Disc Golf Store
Fremont, NE 
Camp Calvin Crest Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #1 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 280ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Meh

2-4    5/10/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: ZMesenbrink
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.3 Years
Pros: It is a disc golf course, there are signs, pads, and baskets. There are a few fun throws but nothing that made me want to drive back to Fremont.
Cons: There's no real cons other than the "9 Hole" blues. It's a drive from Omaha, if you lived in Fremont it would be the place to play (twice) if you actually wanted to play and not just mess around on a disc golf course. Meh...
Other Thoughts: It's on a church campground so it's polite to tell the staff that you are on the grounds. Some of the holes are a little confusing.

 Quick Round

1    8/8/2011   3/8/2012
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: Layout... For a little 9 hole course, the design makes pretty good use of the land. There are some forehand/anny shots, and a couple decently long holes. Trees and minor elevation make things a bit more fun.

Course Atmosphere... This course is located at a church camp and is technically located on private property. Show courtesy and ask the office if you can play if you are there in the spring/summer/fall. Because it is located at a camp, everything is mowed and well kept. The course is fairly easy to follow, although I had a hard time finding the basket to one hole.
Cons: Tee's... very basic tee signs give you a vague idea of the layout of each hole, and the tees are natural, not even a toe-board.

Challenge/fun... While I wouldn't exactly call this course a pitch-and-putt course, it isn't very difficult. That being said, keep in mind this is a kids camp, and this is a very kid-friendly course. There isn't a ton of variety, and an experienced golfer may get bored. No alternative tee pads, only 9 holes.

Location...The camp is located along the Platte River on the south side of Fremont, and it is pretty tucked away. You have to go outside of town, and drive down a gravel road a few miles until it dead-ends at the camp. No food/beverage close by. This is a bit of a drive from Lincoln or Omaha, not sure it is worth the trip.
Other Thoughts: As stated, this is a simple course. Nothing fancy, and that's the way it was designed. Good course to teach kids on though. Since it is on a camp ground there aren't any tournaments or leagues here. Not sure if it is playable in the winter when the camp is closed. If you are in Fremont, check it out, otherwise take a pass on it.

 Be on Your Best Behavior

1    3/27/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 211  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a church Campground, so good manners galore. You check in at the office and check out at the office, so they know who is on the course and who isn't. This course has some slight elevation, hidden pins, some technical shots, wide-open shots, and some trees. They have lefty and righty holes along with some straight aways. The hidden pin thing is worth and extra mention. They have some of the baskets behind trees, so you are throwing past that tree and putting back to the basket to make a 2. The layout was easy to follow and the tee signs had good info on them including the hole map and next tee. The tees are grass and as this does not get much play, they are in pretty good shape. This is a very clean place and well maintained.
Cons: The pars on the signs are set for the kids. Most of the holes are too short to be much more of a pitch and putt kind of course, except the 450 foot, par 5, #9. Knowing this place is really for kids, it made me feel like I really don't belong out there. So take that negative point as a personal feeling but it won't effect my rating.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor for me was OK. There was a hole or 2 that was fun to throw on, but for the drive out here I am not so sure it is worth that. The people here were very friendly and very nice. I think they did a good layout and setting this up for kids to decide if this is something they would like to do. It is decent short course for an introduction to the sport.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Camptastic

1    9/5/2009   1/28/2010
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is marked and for the most part easy to follow. The fairways are wide open and the main obstacle is the rolling prairie grasslands, wind, and the occasional dogleg. The distances are long enough to make for a proper round of open disc golf. The out and back design starts and stop near the parking area by the tennis courts. I played here on a holiday weekend and I had the course, and the entire camp to myself.

The course is lined with a good dense Nebraska forest, no kidding. So much of Nebraska is cut in to rectangles filled with corn, and many of those cornfields are bordered on one boundary by a healthy stock of trees for which existence seems to only be for helping the crop in some fashion. This particular mini forest is dense due in part to the camp not wanting to clear away land for crops and in a natural sense because of the hillside proximity to the Platte River supplying enough water to sprout a mini forest within a feet hundred feet of its banks.
Cons: The course never sets a toe in the above mentioned rarified Nebraska forest. It felt like it was designed like a ball golf course with wide open rolling fairways with lined by walls of trees.
Other Thoughts: It was a shame that the place was so deserted when I played in the sense that it still remains a mystery to me. I was hoping to be able to talk to some disc golf course gatekeeper or some ranking official and be able to share the lowdown with the DGCR community but those questions still remain for me. Maybe I just got lucky that nobody was around to kick me out. There is no way for me know because I didn't see one single soul out there. I would recommend this course for big arms who like playing more open courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.