Pittsburgh, PA 
Schenley Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 153ft.   3 / 249ft.   3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 White Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Good urban course

5+    10/15/2007   10/15/2009
Review By: beaker
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of terrain changes with challenging tunnel shots and a couple of long open drives. Tee pads are nice, and the course flows pretty well.
Cons: Sometimes drives can get close to picnic areas. Some drives get close to other drives and risk hitting other players.
Other Thoughts: This course will challenge you to learn to throw accurately.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Beginner Course

2-4    6/5/2008   9/22/2009
Review By: PsyStal
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course for beginners and families, Schenley also offers nice views of Oakland and downtown Pittsburgh. Play is quick and fun, and provides just enough hole variety to offer new players a chance to practice the shots they'll need for more difficult courses. The course also makes good use of the limited city space.

Location is a big plus for Schenely. Situated right in Pittsburgh, it's a short trip to nearby amenities and also well placed in a beautiful city park. There are also a number of other great courses not far away, if you improve your game and are looking for more!
Cons: This course is quite short, and not particularly challenging. It's also typically quite crowded, which only adds to the space problems already inherent in a small city park. While holes are generally laid out well, there are moderate issues with holes 8-12, with stray shots (of which there are many at a beginner friendly course) often flying into nearby fairways.
Other Thoughts: A good beginner course, although I'd recommend nearby Knob Hill if you have the option. There's simply too much crowding to make this course viable for most disc golfers, and the lack longer, more challenging holes keeps anyone with more than an Innova starter set away.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Primer Course

5+    9/15/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: holland oats
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 10/12/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Schenley is a good starter course (I learned here). Many of the holes are short enough for beginners to birdie. This helped me build a foundation for my game with putting, approaching, and accuracy. Holes 2 and 5 are longer and gave me a taste of the necessary power for longer courses (like Deer Lakes).

Some players feel that the tree-ridden fairways of the back 9 are crap-shoots, but I found at least one manageable line to the basket at every hole. I just played a round hitting only 2 trees on 18 holes, and both were from turning over a new midrange disc. Most likely, prudent shot selection and creativity will be necessary for a clean scorecard.
Cons: The park is very popular, so you might want to play a different course on a nice summer day if you are impatient. There are often ignorant people that get in the way of baskets, but I've never had a problem asking them to move.

The Veteran's Pavilion at the back 9 can make some holes unpleasant or unplayable if cars are parked on the path. If you play through when a party is going on, expect to have unknowing bystanders ask you about disc golf or even pick up your drive (happened to me more then once, but never had one stolen).

The blue tees can be difficult to find, even with the guidance from the signs. I'm still not sure where the blue tees are at 11 and 15 (EDIT: I believe 11 uses the back of the white teepad for the blue tee, and 15's blue tee is up the path by the practice hole basket. Some of the signs should be updated, or there should be signs for the blue tees.).
Other Thoughts: I've played with many new players at Schenley, and they all had fun. The length and difficulty of the course make it easy to play for all ages and skill levels. Nonetheless, I challenge any experienced player to make it through this course without smacking a tree, car, or person.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Schenley is fun to play again!

5+    8/26/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: discteacher
Played: 145  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Mach 3 baskets (including two practice baskets -- one near #1 tee and the other for an alternate hole behind Vietnam Veterans Pavilion); new signs with maps, distances and pars on all Red and White tees; new concrete tee to replace broken and unlevel pads on #8, #10, #15; and a new additional C pin position for each of the holes add up to a BIG improvement in the oldest permanent basket disc golf course in Western PA. Thanks to Citiparks, the Hunt Foundation, The Disc Golf Foundation and Pittsburgh Flying Disc Society for the 20-year makeover in 2008.

The course is a great place to learn to play DG and to hone woods play and short game. A set of Blue tees provide a challenge for those whose game is on the rise.
Cons: A layout designed for throwing 40-mold Frisbees in the most popular regional park in the city of Pittsburgh causes conflicts between sunbathers, picnicers and disc golfers.

Be alert for errant shots from other players, especially on holes 8-12.
Other Thoughts: An 18-hole round can be played in just over an hour.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/14/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: b13ecker
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy course, if your a beginner would be excellent to learn because all the holes arent lengthy and are par 3s beside number two which is an open par 4

Also if ur more advanced or have a tighter grasp on the game you can play shenley to boost your confidence and shoot in the negatives.

Nice change of scenery through beautiful Schenley park

Cement tee pads on whites and reds
which are amateur and womens
blue for pros just has wooden markers
Cons: Many people constantly on course, vechicles behind and on near sides of the holes where possibly can be hit, many holes on the back 9 are congested aimed towards one area and criss cross back and forth between fairways (wooded fairways)

Other Thoughts: If its your first time playing your best bet of finding all the right pins might be asking someone nearby whos playing it gets a little confusing but their are numbers on the baskets if you want to walk down to check if its the right one

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Right in the Heart of Pittsburgh!

