Chapel Hill, NC 
Uploaded By: KenanFlagler01 Hole #1 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 256ft.   3 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Many Great Holes with a Few Yawners

1    8/1/2015   8/6/2015
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 259  Reviewed: 155  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: UNC has a very good disc golf course, the type I would love to play on the regular. Elevation changes, open and wooded holes, birdie opportunities and par 4's. There are two sets of roomy concrete tees and I played the longer blue tees. Most, if not all of the holes had benches and a few trash cans are around the course. The baskets were in all decent condition. Hole 1 is a good opener, but hole 2 is where the fun begins. A long shot through a lot of trees, way downhill. I tagged many of those trees and took a six. I made up for it on hole 3, the only hole with water in play. Busted a great drive over the pond and got the deuce. The next several holes are ok, 4 being long, flat and wide open. I enjoyed the second half of the course a lot, when the elevation changes become more of a factor again. I took a few tough rolls and bad bounces leading to bogeys, but there were also some great drives and timely putts for birdies. Hole 15 was the perfect drive down a large, wide open hill and right onto the green. Hole 17 was the short wooded fairway, where the par putt attempt caught an edge and rolled 40 feet downhill, leading to a double bogey. Finishing hole 20 is a good one. Having 20 holes means some extra fun. I liked the beginning and end more than the middle, but it was all good.
Cons: Course is on campus I guess, so other facilities mean less parking and other park users at times. I was there early on a Saturday and saw few other people. I spent a good amount of time looking for a disc in the rough on hole 11, I think. I must have overlooked it multiple times and felt dumb when I finally spotted it.
Other Thoughts: UNC DGC is fun to play, and a nice little hike built in. I am glad I stopped there, and recommend you check it out if you're able. Challenging with excellent variety. Kind of similar to Va-Du-Mar in SC.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in the Triangle

2-4    7/25/2015   7/25/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 53  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I debated between rating UNC a 4.0 and a 4.5. It's really an excellent course--and with a few very minor fixes, it would be a 4.5 and the best in the Triangle--but I went with a 4.0 because of a few problems. The pros are numerous though:

1. Probably the most variety on any course I've ever played. Some holes are tight and wooded. Other holes are former ball golf fairways, wide and really long. There's elevation all over the place, on the wooded holes and the open holes. Honestly, if there's not something for you on this course, I don't know why you play disc golf.

2. As I mentioned, the elevation is just awesome. There are lots of downhill holes and valley shots. There are also some uphills and a few that play up over hills, then downhill, then uphill again! Bring your hiking boots.

3. Very challenging. The variety and the distance will challenge intermediate and advanced players alike.

4. Beautiful course. It is Chapel Hill, after all, the Southern Part of Heaven.

5. You will use every disc in your bag on this course.

6. Alternate basket locations to keep it fresh.

7. There are some super tough pin locations that really punish you for missing putts. Some fast greens. Good risk/reward on these holes.

8. I think this course is very fair. The fairways are the appropriate width for the length of the hole. The shortest holes are mostly tight and wooded. The longest holes are mostly wide open where you can bomb drives.

9. Nice, big Carolina Blue benches at most tees.
Cons: The cons are very fixable. If/when fixes are made, I'd put UNC in the 4.5 category.

1. Navigation. It's pretty tough to navigate. There are arrows on the tee signs showing you where the next hole is after the one you're playing, but there aren't signs after the baskets to point you to the next tee. I did a lot of searching and back-tracking.

2. Baskets. They are old and unappealing. This is a nitpick--they didn't affect any putts--but for a course this nice, you'd expect good baskets.

3. Wear waterproof shoes or boots. I wore sneakers and my feet got soaked. There's lots of grass on the open holes. Lots of dew. And I understand there's ponding after rain, although I haven't experienced that.

4. #18 is a big letdown. After playing 17 gorgeous and varied holes, 18 looks like it's still under construction. There are downed trees and underbrush. It feels unfinished.

5. Very long walk back to the parking lot after #18.

Some of these are nitpicks, but it shows how close this course is to being the best around.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best Open Course Ever

5+    4/22/2015   4/30/2015
Review By: DrFurious
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 5/20/2015
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Course was built in old-ball golf (abandoned by town), but still maintained by UNC, meaning amazing open fairways. Mowed by UNC, but completely built, maintained, updated by current and previous students and volunteers.
Cons: Major drainage issues on hole 4,5, 6 and 8.
Other Thoughts: Doubles fundraisers every Sat, 10:30 at hole 9 (Gen Admin parking lot). $4 goes to the club (to buy discs, maintain course, Tar Heel tourney, etc.) and $1 for ace pool. CTPs, etc.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

If you're in the area, this course is a must

1    10/21/2014   10/21/2014
Review By: bmoney14
Played: 36  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -This course utilizes elevation changes well, and the holes are quite varied and interesting
-The basket locations are moved frequently to keep the game fresh
-This is the place in the area to drop 400+ foot bombs
-Aces are difficult, but possible and very rewarding
Cons: -The signage is still not quite up to date, but if you play it once, you will not have a problem with organization
-At times the course can get muddy (the drainage here can be an issue)
-Because this course is one of the best in the area, can be quite crowded. Try this course early in the morning or later in the evening
Other Thoughts: -By far my favorite course in the RDU/Chapel Hill area
-If you aren't totally confident that you can throw over the water on hole 3, don't try. That lake eats discs

