Chapel Hill, NC 
UNC DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 242ft.   3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Diverse Course

5+    3/11/2014   3/23/2014
Review By: DiabolicalHeel
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course has every type of hole, wooded, open, even one requiring you to clear water
-Many of the holes just look awesome from the tee box. The use of terrain makes just about every hole feel different and fresh and keeps it interesting throughout the full round
-There are 6 air it out holes on the course which you don't find much of in the area
-Many holes offer great risk reward shot layouts
Cons: -Poor signage. The first time you come to play the course, good luck. Finding holes 16 and 17 was particularly challenging.
-When the vegetation grows in some holes can be real disc eaters
-The course drains water terribly. If it rains within 3 days of when you are playing get ready to get a little bit muddy
-The course is a huge loop which makes it nearly impossible to just play a quick 9. Be ready to play them all.
Other Thoughts: This course is the best in area in my opinion. When you want to find a course that will truly test all aspects of your game this is the course you should play in the area. Just make sure before you go out that you park at hole 8/9 so you don't get ticketed, remember if its rained lately you will get muddy, and get ready to be tested on all your shots. This is a great course and one I would consider a can't miss if you're in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The only thing worth doing in Chapel Hill

2-4    8/15/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: Tenacious EJ
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 21 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Mixes it up with a solid variety of holes
-Some truly beautiful holes
-Excellent use of the topography
-Just plain fun
Cons: -Poor signage
-Can definitely be confusing the first time
-Less than family friendly
-Broken glass everywhere!!!
-Missing the fairway is gonna cost you, hopefully just a stroke or two, but possibly a disc or two
Other Thoughts: Yes, I look up and see more cons than pros, but do not let this keep you from playing this course! UNC's course is, quite simply, the only reason I ever need go to Chapel Hill, or indeed, step foot on University property. Almost every hole has something to offer.

As a non-student, I started on Hole 9, which is the recommended starting point for non-students with non-parking passes. You'll find a putting basket here, so that's nice. These couple of wooded holes (9-11) are generally free of the thick underbrush that you'll find later on if you miss the fairways. All 3 all use elevation and tight passages quite well. Hole 12 is short and simple, but gives you a glimpse of the fact that 1- you're on a college campus, and 2- all that 2 foot tall crap on your left is in abundance on this course, so tread carefully or lose plastic. Holes 13-15 are open, air-it-out kinds of holes that are just beautiful, and wonderfully designed holes, especially 14. Holes 16 and 17 take you back into the woods and traverse a deep ravine, so land that shot correctly or risk rolling down a long way. Hole 18 is in a creek bed that is apparently also a garbage dump. It has two baskets, neither of which have the number 18 on them. Its not terrible, and due to the bracken, clutter, and debris, its definitely a challenge. Once you've made the journey to Hole 1, passing by the tennis players and failing to navigate the rock wall, you'll find another nice hole in the woods. Its followed by Hole 2, which is not a nice hole in the woods. Its probably the most difficult hole on the course, with no discernible fairway or lane through the trees, which is a darn shame because its still pretty great. It boasts a pin placement stuck between some large boulders on a steep hillside that is definitely a putting challenge no matter where you are approaching it from. Too bad then that my pretty great tee shot hit some low-hanging leaves that not only killed it, but caused it to roll downhill and backward. This hole needs some major maintenance to be the fantastic hole it could be. Hole 3 tees off over a small pond, and the close pin placement is aceable if you've got the guts to risk your disc to make it. Hole 4 is a throwaway- longish and straight and flat, and at a par 4 its just plain dull. Its also low, and usually quite wet. Hole 6 is similar but shorter- 4 and 6 are the least interesting on the course. Hole 5 is really nice however, forcing your tee shot to curve right then back left. Neither is a fun place to be, so you better hit that fairway! Hole 7 has a fantastic pin on the edge of a 12 ft high cliff, making putting interesting. Finishing up with Hole 8, which is nothing too dramatic or challenging, but it nicely brings you right back to where you parked. All the tees are plenty big enough.

