Wentzville, MO 
Quail Ridge Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #2 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 284ft.   3 / 369ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Red Tee (plays dead-ahead with tree line on right and park road on left)



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
In the minority....

2-4    5/20/2016   5/20/2016
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 98  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: With the exception of the first two and last three holes, it is a very wooded course, so those who like that will love it.
Multiple concrete pads, and the occasional third marker offering a variety of tee shots.
Signage at each of the short tee pads.
Cons: Got a bit confusing in the woods.... got turned around a couple times. Some of the paths are not in the best shape and could actually be dangerous if wet.
After a while the woods shots seemed the same... get it past the first wave of trees...
Other Thoughts: Have played this course three times and never finished it... (once-rain, once- darkness, and once- time to be somewhere else...)
Read lots of good reviews about this, but not my type of course.... Could be that I was tired.... eighth course played in a three day stretch....
Ultimately, it's decent (2.5) but not anymore than that...

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quail Ridge

5+    4/24/2016   5/9/2016
Review By: jvbh792
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some course you go to a have only one or two really signature tee shots. This course brags at least 9 very unique tee shots. Not to mention beautiful. I love the big valley woods holes. Makes you feel like your playing golf in middle earth.
Cons: A majority of the holes favor a RHBH anhyzer shot. So if you don't have the arm strength to turn a disc you'll have a tough time getting a par. Forehand works well if you can throw that.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorites and worth the drive for me. Always well maintained. The field holes reward bigger arms and the woods holes reward shot placement and risk management (I've had a few putts miss a basket and roll into oblivion). One of the best the St. Louis area has to offer.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quality wooded course

1    3/15/2016   4/20/2016
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 363  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quail Ridge offers multiple pin placements and dual tee pads.
The signage is good and the tee pads are ample allowing for a proper run up.
Excellent elevation changes here with a lot of uphill/downhill shots.
There is a nice mix of short, moderate, and longer holes here as well.
Most of the holes are of the technical/wooded variety with a few open holes towards the end to balance things out a bit.
Other amenities close by like playground, walking trails, etc.
Many of the tee signs have a bolt that is placed in the A B or C position to indicate which placement the pin is in.
Dog leg L and R holes here and low ceilings are present as well. A few holes have guarded pins to add to the challenge of the round.
Lines need to be shaped here and the golfing is quality.
Benches and trashcans are present throughout the course too.
Cons: Hard pack can get slick after heavy rain making footing an issue.
Long walks from 12's basket to 13's tee, 13's basket to 14's tee, and 18's basket to the parking lot slow the flow of round down a bit.
It can be hard to find discs when there are a lot of leaves on the ground. Keep a watchful eye to where you land to be sure.
Other Thoughts: This is a great older course that stills has a lot of good golf to offer its guests. There are ACE runs here and birdies should be attainable as well. This course will test your accuracy and your mental game as well. If you get off the fairway a well placed upshot will be needed to save your par. Thus a variety of shots will be needed on this course.
This course isn't overly technical but it will challenge your game. It is a good course and if you are close it goes great with Fort Zumwalt park down the road. I would play both of those 2 courses if I were in the area again. Its worth your time to play this course. I'm sure there is something here for most all disc golfers.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Course

1    3/24/2016   3/27/2016
Review By: CatPoopie
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Excellent variation in the type of holes and superb fields. Plenty of obstacles without seeming too cluttered. Very clean course.
Cons: Nothing to say. Loved it all.
Other Thoughts: I've only played through it once, so maybe I'll have a different opinion after a few more tries

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Quail Ridge Is A Lovely Piece Of Land!

1    10/21/2015   10/31/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 921  Reviewed: 864  Exp: 38.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One can tell that an tremendous amount of work has gone into making this course the excellent disc golf experience that it is today. The terrain perfectly suits disc golf with it's lovely rolling hills, wooded hillsides and sparse undergrowth. I appreciate the engineering of built up tee pads, bridges crossing steep ravines, benches, raised baskets and the nicely oversized concrete tee pads. The Titan baskets by Gateway are fine but a little hard to spot in the woods sometimes.

There are multiple positions for each basket but I found no way of knowing which position the basket was in on this particular day. Some kind of a system would really be beneficial here. The older wooden signs are fine.
Cons: There were a few wide open throws which I found a little boring.

I understand the course can get busy although there were few players out when I played.

Gateway baskets are difficult to spot in the shade and from a distance. Nice brightly colored DGA models that I've played lately would be so much better here.

Needs a system to indicate which position basket is in.

I could see this course being treacherous after rains.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course a lot. I would be real happy to claim this as my home course. It has a nice variety of throws needed. The park is lovely, safe, inviting, relatively free from other park users. Basically, it's just a really nice place to come and enjoy a round of golf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing round!

