Bremerton, WA 
NAD Park Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #3
3 / 225ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 252ft.   3 / 302ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Red Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Confidence Builder

1    7/4/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The practice basket near the entrance and kiosk that is full of info, The large concrete tee pads, Tee signs at every hole, Large stumps at every hole to stand and locate the basket, Poles with pegs to hang your bag, Multiple pin placements, Quiet atmoshpere, Very clean, Not crowded and best of all Free!
Cons: Some pin dowels that are used to locate the current basket position were missing from the top of the tee signs. Small parking area.
Other Thoughts: This course has lots of support from the local disc golf committee and is constantly striving to improve their courses and the disc golf community here. This course has taken lots of hard work and dedication from the local club and this course shows it.I really like the stump idea and the pin dowels for the basket locations. Though this course is catergorized as a heavily wooded one it has distinguished fairways with actual lines to throw. The course has plenty of signage making the navigation easy and extremely fun. I found that this course was a huge confidence builder for me and highly suggest if your in the area to check it out!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Branching Out

1    7/5/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Slim458
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the second course I have played and it was well worth the drive. The course is very well maintained and the elevation changes bring a new dynamic to the game.
Cons: There was more people playing then I am use to so I felt a little rushed. There was always someone waiting to tee off behind us and one group didn't feel like waiting and almost hit us with their disc.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/30/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: bigbmoney
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Best maintained course I have played. Bag holders at every tee are a great addition as well as trash cans at each. Good pin locations and use of natural hazards and elevation changes. Course will present challenges to most players.and fun for everybody.
Cons: The blue tees are sometimes just a couple steps from the red ones. There are some really similar holes strung right together on the middle of the back half(10, 11, 12) all with right legs. All are still made somewhat unique by pin placement. Can't really air out a drive on any hole but that makes for precise lines.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in Kitsap county. Plenty of challenge for everybody but playable enough for first timers.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tranquil, Technical, Fun

1    3/14/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course throws through some of the best forest I have played in. Coming from Colorado I have rarely had a chance to play in such conditions.
Things that I found to be very nice:
1. Two tees at each hole
2. Next tee signs that were visible and well marked
3. Tight fairways that offered great risk/reward
4. Pro/Con depending: Shorter holes that require greater accuracy
5. Grooved concrete tees for slippery conditions (it is in a rain forest so....)
6. Elevation changes
7. Easy to traverse
8. Not too crowded
9. Signs at every hole
10. Nice new baskets
Cons: There are not too many things that are cons for this course, but I did see a few things that I did not like:
1. Tee signs bled and were hard to read (cmon its are in a rain forest, maybe some better signs)
2. No real indication on which position the basket was in
3. Basket 16 appeared to be missing
4. Baskets were not well marked as to which one was for which hole. A few times I threw to the wrong basket.
5. When I was leaving I saw a lot of very casual players disrespecting the course by littering (not the course's fault)
6. Mud on hole 18 was thick and hard to get through to the basket
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses I have played. While it is not a long course it offers many challenges. With large trees and some elevation changes galore, short holes are not always gimme birdies. This course can get very wet it appears (in a rain forest) so bring some good shoes, a towel, and expect to get a little muddy. Not a good course to bring a stroller to and not a good course to bring someone who does not like to hike a little. I found this course to be one of the most beautiful I have ever played. The folks who live in Bremerton or the greater sound area are very lucky to have such a good looking course open to them. I would play this course a lot if I lived in the area. We drove up from SeaTac and then took the ferry back to Seattle, recommended! Very Jealous I cant play it unless I come to Washington.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Forest adventures.