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Diverse Course

5+    3/11/2014   3/23/2014
Review By: DiabolicalHeel
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course has every type of hole, wooded, open, even one requiring you to clear water
-Many of the holes just look awesome from the tee box. The use of terrain makes just about every hole feel different and fresh and keeps it interesting throughout the full round
-There are 6 air it out holes on the course which you don't find much of in the area
-Many holes offer great risk reward shot layouts
Cons: -Poor signage. The first time you come to play the course, good luck. Finding holes 16 and 17 was particularly challenging.
-When the vegetation grows in some holes can be real disc eaters
-The course drains water terribly. If it rains within 3 days of when you are playing get ready to get a little bit muddy
-The course is a huge loop which makes it nearly impossible to just play a quick 9. Be ready to play them all.
Other Thoughts: This course is the best in area in my opinion. When you want to find a course that will truly test all aspects of your game this is the course you should play in the area. Just make sure before you go out that you park at hole 8/9 so you don't get ticketed, remember if its rained lately you will get muddy, and get ready to be tested on all your shots. This is a great course and one I would consider a can't miss if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The only thing worth doing in Chapel Hill

2-4    8/15/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: Tenacious EJ
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 22.2 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Mixes it up with a solid variety of holes
-Some truly beautiful holes
-Excellent use of the topography
-Just plain fun
Cons: -Poor signage
-Can definitely be confusing the first time
-Less than family friendly
-Broken glass everywhere!!!
-Missing the fairway is gonna cost you, hopefully just a stroke or two, but possibly a disc or two
Other Thoughts: Yes, I look up and see more cons than pros, but do not let this keep you from playing this course! UNC's course is, quite simply, the only reason I ever need go to Chapel Hill, or indeed, step foot on University property. Almost every hole has something to offer.

As a non-student, I started on Hole 9, which is the recommended starting point for non-students with non-parking passes. You'll find a putting basket here, so that's nice. These couple of wooded holes (9-11) are generally free of the thick underbrush that you'll find later on if you miss the fairways. All 3 all use elevation and tight passages quite well. Hole 12 is short and simple, but gives you a glimpse of the fact that 1- you're on a college campus, and 2- all that 2 foot tall crap on your left is in abundance on this course, so tread carefully or lose plastic. Holes 13-15 are open, air-it-out kinds of holes that are just beautiful, and wonderfully designed holes, especially 14. Holes 16 and 17 take you back into the woods and traverse a deep ravine, so land that shot correctly or risk rolling down a long way. Hole 18 is in a creek bed that is apparently also a garbage dump. It has two baskets, neither of which have the number 18 on them. Its not terrible, and due to the bracken, clutter, and debris, its definitely a challenge. Once you've made the journey to Hole 1, passing by the tennis players and failing to navigate the rock wall, you'll find another nice hole in the woods. Its followed by Hole 2, which is not a nice hole in the woods. Its probably the most difficult hole on the course, with no discernible fairway or lane through the trees, which is a darn shame because its still pretty great. It boasts a pin placement stuck between some large boulders on a steep hillside that is definitely a putting challenge no matter where you are approaching it from. Too bad then that my pretty great tee shot hit some low-hanging leaves that not only killed it, but caused it to roll downhill and backward. This hole needs some major maintenance to be the fantastic hole it could be. Hole 3 tees off over a small pond, and the close pin placement is aceable if you've got the guts to risk your disc to make it. Hole 4 is a throwaway- longish and straight and flat, and at a par 4 its just plain dull. Its also low, and usually quite wet. Hole 6 is similar but shorter- 4 and 6 are the least interesting on the course. Hole 5 is really nice however, forcing your tee shot to curve right then back left. Neither is a fun place to be, so you better hit that fairway! Hole 7 has a fantastic pin on the edge of a 12 ft high cliff, making putting interesting. Finishing up with Hole 8, which is nothing too dramatic or challenging, but it nicely brings you right back to where you parked. All the tees are plenty big enough.

The course wasn't too crowded when I played, but neither time was when Spring or Fall classes were in session. There were a few students however, and they were nice enough to curse quite loudly and vulgarly near my kids, whom they knew were there. But everyone seemed friendly enough. The signage is just horrendous though- I don't really consider a laminated sheet of paper much of a sign, and that's assuming they are actually there. They also don't relay par information. Many holes have benches, which is always appreciated, and some are even equipped with disc chargers, though I've had mixed results with them. Unfortunately, not all the benches are secured to the ground, which came as a surprise. Trash was also a problem, no doubt a result of the large number of drinking college students who play and the lack of trash cans on any hole. The bigger issue for me was the large amount of broken glass around the course. When you are traversing rocky, hilly terrain with lots of exposed roots, you can probably expect to trip or slip at least once, and the amount of glass present is unsettling. Navigating the course the first time is difficult- I've been told the course has been changed multiple times, and probably as a result most baskets are marked with the incorrect hole number. The official course map isn't much help if you ask me. There are numerous walking paths and trails criss-crossing the course leading you away from your next hole. The area around 9-12 was problematic, you may never find 16 after finishing 15, the walk from 18 to 1 is long and not marked, and the walk to 6 from 5 is also a hike. However, once you've walked it once its easy enough to remember, so take someone who knows the course with you the first time. For those starting on Hole 1, I guess Hole 18 is not really close to where you started, but you are also probably a student and walked to the course, so this is also not really an issue.