The course wasn't too crowded when I played, but neither time was when Spring or Fall classes were in session. There were a few students however, and they were nice enough to curse quite loudly and vulgarly near my kids, whom they knew were there. But everyone seemed friendly enough. The signage is just horrendous though- I don't really consider a laminated sheet of paper much of a sign, and that's assuming they are actually there. They also don't relay par information. Many holes have benches, which is always appreciated, and some are even equipped with disc chargers, though I've had mixed results with them. Unfortunately, not all the benches are secured to the ground, which came as a surprise. Trash was also a problem, no doubt a result of the large number of drinking college students who play and the lack of trash cans on any hole. The bigger issue for me was the large amount of broken glass around the course. When you are traversing rocky, hilly terrain with lots of exposed roots, you can probably expect to trip or slip at least once, and the amount of glass present is unsettling. Navigating the course the first time is difficult- I've been told the course has been changed multiple times, and probably as a result most baskets are marked with the incorrect hole number. The official course map isn't much help if you ask me. There are numerous walking paths and trails criss-crossing the course leading you away from your next hole. The area around 9-12 was problematic, you may never find 16 after finishing 15, the walk from 18 to 1 is long and not marked, and the walk to 6 from 5 is also a hike. However, once you've walked it once its easy enough to remember, so take someone who knows the course with you the first time. For those starting on Hole 1, I guess Hole 18 is not really close to where you started, but you are also probably a student and walked to the course, so this is also not really an issue.

All in all, though it has some definite issues, this is one of my favorite courses, and I jumped at the chance to play it again. It could use some grooming and the signs and baskets need updating, but the course really plays well and certainly challenges you.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Bag

2-4    5/24/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 196  Reviewed: 188  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2014
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: UNC brings a ton of variety and not just in itself. The course stands in stark contrast with most of the area courses, with multiple open holes and numerous chances to fire off bombs. That just doesn't happen around here and I can see why people would relish the opportunity.

But there is also a lot of variety on this course itself. It moves from tight wooded holes to the aforementioned open spaces, back to the woods and once again on open, freshly mowed fairways. Holes go left, right, up and down. Sometimes more than one direction at once. There is just a ton of different things happening on this course.

And there are some great holes. The highlight for me is that second set of opens. The 13 tee is at the exit of the woods and its a long, 467-foot uphill climb across a gorgeous glen. 14 is next and its an over-the-valley shot across a loooong valley, daring you to make the distance. The final shot in the meadow is a straight downhill burner to a pin backed by shrubbery.

16 is equally awesome if you can find it. It's over a valley again but this one is wooded. The holes leading up the meadow,(9,10) uphill, through the woods are also outstanding. The set of good holes here are well worth coming back for. The chance to throw a bunch of everything only enhances the desire.
Cons: A lot of factors keep this course from being the top-notch course it could be. First, the signs are old, worn-out and all but useless. On 2 I shot blind to where the basket supposedly was. Finding no basket, I was confused. In the distance there was a basket marked "3." More confusing. Eventually I figured out that it was mislabeled and misplaced.

Then there's the baskets. From the looks of them, they were the first disc golf baskets ever fashioned. But that's just the extra stuff. The bigger issue is the flow, or lack thereof. There are some long walks and in general it does not transition well from hole to hole. The route you are expected to find between 15 and 16 is insane. (Have a map, or walk to the 17 basket and backtrack) That's not the only tee that expects you to know how to find it. 3 and 6 are plenty hidden.

Yet still, the biggest problem is the dud holes. They needed three completely flat, completely open holes? (4, 6, 8) 5 is open too, but it's nice with the creek crossing midway. All-together, the 4-9 stretch is not very interesting or challenging.

