Cape May Court House, NJ 
Cape May County Park/Zoo Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #8
4 / 272ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Off-season, it's stupid fun

1    11/27/2014   12/2/2014
Review By: Sketto
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well, I played over Thanksgiving break when very few people were around and I think that made a big difference. If I were to pretend that the quiet park is always like that, then I'd say that this course could be almost decent once they added some tee pads and signage. And moved some holes. Oh, and fixed the broken basket on #5.

I have to say that I kind of enjoyed throwing around swing sets, through pavilions, down paved roads into blind curves where cars might be coming, across picnic areas with grills and benches, around cute little bridges and through parking lots. But again, it was late November and almost no one was around. My group, which was down the shore for the holiday, had a ton of fun. The whole course really just plays through a nice little local park that looks really nice for picnics and strolling with the kids. I cannot imagine even trying to play here in any kind of nice weather and certainly not in the summertime.

It's really kind of like an endless safari hole where you just kinda make up where the tee pad is each time. My group decided that whoever had the teebox got to decide where it "should" be, since in reality there weren't any and the sign for each hole was right next to the previous basket. I'm not making that last part up. Literally, the sign (not that it's readable anyway) for each hole is within 10 feet of the basket. Depending on where you decide the teebox is, you might hit the previous hole's basket on your backswing.

But again, it's kind of ridiculous, poorly designed, and yet, somehow we had a lot of fun because the park was empty. Without that, I wouldn't even bother playing.
Cons: No way this course could be played in the summertime with any people around at all. Every single hole plays through high traffic areas, including right over (or through!) picnic areas and pavilions. Not exaggerating.

Hole number 5 is particularly silly because it plays pretty long into a dogleg, but the first shot will land precisely in the middle of the road that leads into the park. It's not a highway or anything. The speed limit is posted as 9.5mph (really), but still it's a used road. So, a perfect drive that sets up the second approach into the woods will land exactly in the road or right next to it. And it's a far enough shot that you can't 100% anticipate who is nearby or if a car will swing into view. It's so ridiculous, we just laughed when we realized exactly how you were supposed to play.

No teepads anywhere and it can get swampy and muddy in rainy weather. Also can be covered in geese and their poop at times.

Only 9 holes. However, that is not terrible because the course does actually play well backwards, which kinda gives you the feel of a full 18.
Other Thoughts: As weird and as small as the course is, you can get a fun round in if you play backwards, and try to remember to have fun and just treat it like a make-it-up-as-you-go safari round. It's really not a great course, but if you're down the Jersey shore, it's one of few options.

Again, you cannot play this course if there is any pedestrian traffic at all. It plays right through the busiest areas. Must play off-season.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Cape May

5+    7/15/2014   8/15/2014
Review By: Abrigh1
Played: 26  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -First off, thanks to whoever made this course happen. I love coming down to the shore and having something other than sitting on the beach to do. What other things at the shore are free?? Seriously? It costs money just to walk on the sand down here.
-Nice baskets with ample area to throw from
-Cool risk/reward shots near water and woods
-Challenging and you can turn it into 18 holes if played in reverse after 9
-Close to the beach and there is a zoo right there
-FREE (so no complaints here)
-Nice mix of shots
-Requires technical shots to get a low score
Cons: -One basket was mangled by a falling tree
-Throws into the water means you lose disc because it is so swampy
-People in the park can be an issue, but I haven't had a problem before
-5th hole kinda stinks, but it is a necessary evil given their space provided
-No long bomber shots to be had
Other Thoughts: This course seems to turn some people off, but it truly is the only option in the area.

Remember IT'S FREE, so enjoy it. I found the layout to be good except for the 5th hole that goes across the road but it really wasn't an issue in any of the 30 times I've played here.

I also found that playing 9 holes can become very boring, but tried playing the course backwards and it made it so much better. Playing in reverse isn't an issue because I am almost always the only person out there and it provides 9 new holes (even if you are throwing at the same baskets). If you want to try it, just play the 9 regularly, then walk about 200 feet away from the 9th basket and throw back again. Then play 11-18 at the previous basket.

