Lebanon, OR
Camp Tadmor Share
Uploaded By: Grateful Gringo Hole #7 (Taken 5/2009)
5 / 344ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: This is a great hole if you can escape the outstretched arms of the evergreens on the right.



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun and Secluded

1    3/12/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: Vidar
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Interesting course layout, the gameplay of each hole varied and kept things interesting. Nice, quite hike through the woods while you're at it. Holes were well marked.
Cons: A bit of a drive to get to. Some of the signs were showing inaccurate hole locations, so we usually had to scout the hole before starting.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Had to go digging for my discs in the underbrush a few times, but still a good time. Would recommend.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 is it ever better than the first time?

5+    10/25/2008   6/24/2009
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2009
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 18 great holes
covers lots of ground
challenging
all sorts of shots and terrain
well marked
Cons: i can't think of any...
...except that maybe there are inexperienced/unsupervised students that need to have a little etiquette demonstrated to them?
[5 star knocked down to 4 for this and it's private course a long ways away from anything.]
but isn't that what part of passing the torch is all about?
maybe they'll be the next great course designers?!
Other Thoughts: this was the first course i played on at a Growth Getaway youth retreat. I'm a leader that's been back 5 times since then and i make all my kids play through with me at least once. such a great "youth ministry" event. we're walking around, encouraging each other, and talking. perfect.

and... it's a great course.

it started me into this every enjoyable sport of disc golf.
thanks tadmor staff!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 It's been awhile

1    5/26/1996   2/26/2009
Review By: Decoski
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Fun! Shot variety! Doglegs! Beautiful setting!
Cons: Too far from where I live!
Other Thoughts: I played this course years ago when attending a Men's conference camp. I do remember it being really fun and especially remember one hole with a huge left dogleg through the trees.

0 of 17 people found this review helpful.

  Interesting Facts about C.Tadmor

1    2/21/2009   2/24/2009
Review By: Mystjava
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2009
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Once you know the course, it becomes much more fun to play! A Quiet place to play at and the environment is relaxing. A challenge for both beginners and pros alike.
Cons: Difficulties with trees in the way. Some holes it was difficult to see where the basket were in retrospect to the tee. Some areas need spotters to see where the discs flies. (There has been some clear cutting along the boundary lines.)
Other Thoughts: The first nine baskets are over 20 years old, but they still work wonderfully. The back nine baskets are 10 years old respectively also they are not numbered like the first nine. Please be respectful of the baskets. You will also notice that the signs also show their ages and when they were placed, just like the baskets.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The best Oregon course you've never played

2-4    8/24/2008   1/31/2009
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 83  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.1 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Great variety in distance, terrain, and difficulty
- Elevation is often a factor
- Concrete tee pads and good baskets
- Nice setting (dense forest in the Cascade foothills)
Cons:
- Remote location
- Private and often closed, so you have to call ahead
- So many trees, it can be frustrating if you end up in the rough
Other Thoughts:
First of all, the lowdown on playing at Camp Tadmor: it's a private Baptist summer camp in the hills about a half-hour east of Lebanon. You can't play at all between mid-June and mid-August due to summer camp sessions, and the rest of the time you still need to call ahead, because they rent the place out to private groups as well. Smoking, drinking, drugs, and swearing loudly are absolutely prohibited; respect their rules.

You wouldn't think a bible camp's little-used course would amount to much, but it really is one of the best in Oregon. The first hole goes steeply uphill through trees, the second is a dogleg left, the third is downhill toward a meadow and then flat, the fourth is a nasty uphill with an extreme dogleg right, the fifth is a long s-curve through the trees... and so on. The second-to-last hole is a monster downhill toward a small lake, and the last one goes 250' over the corner of the lake. Because you're only allowed to play when camp ISN'T in session, it'll probably be very quiet and peaceful, and you might even have the whole course to yourself.

Almost every hole has an obvious, well-sculpted fairway. Go off course, though, and you might be in a world of hurt. There's very few blackberries and no poison oak, so you'll probably find your disc, but with all the trees, you might not find an easy route to the pin. Accuracy is rewarded much more than distance... and I don't think I'd recommend this course for beginners.

By the way, Tadmor used to be even further out of the way, but with the recent opening of the 18-hole course at Waterloo County Park (which is on the way from Albany or Corvallis), it's easier to justify the drive out there. Still a full 2 hours from Portland, though.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.