18 is ok, but after the long, long, long walk to get there from 17, it's completely anti-climactic. But that dings the flow more than the hole design. The good hole probably outnumber the problematic ones here, but unfortunately, all the "other stuff" here is subpar.
Other Thoughts: So in summation, there are things I really like about UNC, and things I really dislike. It's not the best course in the area, but it probably could be. There is a lot of variety and some very good holes, but also some bad ones. It's a true mixed bag.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Good times

2-4    1/21/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 45  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Awesome mixture of wooded, hilly, open, technical, and water holes.
- Plenty of parking
- Never to crowded to play right through
- multiple courses close by
- some holes on the back 9 you can really open up and rip a few good long drives
- some holes require thinking
Cons: - Directions dont take you to the right parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Good tough course that anyone can enjoy.. Watch out for that pond near holes 2 and 3.. Its bigger than it looks.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Well rounded course

5+    11/20/2012   1/19/2013
Review By: ActionJackson
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: You will use every shot in your arsenal to play this course. So many different shots. It is well maintained and the scenery is great. It has never been busy when I've been there however I am from wisconsin and have only played there in Nov.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Good course

5+    12/31/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: Seahawk
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 1/2/2013
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is nestled in the heart of Chapel Hill and is at the old Chapel Hill country club. A lot of the course is on old golf course fairways and is very well maintained. This is something you can't find too many other places and makes the course definitely worth a play. The best holes are hole 3 over the water, hole 14 across the valley, and hole 5 down the hill. There are concrete tee pads, benches, and trashcans throughout the course.
Cons: A .5 point deduction in my rating is because of the signage. There are (IMO bad) little signs on the holes and some holes don't even have them! The baskets don't have the correct numbers on them. Sometimes there are 2 tees or 2 baskets on the same hole and no direction on which one to use. There are some places where it is extremely confusing where to go and all it would take is $10 worth of arrows to be put up. The first time I played I spent a few hours wondering around. The other 1 point deduction comes from the lack of par 4s (only one)/5s(none) and the lack of (IMO) interesting holes. Most holes are straight shots through the open or straight shots through the woods.
Other Thoughts: The area doesn't drain well and even a few days after rain can be muddy, wear shoes you don't care terribly about!

Update: I decided to only take .5 off my rating for the signage because while it is horrible, after my first or second visit I had basically figured it out and it isn't a problem now. Plus, the course deserves the rating "very good" rather than "good." Just make sure if it is your first time going you look online and read the reviews/directions!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in the Triangle

2-4    12/6/2012   12/6/2012
Review By: pfpro
Played: 45  Reviewed: 36
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great mix! Elevation changes. Left, right, straight. Hole shapes. Open vs. wooded. Short and long. A water hole. I don't feel like there any "throw-away" holes (we need to get 1 more so we have 18....).
- This course is worn (other then 18), but not worn-out. There are benches at many of the holes. Concrete teepads for all holes. There are trash-cans (it's a clean park). If you know how to read the "tracks", you can find your way.
- I think what is best about this course is the overall design. The open holes are long - so you are rewarded for airing it out, and have the room to do so. The shorter holes are wooded, and reward accurate shots. They had a great piece on land to work with, and utilized it to it's fullest.
Cons: - The signs are adequate, but not great. It seems like there are out of date for some holes. Probably back in the day, they were good - now with the newer signs on many courses they are sub-par.
- Course flow - not the best. If you play regularly, it's probably not a big deal. For visitors, make sure you bring a map (if possible). The challenging transitions - 7-8: halfway down the fairway to the left, look for the little plank bridge. 15 to 16: look for the low orange sign marking the path in the woods to the right, about half-way down the fairway. 17-18: head back towards the basket for 15. Thanks for the paper signs. Hopefully some permanent ones get installed. 18 to 1: walk around the tennis courts to the right - you're heading towards the spot where the road that you can see coming down the hill hits the bottom.
Other Thoughts: - I have played starting at 1 and starting at 9. I prefer 9 - you get a little easier hole to start on.
- I think they have moved baskets around, so some of the numbers may not be correct. Don't be thrown by this. When I played, there weren't really places where you can get confused (maybe 9 - you might see 7, but if you look at the map on the tee, it's very straightforward).
- I don't particularly like the new hole 18. With the development of the high-ropes course, I see why they moved it, but that old hole was better then the long, straight tunnel shot. When I played, baskets were in both short and long positions, and I didn't see the long one from the tee - I was really disappointed - the short basket (don't know the distance, no tee sign) is a short, tight ace run. The long almost doubles the distance and puts the basket slightly to the right. To be honest, there are a lot of other great holes, if you start at 1, to end on 18, it's not quite up to par with the rest of the course.
- My personal favorite holes: 12 (I like throwing thumbers, that is an ace-run with no risk of losing a disc onto the softball field). 15 (down-hill straight shot onto a peninsula). 2 (tight, downhill to a basket on a rock-outcropping).
- I don't get to play this course too often - it's a little further for me then other courses, but it's a great course. If you're visiting the Triange for DG, it's a MUST PLAY.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Terrific Course, Lacking some refinement

