Bremerton, WA 
NAD Park Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #4
3 / 188ft.   3 / 237ft.   3 / 218ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Red Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    6/18/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: Barthanatos
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Two basket locations for each hole.
- Practice basket, lost disc box and info kiosk. Course is easy to navigate.
- Good parking.
- Two concrete teepads for every hole except #2 and #17. These substantially change the game play (#2 does have a second tee box, but has not been poured).
- Bathrooms and playground. My 3 year old gets the reward of going on the swing after walking a round with me.
- The course is very tidy. Many groomed paths, some trash cans, good signage, very little undergrowth despite the woods. Many benches.
- Random Doubles every Saturday at 9 am (seasonal).
- The holes are legitimate par 3, not pitch and toss.
- Course is navigable using a standard stroller (with a little work).
- Covered picnic tables.
- Challenging, technical layout with good use of elevation on several holes. Still novice friendly.
Cons: - Everything is a par 3, w/ longest hole at 405'.
- There are not any open holes (#8 being the most open).
- It can be a little crowded at times. Playing solo, I once played through 4 groups in one round.
- The trail from #8 basket to #9 tee is a bit steep (stroller concern).
- Some of the drives are blind, and there are no signs at the tee showing the layout of the hole.
Other Thoughts: It's the busiest course in the area for a reason. It is easy to play and navigate while still being technically demanding due to the many trees. It's easy to relax and have fun without becoming aggravated having to hunt for your disc all the time or searching for the next tee box. Couple this with the beautiful forest setting and this is a very enjoyable course.

You may occasionally encounter Boy Scout troops practicing their map reading skills (that's what the numbered posts with the white and red markings on the top are for), as well as bird watchers (I have seen an owl and a woodpecker) or students on a field trip.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 First Time, But Hopefully Not the Last

1    6/18/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: IrishFolfer206
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course had a great layout, clean, multiple pads for each hole, directions to the next tee. It's what a disc golf course should be.
Cons: Got a little muddy through some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I just hope to be able to go back and play here again!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Trees Trees Trees!!!

1    4/18/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: matt2680
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course through the trees.

Extremely well maintained.

Great variety of shots needed.

Two basket locations for each hole.
Cons: No real indication as to what location the basket is in.

Even with the great signs and trail markings, on some holes it was still hard to see where through the trees the baskets were located until your second shot.

Very tight fairways on a number of holes. Almost to the point that it gets a little discouraging because it seems like there isn't a line you can take that won't end up clipping a tree along the way.

Other Thoughts: This course is definitely well maintained and the layout has had a lot of thought put into it.

I wasn't crazy about the actual play of this course though. It seemed like there were no rewards on some holes no matter how well you throw it.

Overall, I would recommend playing this course at least once. But it's not one that's going to become my favorite or a regular on my list..

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Northwest Rainforest

1    8/21/2010   12/7/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 155  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 11 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Feels as if you are almost playing in a rainforest. NAD is a gorgeous challenging course that is a must play in you are in the Seattle/Tacoma area. Great variety of shots required in this very technical course. Not many shots to really air it out isn't really a con due to the strength of the short technical holes. NAD has a great flow throughout the entire course which offer a array of doglegs left and right as well hyzer and anhyzer shots needed. This course offers a good challenge for all levels of players. Being that it is in a forest one might think it is easy to lose a disc, but it is pretty open on the ground. Good mix of elevation shooting up and down. The overall challenge of this course was a 3.75/5 with a lot of opportunities to have an amazing round.

Great signage throughout the course really help with each shot. There are also signs to get to the next hole which eliminates the need for a map. Baskets in great shape as well as trashbags and restrooms available.

This was an absolutely beautiful fun course which makes you feel like you are just on a leisurely hike. I must commend the local DG club who keep this course in great shape. I was lucky enough to meet one of the members at Kitsap fairgrounds who was a great guy and really made you feel at home. Their hard work really makes this course as good as it is.
Cons: STINGING NETTLES! I didn't know what they were still I got pricked by one and they definitely hurt. Just wear pants of be aware of your surroundings. This was an amazing course, but it was fairly short and not too much of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: I made a day trip out of this course and Kitsap Fairgounds biking taking a ferry from Seattle and biking to each course (not for faint of heart, at least 20 mi when in Bremerton). This is definitely one of my favorite courses I have ever played. Washington is a beautiful state and this course really shows how beautiful it can really be. If you meet a local make sure to commend that on a job well done. They definitely take time and effort to make sure this course has ever little detail taken care of. Unfortunately, I was only to make the trip out there once in my summer living in Seattle, but it one of my highlights while I was there. If you visit Seattle, play this course!!!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely Beautiful

1    6/29/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: halasjackson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a truly beautiful course. The landscape is signature northwest giant ferns beneath a high shady canopy of very old, twisted trees. The open expanse between the treetops and the ground allow for open, yet challenging throws.

Elevation is utilized extremely well emphasizing an aptitude in uncommon uphill / downhill throws.

Established course that obviously had some solid funding. Teepads, signage, and course amenities are all top notch and appropriate to the environment / setting.
Cons: There are a couple holes with OB areas that swallow discs never to be seen again (thick brush, etc.)

