Wentzville, MO 
Quail Ridge Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #17 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 253ft.   3 / 363ft.   3 / 429ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Some cool shots

1    7/17/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course makes cool use of elevation. I especially like the shots where you're shooting over a valley to a pin on the other side.
Cons: The grass gets really high and it's easy to lose a disc. Use a spotter. I spent a lot of time in the weeds trampling around looking for missing discs and I ended up with a tick on me.
Other Thoughts: I'd imagine the course plays very different from the winter to the summer. In the summer, the grass in the rough is super high. I lost a Groove in the grass on #18. If anybody finds it, I'd appreciate a call. Thanks.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short, but fun

1    10/18/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: BreuerKyle
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads
>
Requires multiple shots
>
Wooded Holes with tight lines
>
Good Change of Elevation & Wide variety of holes

Cons: Poor Signage - Hard to follow course if unfamiliar with it
>
Short Course - threw a driver once, mostly threw a buzzz, stalker, or putter if that gives you any indication of what the course is like
Other Thoughts: Is it bad that I birdied almost every hole? Or am I that good? It was fun because every hole felt like an ace run
>
Fun course, I would definitely play it again, but not as challenging as I would have liked or was expecting from everything I've heard about the course. There are definitely some wooded holes that are difficult, but there seemed to be plenty of manageable lines through the trees.
>
Honestly, this course just didn't live up to the hype for me.
>
There was a ton of people there though - Great Environment and Great for Newer Players

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging course

2-4    2/5/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: TreeHate
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course well maintained, no trash, beautiful scenery, baskets in good condition. Wouldv liked to see a few different placements of the baskets, but overall a great place to play.
Cons: I wanted to give this course a higher rating, but it was a tad hard to find, there were no signs to holes 1 and 2, and a few spots were very muddy this winter, couldv used some wood chips in a couple areas.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice mix

1    9/28/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling park with a nice mix of grassy fairways and tighter wooded shots. The woods come into play even on most of the more open holes, and offer some good punishment for errant drives. Most holes have some elevation changes adding challenge and variety, including some nice ravine holes in the woods and some cool roll away greens.

There is a pretty good mix of hole shapes, playing pretty balanced for righties and lefties. You'll need to hit some tight lines through the woods to score well, and there's enough different shots required to keep it from feeling repetitive. The concrete pads are in pretty good shape, and there are two longer sets of tees on most holes that add some different lines and more distance. There are basic tee signs, and the course isn't too tough to follow and figure out. The tee to the practice basket is a nice way to get from the parking lot to hole 1's tee and eliminate that long walk.
Cons: The concretes play very short and pretty easy overall, lots of ace runs and deuce or die type holes out there. The longer tees are more interesting and challenging, but aren't all easy to find or well marked, and many of them are in pretty poor shape with ruts and erosion. There are also erosion problems on some of the hills in the woods where not much grass can grow. There is a long walk back from the end of the course to the parking lot, not a huge deal but a little annoying.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, with lots of fun ace runs and elevation shots. Beginners will find the woods a little tight at times, but it's a pretty approachable course. More experienced players won't find the concretes very tough at all, and the longer tees aren't always all that easy to find and throw from. There were some guys out working on a couple of them though, some improvements on those would really bump up the level of this course. There are better courses around St. Louis, but this one is still worth a stop.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good coarse

2-4    9/13/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: Charger440
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tounament coarse.
Well maintained
Has a very nice mix of shots needed to score well.
Concrete tees
Cons: Beginners can get in over theirs heads fast on this coarse.
Coarse can be hard to follow.
At times can be highly played making you have to wait at some holes.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a nice coarse if you want a challenge. The designers definatly put some thought into challenging even the best of disk golfers while still being quite playable for the less experianced group.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Good

5+    8/25/2007   8/26/2007
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2008
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is in a very busy park, and many of the early holes interact with other park uses. It is a good exposure point for the sport. The park has a nice rolling terrain with some treacherous areas with severe drop offs, and the course design uses this to create several challenging pin placements. The early and late holes are fairly open, while the holes # 4-12 are tucked into a heavily wooded area. All and all it provides a good variety of shots.
Cons: The concrete tees are fairly easy, and the pro tees are poorly marked and difficult to find. The course flows poorly. You play past the parking lot on the back and then have to walk through some holes to get back to your car. There are a couple of short "gimmicky" holes such as hole #15, which is a 160 ft shot with a line of 40 ft. tall evergreen trees right in fairway that you cant go under or around. You are forced to tommy or grenade over the top to a blind basket with an O.B. fence nearby. With the land available, some better holes could have been designed.
Other Thoughts: The park rangers are very nit-picky about stopping you. Don't speed in the park or show up with expired plates!
This is a good course, and well worth the time to play. However, the St. Louis area has at least five better courses.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.