Bremerton, WA 
NAD Park Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #11
3 / 216ft.   3 / 293ft.   3 / 258ft.   3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Red & Blue Tees

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

1    8/18/2016   9/7/2016
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 170  Reviewed: 165  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a big airplane at the course entrance and the park is named after genitalia, so right off the bat you're in the right mindset.

I'm a fan of courses with multiple tee pads because of the replayability factor. Nearly every hole has two, and they are good concrete pads. All holes have two pin positions but just one basket in use at any given time.

The course is well worn in, so you don't get drives knocked around by straggler branches.

I played from the shorter tees and thought the design was good. There were few holes that didn't have reasonable lines to throw. My favorite was a hole around #15 (I can't identify it from the pictures) a forehand shot with a dogleg downhill fairway. I wanted another crack at this hole.
Cons: Elevation is pretty limited.

While the holes are good, there is no truly memorable hole. By the end it feels like you've already thrown whatever fairway you're on.

Navigation was okay, but in a few places I wasn't sure where to go next. You won't get lost here since the park isn't that big, though.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time in the Northwest visiting the national parks, and this was a stop on the way to Olympic National Park. On the way here, I even got to drive across the famed Tacoma Narrows Bridge. Its collapse is one of the best videos you watched in high school science class. There are a lot of courses right off of Highway 16, so you'll have no shortage of outdoor entertainment here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not technical, just trees

2-4    8/22/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: World Eater
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
• Concrete pads.
• Good signage, which is nice since many pins are difficult or impossible to see from the tee.
• Very pretty course.
• Practice baskets.
• Red/Blue pads and A/B pin layouts.
• Blue pads on some holes are incredibly poorly positioned for B pins.
• Fairways are short. Feels like you're putting around in the woods more than playing a round of DG.
• There are some well designed fairways, but there are also some that are pretty bad.
Other Thoughts: This has got to be the most overrated course in the area.

There's a difference between "technical" and poor design. Technical courses require you to use your skills and shot variety to overcome technical obstacles, elevation change and other challenges.

This course doesnt present you with a variety of challenging shots - its forehand heavy, and the lines are just not good for disc golf. They're fine if you want to throw 100 feet at a time and take your pars and go home, or wing a disc into some trees and see what happens.

The PNW has tons of technical wooded courses in Washington and Oregon that are fun to play and have well designed fairways that require paramount skill. This is not one of those courses.

Pier is a great example of a course that is technical, but has real disc golf lines, and actually deserves a 4+ rating.

No one in my group felt like they'd played a round of disc golf by the end of 18 and decided to go to another course afterwords to get some satisfaction.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great woods course

5+    9/26/2015   9/26/2015
Review By: Rikolas
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course in the woods. Great course for all levels.

Red pads
Mostly mid ranged holes that need to be accurate. But if you do miss your line, it is forgiving for a woods course.

Blues pads makes this course a lot more difficult. It's a fun challenge for more experienced players.

Tee pads are easy to find due to bright yellow signs pointing you in the right direction.

There are plenty of lines for each hole. It can test your forehand and backhand. Also a few holes are great for overhand.

Nice elevation changes that can be a challenge on power control.
Cons: The only thing would be that there is no test of max distance for any holes.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Definitely one of my favorites. Great views by looking up just walking through the holes.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

