Bremerton, WA 
NAD Park Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #5
3 / 207ft.   3 / 228ft.   3 / 291ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Red Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Must Play again and again

5+    9/5/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
Pros: This course is great for all levels of play and all ages. Has multiple boxes and pins placements. West Sound Disc Golf Assoc. does a great job moving everything around to give everyone a great experience. Has good park bathrooms. Great views, great hike in the woods. Playing by myself I can do the course in under an hour if I'm pressed for time.
Cons: crowded course...probably the most popular course in Kitsap county. Need to finishing blue box on #2 and adding another pin placement spot for #1.
Other Thoughts: Love all the tournaments and mixed doubles play. Enjoy your time here then head 8 miles to Bud Pell or Fairgrounds for another great round.

 Well-Rounded Park

5+    6/19/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: Calyub
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Park is very clean (trash cans present at every tee).
- Very little underbrush present. You won't have to spend a lot of time locating your disks.
- Challenging holes. While most of the distances may not be 300+ feet, the course still can be challenging due to the amount of trees in the way.
- Each tee is well marked and there are several signs pointing you towards the next hole.
- Secluded. The course has that "state park" feel to it. Most of the course is tucked away inside a beautiful forest.
- Variation. You will see: uphill shots, downhill shots, obscured shots, shots to the left and right, etc.
- Location. It is close to both Silverdale and Bremerton. A fenced playground (covered picnic, restrooms, a cool fighter jet) are close by.
Cons: - Not a lot of parking. You can park on the road or "borrow" a parking spot from the store across the street.
- Several muddy areas. Best to bring some water-proof boots with you in the rainy seasons.
- If you have young children, a couple of the holes are not kid / stroller friendly. (Examples: distances and steep path between 8/9 and also at hole 16).
- Almost always busy. This is the one park that I go to that seems to be fairly busy no matter the day or time.
Other Thoughts: There are not a lot of cons about this course. Definitely one of the cleanest and most organized course I have played in. To give you an idea of the playtime, a group of 4 (mid level skill) players will take around 90 minutes - 2 hours to get through the 18 holes. Not as challenging as Fairgrounds and Bud Pell (parks in the immediate area) but for over-all experience, NAD excels.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 NAD

1    10/16/2011   10/16/2011
Review By: -Hawk-
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well marked! The under brush was sparse enough to where our disks were usually easy to see and find, so we all went home with all of our disks. We like the setup of the tees too, complete with a hanger post to hang a bag on, and a very good description of the layout of the basket, including both a 'A' and 'B' basket for which ever one is placed. It had some challenging parts, but us newbies, and my three kids included, had a wonderful time though! I even got an ace on hole 13, on only my third time disk golfing.
Cons: It was mucky in a couple of places, but hey, we live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest, so no real biggie.
It was also really busy, so being the wife and I and our three kids were a bit slower to get the five of us done with a hole, we ended up letting a couple of 2 player groups play through.
Other Thoughts: Fun Fun Fun for our first time here! We will be back for certain!!!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 NAD

5+    7/24/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Info kiosk with lost disc box at beginning of course.
-Multiple tee/pin locations for most holes
-Good signage throughout course, real good hole layout signs at each hole
-Concrete tees
-Heavily wooded course, but without the underbrush you see in other local courses like fairgrounds
Cons: -course can get a little busy since it is one of the more popular courses in the area
-A couple muddy spots throughout the course, which can be a hassle in the rainy pacific NW
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in a good area. Watch your discs flight path and you shouldn't have too much trouble finding them since there isn't too much underbrush. This is definitely one of my favorite course in the area. Not quite as good as Dalaiwood, but much more beginner friendly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Inspiring Course

1    7/3/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: MudDisk
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Pacific Northwest forest setting;
Multiple tee pads for most holes;
Challenging but still beginner friendly;
Kid friendly setting with logs and sticks and other nature stuff to keep young minds interested!
Cons: A bit muddy in places-but then again we were in Pacific Northwest;
Sometimes tough to locate an errant disc in the vegetation
Other Thoughts: We were on family vacation and brought along our golf discs. Took our local relatives to play this course and came away very inspired by what I saw. It is very possible to place a well maintained and well-thought out course in amongst the trees and ferns of a forest. From a distance the course seems so densely vegetated that you wonder how you will ever get your disc to the hole. Up close, though, the forest opens up and it is clear that there is plenty of room for your shots. Mind you, there are plenty of trees that will impede your shots, but it is a fair balance. Very glad that we brought the discs along in our carry-ons...it makes for a fun family activity that gets you off the beaten path and allows you to interact with the locals. We highly recommend NAD Park.

Epilogue: Now using the inspiration from playing NAD Park to plan out a course in a bit of forest in my home town.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 NW Ambiance An Extreme Challenge

1    6/8/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: Brent Renken
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best of the NW scenery makes for an amazing disc golf experience. The challenge from the expert tees is extreme and the beginner tees provide enough to make it fun for all levels.

The east coast and midwest courses provide challenges from low hanging branches and leaves. In contrast, the tree challenge in the NW comes from the thicket of trunks and giant branches created by the towering moss covered forest. It's truly a test of your skills to navigate through the narrow passageways to reach near the basket in 1 shot from the tee box...but it is possible.