Zero "open field" shots -- entire course is wooded. Not necessarily a "Con."
Other Thoughts: I hit this course while on a business trip. I only had time for one course and based on my reading, this was the one I picked. I am very glad to have had this experience and I wish that other courses were resourced and maintained nearly this well.

Beautiful, beautiful course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Confidence Builder

1    7/4/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 224  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The practice basket near the entrance and kiosk that is full of info, The large concrete tee pads, Tee signs at every hole, Large stumps at every hole to stand and locate the basket, Poles with pegs to hang your bag, Multiple pin placements, Quiet atmoshpere, Very clean, Not crowded and best of all Free!
Cons: Some pin dowels that are used to locate the current basket position were missing from the top of the tee signs. Small parking area.
Other Thoughts: This course has lots of support from the local disc golf committee and is constantly striving to improve their courses and the disc golf community here. This course has taken lots of hard work and dedication from the local club and this course shows it.I really like the stump idea and the pin dowels for the basket locations. Though this course is catergorized as a heavily wooded one it has distinguished fairways with actual lines to throw. The course has plenty of signage making the navigation easy and extremely fun. I found that this course was a huge confidence builder for me and highly suggest if your in the area to check it out!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Branching Out

1    7/5/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Slim458
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the second course I have played and it was well worth the drive. The course is very well maintained and the elevation changes bring a new dynamic to the game.
Cons: There was more people playing then I am use to so I felt a little rushed. There was always someone waiting to tee off behind us and one group didn't feel like waiting and almost hit us with their disc.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/30/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: bigbmoney
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best maintained course I have played. Bag holders at every tee are a great addition as well as trash cans at each. Good pin locations and use of natural hazards and elevation changes. Course will present challenges to most players.and fun for everybody.
Cons: The blue tees are sometimes just a couple steps from the red ones. There are some really similar holes strung right together on the middle of the back half(10, 11, 12) all with right legs. All are still made somewhat unique by pin placement. Can't really air out a drive on any hole but that makes for precise lines.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in Kitsap county. Plenty of challenge for everybody but playable enough for first timers.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tranquil, Technical, Fun

1    3/14/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 13.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course throws through some of the best forest I have played in. Coming from Colorado I have rarely had a chance to play in such conditions.
Things that I found to be very nice:
1. Two tees at each hole
2. Next tee signs that were visible and well marked
3. Tight fairways that offered great risk/reward
4. Pro/Con depending: Shorter holes that require greater accuracy
5. Grooved concrete tees for slippery conditions (it is in a rain forest so....)
6. Elevation changes
7. Easy to traverse
8. Not too crowded
9. Signs at every hole
10. Nice new baskets
Cons: There are not too many things that are cons for this course, but I did see a few things that I did not like:
1. Tee signs bled and were hard to read (cmon its are in a rain forest, maybe some better signs)
2. No real indication on which position the basket was in
3. Basket 16 appeared to be missing
4. Baskets were not well marked as to which one was for which hole. A few times I threw to the wrong basket.
5. When I was leaving I saw a lot of very casual players disrespecting the course by littering (not the course's fault)
6. Mud on hole 18 was thick and hard to get through to the basket
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses I have played. While it is not a long course it offers many challenges. With large trees and some elevation changes galore, short holes are not always gimme birdies. This course can get very wet it appears (in a rain forest) so bring some good shoes, a towel, and expect to get a little muddy. Not a good course to bring a stroller to and not a good course to bring someone who does not like to hike a little. I found this course to be one of the most beautiful I have ever played. The folks who live in Bremerton or the greater sound area are very lucky to have such a good looking course open to them. I would play this course a lot if I lived in the area. We drove up from SeaTac and then took the ferry back to Seattle, recommended! Very Jealous I cant play it unless I come to Washington.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Forest adventures.

1    11/8/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 138  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great hole layouts, most of the holes, especially in the longs, force you to play an accurate controlled shot, hyzer, anhyzer or straight.
Great mix of elevation changes both up and down.
Solid mix of dog leg left and rights.
Dual tee pads are sweet, offering different lines through the maze of trees.
Beautiful setting for disc golf.
Some of the best picture tee signs I've ever seen, showing both pin positions.
Signs guiding you to the next tee sign, in fact I don't know if it would be possible to get lost at this course.
Great course for all levels of play.
Baskets were in very good shape.
Cons: Long walkouts.
Some holes lack a identifiable fairway, especially from the long tees.
Playing in November the course was very soggy, leaves and underbrush made losing discs a possibility.
Lack of any holes to air out a longer drive, except perhaps 8.
A small number of the dual tees don't really create a new hole, second pad is just a few paces from the first one.
Other Thoughts: NAD park is a tremendous example of a course where the local community has put in a lot of time into presenting a very neat, well thought out piece of work. All of the small details are taken care of, dual pads and dual positions on every hole, tee signs and guide markers, even bag holders for the winter months (who does that?! so cool). That being said I can easily see this course not appealing to some of the longer bombers, or if you lack a consistent putter length short game, especially considering the general consistency in the hole style throughout the course. Though with all the thick trees I could see certain rounds being very frustrating, the course does offer a spectacular training ground both for accuracy and also intelligent course management, choosing where you can and can't afford to make mistakes. Finally, with Kitsap fairgrounds, Dalaiwood and Fredrecksen DGC all within 20 minutes o so the West Sound is quickly becoming a great weekend DG trip in the beautiful NW.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center