An excellent place to play

1    5/3/2015   5/6/2015
Review By: shawnc65
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2016
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I've now been to most of the higher rated courses in the area. NAD tops the list in many categories: It is very well marked and laid out logically. There is very little underbrush and the fairways are wide - lost discs are never impossible, but unlikely. However, there's plenty of obstacle trees. The two tees per hole are well thought out with the blue tees providing a different angle, a few more feet, a more narrow lane - good enough to provide a handicap or even to play a second round with new challenges. I think it is a great place to bring beginners or part-timers. The lack of undergrowth and the relative short length might help equalize different levels of competition.
Cons: If there have to be cons: Length: There's very little here to test your longest drivers. Busy: I've been there two different Sunday mornings 8 weeks apart and both times the course has been packed. Having said that, my daughter and I never had to wait for a hole this weekend.
Other Thoughts: I've taken my adult daughter and only part-time player to Stielacoom, Lakewood, Sea-tac, Sumner, White River, and Lake Fenwick. This is the first one she has suggested we try and get back to. I did not read the other reviews here before writing mine. I didn't mean to reiterate what has already been said. Suffice it to say that it's still as good as they say it is.
6/10/16...With a few more courses played and another year's experience I still believe this course to be one of the clearest marked in Western Washington and excellent for introducing part-timers to a different couse in the area.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Northwest course

5+    12/1/2014   12/2/2014
Review By: Billy
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 2/12/2015
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a GREAT course. It's set in a beautiful old growth, northwest forest. Monster cedar trees and Douglas firs dominate these woods. Minimal undergrowth (a good thing). Nice elevation, but not overly so. ...... Very nicely marked - both A/B basket positions with distances, and signs pointing to the next tee. ...... It's a VERY CLEAN course! Trash cans everywhere. ........ Bag holders are on almost every tee. Benches/picnic tables/huge stumps grace most tees also. ...... Brand new baskets. .... Nice use of the terrain. ..... Concrete red / blue tee pads. ..... I could go on and on with "pros" for this course! ....... The new 'junior' course set up in the park is a FANTASTIC IDEA!!! Looks like a great use for some of older used baskets that were replaced. Not only is this a great place to bring kids / newbies and introduce them to the game, but it's also a great place to warm up and work on your approach shots. (*** Your 2nd shot on this course is EVERYTHING. Drives are very tight 'n technical through some serious trees. But you can salvage every hole if you can throw a respectable approach shot.)
Cons: There are very few cons about this course. ..... A couple holes have some very long walks to the next tee. The hill climb leading to #9 will leave you wanting to take a break. And the walk leading to #13 is a bit long, but it's downhill and scenic....... A little confusion after #5. Stay up 'n to the left to get to #6. (a dirt lane wants to lead you down and to the right.) ...... This is not an "air it all out" kind of a course. But that isn't really a con. It just means that this is a shorter, technical course through massive trees.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course! Beautiful, clean, well marked, easy navigation, challenging, all that you want in a course. ...... And if you get a chance, check out the town of Gig Harbor just down the road. If you're like me (and are new to the area) you'll love this entire part of the country. .... ************************************************************** TREAT YOURSELF !!! Juanito's Taqueria, just around the corner at 6721 Kitsap Way, has some serious, authentic, high quality mexican food!!! A tiny little place, nondescript, but quite the hidden gem! .... And right next store - The Goody Cottage has the most delicious, freshly baked, melt in your mouth cupcakes! The best you'll ever have!!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great use of space

1    4/23/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: nathani
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2016
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight course with good use of elevation change. A good mix of open, tight, up, down. Rotating pin positions adds to replayability. Terrain is clear and walkable, not too much under brush to lose your disc in. Excellent concrete tee pads with benches, posts and garbage cans at nearly every hole. Signage is also very good, with hole info on every hole as well. Practice target out front with tables and playground. A well maintained course.

Some put the swampy areas in the cons, but I think it adds to the pressure and creates a hazard that isn't going to swallow your disc, just get it and you a little muddy. Better than a lake! These areas are usually visible from the tee.
Cons: No big distance holes; all holes are par 3. Parking seems like it could be an issue on a busy day.
Other Thoughts: West Sound DGA is tops in my books! Can wait to play the other pin positions.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A great time on a great course

2-4    1/13/2014   1/30/2014
Review By: b-mart
Played: 60  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: NAD Park is a prime example of what Northwest disc golf is all about. You're playing through an old growth forest with very little underbrush. It's pretty quiet and serene, even though it sits right next to the major highway of the area. With cement tee pads, challenging lines, quality baskets, and multiple tees and pin placements, this course offers something for nearly everyone. The reds offer birdie opportunities and ace runs for the more experienced players, and aren't too frustrating for newer players. Once you reach the point where you're bored with the reds, the blues bring in a whole new challenge. I haven't played them myself yet, so I can't speak to how they differ from the reds, but they offer longer approaches at the very least. I've never seen this course crowded either, which is nice when you play solo or with small groups.

