course, although I'd recommend nearby Knob Hill if you have the option. There's simply too much crowding to make this course viable for most disc golfers, and the lack longer, more challenging holes keeps anyone with more than an Innova starter set away.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Primer Course

5+    9/15/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: holland oats
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 10/12/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Schenley is a good starter course (I learned here). Many of the holes are short enough for beginners to birdie. This helped me build a foundation for my game with putting, approaching, and accuracy. Holes 2 and 5 are longer and gave me a taste of the necessary power for longer courses (like Deer Lakes).

Some players feel that the tree-ridden fairways of the back 9 are crap-shoots, but I found at least one manageable line to the basket at every hole. I just played a round hitting only 2 trees on 18 holes, and both were from turning over a new midrange disc. Most likely, prudent shot selection and creativity will be necessary for a clean scorecard.
Cons: The park is very popular, so you might want to play a different course on a nice summer day if you are impatient. There are often ignorant people that get in the way of baskets, but I've never had a problem asking them to move.

The Veteran's Pavilion at the back 9 can make some holes unpleasant or unplayable if cars are parked on the path. If you play through when a party is going on, expect to have unknowing bystanders ask you about disc golf or even pick up your drive (happened to me more then once, but never had one stolen).

The blue tees can be difficult to find, even with the guidance from the signs. I'm still not sure where the blue tees are at 11 and 15 (EDIT: I believe 11 uses the back of the white teepad for the blue tee, and 15's blue tee is up the path by the practice hole basket. Some of the signs should be updated, or there should be signs for the blue tees.).
Other Thoughts: I've played with many new players at Schenley, and they all had fun. The length and difficulty of the course make it easy to play for all ages and skill levels. Nonetheless, I challenge any experienced player to make it through this course without smacking a tree, car, or person.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.