Wentzville, MO 
Quail Ridge Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #7 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 281ft.   3 / 324ft.   3 / 364ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Hunting for birdies at Quail Ridge

1    4/19/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 163  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 10.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plays through the woods in a busy, well-maintained, county park with a decidedly suburban vibe to it.
• Disc Play: Primarily woodsy and hilly, leaning toward the short and technical end of the spectrum, with a few open/lightly wooded holes and some moderately wooded ones providing a nice balance. Holes 1-3 ease you in with open fairways over gently rolling terrain. Placement and control from the tee become more important starting with #4, and pretty much stay that way through 12. The back end of the course opens up bit more, but still requires decent control. Nice variety of hole shapes requiring a fairly well-rounded shot-making repertoire. Although there are several routes to the pin through the trees, some will seem more obvious (if not more natural) depending on your preference for throwing BH turnovers, FH, etc., but most of the holes encourage decision making and demand good execution. Features tight woods, plenty of elevation changes, and treacherous pin placements. Things open up a bit here and there on #'s13-18, but The Ridge definitely favors placement over distance.
• Mutiple tees to add distance and difficulty, and multiple pins to keep locals from getting bored.
• Splendid use of elevation throughout: downhill, uphill, gulleys, rises, slopes… Risk/reward payoffs all over the place - lots of dicey pin placements on steep slopes or near drop-offs reward playing smart (i.e. within your game). Get too aggressive for your ability, and long come-backs will add strokes to your score quickly. Execute well off the tee and you can set up some decent putts for birdies. Bouncing off trees can be a nasty double whammy, not only taking you off the fairway, but likely sending you rolling down the steep hill… sometimes a waaay down the hill, resulting in a comeback from hell.
• Equipment: Concrete tees for reds, natural for whites/blues were in good shape, as are the baskets. Simple wooden signs with distance for reds and whites also show relative locations where holes have multiple pin placements. Blue and white tees marked with shorter posts. Baskets in good shape, caught well. Scorecard with map at the kiosk off the parking lot.
• Routing/Nav: Holes 1, 2, and 13 were the only tricky spots, but the map was a big help for those. The rest flowed pretty intuitively. # 9 comes loops back to parking.
• Aesthetics: With the constantly rolling terrain and earthy feel, I found The Ridge quite appealing, but nothing spectacular. Tee pads near slopes nicely dressed up with landscape stones to combat erosion and give the course a well-cared for appearance. Definitely a pleasant walk through the park.
• Memorable holes: #1's a fun, open shot at the pin, but nose-up RHBH shot that sail long have a long way to fade (perhaps OB), with a long uphill comeback. 9 has you throwing over a deep gully through numerous trees, all vying for the chance to send your well-intentioned quest for the pin aaallll the way down to the bottom, where you'll have to fight your way back up for a likely bogey… mebbe a double. # 11 is a short downhill ace run with a pin placement that has trouble written all over it. 15's a short deuce or die hole that dares you to hit a tiny window. #16 is perhaps the most open hole on the course, but the uphill makes it play much longer than it is - also a beautiful hole visually.
• Restrooms close to several holes.
Cons:
• No truly long holes, seems they could have worked one in toward the end.
• Baskets hard to spot in the woods - please splash some color on 'em, add flags… something.
• Mostly segregated from other activities, but a few holes play near walk ways; dog walkers, joggers, baby strollers, etc. Not bad over all, but high flying RHBH hyzers on #1 are probably the biggest concern because pedestrians may not see it coming from above at all, and many people seem clueless when you yell "FORE!"
• The middle holes (set on steep, hilly slopes in the woods where no grass grows) have to be treacherous to traverse when wet.
• Gets busy - arrive early to avoid the crowds.
Other Thoughts: With fabulously varying terrain and a spectrum of shots ranging from very well wooded to open, and plenty in between, The Ridge rates very high on my personal fun factor scale - but it's probably not for everyone. If threading short shots through tree trunks, or hitting metal on your putt, only to have it roll way downhill (where you'll need another couple of shots to hole out) turns you off, I can't see how you'll enjoy playing here. The Ridge is full of holes that could be easy deuces (or aces for that matter), but could just as well end up as bogeys or doubles if you go long or bounce off the numerous trees and end up at the bottom of a chasm.