1    5/23/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in an athletic/recreational section of UNC-Chapel Hill's campus.
- Plenty of parking where I ended up starting (holes #8 and 9 - see below for other thoughts)
- Variety of holes - half the course plays through some tightly wooded sections, while half plays in more open areas (apparently the site of an old ball golf course) that appeared to be mowed
- Gorgeous views - the ball golf holes really were something to see - from the long tunnels on 4 and 5, to the valley throw-over on 14, this course looked great
- U, D, L, R - this course had all shapes for its holes - among others, #10 and 13 playing uphill, #2 and 15 playing downhill, other going down then up, #7 and 12 going left to right, #8 and 9 going right to left - these are all mixed with woods and open
- Noted above, but good use of elevation - this course has some rolling hill sections, as well as some more rugged areas across small valleys/ditches in the woods - these are in contrast to the numerous flat holes that are interwoven - overall, the layout does not wear you out
- Nice DisCatchers stand out in the wooded sections
- Tee signs were there, showing distance and par, but they were in rough shape and I don't think they had a hole map
- Flush, concrete tee pads wider at the back for easy runup
- Multiple tees on some holes, multiple pin locations (one basket) on some holes
- Course map is available online and is pretty accurate
- Even the wooded holes were not too thick with downed foliage, so relatively low chance for lost disc, unless you really yank a drive on some of the open holes (13, 14, 15) - #12 is a short hole, but has some high stuff, I did spend some time looking for a drive gone long on #7
- There are some challenging pin positions here - #2 next to a drainage ditch, #15 on a plateau in front of a dropoff, etc.
- Not sure if there is any OB - water in play on a couple holes - pond throwover on #3, small creek on side of #4 and across #5
- Restrooms near hole #1 (which was mid-round for me)
- Benches on many holes
- No trash that I remember
- As mentioned, some real nice golf holes - #2 is a tight, wooded downhill shot to a pin perched near a drainage ditch, #3 is a pitch over a small pond, #5 is an absolute beauty playing slightly downhill, through a gap in trees growing up out of a creek bed to an open finish, #7 is an anny line through a wooded area, #12 (not popular by most apparently, but I really liked it) is a short, little anny that requires you to stay right or risk dropping down a fairly steep hill that runs down to a softball field (cool to overlook it), #14 is another beauty playing across a grassy down-up valley to a pin perched near a large, shady tree
Cons: - Course start and navigation - as mentioned a lot, the most common spot for people to park and start is at hole #9 - I'm sure there is a way to park and start at hole #1, but it's not the most accessible (maybe not at all for non-students?) - it could be worthwhile to re-number the holes and have a course map near this lot
- Navigation was a litt tough, even with the map, in a couple spots - had to search a bit to get from #15 to #16 (compounded by the "hole closed" sign mentioned above), also had to hunt for tee #1 - bit of a long walk from #5 to #6 with no clear directional sign
- Tee signs were not in good shape and I had to walk up some fairways to see where I was headed
- A couple fairways were a bit mucky after rain during the morning (#6 and 8, I think)
- A couple holes play under a ropes course zip-line and although I didn't encounter anyone, signs indicated that they will always have the right of way while you are playing
Other Thoughts: - Many reviews on here note that the baskets are mis-numbered - I don't really remember that, but since some of those reviews are recent, I have to assume it's still the case and I just didn't notice - using the course map should make this inconsequential
- Their tournament had just been played the weekend before and there was something about hole #16 being closed and being replaced by some alternate - I think I "ignored it properly" and played the correct/normal layout
- Another tourney sign said that basket #18 was in some long position, but I never found it and re-played the hole, assuming they mvoed it back to the short position

I think the course itself is top-notch and I was close to giving it a 4.5 due the variety, beauty and challenge. However, the poor tee signs, navigation, parking, hole #'s, etc. could all be improved upon to make it an overall top-notch experience. Once you get past those things, the holes themselves were terrific. This was my favorite course during my visit to the Raleigh area (out of 6 - UNC, Buckhorn, Zebulon, Middle Creek, Cedar Hills and Leigh Farm) and I hope to get back sometime. Would have loved to play it a second time, but I went up this way on my last day and still wanted to play Leigh Farms in the afternoon.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Hell yes! Go there!