Many of the tees are at the bottom of sloping hills. This makes precision throws that much more important as putting to much zing on it will leave you 150' away from the basket or buried in a marsh.
Cons: The rains that create the amazing ambiance also leave you with some marshlands to walk through. It's difficult to avoid the water hazards so I would suggest trading in the sandals for boots or tennis shoes.

If visiting the and playing for the first time, I would suggest having the first thrower go ahead to spot on the holes that can't be seen due to terrain. This will help you avoid losing the disc in the abundance of overgrowth on the forest floor.
Other Thoughts: This course leaves nothing to want and I would suggest playing it if you get the chance.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/18/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: Barthanatos
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Two basket locations for each hole.
- Practice basket, lost disc box and info kiosk. Course is easy to navigate.
- Good parking.
- Two concrete teepads for every hole except #2 and #17. These substantially change the game play (#2 does have a second tee box, but has not been poured).
- Bathrooms and playground. My 3 year old gets the reward of going on the swing after walking a round with me.
- The course is very tidy. Many groomed paths, some trash cans, good signage, very little undergrowth despite the woods. Many benches.
- Random Doubles every Saturday at 9 am (seasonal).
- The holes are legitimate par 3, not pitch and toss.
- Course is navigable using a standard stroller (with a little work).
- Covered picnic tables.
- Challenging, technical layout with good use of elevation on several holes. Still novice friendly.
Cons: - Everything is a par 3, w/ longest hole at 405'.
- There are not any open holes (#8 being the most open).
- It can be a little crowded at times. Playing solo, I once played through 4 groups in one round.
- The trail from #8 basket to #9 tee is a bit steep (stroller concern).
- Some of the drives are blind, and there are no signs at the tee showing the layout of the hole.
Other Thoughts: It's the busiest course in the area for a reason. It is easy to play and navigate while still being technically demanding due to the many trees. It's easy to relax and have fun without becoming aggravated having to hunt for your disc all the time or searching for the next tee box. Couple this with the beautiful forest setting and this is a very enjoyable course.

You may occasionally encounter Boy Scout troops practicing their map reading skills (that's what the numbered posts with the white and red markings on the top are for), as well as bird watchers (I have seen an owl and a woodpecker) or students on a field trip.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 First Time, But Hopefully Not the Last

1    6/18/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: IrishFolfer206
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course had a great layout, clean, multiple pads for each hole, directions to the next tee. It's what a disc golf course should be.
Cons: Got a little muddy through some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I just hope to be able to go back and play here again!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Trees Trees Trees!!!

1    4/18/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: matt2680
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course through the trees.

Extremely well maintained.

Great variety of shots needed.

Two basket locations for each hole.
Cons: No real indication as to what location the basket is in.

Even with the great signs and trail markings, on some holes it was still hard to see where through the trees the baskets were located until your second shot.

Very tight fairways on a number of holes. Almost to the point that it gets a little discouraging because it seems like there isn't a line you can take that won't end up clipping a tree along the way.

Other Thoughts: This course is definitely well maintained and the layout has had a lot of thought put into it.

I wasn't crazy about the actual play of this course though. It seemed like there were no rewards on some holes no matter how well you throw it.

Overall, I would recommend playing this course at least once. But it's not one that's going to become my favorite or a regular on my list..

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Northwest Rainforest

1    8/21/2010   12/7/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 153  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Feels as if you are almost playing in a rainforest. NAD is a gorgeous challenging course that is a must play in you are in the Seattle/Tacoma area. Great variety of shots required in this very technical course. Not many shots to really air it out isn't really a con due to the strength of the short technical holes. NAD has a great flow throughout the entire course which offer a array of doglegs left and right as well hyzer and anhyzer shots needed. This course offers a good challenge for all levels of players. Being that it is in a forest one might think it is easy to lose a disc, but it is pretty open on the ground. Good mix of elevation shooting up and down. The overall challenge of this course was a 3.75/5 with a lot of opportunities to have an amazing round.

Great signage throughout the course really help with each shot. There are also signs to get to the next hole which eliminates the need for a map. Baskets in great shape as well as trashbags and restrooms available.

This was an absolutely beautiful fun course which makes you feel like you are just on a leisurely hike. I must commend the local DG club who keep this course in great shape. I was lucky enough to meet one of the members at Kitsap fairgrounds who was a great guy and really made you feel at home. Their hard work really makes this course as good as it is.
Cons: STINGING NETTLES! I didn't know what they were still I got pricked by one and they definitely hurt. Just wear pants of be aware of your surroundings. This was an amazing course, but it was fairly short and not too much of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: I made a day trip out of this course and Kitsap Fairgounds biking taking a ferry from Seattle and biking to each course (not for faint of heart, at least 20 mi when in Bremerton). This is definitely one of my favorite courses I have ever played. Washington is a beautiful state and this course really shows how beautiful it can really be. If you meet a local make sure to commend that on a job well done. They definitely take time and effort to make sure this course has ever little detail taken care of. Unfortunately, I was only to make the trip out there once in my summer living in Seattle, but it one of my highlights while I was there. If you visit Seattle, play this course!!!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.