Scotts Mills, OR 
Camp Dakota Share
Uploaded By: Rusty Shackleford Hole #7 (Taken 8/2013)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good Times

2-4    7/4/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: Rusty Shackleford
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful forest setting.

Tight technical fairways were a well formed shot will get you to the basket but mistake can punish you in the rough.

The course goes around the camp ground so for the most part there are no non-DG activities on or near the course.
Cons: Tees are a mix of uneven dirt and gravel.

Navigation is tricky at times, especially going from #9 to #10 (head for the lake) and #10 to #11(cross the road and walk along the paintball course). You get a map and scorecard when you pay though.

Occasional interruptions. They rent metal detectors so keep an eye out for treasure hunters wandering across the course. Basket for #17 is right next to a volleyball net.

The fairways for #1 and #18 run right next to a road, fortunately it's not a busy road.

Some of the holes feel like they don't make sense. There isn't a route to the basket from the tee.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. It's a little harder for me to list the reasons I think something is fun than it is to list the specific things that are less than ideal.

#10 - #18 are a lot better than #1 - #9 as far as being able to shape a shot that will get you to the basket. #3 is probably the low point. #13 and #14 are my favorites.

There is camping onsite and other activities that are worth checking out like paintball and the challenge course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Good aim off the tee

1    3/18/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: Zorbach
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting-heavily forested in the hills
Short-fast to play and walk, tees are near baskets
No body on the course when the snow was falling lightly
Requires excellent aim off the tee
Cons: Too many trees! I just wanted to rip it off the tee box once and never did
Other Thoughts: Took a beginner with me who had fun because the holes are very long. Enjoy.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Super funk

1    9/5/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Camp Dakota is set way back up in the hills of north-central Oregon over an hour from main roads and highways. The camp itself is a bustling place during the summer with tons of campers and lots of activities including gold panning, a huge games room, go-carts, and massive paintball setups. The course is mostly through tight woods and has fairways lined with thick brush and forest. Many holes are short, but like the description says, don't let that fool you, most are very difficult to score 2's and 3's on. There are lots of holes with fairways that don't really conform to the way a disc flies so you'll probably be trying lots of strange shots to get through this course. I threw several weird tomahawk/thumber, thumb rollers, and cut rollers off the tee trying to get close to the basket with some interesting results :) Mixed in amongst mostly strange holes, there are some really fun putter shot holes and cool uses of elevation.

Navigation is made pretty easy here through a map available when you check in and signs which indicate the direction of the next tee pad. There are a few layout changes underfoot however that may make for a little bit of confusion in some places - mostly though, I was impressed with the care that signs were laid out.

The brand new homemade red baskets are pretty cool and several added sets of chains help them catch pretty well.

Finally, the aura of the place is pretty fun with all sorts of people walking around the course from family campers to hardcore paintballers
Cons: Road rash - Several holes encourage shots over the road and near other areas that aren't so great such as camping areas and kids play areas. Be careful and skip holes if you risk hitting someone with a disc.

Unnatural shots - As mentioned in the description above, I was frustrated with holes that didn't seem to have fairways which a disc could conceivably reach the basket (without tons of luck). Its doubly frustrating when a 200ft hole has a triple dogleg and plays like a par 4! I think the main intent in design was for those using big lid ultimate discs where these holes would require placement and accuracy for birdie 3's.
Other Thoughts: The owner of the property was super helpful over the phone and in person in helping us navigate the course. They were very friendly and encouraging of us disc golfers who weren't even staying at the camp but just paying a measly few bucks to enjoy the course :)

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/19/2006   11/21/2009
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short...

It's a quick round if you can stay in the fairway. That's the only good thing I can say about this course.
Cons: Poorly designed.

It's not very exciting course to play on. When I played here few years ago, I couldn't believe the layout and how absurd the course was. The layout seemed a bit sloppily laid out. The road come in play a bit too closely for my comfort.
Other Thoughts: I can't imagine anything have changed since I last played here few years ago due to lack of reviews on this site. If anybody would risk a trip out there soon, then I imagine you can provide rest of us with more updated information.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Technical

4/29/2008   5/1/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is a nice technical course. The trail is nice, it is on a camp site with plenty to do, including painball. The course is short but difficult enough to test your skill on. The trails are curvy and sharp. Nice challenge.
Cons: Close to the road at some points and there are no baskets.
Other Thoughts: Up in the mountains so expect snow half the year.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.