5+    7/21/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: logjammin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2014
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent variety on the selection of holes. This course has it all. Open, tight wooded, uphill, downhill, level, valley, lefty, righty, straighty, long, short. You name it; it's there.

Some feasible ace opportunities, and some tough pars.

Baskets in good condition, highly visible.

Fairways are well-maintained. Open-field holes have mowed fairways; minimal undergrowth on wooded holes. 12 is an anomaly, it has shoulder-high trees and brush to throw over or around, but I think that's part of the design. 12 is one of the aforementioned ace runs.

Benches at every tee, I think.

Restrooms at hole 1.

Not a whole lot of non-dg traffic to worry about, although I had to throw over a couple of friendly young fisherpersons' heads at the pond today.

Everyone I've ever met there has been friendly, and willing to let others play through if they are moving slowly.
Cons: Signs could be more informative.

Course can be hard to navigate if you've never played there before, although if you copy my "other thoughts" or memorize them, you will make it okay.

There are a couple of blind holes with alternating pins. If you want to know where to throw it, I guess you just have to walk ahead and look for the basket. I don't think the signs even note the different basket locations. Certainly there's only one distance listed on the signs.

Signs don't have par posted anymore. Before a recent tournament, par was posted at every hole, but that was removed for some reason and not re-posted after the tournament. This website has par listings for every hole, but it occurs to me that I could go in and change those numbers if I wanted to, and I have no authority over the actual course itself; I'm just someone who has a frisbee and a computer. So take those with a grain of salt. I like to have a par score specified, so I can play against "par," and use that as a reference point to determine how badly I'm playing.

The baskets have numbers posted at the top, and the numbers range from 1 to 18, but they don't correspond to the actual hole numbers. Not even close. It's best to just ignore the numbers on the baskets, especially if you don't know your way around this course.

Other Thoughts: So anyway, parking at UNC can be a problem. In years past, they have been quick to issue parking tickets. I've never been ticketed for parking at this course, and I've heard that nobody gets ticketed for parking at hole 8. I think the address for this parking lot is 910 Raleigh Road, Chapel Hill, NC. The General Administration building, and I think there's also a sign for a softball stadium there. If you're coming from Raleigh headed West on 54, there will be a place near campus where, to stay on 54 west, you would have to get on the 15-501 bypass. Instead of getting on the bypass, you should just go straight under the highway and make the first left, into this parking lot. Then just stay to the right and park in the corner of the lot. You'll see dg baskets in the field to your right. This lot is more convenient than the other parking lot.

Okay then.

If you start at hole 9, after maybe taking a few practice shots in the field, it will be in the woods near basket 8. (remember, the baskets don't have the correct numbers posted on them) There will be 3 wooded holes before 12. Hole 10 is a blind shot with 2 different basket positions ! At least it's blind in the summertime in the long position, like today, for example. You might be able to see it in the short position in the summer, I don't remember. But it's uphill, left turn, over a ridge. Then to find hole 11 you have to backtrack a little, and it's on the opposite side of the 10 fairway from basket 9. i.e. looking from tee 10 towards basket 10, tee 11 is to the left of the fairway.

12 is a short, more open fairway on a ridge overlooking a softball field. Both 11 and 12 have small right doglegs at the end. Then 13, 14, 15 are open field, longer holes. 13 is the only par 4 on the course, I think, except for "the beast." (Note my note about "par," though.) 14 has 2 baskets and I guess you can take your pick (?) 15 has alternating pin positions. short 350 or blind longer downhill to the right. If you can get the right S curve on that long downhill, you're in business.

