Wentzville, MO 
Quail Ridge Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #9 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 287ft.   3 / 313ft.   3 / 412ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Red Tee (tight lines available down both left and right side of fairway)



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Great Course

5+    6/27/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: CrimsonRavyn
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is one of my favorite course, although I only play it a few times a year because of the hour drive. It is well maintained and normally has a nice breeze. It has some open holes and some wooded holes. They are all fairly long (3-5 par), and you can't see the baskets right away, but this added to the challenge. My favorite hole is 14 or 15. The hole is thought dense woods, over over the dense woods. The basket is scene and is hard to get to either way. The grass can get a little high in places, but is mowed often by the park. There are bathrooms a plenty and a walking path that runs next to part of the course. There are also playground thoughout the park.
Cons: There are a lot of bugs, so wear bug spray. There is also a lot of holes with very little shade, so wear sunscreen. Also beware the stinging insects.
Other Thoughts: This course can get crowded, but it is big enough that you only see people ever once awhile. Most groups are only 2-4 people, but occtionally a large group does come though. It is a great place to watch others throw.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

1    6/4/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: tdortch
Played: 60  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course. All kinds of shot types, a nice mix of fields and trees. The first three are open more or less, then you get to the woods and it really gets interesting. There are tight tunnel shots, uphill and downhill, dog legs in both directions. Just a great overall course. It definitely ranks as my favorite in this area. Once you get to the woods, you better bring your control game!
Cons: I didn't find much about this course that I didn't like, other than not really getting to let loose on a drive. There are a few spots that you can, but the longest was about 310'. There are pro pads on the holes, but I could not find them. There were white bricks not too far back from the normal pad, but the distance difference was way off according to the signs. Not sure what was going on there.
Other Thoughts: You can play a lot of this course with a midrange. Only 5 holes were at or right around 300'. This one is all about control and good putting.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic

1    2/7/2009   2/8/2009
Review By: REDARMY
Played: 32  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/17/2009
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clear signs to point you towards the course.

Big parking lot with a bathroom and the info kiosk (with scorecards and a course map) all as soon as you pull up. Practice basket is also placed handily nearby.

Benches at most holes, trash and recycling cans at every hole.

Great signs to point you towards the next hole from the pin, plus the maps at the tees have arrows to direct you which way to go afterwards. Well beaten-in trails makes finding the next tee even easier.

Nice wood tee signs with simple maps on them; easy to figure out if you can decyhper the color codes.

Nice big concrete pads.

Moderately hilly, so the whipping wind makes you think twice when teeing off on the open holes of the course.

Fantastic pin placements (holes 5 and 10 stick out in particular).

Not many easy ways through to the pins on the wooded holes. Shot selection is key.

Great balance of uphill, downhill, and hyzer/anhyzer shots.

Grounds are very well kept. Minimal underbrush and grass was nice and short.

Very busy park, but interference with golfers is virtually nil.

Friendly locals. All 3 groups i ran into while playing solo either offered to join them or quickly play through.
Cons: White and blue tees are very poorly marked. Bring along someone you don't like and make them trudge around to find them.

Wooded holes are treacherous after rain/snow with the hills & mud combo. Wear crappy-grippy shoes when playing after inclimate weather.

Flags sticking out of the basket tops would be fantastic (or just some sort of color to make the baskets stand out against the grey winter landscape).

As well thought-out as the place is, the looong
walk back to the parking area from 18 is the single biggest blemish for this course.
Other Thoughts: Very impressive facilities combined with an equally impressive course. Weenie arms like me have a legit chance of scoring under par for the round. Bombers will probably get frustrated at the lack of distance.

Holes 11 and 13 are great for CTP runs.

Top 5 in St. louis and i'll be back for sure.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Top Notch

1    12/28/2008   12/28/2008
Review By: JesseHall31
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is definitely one of the nicest courses in the St. Louis area. The park is very well maintained and has log cabin rest rooms a short walk away from every hole. The course features every shot imaginable and provides an excellent challenge. There are scorecards and signs that point to the next hole.
Cons: The white tee placements don't have concrete pads and were hard to find. The chains in each basket were rusted out and could use a replacement.
Other Thoughts: Not many complaints about this course. The holes are well marked and feature a variety of shot possibilities. A formidable challenge for any disc golfer.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 review from an avid

5+    11/17/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: Gflap
Played: 314  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
22 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent variety as far as wooded and open holes. Nice concrete tee pads from the red tees. Great course for beginners as well as advanced players. Nice tee signs.
Cons: Can be difficult to follow at times--longer walks from hole 12 to 13 and from hole 13 to 14. White and blue tees difficult to locate unless you hook up with a local.
Other Thoughts: Busy course when weather is nice. Alternate pin placements would add to the experience.

