Disc Golf Center
Lebanon, OR 
Camp Tadmor Share
Uploaded By: Mystjava Hole #14 (Taken 2/2009)
4 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Camp Tadmor

5+    2/21/2012   3/21/2012
Review By: SliderXC
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Camp Tadmor should be a course that is on everyone's "Must Play" list. Sadly it is so far out of the way many people have never made the trek out to play the course. The front nine was laid out back in 1982 and use to host many large tournaments. It is by far one of the most challenging courses in Oregon and one of the best in the Nation.

The course is nestled in the trees and winds all over the camp making great use of elevation changes and natural boundaries. Most holes do not require a big arm to play but are very technical and will challenge even the seasoned veterans. Each hole is unique and requires many different kinds of shots to be successful.

The course signs have par's marked on them, but those are really for the summer campers to use. Every hole is meant to be played as a par 3, which makes the course extremely challenging.

Cons: The front 9 was created in 1982 and the baskets are original with only 1 chain and shallow baskets. Some people find this frustrating, I think it just adds to the fun.
Other Thoughts: Since this is a small Baptist Summer Camp it is closed for parts of the year. Make sure you call first and respect their rules. Because of problems with alcohol and drugs the camp has become less friendly to outside players. Please respect their rules so that they don't completely close off this wonderful course from the public.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive

1    5/30/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: Sonny2Gunz
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Private course with a strict call ahead rule limits crowds.

Beautiful forest to play through with great use of elevation on many holes. The short hole lengths were very fun but still posed a nice degree of difficulty.

Emphasis on accuracy over power throws. (I don't have a cannon so it's a pro for me)

Excellent use of natural obstacles. The baskets are well placed and are challenging to get birdies on without an extremely well placed drive.

Each hole had a unique feel and stood out from one another. Hole 18 over the lake was both scary and my favorite hole on the course.
Cons: The front 9, I was told, was the first 9 hole disc golf course in Oregon. The baskets show that. Single chains meant for quite a few missed putts that either blew through or poled out. The back 9 are significantly better and have the standard double set of chains.
(if you've got a SOFT putter, make sure to put it in your bag before you make the trip)

The signing for the front 9 was misleading in relation to actual pin placement and the distances were off. It will help to go find the baskets before teeing off.

Other Thoughts: My group came down and were fortunate enough to get possibly the best experience possible for our first time playing. (Aside from the rain)

Adam, the groundskeeper for Tadmor and his friend, who actually lives on the camp, joined us on our round and were completely awesome guides. They rang chains for us and spotted our tees the entire round. Adam even balanced on one butt cheek, out on a limb (literally), over water, and fished for my disc on 17 when my upshot went in the drink. Wish I'd have had a camera for that.

When you call the number listed for this course, you will get a lengthy recorded message. Tough it out and wait for the groundskeeper / emergency contact option. It will give you a different number to call. That is Adam's cell phone and he can green-light your playing there.

Respect the course, its got a long history and should be treated as such.

Can't wait to go back!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Secluded

1    3/12/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: Vidar
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Interesting course layout, the gameplay of each hole varied and kept things interesting. Nice, quite hike through the woods while you're at it. Holes were well marked.
Cons: A bit of a drive to get to. Some of the signs were showing inaccurate hole locations, so we usually had to scout the hole before starting.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Had to go digging for my discs in the underbrush a few times, but still a good time. Would recommend.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Best!

5+    3/18/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: Umshewa
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I've played this course many times and there is always a new challenge. Grounds change, weather changes, and so on. This is a must on anyone's "to golf" list. Difficult for everyone from beginner to advanced. But never to hard for any level too.
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: This course is remote and private but is one of the best in the nation! It's not hard to be able to golf on it and I'd encourage anyone to go.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Honestly! We Didn't Sneak On!

1    5/30/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little course setting in the woods with enough elevation to add to the difficulty. The course plays through and around a wide variety of camp activities centers such as a paintball area, many camp buildings, yurts, climbing areas, etc. The first 16 holes are relatively short and technical in nature. There are lots of doglegs and blind baskets. The teepads are nice concrete, great signage and the baskets catch well enough. # 17 is a 571 footer to a basket perched just before the lake. Then # 18 is a 263 ft. throw across the lake with an slight right turn. These two don't really fit into general scheme of things.
Cons: It's quite a ways away from anywhere. It's a con that you need permission to play. We called and reached a recording that gave us about 50 options and were never able to talk to a live person. Because we were already in Waterloo, we took a chance and drove out here anyway. Then when we arrived, we couldn't find anyone to ask permission so we just kinda try to blend in and played the course hoping we wouldn't be struck down with lightning or anything! We didn't drink any alcohol but a few curse words may have been uttered. Sorry! But this course is as tight as the jeans on some of the high school girls who don't attend camps here.

