Pittsburgh, PA
Schenley Park Share
Uploaded By: discteacher Hole #3 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 138ft.   3 / 216ft.   3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 A fun, simple course

5+    7/22/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: gobias
Played: 78  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful view of the city from the opening tee. Nice new hole signs and baskets. A great place to practice your finesse game- though the holes are short, accuracy is a must once you get to hole 6.
Cons: Typically very crowded, especially on summer weekends. Many non-golfers don't seem to "get it", and will throw down a blanket right in front of a tee box or basket- c'mon people!
Other Thoughts: A very manageable course- you'll probably feel good about your game after a round from the whites or reds. However, if you think you're too good for Schenley, try playing the blue tees, which make the course significantly longer and more difficult.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

5+    4/29/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2010
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a somewhat dated course that is, with the exception of a hole or two, pretty short but is great for your Putt and Approach game. There are some very nice wooded holes and in a very limited space this course offers alot. Right and left hand turns, a 600 ft hole, a 190ft hole and a couple tunnel shots. Schenley has some very nice concrete tee's (although the Pro tee is still natural) and Mach III baskets with three pin positions that can really alter the hole. Last but not least, the practice basket and holes' 1 and 2 offer a spectacular view of downtown Pittsburgh.
Cons: This course is short. Some people with big arms may only use a driver on one hole (and that depends on pin position).
On most days this park has alot of traffic, both from casual players and people just out enjoying the park itself. One of the most popular places to sit is apparently right in front #1 basket.
The blue tees do add a little something extra to the course but they are not identified at all, so you would need a local to be with you to find some of them (1 and 15 good luck).
The layout has made maximum use of the limited space but some of the tees are very close to being in the way of other holes. When there are people playing around you on this course you need to be even more aware than normal for errant throws.
Other Thoughts: People who play this course only once may think it is a bit simple but each hole has at least three pin placements and sometimes 4. So that each time that you play it could be different. I really do like Schenley alot and I think that the Pittsburgh Flying Disc Society has maxed out its potential but with so many other great courses in the Pittsburgh area it is hard not to look down upon this course a little.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A- = A Great Course!

1    6/18/2006   5/1/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up (from the longs):
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- C
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Don't judge too quickly....

5+    11/9/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: Acerun1
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great views of the city! Recent course improvements, including the new baskets (2008) are a welcome update!! This is mostly a finesse course. It's one that is probably best described as "recreational." Yet, is unfortunately overshadowed by the more challenging and recently developed courses in the area. Paying heed to designated OB areas will add increased challenge to this course.
Cons: In the summer months, this course can get crowded, and overrun with non-playing park users - even to the point of deeming some holes "unplayable." The back 9 (or 11) are tight, with fairways that abut one another. These, however, should not be your reasons for not wanting to play this course.
Other Thoughts: Is it "outmoded," or is it "classic?" Just because you have the CD, or you downloaded it from iTunes, doesn't mean the vinyl lacks character and doesn't deserve a place of it's own. (If that analogy is generationally irrelevant to you - just because you have PS3, or a Wii, doesn't mean there isn't a place for the classic Nintendo 64!!) Unless you can birdie EVERY hole...heck, even half of them, then don't be so quick to criticize this course! Those I know who CAN accomplish this, are the most accomplished local players, who would agree that there are "better," more challenging courses in the area, but they give this course the respect that it deserves! You wouldn't have Knob Hill, Deer Lakes, Moraine if Schenley didn't pave the way to make it happen!!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Home course - short but can be tough

5+    7/31/2009   7/20/2008
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great park surrounding. Decent walking workout.

Newest installation of baskets are now a year old - it really brightens up the place, and makes the holes easier to see. Signage has also improved.

Added basket placements in the past year, and frequent shifting, make the course play very differently from one week to the next. Some holes play almost a stroke's worth of difference - best examples of this are #2, #5, #13, #17.

I especially like the following holes: descriptions apply best, but not exclusively, from the white tees.

#1: pretty simple short sidehill shot, but it's easy to mess up if you fade too far left or right. Trees on both sides pinch the approach to the basket. Good way to start a round.

#5 with the long basket: You have to keep your drive clear of the line of trees along the left, and the fairway slopes left as well. The approach needs to clear a huge shrub on the left, without overshooting the mark and hitting the road.

#7: Very short and sharp dogleg right. Basket is almost always set in a small clearing at the edge of the thicker forest.

#11: Tight straight drive between two trees. There's a huge fallen tree trunk across the divide, as much as 6 feet high. You have to control a throw that's high enough, but still won't fade off course in late flight.

#13: at first glance it's just a mass of thin trees, but there's a gap that's perfect for an S-curve forehand. Still takes a bit of luck to stay on course, but if you manage to miss the trees it's a great ego boost.