Don't listen to some of the other reviewers, this course is fun. It may not be perfect but it sure is fun to play and then go to the zoo afterwards for free.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pull Up the Baskets and Just End It

1    6/30/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: weencycle
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I try, but I can't think of any pros.
Cons: This course is unplayable. Do not waste your time. I read all the reviews, that said "don't waste your time", and I ignored them. Let me reiterate, "don't waste your time". They should pull up the baskets and just end disc golf at this location, because it is soo poorly designed that you can't play it.

Maybe,... MAYBE, if you were there in the dead of winter, or at dawn, it might be playable, but at any other time, there are just too many people in the way, too many cars in the way, and no signage.

I played it, because it's 10 minutes from my girlfriend's parent's house on a weekend in the summer. Bad mistake. The first hole was playable, despite the lack of a tee pad, and despite the ton of goose crap. The second hole, we had to avoid cars and park goers. Third hole we decided to skip to the fourth hole, because there were too many people, and also didn't want to throw blindly across pond toward basket. Fourth hole we hit people and cars, and didn't complete. So, we went to the fifth hole. After walking around for 10 minutes looking for the fifth hole, then realizing there were (no exaggeration) 50-60 people picnicking in a pavilion in the middle of the fairway, we decided to go home.
Other Thoughts: I'm trying to get my girlfriend into the sport, so we can play together, but we took 10 steps back after Cape May, because she was soo turned off.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disc golf at the beach

1    7/1/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: imasepo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you're just looking for something to do on a cloudy day, the course is passable enough to enjoy the day.
Cons: There are no tee pads. The 3rd hole has no true landing area after throwing over a goose pooed pond. Warning: if your disc goes in the water, leave it; the pond is filthy. Branches overhand most flight paths so it's less a game of skill (and drives) and more just a day of practicing putts.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 For Diehards Only

1    7/19/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 hole course with Innova Discatcher baskets located in a small but nice county park. An oversized course map and disc golf rules board are located by the first tee. Basic signs with par, distance and map are located at each tee off area. Hole 3 is a nice risk/reward hole where one can lay up before a pond or try to clear it and shoot a gap to the basket. Navigation is very easy. Decent venue for kids learning the game.
Cons: No tee pads. The tee signs are literally located 10-12 feet from the previous basket. Many safety issues here involving the potential for injury to pedestrians, joggers or picnickers near the course. The tee 4 sign is missing, basket number 6 is horribly bent and I never did figure out where "hole 10" was.
Other Thoughts: I hit this course on the way back from a trip to Cape Henlopen in Delaware.This place was about what I expected- which isn't much. Cape May Park would improve tremendously with some distinctive tee pads and a revised set up away from park traffic. And hole 5 takes the prize for "most dangerous and ridiculously designed hole" on a 9-hole course. As it stands, Cape May is really only good for some casual practice. At least I aced the 113 ft. hole 7 while here, so it wasn't a complete waste of time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Poor Design

1    4/19/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: snowdisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is in a nice park, with a zoo and picnic areas. It could become a good beginner course if it was reworked to avoid the roads and picnic areas.
Cons: I do not know how this course was approved? All of the safety issues to start, The tee signs are all faded and you end up almost as far away as possible from the first tee.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pound Sand