1    11/8/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great hole layouts, most of the holes, especially in the longs, force you to play an accurate controlled shot, hyzer, anhyzer or straight.
Great mix of elevation changes both up and down.
Solid mix of dog leg left and rights.
Dual tee pads are sweet, offering different lines through the maze of trees.
Beautiful setting for disc golf.
Some of the best picture tee signs I've ever seen, showing both pin positions.
Signs guiding you to the next tee sign, in fact I don't know if it would be possible to get lost at this course.
Great course for all levels of play.
Baskets were in very good shape.
Cons: Long walkouts.
Some holes lack a identifiable fairway, especially from the long tees.
Playing in November the course was very soggy, leaves and underbrush made losing discs a possibility.
Lack of any holes to air out a longer drive, except perhaps 8.
A small number of the dual tees don't really create a new hole, second pad is just a few paces from the first one.
Other Thoughts: NAD park is a tremendous example of a course where the local community has put in a lot of time into presenting a very neat, well thought out piece of work. All of the small details are taken care of, dual pads and dual positions on every hole, tee signs and guide markers, even bag holders for the winter months (who does that?! so cool). That being said I can easily see this course not appealing to some of the longer bombers, or if you lack a consistent putter length short game, especially considering the general consistency in the hole style throughout the course. Though with all the thick trees I could see certain rounds being very frustrating, the course does offer a spectacular training ground both for accuracy and also intelligent course management, choosing where you can and can't afford to make mistakes. Finally, with Kitsap fairgrounds, Dalaiwood and Fredrecksen DGC all within 20 minutes o so the West Sound is quickly becoming a great weekend DG trip in the beautiful NW.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/18/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Since they completed the pour on the second set of teepads (yes, they have two on every hole!), and added second pins for each hole, this course has gone from a pitch and putt to a true monster! We played both layouts today in which every pin was in long, and all had a bogey adventure. Back when pins were all short, it was a matter of "how many strokes can I get under par?". Today +8 and +10 were my scores and I didn't play too badly. All the amenities are here in this tightly wooded and mostly short track. Very challenging and fun and quite beautiful with the old growth cedars and moss and ferns.
Cons: It's too hard!! Not really. But many fairways are a bit snug.
Other Thoughts: Nice shady quiet place to escape the PNW rains or summer sun.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  bring a roc

1    6/12/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: two52six9
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is in great shape. Clean faiways and very nice concrete pads. Holes are very tight and create a fantastic challenge. Well used elevation and course is easily navigated. If you miss your hole on your drive on some shots it is an easy bogue or more. Fun little course for sure.
Cons: Some holes may be a little too tight. A wall of trees with a three disc size hole is not a friendly fairway. Holes are very short but the tight fairways make it a challenge. No real complaints.
Other Thoughts: Fun little course, well designed, good times. If you are in the area I recommend checking it out.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Do you have the NADS?!

2-4    1/3/2010   6/9/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Extremely technical course that will challenge your accuracy on all throws. Not hard to navigate at all, just a few blind pin placements that you have to search for. The signs, tee pads and the rest of the course is in great shape, there is even a designated place to hang your bag from at each hole. The disc golf part of the course isn't used much by other park goers which is a major plus in my book. A couple of spots where elevation comes into play and the designer did a good job putting it to use.
Cons: If you like long drives or open courses you should not go here, no chance of airing it out, the longest hole here is somewhere in the neighborhood of 325 feet. If you don't like small fairways this might not be the course for you.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses and after you play here it might be one of yours as well. Dalaiwood and a couple of other courses are close to this so you can make a big trip and play all of them. Remember to bring discs that can take the tree pounding!

The red tees to short pins course I would rate more like a 3.0 and the red to long and blue to short pins are more like a 3.5. The blue to long pins is the best course out here but still has some holes that don't make sense like 13 and 16 but I would still rate it about 4.0 so my 3.5 rating reflects the averages out here depending on which course you play that day.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Loved it!

1    6/7/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: spletts
Played: 43  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, long, short, doglegs left and right. I felt that the course didn't cater to either a forehander or a backhander...which I found enjoyable. While there is considerable underbrush on the course...it's sporadic enough to not cause the dreaded 10+ minute search for a disc...
Teepads were excellent and the natural layout of the course was nice too. Played in the early morning, so NO crowds when we started...but by the time we left around 12noon, the parking lot was considerably more full. Great course and will definitley come back to play again.
Cons: Distance from the eastside of Seattle (about 1 hour, 15 min's)...and that was about it.
Loved the idea of the 'bag-hangers' on the tee pads...but several were broken. A very small complaint to say the least...considering each hole had several LARGE tree trunks/logs where you could rest if needed.
Other Thoughts: Loved the challenge of the course...up hill and down hill shots are fun. Trees??? Who's afraid of a big bad tree??? It's called a challenge...and especially for those east siders who play some of the 'field' courses with little to no obstacles...this was a breath of fresh air. Highly recommended course!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Must play

5+    5/30/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: Sparkyant18
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was lucky to be able to learn and practice on this course. Being that I live in MS now, and played a course the other day down here, I feel this course has helped mold my skills quite well. The length of the holes are all similar but the tree locations give you the amount of challenge needed to teach the types of shots found anywhere. Will be hard to find a more fun course to play on regularly. There are new tee boxes which add a lot more challenge if that's what you're looking for but the old one's remain if you're just beginning. Provide score cards, tournaments regularly, and easy path's to find each hole.
Cons: If you're not used to trees, this isn't the course for you. Like everyone's said, the more skilled might think it's too easy. If that's the case, try Dalaiwood for more of a challenge with similar terrain.
Other Thoughts: Miss this course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.