1    10/5/2014   10/7/2014
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 31  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, this is a gorgeous course situated in a very pretty multi-use park that's easy to access. The woods were beautiful in fall.

True, there are more wooded shots than open, but it's not overwhelming and most of the holes are a blast to play.

The signs are not perfect -- but I love the old wooden signs. It seems to fit perfectly with the rest of this woodsy, beautiful course!

I really liked the shot variety here a lot. There are some ridiculously tight shots that need more than just a fairly straight drive to nail (15).

While this is clearly a very multi-use park, the course designers did a great job keeping the fairways away from populated areas for the most part. There are some trails snaking around the area, but generally you won't throw a drive on them unless you're way off.

Multiple tee positions on many of the holes help add some length and/or variety, depending on what you're looking for.

Lots of nice amenities on the course. Not only are there benches and trash cans everywhere, I was happy to see a bridge has been built over the ravine near 9 and 10, along with a "USE THIS PATH" marker. Thanks for keeping us safe!

The course makes great use of the elevation and nature present. Given the land that exists, you can't help but feel they squeezed most of what they could out of it.

Navigation is not ideal, but not horrible if you watch for the "next tee" arrow present on the signs. 3-4 was the only area I found it easy to get lost. 14 is also a bit of a hike if I recall correctly.

Ample parking, and in what I presume is a very safe neighborhood.

Course seemed very well maintained when I was there. Everything was neatly mowed, trimmed, and garbage was emptied and picked up.

Overall, the use of elevation, trees, nature, and shot selection are what make this such a fun play, in my opinion. Wish I was closer so I could play more often!
Cons: Baskets are dull and can be hard to spot, even in full sun and broad daylight due to the dense tree canopy. Contrast this with Rosedale Down Under in KC with the bright orange baskets.

Not a ton of opportunities to open up and throw -- most of the holes here are fairly short. Not a problem, but at least one long bomb would have been nice!

Hole 14 (I believe it is) plays fairly close to the parking lot, and a very errant shot can end up over there. I recommend parking on the right side of the lot when you pull in! (No, we didn't hit anyone)

I did not see any active pin marking system in place. With lots of dense shade, it can be very hard to see where you're shooting and this can get frustrating. 18's FIVE pin positions are, in my opinion, ridiculous, especially with no way of knowing which is active without running up.

Course can get very muddy when it rains. Not much they can do about it, but just be aware.
Other Thoughts: When I rate courses, I mainly look at how much fun it was to play, the amount of different shots required, the scenery, etc. It's hard for me to find a lot of faults with this course, and the ones I did mention are getting nit picky.

I realize I'm on the very high end of the spectrum with this rating, but I do feel it's justified. The natural beauty and use of elevation and trees really make this an incredible play in my opinion. Furthermore, the shots are all fun in their own way, and I did not get bored here at all.

With that being said, I have to give this course a 4.5. The course alone is probably a solid 4.0, but the park itself and setting really are what push it over the edge. After I play more courses in STL, I will be happy to re-evaluate, but this is my first impression, and it was a great one!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Hometown Course

5+    7/20/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: stlstretch2
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well laid out
Clean course
Good mix of trees and open throws
Good walk through the park
Cons: Baskets are dull and hard to spot
Trees! Lots of trees
Steep hills on a few throws
Last 3 holes are confusing
Other Thoughts: I love this course. This is my go to. It's easy to learn and easy to play. All the holes are Par 3, but some can be tricky to throw on. The course goes all over the park, which, personally I like. It's worth playing on.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hunting for birdies at Quail Ridge

