Disc Golf Center
Chapel Hill, NC 
UNC DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
4 / 467ft.   4 / 467ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Mixed Bag

2-4    5/24/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 178  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2013
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: UNC brings a ton of variety and not just in itself. The course stands in stark contrast with most of the area courses, with multiple open holes and numerous chances to fire off bombs. That just doesn't happen around here and I can see why people would relish the opportunity.

But there is also a lot of variety on this course itself. It moves from tight wooded holes to the aforementioned open spaces, back to the woods and once again on open, freshly mowed fairways. Holes go left, right, up and down. Sometimes more than one direction at once. There is just a ton of different things happening on this course.

And there are some great holes. The highlight for me is that second set of opens. The 13 tee is at the exit of the woods and its a long, 467-foot uphill climb across a gorgeous glen. 14 is next and its an over-the-valley shot across a loooong valley, daring you to make the distance. The final shot in the meadow is a straight downhill burner to a pin backed by shrubbery.

16 is equally awesome if you can find it. It's over a valley again but this one is wooded. The holes leading up the meadow,(9,10) uphill, through the woods are also outstanding. The set of good holes here are well worth coming back for. The chance to throw a bunch of everything only enhances the desire.
Cons: A lot of factors keep this course from being the top-notch course it could be. First, the signs are old, worn-out and all but useless. On 2 I shot blind to where the basket supposedly was. Finding no basket, I was confused. In the distance there was a basket marked "3." More confusing. Eventually I figured out that it was mislabeled and misplaced.

Then there's the baskets. From the looks of them, they were the first disc golf baskets ever fashioned. But that's just the extra stuff. The bigger issue is the flow, or lack thereof. There are some long walks and in general it does not transition well from hole to hole. The route you are expected to find between 15 and 16 is insane. (Have a map, or walk to the 17 basket and backtrack) That's not the only tee that expects you to know how to find it. 3 and 6 are plenty hidden.

Yet still, the biggest problem is the dud holes. They needed three completely flat, completely open holes? (4, 6, 8) 5 is open too, but it's nice with the creek crossing midway. All-together, the 4-9 stretch is not very interesting or challenging.

18 is ok, but after the long, long, long walk to get there from 17, it's completely anti-climactic. But that dings the flow more than the hole design. The good hole probably outnumber the problematic ones here, but unfortunately, all the "other stuff" here is subpar.
Other Thoughts: So in summation, there are things I really like about UNC, and things I really dislike. It's not the best course in the area, but it probably could be. There is a lot of variety and some very good holes, but also some bad ones. It's a true mixed bag.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/22/2012   1/25/2012
Review By: TheSkid
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I like this course.It has an awesome terrain. Lots of valleys to throw over and plenty rolling hills to throw over. This is a very scenic course.
Cons: A lack of signs makes it possible to skip holes 16-17 completely.
Other Thoughts: I like this course.I have only played it twice. Both times were enjoyable. Not too hard, not to easy. with a nice ace run on 16.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Traveler

1    4/24/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: Alex Torres
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very nice use of tight wooded holes and wide open holes. I also like how the people zip line right over the holes, that was cool. Short but nice course.
Cons: Sign showing were the course starts from the parking lot. Couple of holes are in the repair mode , it would be nice to play again when the coures is fixed. Map of whole coures at the start of a first tee, would be nice.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A dissenting opinion

2-4    4/10/2009   4/10/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2009
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All the holes are signed with decent hole diagrams and pointers to the next tee. Plenty of elevation variety and a mix of open and wooded holes. 13-15 are well designed open holes that are fun to play and make good use of the hills. 5 and 18 are decent open holes while 1, 2, 16, 17 are decent wooded ones; none except 2 really present much challenge though.
Cons: Course maintenance is good as far as grass cutting and such goes, however the standards are not in very good condition and are not numbered correctly. A few of the signs have somewhat inaccurate hole diagrams.

Unlike other people I do not find this course presents a ton of shot variety. Most holes are straight or have only a slight curve left or right. The beginning and middle of the course are fairly generic straight and/or open holes; 4, 6, and 8 being the worst candidates here. 10 is a very aggravating "pray it doesn't hit a tree" hole that presents little to no flight line and, as a result, it plays too long.

12 is an annoying hole because it plays alongside a baseball field.... that is down an extremely high and steep slope. It is much too easy for a beginner to throw a RHBH and have the natural disc curve take it over the small fence and onto this slope or even down onto the ball field. 18 also plays along a fenced area, but the fence is much higher so takes a much more errant shot for it to come into play.

The course is not too hard to navigate thanks to the signs. However, after #5, as you exit to the right, there are two paths that split off. If you take the left one that goes away from 5's tee you get to 6, if you take the other one you start backtracking and get dumped out on 14 after a long walk, so be careful.
Other Thoughts: NauticalUrge's directions in the review below are slightly inaccurate due to course additions. 2's tee is very close to 1's basket and heads back parallel to 1, though is longer. The next holes are a bit confusing. #3, as NU says plays from the left of the pond. Then there is another hole with two tees that require a little backtracking. One tee plays over the pond and the other is on the side of the pond opposite of #3. This should be #4, but according to the signs #4 is the hole after that is a long throw into the field. I think this is the old #2 and the hole signs have yet to be updated.

I'm not a big fan of the trapezoid tees because they limit your ability to shape your run up. I'm pretty sure #1 and/or #2 are "new" or altered holes not in the original layout so some signs may not yet be updated. I'm not really sure though, I'd like to see an official map of the course.

I've never figured out the deal with the parking lot. There is a sign marking this as a "T" student parking pass area for UNC-CH but I've never gotten a ticket there and few cars actually have UNC parking passes on them.

Finally, I've noticed I've gotten several "thumbs down" ratings for this review. As I mentioned, many people like this course so my 3.0 rating is just a reflection of my personal opinion, please don't rate me poorly just because you like the course and I put it at a 3 (which is still a "good"). Also, if my above hole directions are incorrect, that is only because I have no way of finding out what the official layout of the course is supposed to be (the map in the links appears to be outdated).

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Medium/Short Course

1    10/25/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: Justin L
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate, good variety of shots, well maintained. Overall a very enjoyable course.
Cons: A few "huck and pray" holes, no discernible lines for an Intermediate to Advanced player anyway. A little short in places for anyone that can throw over 350'.
Other Thoughts: With a little more thought to some of the lines on the shorter holes this could be a top notch course.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.