Then to get to 16, 17 wooded holes, you have to backtrack. I think there's a little orange sign pointing you to a little path in the woods, although that may have been a temporary little cardboard sign that won't be there when you go. Those are short tight shots over a valley, with alternating pins on 17.

Update: There is a new hole 18, as of late 2012. The tee is near basket 15. After 17, walk down the hill and a series of signs will direct you to 18. It's a long walk to get there. It is a level, straight, sometimes muddy fairway.

It is a long walk to 1 on the other side of the tennis courts, wooded over a valley, 2 downhill with thick woods on the left, and alternating pins. If it's in the long position, the basket is near the pond!

3 over the pond and there are 2 baskets; I always play the long one; short one is very close to the pond. I think there's a sign that says no swimming or wading, even though the fairway is directly over the pond. The pond is shallow, with a very soft, mucky, smelly, gross bottom. Or so a criminal friend told me.

Update June 2013: The long basket is not there now. The only basket to play on 3 is right on the edge of the pond. I'm tempted to dock them a half-point for asking me to throw my disc into the pond, with a sign that says not to go in the pond.

Remember there are 2 tees for hole 4. the short 400 footer, or the long 666 foot "beast." I've never thrown "the beast". There's a tee sign beside the pond, on the more overgrown side, and there's a wooden post a few feet away; I assume the post marks the "beast" tee. It's on a slightly paved walkway.

3, 4, 5, 6 are open field holes, although I've managed to end up in the rough on all of them, from time to time. There's a long walk from 5 to 6, and you could start thinking you're lost. Just stay on the path and go under a little bridge, and you'll end up in a field. At the other end of the field you'll see the parking lot I directed you to.

After 6 you head to the left, into the woods for 7, 8. when you're walking into the woods, try to locate the basket for 7 (which, of course, doesn't say "7" on it). 7 is a blind hole with alternating basket positions. It's either a left or right turn at the end of the fairway. (left today) 8 has long and short tees and alternating pins too. The basket is in open field, either right next to the corner of the parking lot where I always park, or about 80 feet to the right.

There is a map and scorecard file available for download on this site. The map features an old configuration for holes 1, 2, 3, and 18. No longer correct for those holes, but all the others look about right. The hole labeled 2 on the map is now hole #3. 1 and 2 are completely new holes, in the woods to the left when you are walking down the paved road. There's a big sign in front of hole 1. The hole labeled 3 on the map no longer exists. That tee is used for an alternate for 4.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/17/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: Schmakt
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a really beautiful course. We played mid-morning while it was still cool, and the grass was slightly dewy. Wonderful NC morning in a great setting. We ran into a half-dozen or so other groups, all of whom were very nice about letting us play through and helping us figure out where we were going. This course can be tough if you really yank your drive, but almost every hole had a really beautiful planned flight path, and hitting that path always felt great. Baskets and pads are fairly well-kept with a good number of benches throughout the course.
Cons: As a first-time player the layout, lack of signage, backtracking, parking, and mismatched baskets made this course incredibly frustrating.

For scorekeeping, I really like to know exactly which layout of a course I'm playing and what the pars are. I assumed everything was 3 (which, really, it probably should have been), but I'd never know if not for this site. Most of the signs seemed to have been stolen or destroyed, and we ended up spending a good about of time trying to find the next hole (especially #'s 8 and 16). The fact that the basket for 8 was marked "15" didn't help any... a problem was appeared on many holes.

Parking wasn't *that* difficult, but it wasn't clearly marked, and we were still kind of lost after parking at the top of the hill near hole #1. Should have taken the advice of a reviewer here and parked near #8.
Other Thoughts: We encountered many of the signs about ropes courses and other activities. Luckily we did not encounter any of that, but that would have also been pretty frustrating.

If I lived in this area, I feel like I would play this course often. I can definitely see how knowing the layout would help make this a much more enjoyable experience. As is, next time I'm in Chapel Hill, I will likely seek out another unplayed course instead of heading here again.

Good experience, lots of fun, and definitely worth playing once... but nothing that makes me really want to go back and try it again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center