Cape May Court House, NJ
Cape May County Park/Zoo Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #3
4 / 319ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pull Up the Baskets and Just End It

1    6/30/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: weencycle
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I try, but I can't think of any pros.
Cons: This course is unplayable. Do not waste your time. I read all the reviews, that said "don't waste your time", and I ignored them. Let me reiterate, "don't waste your time". They should pull up the baskets and just end disc golf at this location, because it is soo poorly designed that you can't play it.

Maybe,... MAYBE, if you were there in the dead of winter, or at dawn, it might be playable, but at any other time, there are just too many people in the way, too many cars in the way, and no signage.

I played it, because it's 10 minutes from my girlfriend's parent's house on a weekend in the summer. Bad mistake. The first hole was playable, despite the lack of a tee pad, and despite the ton of goose crap. The second hole, we had to avoid cars and park goers. Third hole we decided to skip to the fourth hole, because there were too many people, and also didn't want to throw blindly across pond toward basket. Fourth hole we hit people and cars, and didn't complete. So, we went to the fifth hole. After walking around for 10 minutes looking for the fifth hole, then realizing there were (no exaggeration) 50-60 people picnicking in a pavilion in the middle of the fairway, we decided to go home.
Other Thoughts: I'm trying to get my girlfriend into the sport, so we can play together, but we took 10 steps back after Cape May, because she was soo turned off.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Disc golf at the beach

1    7/1/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: imasepo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're just looking for something to do on a cloudy day, the course is passable enough to enjoy the day.
Cons: There are no tee pads. The 3rd hole has no true landing area after throwing over a goose pooed pond. Warning: if your disc goes in the water, leave it; the pond is filthy. Branches overhand most flight paths so it's less a game of skill (and drives) and more just a day of practicing putts.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

For Diehards Only

1    7/19/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 0.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole course with Innova Discatcher baskets located in a small but nice county park. An oversized course map and disc golf rules board are located by the first tee. Basic signs with par, distance and map are located at each tee off area. Hole 3 is a nice risk/reward hole where one can lay up before a pond or try to clear it and shoot a gap to the basket. Navigation is very easy. Decent venue for kids learning the game.
Cons: No tee pads. The tee signs are literally located 10-12 feet from the previous basket. Many safety issues here involving the potential for injury to pedestrians, joggers or picnickers near the course. The tee 4 sign is missing, basket number 6 is horribly bent and I never did figure out where "hole 10" was.
Other Thoughts: I hit this course on the way back from a trip to Cape Henlopen in Delaware.This place was about what I expected- which isn't much. Cape May Park would improve tremendously with some distinctive tee pads and a revised set up away from park traffic. And hole 5 takes the prize for "most dangerous and ridiculously designed hole" on a 9-hole course. As it stands, Cape May is really only good for some casual practice. At least I aced the 113 ft. hole 7 while here, so it wasn't a complete waste of time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Poor Design

1    4/19/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: snowdisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is in a nice park, with a zoo and picnic areas. It could become a good beginner course if it was reworked to avoid the roads and picnic areas.
Cons: I do not know how this course was approved? All of the safety issues to start, The tee signs are all faded and you end up almost as far away as possible from the first tee.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pound Sand

1    11/21/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sandy turf offers soft landing areas for your discs and your joints. Some thrill as there's water in play on 2 baskets. (2,3) There are also numerous ace possibilities including a 100 foot wide open hole. (6) Two multi throw hole where landing properly is essential. (3,5)
It's a quick play and if played during off times provides you with a disc golf fix if you happen to be at the South Jersey Shore. Pretty Lake and a pretty park with trees providing plenty of shuleless cover for a hot day. Basically you're just goofing off here and going for an ace or introducing the game to a newcomer.
Cons: Obviously the fact that it plays through a heavily used picnic area with pavillions, benches, and tables not only nearby but astonishingly in play. Too easy for a more experienced player and too dangerous for most beginners due to the water holes requiring clearing and avoiding the lake. Roads, paths and conflicts seemingly on every throw. Holes 2 & 3 had huge curious hedgerows growing in front of it that made for blind shots to the basket...in a better setting this would work but given the fact that often people will be nearby....dangerous. Hole 5 was a huge dogleg that was more aptly described as throw down the road and then through the picnic area. Basket for 5 was damaged and bent up as well. So many flaws that despite the play it backwards option I had seen enough and doubted playing it backwards would add much except for doubling my ace chances....so I left I was in a hurry. I probably couldve played it backwards in near the time the walk from 9 back to the entrance of the park where the course began. I felt like a sucker after wasting the gas to get here but I had wanted to play here for years and being in nearby Vineland was enough of an excuse. I should add the tee signs were not that helpful and there is no way to tell a FTer where the tee shot should go (no tee whatsoever, I was using forensic science and reading sneaker prints in the sand)...in a weird twist the fact that the tee was always next to the prior basket (10 ft) actually aided in navigation.
Other Thoughts: I would only play if you are in the area and able to play it off season or off hours. It's not the worst course it just has safety concerns which really hurt the experience here. If the course did not have a zoo and a picnic grove present I would rate it twice as high due to the lake and pleasant shade trees and soft soils. Unfortunately thats not reality.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Slicker than Goose Poo!

