Wentzville, MO 
Quail Ridge Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #1 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 361ft.   3 / 448ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Red Tee (straight ahead through an often wind-whipped fairway)



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    8/15/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: Broll
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: has a lot of neat elevation changes along with nature at it's fullest. majority of the holes are in the woods and has some open holes that are a good blend. nice park and very clean.
Cons: not very technical course, you will catch yourself throwing the same on every hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Some cool shots

1    7/17/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 23  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course makes cool use of elevation. I especially like the shots where you're shooting over a valley to a pin on the other side.
Cons: The grass gets really high and it's easy to lose a disc. Use a spotter. I spent a lot of time in the weeds trampling around looking for missing discs and I ended up with a tick on me.
Other Thoughts: I'd imagine the course plays very different from the winter to the summer. In the summer, the grass in the rough is super high. I lost a Groove in the grass on #18. If anybody finds it, I'd appreciate a call. Thanks.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Local Friendly

5+    6/16/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: smokey102977
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: It is an easy course to play. I have yet to run into a bunch of crowds. The tight fairways challenge your control. Greens are tight and can play fast. Parking can be a problem on weekends since the park is used by other recreation.
Cons: It is very local friendly. Course becomes nearly impossible to play if it has been raining. Too many holes that can be parked in one shot.
Other Thoughts: Needs to be redesigned!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but fun

1    10/18/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: BreuerKyle
Played: 52  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads
>
Requires multiple shots
>
Wooded Holes with tight lines
>
Good Change of Elevation & Wide variety of holes

Cons: Poor Signage - Hard to follow course if unfamiliar with it
>
Short Course - threw a driver once, mostly threw a buzzz, stalker, or putter if that gives you any indication of what the course is like
Other Thoughts: Is it bad that I birdied almost every hole? Or am I that good? It was fun because every hole felt like an ace run
>
Fun course, I would definitely play it again, but not as challenging as I would have liked or was expecting from everything I've heard about the course. There are definitely some wooded holes that are difficult, but there seemed to be plenty of manageable lines through the trees.
>
Honestly, this course just didn't live up to the hype for me.
>
There was a ton of people there though - Great Environment and Great for Newer Players

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Ridge

5+    7/10/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: dudiablo
Played: 76  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is short enough from the red tees to be very exciting. Nearly every hole is able to be aced.

The White and Blue tees offer added difficulty that is lacking from the concrete red tees.

There are some great signature type holes (9 and 10) that play over a wooded ravine which offers a very unique shot.

Elevation comes into play on many holes.

Wooded holes require accuracy, as well as good shot and line selection.

Open holes have a tendency of being very windy, which provides added difficulty.

Most every disc in your bag will probably find its way into a round out here, but the course CAN be shot with just a mid and a putter.(from the red tees)

Concrete tees are in good condition, and tee signs are very descriptive.

Course is placed in a very well manicured park with your basic amenities (bathroom, water fountains, ect.)

Practice basket (now with concrete tee) near parking lot on the way to 1st tee.

Cons: White and Blue tees are natural, and can be difficult to locate. These tees also do not have diagrams of the hole as the red tee does, simply a post indicating distance to hole. (which could change weekly)

Walk from 13 to 14 could be confusing for the first time playing the course.

Walk from 18 to parking lot isn't ideal but isn't terrible.
Other Thoughts: Quail Ridge is a fun little course that has a great following, and is home to a great club. A combination of this and the courses beginner friendly nature causes the course to be pretty frequently crowded, but good flow does help to limit a bogged down round.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for everyone

1    4/8/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 460  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park that has a lot of other activities present, like a horseshoe hall of fame, and bike trails. Disc golf is well separated though, I don't imagine there would be any interferences.
- Holes are pretty much split between a hilly wooded area, and some more open areas. The wooded area has a great variety of lines, difficulty, length, and hilliness. A lot of straight holes, like #5, #7, #8, and #9 have enough trees to force hitting a gap, and holes like #10 and #12 have turns to the left and right. Accuracy is definitely important. Lots of hills here as well; #5 has a very sloped green, #7 is blind with a hump in the middle, #8 is downhill, #9 and #10 are both good valleys, #12 is uphill. Lots of sloped greens and nasty, nasty rollaways are present here.
- Lots of holes in the open have a good wrinkle to them as well. #3 is a blind RHBH anny into the woods, with a sloping green behind. #4 is a blind, tight spike hyzer into the woods, with another sloped green. #6 has a pin tucked behind trees, #14 is a downhill shot with the basket on the right, next to or in the woods, #15 is a WALL of trees with a tiny little gap; an overhand shot is the only real option there. #16 is a valley shot with trees lining the bottom, and #17 is good downhill gap shot with trees. None of these are gimmees, by any means.
- As listed above, there are lots of elevation changes, from start to finish. Both and down off the tee, valleys and humps in the fairways, and sloping greens in lots of places. Adds a great deal of enjoyment, challenge, or both, on most holes.
- A good deal of baskets positions here, with many more (hopefully) on the way, can really change things up. Length, and lines, can be drastically altered. Add on the various pro tees, and the course really changes - averages an additional 100' per hole, with some nasty lines.
- Great pads, signage, and baskets. Navigation isn't too bad; though I did have a guide so no guarantees! Practice basket is more for approach practice over putting, that is interesting.
Cons: - A few holes are pretty open, and don't need any particular shot. #1 is pretty wide open, #2 is a simple hyzer shot, #13 is open on the right, and #18 is open on the right.
- Holes in the woods are pretty similar, in terms of terrain and trees. If you can execute the lines, most are easily reachable in one shot. From the red tees at least.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a very fun course that offers a great variety of shots. Wooded holes are more fun over challenging... as long as you can stay clean! Plenty of spots to get into big trouble, from start to finish. Open holes allow for bigger drives, but still have enough character to keep things interesting. I would recommend this course to everyone, of all skill levels.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging course

2-4    2/5/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: TreeHate
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course well maintained, no trash, beautiful scenery, baskets in good condition. Wouldv liked to see a few different placements of the baskets, but overall a great place to play.
Cons: I wanted to give this course a higher rating, but it was a tad hard to find, there were no signs to holes 1 and 2, and a few spots were very muddy this winter, couldv used some wood chips in a couple areas.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of my Favorite course to play in St. Louis

5+    1/21/2012   1/23/2012
Review By: tuber33
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Has a great mix or short 3's with trees, and longer open holes with ante shots.
Cons: The only bad thing i have to say about the course is that its so far from where i live in eureka, mo.
Other Thoughts: We need more course like this, this course is very fun to play at.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Noob Course

2-4    9/2/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: TroyMcClure
Played: 89  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Course is nice and short for newer players. Good community of disc golfer to help you improve your game.
Cons: If you are looking for a challenge, this course has a few holes to tickle your fancy.
Other Thoughts: Nice course, wish it was a harder

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Quail ridge

5+    8/4/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: Dlaymo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great walk through awesome woods. This course has some holes that are visually awesome. Holes that look impossible but are fair. Very fun to see you disc glide through so many obstacles. The back 9 has four different pin locations that significantly change the hole.
Cons: Back pin placements seem almost impossible and i fear having lost discs from a few holes. I have not played the blues but plan to this weekend. I do wish they would change the baskets more often
Other Thoughts: Hole 4 plays the most difficult....a drive up the left side of the fairway makes a shot through the trees an easier approach. Holes 14 and 17 both require left to right drives. Hole number 13 is still under construction so the practice basket is still being used.....this makes the hike between 12 and 13 a little longer than typical.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.