1    4/19/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 201  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 12.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plays through the woods in a busy, well-maintained, county park with a decidedly suburban vibe to it.
Disc Play: Primarily woodsy and hilly, leaning toward the short and technical end of the spectrum, with a few open/lightly wooded holes and some moderately wooded ones providing a nice balance. Holes 1-3 ease you in with open fairways over gently rolling terrain. Placement and control from the tee become more important starting with #4, and pretty much stay that way through 12. The back end of the course opens up bit more, but still requires decent control. Nice variety of hole shapes requiring a fairly well-rounded shot-making repertoire. Although there are several routes to the pin through the trees, some will seem more obvious (if not more natural) depending on your preference for throwing BH turnovers, FH, etc., but most of the holes encourage decision making and demand good execution. Features tight woods, plenty of elevation changes, and treacherous pin placements. Things open up a bit here and there on #'s13-18, but The Ridge definitely favors placement over distance.
Mutiple tees to add distance and difficulty, and multiple pins to keep locals from getting bored.
Splendid use of elevation throughout: downhill, uphill, gulleys, rises, slopes... Risk/reward payoffs all over the place - lots of dicey pin placements on steep slopes or near drop-offs reward playing smart (i.e. within your game). Get too aggressive for your ability, and long come-backs will add strokes to your score quickly. Execute well off the tee and you can set up some decent putts for birdies. Bouncing off trees can be a nasty double whammy, not only taking you off the fairway, but likely sending you rolling down the steep hill... sometimes a waaay down the hill, resulting in a comeback from hell.
Equipment: Concrete tees for reds, natural for whites/blues were in good shape, as are the baskets. Simple wooden signs with distance for reds and whites also show relative locations where holes have multiple pin placements. Blue and white tees marked with shorter posts. Baskets in good shape, caught well. Scorecard with map at the kiosk off the parking lot.
Routing/Nav: Holes 1, 2, and 13 were the only tricky spots, but the map was a big help for those. The rest flowed pretty intuitively. # 9 comes loops back to parking.
Aesthetics: With the constantly rolling terrain and earthy feel, I found The Ridge quite appealing, but nothing spectacular. Tee pads near slopes nicely dressed up with landscape stones to combat erosion and give the course a well-cared for appearance. Definitely a pleasant walk through the park.
Memorable holes: #1's a fun, open shot at the pin, but nose-up RHBH shot that sail long have a long way to fade (perhaps OB), with a long uphill comeback. 9 has you throwing over a deep gully through numerous trees, all vying for the chance to send your well-intentioned quest for the pin aaallll the way down to the bottom, where you'll have to fight your way back up for a likely bogey... mebbe a double. # 11 is a short downhill ace run with a pin placement that has trouble written all over it. 15's a short deuce or die hole that dares you to hit a tiny window. #16 is perhaps the most open hole on the course, but the uphill makes it play much longer than it is - also a beautiful hole visually.
Restrooms close to several holes.
Cons:
No truly long holes, seems they could have worked one in toward the end.
Baskets hard to spot in the woods - please splash some color on 'em, add flags... something.
Mostly segregated from other activities, but a few holes play near walk ways; dog walkers, joggers, baby strollers, etc. Not bad over all, but high flying RHBH hyzers on #1 are probably the biggest concern because pedestrians may not see it coming from above at all, and many people seem clueless when you yell "FORE!"
The middle holes (set on steep, hilly slopes in the woods where no grass grows) have to be treacherous to traverse when wet.
Gets busy - arrive early to avoid the crowds.
Other Thoughts: With fabulously varying terrain and a spectrum of shots ranging from very well wooded to open, and plenty in between, The Ridge rates very high on my personal fun factor scale - but it's probably not for everyone. If threading short shots through tree trunks, or hitting metal on your putt, only to have it roll way downhill (where you'll need another couple of shots to hole out) turns you off, I can't see how you'll enjoy playing here. The Ridge is full of holes that could be easy deuces (or aces for that matter), but could just as well end up as bogeys or doubles if you go long or bounce off the numerous trees and end up at the bottom of a chasm.

Not championship caliber, The Ridge is appropriate for beginners to advanced players, but seems particularly well suited to the intermediate player. Playing here is all about mitigating risk while creating opportunity; finding the line/release angle combo that reduces the chance of getting into trouble, yet still has a chance of setting up a good look at deuce. I shot 53, but this course plays to my strengths like few others. This is a course you could shoot -7 on, but could easily shoot +10 going for it at every opportunity.

Objectively, I see this course as 3.5 - 3.75, but awarded a 4.0 because of where it rates on my personal likes/dislikes, the great condition it was in, and how much fun I had playing here. If I were local, I'd be here all the time.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Quail

5+    10/21/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quail Ridge is a nice moderate course that can leave you feeling really good or really bad about your round. It is comprised of a multitude of different shots. It features some open opportunities to air some big shots out and also is riddled full of dense woods with some extreme elevation change to boot. Despite the array of shots, I feel as though this course can really be shot on and is a ton o fun!
Added Pros- Multiple basket locations, Multiple tee pad locations,Concrete pads, Restrooms, Trash cans, Pavilions, Horse Shoe Pitching Hall of Fame
Cons: -can be crowded with beginners
-Some litter
-Graffiti
- All the much has washed away
-Pro Tees are not well marked or frequently used


Other Thoughts: Thanks again to Dave Mac and Gateway Disc Sports.. Also thank you to St.Charles DGC for all of your work

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/15/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: Broll
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: has a lot of neat elevation changes along with nature at it's fullest. majority of the holes are in the woods and has some open holes that are a good blend. nice park and very clean.
Cons: not very technical course, you will catch yourself throwing the same on every hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.