The layout is very well thought out and uses the land available to challenge any type of throw. You have a little bit of everything to challenge your game, from tight fairways to uphill shots, downhill left turning fairways to flat right turning ones, and everything in between. There aren't any long walkouts, and the fairways don't really encroach on each other. There are random mandos on the course that you would REALLY have to shank a drive to miss, but most of these are well thought out as well. All mandos are clearly marked, and there are plenty of "next tee" signs and bag hangers scattered throughout the course.

Finally, this course is extremely accessible, as it is less than 100 yards east of the Austin Dr exit.
Cons: The length and tightness of the fairways could be a con to some. This type of course fits my game and my arm just fine, but I could see people getting bored if they want the chance to really air one out. A lot of these are mid and putter holes for the higher level of golfer. That's not me though, so I don't consider this a con. If you do? That's why I included this in "cons".

The course can be a bit confusing for a first time visitor, as a lot of the signage on the teepads is missing. The navigation is fine, but it would be nice to know exactly where you're supposed to be throwing to without necessarily having to walk the hole ahead of time.
Other Thoughts: A course like this that has multiple pin placements in blind locations is awesome. However, it would be nice if they could find some way to let you know which placement the pin is in. As in, put a marker at the teepad that states which one you're throwing to, and change that whenever the placement changes. That way you could have signage on the pad that shows both possibilities, but then lets you know which one is the reality. I guess they'd have to actually replace the missing signs before doing this though.

NAD is one of my favorite courses that I've played. It fits my range well and I can score low, but it's still challenging enough to keep me coming back for more. It holds the distinction of being my lowest score through 18 in the state (my -7 in Indiana will be tough to beat with my skill set), and will likely be the first 18 that I score below par on. Once that happens, and once that becomes a regular thing, I'll just switch to blues and keep on doing it. That's why NAD is so fun. It's challenging enough for any level of player.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful picturesque Pacific Northwest course.

2-4    8/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: Greg Landon
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful course in the woods. Minimal undergrowth makes finding discs fairly easy on most holes. Very fun use of elevation changes without making it a huge hike.
Cons: Holes 3 and 8 have some mud hazards to avoid until mid summer, but not a huge problem.
Other Thoughts: My first introduction to disc golf was at this course in a chance encounter with some of the locals when I stopped at this park with my kids. We have been hooked since, and its one of our favorite family activities now. I would be here at least once a week if I lived closer.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    5/24/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: medikated
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Beautiful layout. Dual tee pads and basket placements,allows player to choose level of challenge. Not hard to navigate, keep an eye out for next tee arrows/signs. Everytime I've played this course it's never crowded. Locals are super nice. Everything is well maintained and kept clean.
Cons: -I have nothing bad to say.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking to throw some monster shots this isn't the place. Distance isn't used here as a challenge /obstacle. 'Threading the needle' through trees on nearly every hole is the challenge.
Anyway, this is probably my favorite course in the Puget Sound area and if you live in the area or you're visiting I suggest to make the effort to play here.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/30/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: Greenbowlpacker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun. Well maintained. Good layout. I like just about everything about this course. I typically play thurston, mason, pierce, and kitsap counties on a regular basis and I enjoy this one the most I'd say. The tees usually have seating and/or a place to put your bag. Most holes have good character. There are a few straight shots, but the trees provide enough trouble to make any straight on shot involve some element of strategy. There are lots of elevation changes.
Cons: The signage could use some work and updating.
Other Thoughts: Fairly easy to stay on top of discs. Don't forget to bring a towel!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.