Not championship caliber, The Ridge is appropriate for beginners to advanced players, but seems particularly well suited to the intermediate player. Playing here is all about mitigating risk while creating opportunity; finding the line/release angle combo that reduces the chance of getting into trouble, yet still has a chance of setting up a good look at deuce. I shot 53, but this course plays to my strengths like few others. This is a course you could shoot -7 on, but could easily shoot +10 going for it at every opportunity.

Objectively, I see this course as 3.5 - 3.75, but awarded a 4.0 because of where it rates on my personal likes/dislikes, the great condition it was in, and how much fun I had playing here. If I were local, I'd be here all the time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Quail

5+    10/21/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quail Ridge is a nice moderate course that can leave you feeling really good or really bad about your round. It is comprised of a multitude of different shots. It features some open opportunities to air some big shots out and also is riddled full of dense woods with some extreme elevation change to boot. Despite the array of shots, I feel as though this course can really be shot on and is a ton o fun!
Added Pros- Multiple basket locations, Multiple tee pad locations,Concrete pads, Restrooms, Trash cans, Pavilions, Horse Shoe Pitching Hall of Fame
Cons: -can be crowded with beginners
-Some litter
-Graffiti
- All the much has washed away
-Pro Tees are not well marked or frequently used


Other Thoughts: Thanks again to Dave Mac and Gateway Disc Sports.. Also thank you to St.Charles DGC for all of your work

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/15/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: Broll
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: has a lot of neat elevation changes along with nature at it's fullest. majority of the holes are in the woods and has some open holes that are a good blend. nice park and very clean.
Cons: not very technical course, you will catch yourself throwing the same on every hole.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Some cool shots

1    7/17/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course makes cool use of elevation. I especially like the shots where you're shooting over a valley to a pin on the other side.
Cons: The grass gets really high and it's easy to lose a disc. Use a spotter. I spent a lot of time in the weeds trampling around looking for missing discs and I ended up with a tick on me.
Other Thoughts: I'd imagine the course plays very different from the winter to the summer. In the summer, the grass in the rough is super high. I lost a Groove in the grass on #18. If anybody finds it, I'd appreciate a call. Thanks.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Local Friendly

5+    6/16/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: smokey102977
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It is an easy course to play. I have yet to run into a bunch of crowds. The tight fairways challenge your control. Greens are tight and can play fast. Parking can be a problem on weekends since the park is used by other recreation.
Cons: It is very local friendly. Course becomes nearly impossible to play if it has been raining. Too many holes that can be parked in one shot.
Other Thoughts: Needs to be redesigned!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Short, but fun

1    10/18/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: BreuerKyle
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads
>
Requires multiple shots
>
Wooded Holes with tight lines
>
Good Change of Elevation & Wide variety of holes

Cons: Poor Signage - Hard to follow course if unfamiliar with it
>
Short Course - threw a driver once, mostly threw a buzzz, stalker, or putter if that gives you any indication of what the course is like
Other Thoughts: Is it bad that I birdied almost every hole? Or am I that good? It was fun because every hole felt like an ace run
>
Fun course, I would definitely play it again, but not as challenging as I would have liked or was expecting from everything I've heard about the course. There are definitely some wooded holes that are difficult, but there seemed to be plenty of manageable lines through the trees.
>
Honestly, this course just didn't live up to the hype for me.
>
There was a ton of people there though - Great Environment and Great for Newer Players

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Ridge

5+    7/10/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: dudiablo
Played: 63  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is short enough from the red tees to be very exciting. Nearly every hole is able to be aced.

The White and Blue tees offer added difficulty that is lacking from the concrete red tees.

There are some great signature type holes (9 and 10) that play over a wooded ravine which offers a very unique shot.

Elevation comes into play on many holes.

Wooded holes require accuracy, as well as good shot and line selection.