All in all, though it has some definite issues, this is one of my favorite courses, and I jumped at the chance to play it again. It could use some grooming and the signs and baskets need updating, but the course really plays well and certainly challenges you.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Bag

2-4    5/24/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 268  Reviewed: 266  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2014
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: UNC brings a ton of variety and not just in itself. The course stands in stark contrast with most of the area courses, with multiple open holes and numerous chances to fire off bombs. That just doesn't happen around here and I can see why people would relish the opportunity.

But there is also a lot of variety on this course itself. It moves from tight wooded holes to the aforementioned open spaces, back to the woods and once again on open, freshly mowed fairways. Holes go left, right, up and down. Sometimes more than one direction at once. There is just a ton of different things happening on this course.

And there are some great holes. The highlight for me is that second set of opens. The 13 tee is at the exit of the woods and its a long, 467-foot uphill climb across a gorgeous glen. 14 is next and its an over-the-valley shot across a loooong valley, daring you to make the distance. The final shot in the meadow is a straight downhill burner to a pin backed by shrubbery.

16 is equally awesome if you can find it. It's over a valley again but this one is wooded. The holes leading up the meadow,(9,10) uphill, through the woods are also outstanding. The set of good holes here are well worth coming back for. The chance to throw a bunch of everything only enhances the desire.
Cons: A lot of factors keep this course from being the top-notch course it could be. First, the signs are old, worn-out and all but useless. On 2 I shot blind to where the basket supposedly was. Finding no basket, I was confused. In the distance there was a basket marked "3." More confusing. Eventually I figured out that it was mislabeled and misplaced.

Then there's the baskets. From the looks of them, they were the first disc golf baskets ever fashioned. But that's just the extra stuff. The bigger issue is the flow, or lack thereof. There are some long walks and in general it does not transition well from hole to hole. The route you are expected to find between 15 and 16 is insane. (Have a map, or walk to the 17 basket and backtrack) That's not the only tee that expects you to know how to find it. 3 and 6 are plenty hidden.

Yet still, the biggest problem is the dud holes. They needed three completely flat, completely open holes? (4, 6, 8) 5 is open too, but it's nice with the creek crossing midway. All-together, the 4-9 stretch is not very interesting or challenging.

18 is ok, but after the long, long, long walk to get there from 17, it's completely anti-climactic. But that dings the flow more than the hole design. The good hole probably outnumber the problematic ones here, but unfortunately, all the "other stuff" here is subpar.
Other Thoughts: So in summation, there are things I really like about UNC, and things I really dislike. It's not the best course in the area, but it probably could be. There is a lot of variety and some very good holes, but also some bad ones. It's a true mixed bag.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

2-4    1/21/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 47  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - Awesome mixture of wooded, hilly, open, technical, and water holes.
- Plenty of parking
- Never to crowded to play right through
- multiple courses close by
- some holes on the back 9 you can really open up and rip a few good long drives
- some holes require thinking
Cons: - Directions dont take you to the right parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Good tough course that anyone can enjoy.. Watch out for that pond near holes 2 and 3.. Its bigger than it looks.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Well rounded course

5+    11/20/2012   1/19/2013
Review By: ActionJackson
Played: 41  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: You will use every shot in your arsenal to play this course. So many different shots. It is well maintained and the scenery is great. It has never been busy when I've been there however I am from wisconsin and have only played there in Nov.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Good course

5+    12/31/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: Seahawk
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 12/20/2014
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is nestled in the heart of Chapel Hill and is at the old Chapel Hill country club. A lot of the course is on old golf course fairways and is very well maintained. This is something you can't find too many other places and makes the course definitely worth a play. The best holes are hole 3 over the water, hole 14 across the valley, and hole 5 down the hill. There are concrete tee pads, benches, and trashcans throughout the course.
Cons: A .5 point deduction in my rating is because of the signage. There are bad little signs on the holes and some holes don't even have them! The baskets don't have the correct numbers on them. Sometimes there are 2 tees or 2 baskets on the same hole and no direction on which one to use. There are some places where it is extremely confusing where to go and all it would take is $10 worth of arrows to be put up. The first time I played I spent a few hours wondering around. You WILL get lost if you don't have someone helping you. The hardest to find are 16/17 (Go half way back up the hill and into the woods(look for little paths) to the right of the basket of 15, don't go down the hill!). The other 1 point deduction comes from the lack of par 4s (only one I think)/5s(none) and the lack of interesting holes. Most holes are straight shots through the open or straight shots through the woods.
Other Thoughts: The area doesn't drain well and even a few days after rain can be muddy, wear shoes you don't care terribly about!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.