1    11/3/2008   6/23/2009
Review By: BigJ198
Played: 84  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.9 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Water holes! Throws through trees and then over water. (Unless you want to lay up) Water is nearby on a few others.
Cons: Goose Poo everywhere! (wear cleats!)
Crowded, except during the off-season.
Other Thoughts: This course can be fun, but it is outdated with the introduction of modern golf discs. I would up my rating if they re-installed the blue ufo-looking baskets they used to have. I have never seen those anywhere else.They were frappin' awesome!

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner course

5+    12/2/2008   12/14/2008
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 73  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2009
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course to teach the kids on. Some challenging holes (like 5 and 3 which are a 90 degree dog leg and a shot through woods over a geese pond respectfully) There is a fair amount of tough shots through and under trees. There are also quite a few of nice and open shots. The course offers a very nice and relaxing atmosphere (at least it does in the offseason).
Cons: Holes one and three you have to play through tee pads that are covered in goose poop and hole three is typically covered with geese. Impossible to play 18 holes (holes 1-9 backwards) if anybody else is playing. Hole 5 fairway is over a pretty busy road that you have to be careful not to hit any of the vehicles driving by, walkers or runners. If you are going during the summer you have to watch out for picnicers, zoogoers and other DG'ers.
Other Thoughts: Hole 10 is throwing from the small picnic pavilion F to the ninth basket. You can also start throwing backwards from this point. Hole 1 is close to the anchor and right off the side of the pond. If you decide to brave the summer traffic on the weekends either go at dawn (when the park opens) or later in the day after the zoo has closed as there will be less people there. Zoo closes around 3:30-4 so I would recommend going around 5-6 in the evening.

The posted pictures I took after we had some heavy rain so there typically isnt that much water there.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Another course you can say you've played!

1    6/21/2006   12/9/2008
Review By: Acerun1
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.9 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice scenic park. Short, finesse holes that can challenge some of the shots in your bag. It's a good course to take the kids with you!!
Cons: Poor signage, and difficult to navigate, even though it's a very short course. Being that it's a public park with water, there is the standard overabundance of goose/other waterfowl dung throughout the course. Depositors of said dung were mildly aggressive, at times, also. Although I never really felt threatened by them.
Other Thoughts: I, too, played in the early morning, and can only imagine how crowded this park would be mid-day. Indeed a nice escape from the typical "beach vacation activities!"

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Play at the shore

7/17/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: alteredpov
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2008
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice lake. It's a course at the shore. #5 was fun it is over a water and a road 90 degree dog leg and then a long straight away.
Cons: Playing through picnic areas... I went early tho and didn't have any problems, just had to wait for a few cars and people to pass. No tee sign at 3 but just through from basket 2 and shoot just to the right of the bridge (on the other side)
Other Thoughts: I was a nice break from the regular shore activities. Hole 9 is not close to where you start so play backwards for 18 holes if you can.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Well it's your only option around here

4/25/2008   4/29/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2008
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Scenic lake, very pretty here. Challenging water holes. Decent signs.
Cons: TONS of people, everywhere. Hole 5, the most challenging, goes over and along a much-used road, and then around pavilions. Almost every hole is an anhyzer shot. Have to play backwards to make it 18 holes, which would be impossible if anyone else is playing. No tees (make your own near each hole sign, plus the anchor / pavilion for 1 and 10).
Other Thoughts: Bring some discs to the south Jersey shore, and try to get in some holes at the crack of dawn (posted opening of the park: 9am but people were violating this) or right before dusk. First tee is by the anchor; 10th tee (throwing to hole 9) is the small pavilion.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.