Hutchinson, KS 
Carey Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 265ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    10/15/2013   10/16/2013
Review By: BCpreheim
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8
Pros: Course flows very with with a good variety of technical and air-out holes. Fairly well kept.
Cons: Grass spurs get all over your legs. I would recommend wearing long pants. A few holes go very close to roads and others are a bit forgettable.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fun course that I would recommend if you are in the area.

  Hutch

5+    7/2/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: JoseMoonfur
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As a beginner I found Carey Park challenginging enough to help my game improve, but not so difficult that I lost disks. There is a nice mix of short technical holes and long holes. Great place to learn the game.
Cons: Sand burs and sand. You will have to clean out your shoes when your round is done.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 hutch course

5+    1/28/2011   1/28/2011
Review By: DTB501
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, easy to navigate, good mix of tougher and easier holes.
The terrain varies quite a bit making it fairly challenging.
Course is nice and well kept, doesn't overcrowd very easily.
Cons: The course is full of sand spurs. You will be very likely to get them if you aren't careful. Also when it rains excessively holes 4 through 6 can be flooded pretty bad. If this happens especially in the spring or summer bring plenty of mosquito repellent, the bugs will bite.
Other Thoughts: Overall great course, fun and challenging to play on for anyone at any level. I'm a Hutchinson native so I'm a little partial to this course. But if you are ever traveling and come through Hutchinson, Kansas. I would highly recommend playing on this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Place To Play

5+    10/23/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: breaking the chains
Played: 284  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to learn on. It requires a wide variety of shots without being too challenging. Nice mix of short and longer holes. The course has been mowed in a true links style so that well-defined fairways and rough exist. Outside of a couple holes close to the pond, it is very difficult to lose a disc. Excellent concrete tee pads and signs that make the course easy to follow.
Cons: Outside of a couple of elevated buckets and tee pads, there is very little change in elevation. The wind is almost always a factor, but that adds to the challenge of the course. The rough. If you land here, look out for the sandburs. They will be all over your shoes, pants, and bag.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and where I learned the game. As much as I've played it, I still enjoying playing here. It is very common to see many out-of-towners playing here, which strengthens the claim of this being a fun course to play. My daughter even enjoys playing at Carey Park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    7/12/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: Duramax86
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: A large variety of shots. Trees, pond, road,and sandtraps to contend with. Nice concrete pads. Very quiet course. never more than 6 people there at any given time.
Cons: Sandburrs everywhere. Also gets a lot of large water holes if you want to play after a rain. There are also fishermens vehicles sitting in the way sometimes for the shot that goes past the pond
Other Thoughts: will definately come around and play this course again!

 Great Beginner Course

5+    9/30/2008   6/19/2010
Review By: seymourdiscgolf
Played: 120  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great beginner course. This was my first course, a good buddy got me started here in 2002. Flat, wide open holes but still several cedars and cottonwoods to to keep it interesting. Pond comes into play on 1 maybe 2 holes (2 if you griplock #6). Located in the far southeast portion of the park so you don't have to worry about many people other than fellow discer's.
Cons: Fox tail grass that gets in your socks at times of the year and a fierce Kansas wind!
Other Thoughts: HAPPY DISCIN'!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good recreational course

5+    1/13/2009   1/13/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Plays fast. Grounds are well maintained by city. Rarely crowded. Has actual bunkers! Good for novice players. Still fun for advanced players.
Cons: Course has lost a lot of trees in the last couple of years, taking away some of the challenge. Sandburrs, sandburrs, sandburrs everywhere.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, so I tend to have a favorable opinion of it. Needless to say, it has not been treated kindly by the elements the past couple of years. Much of the spring and summer of 2007, several parts of the course were under water. Not long after that, a number of evergreen trees, many of which were planted with the course in mind, were killed by pine blight. The following winter, an ice storm damaged several of the hardwood trees, many of which had to be cut down or are scheduled to be. This has significantly reduced the challenge of the course. I would actually call the terrain lightly wooded as opposed to moderately. Advances in disc technology since its inception have also "shortened" it, so generally when we have our annual tournament here, we tweak the layout a bit.

Sandburr plants are a menace here and its next to impossible to get through the course without picking up a few burrs on your bag, pants, socks or shoestrings. The burrs are their worst in summer and fall.

Despite the detractions, this is wonderful course to learn the game on, or introduce newbies to the game. Water only comes into significant play on Hole #4. The course has four holes that have actual sand bunkers on them. If you land in one, or any area on the course designated as a bunker (see tee signs for details), you must take your next shot upside down. Along with the pond on #4, the main park road and a fence provide for OB obstacles.

Not the most outstanding course in the area, but worth the stop if you're in town or passing through. Not far off of US--50 or K-61.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best in area!

2-4    11/25/2008   12/4/2008
Review By: Randy Sharp
Played: 47  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great challenging course for seasoned amateur or advanced. Some long holes, mixed with just enough birdie holes to par out.
Cons: Is it always windy in Kansas?!!
Other Thoughts: My favorite in the area. A must for the area visitor. A bulletin board would be helpful to out of towners who might wish to join a local club round.
A few of the baskets have been hit by mowers, but not enough damage to alter your putts.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I liked it

1    9/1/2008   9/10/2008
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 142  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great signs and tees.
- Secluded area at the back end of a park which means you don't have many non-DGers getting in the way.
- Well groomed with some water and rough... nothing overboard, just enough to make you aware of it.
Cons: - No elevation changes but we are talking about Western Kansas here... the course designer can't be expected to work miracles.
- No really memorable holes.
Other Thoughts: My favorite of the four Kansas courses I played on a recent trip.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 favorite kansas course so far

7/2/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really nice piece of land with tunnels and stands of tall cottonwoods and short pines. Sandy grass well mowed. Cement tees and most signs intact. Course map. Good length and mix of technical shots and open guarded pins.
Cons: Not many..it's only 18 holes if that counts. Was hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Top notch Kansas Disc Golf.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.