Cons: Lots of short relatively straight holes, especially through the woods. The same principle applies: figure out your best gap, aim straight, and hope you don't lose much distance, or roll too far off line, when you inevitably hit a tree. 16 is especially short and cluttered with trees for a steep downhill. One of many holes where birdies and bogeys are equally likely at our skill level.
Other Thoughts: Two clear sets of mostly concrete tees - blue tees are typically a painted plank of wood, and can be very tough to find. The blue tees make the course play significantly tougher - my family always plays from the whites.

Deceptive tee placements include 11 - uphill across road from 10, and 13 - back down across road from 12.

On the other hand, #10 basket was on the short high side of the road when we most recently played. It couldn't be much more than 120 ft. in this configuration, with lots of trees - a bit like navigating putt-putt obstacles.

I've changed my mind about the toughest basket location on #17, tucked into the top of a steep hill, and surrounded by scrub and forest. It's difficult, but not impossible, to get your approach close.

The road as out of bounds can come into play on at least 9 of the holes. Sometimes, especially for hackers like us, it's a matter of how the disc bounces or rolls off the trees.

There's always somebody playing, but never too crowded. It's easy to finish 18 holes in an hour.

Opening two holes have the best view of the city. As others have mentioned, the open slope makes it popular for sunbathers. Walkers can cross the course at any point, but it's never a huge problem.

Schenley and Frick are two great inner-city parks within a few miles of each other.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Course close to Universities

6/22/2004   2/22/2008
Review By: bcsst26
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is close to the city and the universities in the area. It has several nice views of the city. It has cement tee pads and baskets.
Cons: The holes are short and not well marked. Luckily I had a paper map of the course to navigate around.
Other Thoughts: I only played this course once before I started "really" playing disc golf. At that time I had a short drive with little skills. I did pretty well at the time though so it is beginner friendly. If you are in the area it is worth a stop but if not I would drive to other courses in the Pittsburgh area.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2/21/2008   2/21/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Old school course. Holes 1 through 6 are pretty much out in the open. Watch out for people using the park in this area. Holes 7-18 are tucked into the woods and are pretty close together. In some area's you can accidentally hit golfers playing 4 different holes. 3 sets of tees and two pin positions per hole. The short and medium tees are nice concrete pads. The longer blue tee's may be difficult to find. You can tell that not many people play from the longer tee's.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short and crowded

7/21/2007   7/24/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 221  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 11.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great views from the holes in the field. You can get multiple rounds in a short amount of time if that's your thing.
Cons: Most holes play short and none were terribly challenging. Very much crowded with non-disc golfers outside of the wooded holes. Probably not too beginner friendly due to the crowds.
Other Thoughts: Schenley was an ok course but it definitely pales in comparison to the other courses in the area. The hillside was quite crowded when I played through the course and there were also two huge parties with extremely loud music around holes 10-15. I actually had to skip 15 and 16 as a result of the parties.

If you're taking a trip down to the area I'd probably skip Schenley and go straight to Knob Hill or Deer Lakes which are relatively close and worth the drive.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Recreational

5+    7/24/2007   7/24/2007
Review By: JoshC
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: if you are looking for medium distance ace runs this course is for you... there is also a stellar view of the city from the open holes
Cons: large amounts of non-players during the summer months.
Other Thoughts: Great course for its day. Still fun when looking for a recretional day out on a course or to tune your approach skills..

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for begninner and intermediate players, too little for experts

11/26/2006   7/12/2007
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2007
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has both holes that are wide open and heavily wooded. It is readily accessible from the suburbs and the city, and has a beautiful view of the city skyline. Concrete tee pads for both red and white tees with signs posted at each are a rare luxury.
Cons: The woods are somewhat dense, and some of the wooded holes do not seem to have much of an optimal throwing lane or landing zone. Many of the tee signs have been damaged or destroyed. A severe storm in the summer of 2007 took its toll on some of the trees and baskets.
In addition, the course is approaching 20 years in age, and it is rather short by today's standards. A couple of holes are stretched into the par 4 range for the blue tees (in addition to #2, which is a real P4 from the white tee), but for the majority of holes there is simply no room to lengthen them. And since concrete tees cannot be moved, this course will always play short from the whites and very short form the reds.
Other Thoughts: This used to be a big time course, having in the past hosted the Ironwoods Open and the current women's national champion. It has now been eclipsed by the newer, bigger courses outside of the city. However Schenley is still very frequently played and well maintained, and a trip here affords one the opportunity to see the city of Pittsburgh from the crown jewel of its parks.
Experts should make Moraine, Deer Lakes and Knob Hill a higher priority; they are really higher caliper courses. For the rest of us, Schenley can still be a fun time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.