I'm not sure exactly who this course is designed for. It's way too technical and difficult for inexperienced church campers. # 17 is long and # 18 plays over water.
Other Thoughts: At the # 1 tee pad, there is a box of these 99 cent pink, Whamo toy frisbees. I guess that's what they're expecting these kids to play with. I don't think a pro could come close to par on any of the holes using one of these discs. I know I'd be about 100 over using them! Another thought, this is how the signs on all courses should look! That is-----free of vandalization. That part is really enjoyable here at Camp Tadmor.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 is it ever better than the first time?

5+    10/25/2008   6/24/2009
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2009
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 18 great holes
covers lots of ground
challenging
all sorts of shots and terrain
well marked
Cons: i can't think of any...
...except that maybe there are inexperienced/unsupervised students that need to have a little etiquette demonstrated to them?
[5 star knocked down to 4 for this and it's private course a long ways away from anything.]
but isn't that what part of passing the torch is all about?
maybe they'll be the next great course designers?!
Other Thoughts: this was the first course i played on at a Growth Getaway youth retreat. I'm a leader that's been back 5 times since then and i make all my kids play through with me at least once. such a great "youth ministry" event. we're walking around, encouraging each other, and talking. perfect.

and... it's a great course.

it started me into this every enjoyable sport of disc golf.
thanks tadmor staff!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 It's been awhile

1    5/26/1996   2/26/2009
Review By: Decoski
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Fun! Shot variety! Doglegs! Beautiful setting!
Cons: Too far from where I live!
Other Thoughts: I played this course years ago when attending a Men's conference camp. I do remember it being really fun and especially remember one hole with a huge left dogleg through the trees.

0 of 17 people found this review helpful.

  Interesting Facts about C.Tadmor

1    2/21/2009   2/24/2009
Review By: Mystjava
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2009
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Once you know the course, it becomes much more fun to play! A Quiet place to play at and the environment is relaxing. A challenge for both beginners and pros alike.
Cons: Difficulties with trees in the way. Some holes it was difficult to see where the basket were in retrospect to the tee. Some areas need spotters to see where the discs flies. (There has been some clear cutting along the boundary lines.)
Other Thoughts: The first nine baskets are over 20 years old, but they still work wonderfully. The back nine baskets are 10 years old respectively also they are not numbered like the first nine. Please be respectful of the baskets. You will also notice that the signs also show their ages and when they were placed, just like the baskets.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The best Oregon course you've never played

2-4    8/24/2008   1/31/2009
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 87  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.5 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Great variety in distance, terrain, and difficulty
- Elevation is often a factor
- Concrete tee pads and good baskets
- Nice setting (dense forest in the Cascade foothills)
Cons:
- Remote location
- Private and often closed, so you have to call ahead
- So many trees, it can be frustrating if you end up in the rough
Other Thoughts:
First of all, the lowdown on playing at Camp Tadmor: it's a private Baptist summer camp in the hills about a half-hour east of Lebanon. You can't play at all between mid-June and mid-August due to summer camp sessions, and the rest of the time you still need to call ahead, because they rent the place out to private groups as well. Smoking, drinking, drugs, and swearing loudly are absolutely prohibited; respect their rules.

You wouldn't think a bible camp's little-used course would amount to much, but it really is one of the best in Oregon. The first hole goes steeply uphill through trees, the second is a dogleg left, the third is downhill toward a meadow and then flat, the fourth is a nasty uphill with an extreme dogleg right, the fifth is a long s-curve through the trees... and so on. The second-to-last hole is a monster downhill toward a small lake, and the last one goes 250' over the corner of the lake. Because you're only allowed to play when camp ISN'T in session, it'll probably be very quiet and peaceful, and you might even have the whole course to yourself.

Almost every hole has an obvious, well-sculpted fairway. Go off course, though, and you might be in a world of hurt. There's very few blackberries and no poison oak, so you'll probably find your disc, but with all the trees, you might not find an easy route to the pin. Accuracy is rewarded much more than distance... and I don't think I'd recommend this course for beginners.

By the way, Tadmor used to be even further out of the way, but with the recent opening of the 18-hole course at Waterloo County Park (which is on the way from Albany or Corvallis), it's easier to justify the drive out there. Still a full 2 hours from Portland, though.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.