1    8/5/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 7.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - GREAT views of downtown and Oakland!
- wooded and open shots
- changes in elevation from flat to hilly holes
- beginner friendly, as low scores are attainable from both the red and white tees
- bathrooms, water, parking, and a kiosk are available
- good signage, tees, and baskets
- easy to navigate
- has at least one -- maybe two mandos, which add for some excitement
- right in the nucleus of Pittsburgh
Cons: - watch out for parkgoers who are not aware of flying discs
- pars may be outdated -- especially for advanced/pro disc golfers
- doesn't require much technical throwing (this may be a pro depending on your preference)
- I had a really hard time finding the blue tees. As such, I just played the whites.
Other Thoughts: Sure, courses like Deer Lakes, Moraine, Knob Hill, and even IUP's College Lodge are much better, but they're not exactly near Pittsburgh. Yinzers and visitors alike need not travel far to enjoy 18 holes on this course.

Despite lacking much challenge, the course still has some degree of diversity and is a very good time. I like to play a few holes here form time to time and really enjoy bringing beginners here.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A fun, simple course

5+    7/22/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: gobias
Played: 152  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful view of the city from the opening tee. Nice new hole signs and baskets. A great place to practice your finesse game- though the holes are short, accuracy is a must once you get to hole 6.
Cons: Typically very crowded, especially on summer weekends. Many non-golfers don't seem to "get it", and will throw down a blanket right in front of a tee box or basket- c'mon people!
Other Thoughts: A very manageable course- you'll probably feel good about your game after a round from the whites or reds. However, if you think you're too good for Schenley, try playing the blue tees, which make the course significantly longer and more difficult.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/29/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: tistoude
Played: 179  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2010
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a somewhat dated course that is, with the exception of a hole or two, pretty short but is great for your Putt and Approach game. There are some very nice wooded holes and in a very limited space this course offers alot. Right and left hand turns, a 600 ft hole, a 190ft hole and a couple tunnel shots. Schenley has some very nice concrete tee's (although the Pro tee is still natural) and Mach III baskets with three pin positions that can really alter the hole. Last but not least, the practice basket and holes' 1 and 2 offer a spectacular view of downtown Pittsburgh.
Cons: This course is short. Some people with big arms may only use a driver on one hole (and that depends on pin position).
On most days this park has alot of traffic, both from casual players and people just out enjoying the park itself. One of the most popular places to sit is apparently right in front #1 basket.
The blue tees do add a little something extra to the course but they are not identified at all, so you would need a local to be with you to find some of them (1 and 15 good luck).
The layout has made maximum use of the limited space but some of the tees are very close to being in the way of other holes. When there are people playing around you on this course you need to be even more aware than normal for errant throws.
Other Thoughts: People who play this course only once may think it is a bit simple but each hole has at least three pin placements and sometimes 4. So that each time that you play it could be different. I really do like Schenley alot and I think that the Pittsburgh Flying Disc Society has maxed out its potential but with so many other great courses in the Pittsburgh area it is hard not to look down upon this course a little.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A- = A Great Course!

1    6/18/2006   5/1/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.4 Years
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up (from the longs):
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- C
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Don't judge too quickly....

5+    11/9/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: Acerun1
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great views of the city! Recent course improvements, including the new baskets (2008) are a welcome update!! This is mostly a finesse course. It's one that is probably best described as "recreational." Yet, is unfortunately overshadowed by the more challenging and recently developed courses in the area. Paying heed to designated OB areas will add increased challenge to this course.
Cons: In the summer months, this course can get crowded, and overrun with non-playing park users - even to the point of deeming some holes "unplayable." The back 9 (or 11) are tight, with fairways that abut one another. These, however, should not be your reasons for not wanting to play this course.
Other Thoughts: Is it "outmoded," or is it "classic?" Just because you have the CD, or you downloaded it from iTunes, doesn't mean the vinyl lacks character and doesn't deserve a place of it's own. (If that analogy is generationally irrelevant to you - just because you have PS3, or a Wii, doesn't mean there isn't a place for the classic Nintendo 64!!) Unless you can birdie EVERY hole...heck, even half of them, then don't be so quick to criticize this course! Those I know who CAN accomplish this, are the most accomplished local players, who would agree that there are "better," more challenging courses in the area, but they give this course the respect that it deserves! You wouldn't have Knob Hill, Deer Lakes, Moraine if Schenley didn't pave the way to make it happen!!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.