Open holes have a tendency of being very windy, which provides added difficulty.

Most every disc in your bag will probably find its way into a round out here, but the course CAN be shot with just a mid and a putter.(from the red tees)

Concrete tees are in good condition, and tee signs are very descriptive.

Course is placed in a very well manicured park with your basic amenities (bathroom, water fountains, ect.)

Practice basket (now with concrete tee) near parking lot on the way to 1st tee.

Cons: White and Blue tees are natural, and can be difficult to locate. These tees also do not have diagrams of the hole as the red tee does, simply a post indicating distance to hole. (which could change weekly)

Walk from 13 to 14 could be confusing for the first time playing the course.

Walk from 18 to parking lot isn't ideal but isn't terrible.
Other Thoughts: Quail Ridge is a fun little course that has a great following, and is home to a great club. A combination of this and the courses beginner friendly nature causes the course to be pretty frequently crowded, but good flow does help to limit a bogged down round.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for everyone

1    4/8/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park that has a lot of other activities present, like a horseshoe hall of fame, and bike trails. Disc golf is well separated though, I don't imagine there would be any interferences.
- Holes are pretty much split between a hilly wooded area, and some more open areas. The wooded area has a great variety of lines, difficulty, length, and hilliness. A lot of straight holes, like #5, #7, #8, and #9 have enough trees to force hitting a gap, and holes like #10 and #12 have turns to the left and right. Accuracy is definitely important. Lots of hills here as well; #5 has a very sloped green, #7 is blind with a hump in the middle, #8 is downhill, #9 and #10 are both good valleys, #12 is uphill. Lots of sloped greens and nasty, nasty rollaways are present here.
- Lots of holes in the open have a good wrinkle to them as well. #3 is a blind RHBH anny into the woods, with a sloping green behind. #4 is a blind, tight spike hyzer into the woods, with another sloped green. #6 has a pin tucked behind trees, #14 is a downhill shot with the basket on the right, next to or in the woods, #15 is a WALL of trees with a tiny little gap; an overhand shot is the only real option there. #16 is a valley shot with trees lining the bottom, and #17 is good downhill gap shot with trees. None of these are gimmees, by any means.
- As listed above, there are lots of elevation changes, from start to finish. Both and down off the tee, valleys and humps in the fairways, and sloping greens in lots of places. Adds a great deal of enjoyment, challenge, or both, on most holes.
- A good deal of baskets positions here, with many more (hopefully) on the way, can really change things up. Length, and lines, can be drastically altered. Add on the various pro tees, and the course really changes - averages an additional 100' per hole, with some nasty lines.
- Great pads, signage, and baskets. Navigation isn't too bad; though I did have a guide so no guarantees! Practice basket is more for approach practice over putting, that is interesting.
Cons: - A few holes are pretty open, and don't need any particular shot. #1 is pretty wide open, #2 is a simple hyzer shot, #13 is open on the right, and #18 is open on the right.
- Holes in the woods are pretty similar, in terms of terrain and trees. If you can execute the lines, most are easily reachable in one shot. From the red tees at least.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a very fun course that offers a great variety of shots. Wooded holes are more fun over challenging... as long as you can stay clean! Plenty of spots to get into big trouble, from start to finish. Open holes allow for bigger drives, but still have enough character to keep things interesting. I would recommend this course to everyone, of all skill levels.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging course

2-4    2/5/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: TreeHate
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course well maintained, no trash, beautiful scenery, baskets in good condition. Wouldv liked to see a few different placements of the baskets, but overall a great place to play.
Cons: I wanted to give this course a higher rating, but it was a tad hard to find, there were no signs to holes 1 and 2, and a few spots were very muddy this winter, couldv used some wood chips in a couple areas.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of my Favorite course to play in St. Louis

5+    1/21/2012   1/23/2012
Review By: tuber33
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Has a great mix or short 3's with trees, and longer open holes with ante shots.
Cons: The only bad thing i have to say about the course is that its so far from where i live in eureka, mo.
Other Thoughts: We need more course like this, this course is very fun to play at.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.