Wentzville, MO 
Quail Ridge Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #18 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 312ft.   3 / 371ft.   3 / 512ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Red Tee (plays R to L around trees visible on left side of pic)



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Amazing round!

1    10/5/2014   10/7/2014
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 30  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 1.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, this is a gorgeous course situated in a very pretty multi-use park that's easy to access. The woods were beautiful in fall.

True, there are more wooded shots than open, but it's not overwhelming and most of the holes are a blast to play.

The signs are not perfect -- but I love the old wooden signs. It seems to fit perfectly with the rest of this woodsy, beautiful course!

I really liked the shot variety here a lot. There are some ridiculously tight shots that need more than just a fairly straight drive to nail (15).

While this is clearly a very multi-use park, the course designers did a great job keeping the fairways away from populated areas for the most part. There are some trails snaking around the area, but generally you won't throw a drive on them unless you're way off.

Multiple tee positions on many of the holes help add some length and/or variety, depending on what you're looking for.

Lots of nice amenities on the course. Not only are there benches and trash cans everywhere, I was happy to see a bridge has been built over the ravine near 9 and 10, along with a "USE THIS PATH" marker. Thanks for keeping us safe!

The course makes great use of the elevation and nature present. Given the land that exists, you can't help but feel they squeezed most of what they could out of it.

Navigation is not ideal, but not horrible if you watch for the "next tee" arrow present on the signs. 3-4 was the only area I found it easy to get lost. 14 is also a bit of a hike if I recall correctly.

Ample parking, and in what I presume is a very safe neighborhood.

Course seemed very well maintained when I was there. Everything was neatly mowed, trimmed, and garbage was emptied and picked up.

Overall, the use of elevation, trees, nature, and shot selection are what make this such a fun play, in my opinion. Wish I was closer so I could play more often!
Cons: Baskets are dull and can be hard to spot, even in full sun and broad daylight due to the dense tree canopy. Contrast this with Rosedale Down Under in KC with the bright orange baskets.

Not a ton of opportunities to open up and throw -- most of the holes here are fairly short. Not a problem, but at least one long bomb would have been nice!

Hole 14 (I believe it is) plays fairly close to the parking lot, and a very errant shot can end up over there. I recommend parking on the right side of the lot when you pull in! (No, we didn't hit anyone)

I did not see any active pin marking system in place. With lots of dense shade, it can be very hard to see where you're shooting and this can get frustrating. 18's FIVE pin positions are, in my opinion, ridiculous, especially with no way of knowing which is active without running up.

Course can get very muddy when it rains. Not much they can do about it, but just be aware.
Other Thoughts: When I rate courses, I mainly look at how much fun it was to play, the amount of different shots required, the scenery, etc. It's hard for me to find a lot of faults with this course, and the ones I did mention are getting nit picky.

I realize I'm on the very high end of the spectrum with this rating, but I do feel it's justified. The natural beauty and use of elevation and trees really make this an incredible play in my opinion. Furthermore, the shots are all fun in their own way, and I did not get bored here at all.

With that being said, I have to give this course a 4.5. The course alone is probably a solid 4.0, but the park itself and setting really are what push it over the edge. After I play more courses in STL, I will be happy to re-evaluate, but this is my first impression, and it was a great one!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Times

1    8/8/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has a large amount of variety. There is a great mixture of open shots and wooded shots. Large variety of shots needed on this course. Some elevation especially in the wooded parts of the course. Multiple pin positions per hole. Plenty of benches and trashcans located throughout the course. Course navigation was easy to follow (except for one spot). Beautiful spot to play in. Fairways were kept in good shape and it would be hard to loose a disc unless you went really far off the fairway. Great signs at each tee.
Cons: The alternate tee pads are nearly invisible (I did not know there were alternate tee pads until after I had played and was reading other reviews of this course)
Hole 12 (I think) was missing its sign
After Hole 3 there is no sign pointing to the next hole and there are several paths going in different directions that could lead to confusion on where to go next (That is the only navigation hazard I found on this course)

Other Thoughts: Great fun and a really enjoyable course if you are anywhere near the area I suggest you make a stop and try it out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course for all skill levels

5+    8/15/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: klenglfr
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is in a great park and is designed very well. It is the best course in the St. Louis area. Has a practice hole which is great for warming up or trying a new disc. Excellent variety of hole type. Good course to start on like I did and also a great course to get good on. Trash cans and benches at every hole. Just awesome all around.
Cons: Very crowded. The most crowded course I've ever been to. There are signs on every hole but are not really helpful at all.
Other Thoughts: park rangers are VERY strict on speeding and making complete stops and blinkers. They just like pulling people over to waste their time. Beware of people on the paths.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    6/27/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: CrimsonRavyn
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is one of my favorite course, although I only play it a few times a year because of the hour drive. It is well maintained and normally has a nice breeze. It has some open holes and some wooded holes. They are all fairly long (3-5 par), and you can't see the baskets right away, but this added to the challenge. My favorite hole is 14 or 15. The hole is thought dense woods, over over the dense woods. The basket is scene and is hard to get to either way. The grass can get a little high in places, but is mowed often by the park. There are bathrooms a plenty and a walking path that runs next to part of the course. There are also playground thoughout the park.
Cons: There are a lot of bugs, so wear bug spray. There is also a lot of holes with very little shade, so wear sunscreen. Also beware the stinging insects.
Other Thoughts: This course can get crowded, but it is big enough that you only see people ever once awhile. Most groups are only 2-4 people, but occtionally a large group does come though. It is a great place to watch others throw.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Course in St. Charles

1    6/3/2008   6/26/2008
Review By: Chucktown
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quail Ridge is the first course I played at in Missouri and it remains to be my favorite. The course uses the all the terrain and obstacles the park has to offer. Holes 1- 3 give you plenty of practice to get your drive down and the rest require all the shots in your bag. You can play this course with one disc or everything you have. White and Blue Tees are now easier to find due to to new 3 ft wood posts! New pin placements are being installed! There are 8 holes with I think at least 3 new placements and some have 4. They are challenging too, most focus on making the holes a little bit longer and require more shaped shots. Look for the placements to be moving frequently once leagues start in spring!
Cons: The course can be a little hard to walk. Hole 14 is a long ways from 13 and the walk back to the car from 18 can be tough after walking all 18.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for hole 10 after you play hole 12.

Hole 13 is unplayable right now due to erosion problems, new grass is being grown there to help with the problem. Hopefully it will open again soon.
My friends and I have been walking to the trees by the walking path after 18 and throwing to the practice basket for a blind shot to replace #13.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.