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Good coarse

2-4    9/13/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: Charger440
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tounament coarse.
Well maintained
Has a very nice mix of shots needed to score well.
Concrete tees
Cons: Beginners can get in over theirs heads fast on this coarse.
Coarse can be hard to follow.
At times can be highly played making you have to wait at some holes.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a nice coarse if you want a challenge. The designers definatly put some thought into challenging even the best of disk golfers while still being quite playable for the less experianced group.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Course in St. Charles

1    6/3/2008   6/26/2008
Review By: Chucktown
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quail Ridge is the first course I played at in Missouri and it remains to be my favorite. The course uses the all the terrain and obstacles the park has to offer. Holes 1- 3 give you plenty of practice to get your drive down and the rest require all the shots in your bag. You can play this course with one disc or everything you have. White and Blue Tees are now easier to find due to to new 3 ft wood posts! New pin placements are being installed! There are 8 holes with I think at least 3 new placements and some have 4. They are challenging too, most focus on making the holes a little bit longer and require more shaped shots. Look for the placements to be moving frequently once leagues start in spring!
Cons: The course can be a little hard to walk. Hole 14 is a long ways from 13 and the walk back to the car from 18 can be tough after walking all 18.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for hole 10 after you play hole 12.

Hole 13 is unplayable right now due to erosion problems, new grass is being grown there to help with the problem. Hopefully it will open again soon.
My friends and I have been walking to the trees by the walking path after 18 and throwing to the practice basket for a blind shot to replace #13.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Holes 3 - 13 make this course worth it

6/9/2008   6/9/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of wooded areas
Good use of elevation
Rewards accurate drives
Nice signage on tees
Cons: Confusing to find first tee
There could be a couple extra signs between certain holes...locals have it dialed in, it took me a few "walk arounds" to find a couple of holes
A few holes redundant
Other Thoughts: I love tight woods, so most of this course was a blast for me. I got 4 birdies in the woods, so if you are accurate you get rewarded since the holes are pretty short-I actually overshot a few of the holes (being fortunate enough to thread everything)
This course is the first I've played in the St. Louis area, so I can't judge it based on others, but it was well worth the stop for me as I drove from St. Louis to Columbia and I would recommend it.
I played at 3ish on a Monday afternoon, so it was empty and pleasant.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Good

5+    8/25/2007   8/26/2007
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 137  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 19.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2008
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is in a very busy park, and many of the early holes interact with other park uses. It is a good exposure point for the sport. The park has a nice rolling terrain with some treacherous areas with severe drop offs, and the course design uses this to create several challenging pin placements. The early and late holes are fairly open, while the holes # 4-12 are tucked into a heavily wooded area. All and all it provides a good variety of shots.
Cons: The concrete tees are fairly easy, and the pro tees are poorly marked and difficult to find. The course flows poorly. You play past the parking lot on the back and then have to walk through some holes to get back to your car. There are a couple of short "gimmicky" holes such as hole #15, which is a 160 ft shot with a line of 40 ft. tall evergreen trees right in fairway that you cant go under or around. You are forced to tommy or grenade over the top to a blind basket with an O.B. fence nearby. With the land available, some better holes could have been designed.
Other Thoughts: The park rangers are very nit-picky about stopping you. Don't speed in the park or show up with expired plates!
This is a good course, and well worth the time to play. However, the St. Louis area has at least five better courses.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Tough course...but not too tough

5+    5/11/2007   7/3/2007
Review By: tomschillin
Played: 143  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love the woods...and this course has lots of woods...and a long arm isn't needed from the concrete pads...nice pads and baskets, plus a practice basket...there are several good ace runs, but those same holes quickly turn into boges and doubles if you hit a tree...first 3 holes are basically open, then you get into the trees, open to trees and trees to open on the next 7 or so...hole 10 & 11 are my favorite on the course, if i remember correctly it's 10 that is kind of a hilltop to hilltop with a severe chasm in between, and then 11 is a nice little downhill ace run with the putter...12 is back up a hill with a little Anny on it...last 5 holes are playing basically in the open, but are surrounded by trees...it's a really nice park with really nice amenities, bathrooms throughout, walking path, and playground for the kids, plus some nice pavilions...
Cons: pro tees aren't marked really well...it's a long walk from 12 to 13 or 13 to 14, i can't remember the numbering, and then once done with 18 you kinda have to walk back through the 13 or 14 fairway to get back to the parking lot...
Other Thoughts: this is my favorite course in the STL area...although Sioux Passage and Endicott are a close second, this course mixes the best from both those courses...the park is a super nice park that has gotten more and more popular as the area populates, there's a dog park there, and some nice walking trails too...keep an eye out for walkers and for park rangers...i was warned by a ranger for having my dog off leash, it was just a warning but if it happened a second time I would have gotten a 100 dollar fine and been banned from the park for 1 year, how they enforce that i don't know...but keep an eye out for the ranger, they're out there...

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.