1    11/21/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sandy turf offers soft landing areas for your discs and your joints. Some thrill as there's water in play on 2 baskets. (2,3) There are also numerous ace possibilities including a 100 foot wide open hole. (6) Two multi throw hole where landing properly is essential. (3,5)
It's a quick play and if played during off times provides you with a disc golf fix if you happen to be at the South Jersey Shore. Pretty Lake and a pretty park with trees providing plenty of shuleless cover for a hot day. Basically you're just goofing off here and going for an ace or introducing the game to a newcomer.
Cons: Obviously the fact that it plays through a heavily used picnic area with pavillions, benches, and tables not only nearby but astonishingly in play. Too easy for a more experienced player and too dangerous for most beginners due to the water holes requiring clearing and avoiding the lake. Roads, paths and conflicts seemingly on every throw. Holes 2 & 3 had huge curious hedgerows growing in front of it that made for blind shots to the basket...in a better setting this would work but given the fact that often people will be nearby....dangerous. Hole 5 was a huge dogleg that was more aptly described as throw down the road and then through the picnic area. Basket for 5 was damaged and bent up as well. So many flaws that despite the play it backwards option I had seen enough and doubted playing it backwards would add much except for doubling my ace chances....so I left I was in a hurry. I probably couldve played it backwards in near the time the walk from 9 back to the entrance of the park where the course began. I felt like a sucker after wasting the gas to get here but I had wanted to play here for years and being in nearby Vineland was enough of an excuse. I should add the tee signs were not that helpful and there is no way to tell a FTer where the tee shot should go (no tee whatsoever, I was using forensic science and reading sneaker prints in the sand)...in a weird twist the fact that the tee was always next to the prior basket (10 ft) actually aided in navigation.
Other Thoughts: I would only play if you are in the area and able to play it off season or off hours. It's not the worst course it just has safety concerns which really hurt the experience here. If the course did not have a zoo and a picnic grove present I would rate it twice as high due to the lake and pleasant shade trees and soft soils. Unfortunately thats not reality.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Slicker than Goose Poo!

1    11/3/2008   6/23/2009
Review By: BigJ198
Played: 84  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.6 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Water holes! Throws through trees and then over water. (Unless you want to lay up) Water is nearby on a few others.
Cons: Goose Poo everywhere! (wear cleats!)
Crowded, except during the off-season.
Other Thoughts: This course can be fun, but it is outdated with the introduction of modern golf discs. I would up my rating if they re-installed the blue ufo-looking baskets they used to have. I have never seen those anywhere else.They were frappin' awesome!

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner course

5+    12/2/2008   12/14/2008
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2009
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course to teach the kids on. Some challenging holes (like 5 and 3 which are a 90 degree dog leg and a shot through woods over a geese pond respectfully) There is a fair amount of tough shots through and under trees. There are also quite a few of nice and open shots. The course offers a very nice and relaxing atmosphere (at least it does in the offseason).
Cons: Holes one and three you have to play through tee pads that are covered in goose poop and hole three is typically covered with geese. Impossible to play 18 holes (holes 1-9 backwards) if anybody else is playing. Hole 5 fairway is over a pretty busy road that you have to be careful not to hit any of the vehicles driving by, walkers or runners. If you are going during the summer you have to watch out for picnicers, zoogoers and other DG'ers.
Other Thoughts: Hole 10 is throwing from the small picnic pavilion F to the ninth basket. You can also start throwing backwards from this point. Hole 1 is close to the anchor and right off the side of the pond. If you decide to brave the summer traffic on the weekends either go at dawn (when the park opens) or later in the day after the zoo has closed as there will be less people there. Zoo closes around 3:30-4 so I would recommend going around 5-6 in the evening.

The posted pictures I took after we had some heavy rain so there typically isnt that much water there.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Another course you can say you've played!

1    6/21/2006   12/9/2008
Review By: Acerun1
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.6 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice scenic park. Short, finesse holes that can challenge some of the shots in your bag. It's a good course to take the kids with you!!
Cons: Poor signage, and difficult to navigate, even though it's a very short course. Being that it's a public park with water, there is the standard overabundance of goose/other waterfowl dung throughout the course. Depositors of said dung were mildly aggressive, at times, also. Although I never really felt threatened by them.
Other Thoughts: I, too, played in the early morning, and can only imagine how crowded this park would be mid-day. Indeed a nice escape from the typical "beach vacation activities!"

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.