Cascade Township, MI 
Cascade Township Park Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #15 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 387ft.   4 / 387ft. Par / Distance:
Follow the path to the new/alternate #15 tee, I think? The old map shows the #15 tee right next to the #14 basket.



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    5/13/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: Durco
Played: 64  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice long holes
- some 'must get' shorter holes (#3, #5 and #8)
- a few sweet par 4s!
- good place to work on distance shots, work on playing in the wind or just to practice in general.
- usually not too busy
Cons: - can be busy with non disc golf activities (soccer, walkers, baseball parent's parking in 11s fairway and green)

- a lot of the holes are dangerous to non disc golfers. #1 is a longer hole (375-400ft) playing into what is usually a headwind (or a left to right headwind) The parking lot is on the right side of the green starting at about 325ft off the tee. More dangerous to ppls cars.

-The back 9 is long shots + wind + walking/ biking paths + soccer field + tennis courts + playground + parking lot = dangerous. The good thing is that the park goers and most disc golfers seem very aware of each other here.
-Hole #13s tee is in #12's fairway.... IDK what to say about this.. other than IDK how anyone could think this is a good idea....

-Hole #16s tee shot is esp sketchy IMO. It's a par 4, 600ft+, downhill and there is a large playground on the left side of the fairway from about 250-350 off the tee... right where a shot thrown too high, short throws, shanked righty sidearm shots, pulled over lefty shots, lefty sidearms shots that are too high... etc.. will end up landing. The prevailing wind is a headwind.... adding to the fun....

-Hole #18 has a blind walking path coming in from the right at about 3/4 of the way down the fairway. . <-- Be esp. careful on this one.

Baskets are Mach New IIs, which don't have many chains.
Other Thoughts: -Overall the course itself is fun. The front 9 is really fun! There is good variation of hole lengths. So, you will throw a bunch of dif. discs off the tee. I esp enjoy hole #6 (downhill about 400ft). It's fun to unload your bag on.

-The back 9 is fun, but the layout is really dangerous to non disc golfers IMO.

-Some of the distances on the back 9 are really, really off. Holes #11 and #12 come to mind.. esp #12.

-Fun course, just be careful/ mindful of the non disc golfers.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 18 Hole Course

1    6/15/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very nice elevation change, creates a good course instead of just going back and forth straight shots.
- Not too wild on hyzers and anhyzers but it takes advantage of the hills and the trees.
- Hole 15 is well over 500ft. I believe and is a nice challenge for players who like to see how far they can drive a disc.
- Nice Chainstar baskets, numbers on top to help players
Cons: - Dirt tees (okay, but cement is nice to have)
- Very poor design for navigation. I would have been lost if it had not been for the map I printed off before arriving there. Make sure you study the map before playing too.
- Hole 10 plays over a soccer field... bad dice there.
- The designs... I do not know what they were thinking when they made this course!!! There are roads and walking paths going through the park and the holes do nothing to avoid them. That is more of a challenge than the holes themselves!
Other Thoughts: - Overall, it was a good course for distance and 18 holes, but for overall playing I think I will avoid it unless it is a dead day and there is almost no one around on the course/park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 RE-DESIGN ME!

5+    6/23/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Star Destraayer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 Chainstars are set in a beautiful and well maintained township park. Rolling hills and sparse trees come into play with a variety of hole lengths. The forgiving nature of each fairway allows for multiple different flight paths. A couple of signature holes allow for some big bombs that may cause one to throw more than one disc. The course is conveniently located right off I-96.
Cons: Many fairways play dangerously too close to other fairways, parking lots, walking paths and other park facilities; moreover, rendering a few holes unplayable during peak hours. The tee pads are embarrassing at best, being dirt skids with no signs, no benches,no trash cans, or anything else characteristic of disc golf courses. Navigation is almost impossible with no signs indicating the next tee pad's whereabouts with several long walks in between holes. The course is plagued by wind due to the adjacent interstate and airport. Flooding occurs on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Unless you are with a local disc golfer, forget about making a trip to this course. I've been playing this course for years and I'm still not certain of the exact locations of every tee off. Yes, there are several fun holes, but all the non-disc golfers wondering around the fairways will make you nervous. Make sure you have a strong 'wind game' or you will become frustrated fast. The park has so much unused land that one will be left wondering why the hell such a design was chosen. Locals will tolerate it, visitors will be disappointed. Takes about 2:30 hours to play if you know what your are doing. A 20 minute drive from downtown GR.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Dearly needs mowing

5+    7/19/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: nitzua
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Open, nice variation of hole length. Baskets are quality, but a few are buried way too low.
Cons: Rough is currently very, very long and basically ruins the course. Also, there are pedestrians constantly walking the paths in the park that get in the way of throws.

 Stay away on sunny days

1    8/7/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: scrotman
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 fairly diverse holes.
Cons: First 9 holes try and stay on the fairways, the rough is just 3ft torture. Hole 10 makes you wonder if there really are 18 holes because you must literally look for it. (its across the drive on the right midway down the fence.) A couple of holes have you throwing right next to parking lots and patios. Depending on your skill, i suggest skipping or throw and run.
Other Thoughts: Go on a moderate cool day with little sun. And plenty of water. 80 is not moderate i felt dead from dehydration after the 15th hole with 20oz of water.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/5/2008   4/6/2010
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A good amount of open shots and nice place to shoot. You can bomb a lot on this place and get some good turn out. There are a good amount of uphill and downhill shots and no brush or anything to lose discs.
Cons: No shade at all. A few holes are around roads and playgrounds so you may hit children or cars( my friend actually hit a car which drove right into his disc but no damage was done so they didn't care)
Other Thoughts: It's fun, you may want to go with someone who has been there cause it can be hard to figure out where to go or which bucket to shoot at sometimes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Decent Course With Some Major Flaws

2-4    7/15/2007   10/15/2009
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some fun holes, and even though it's pretty open it does have some trees and hills that it uses to its advantage to create some tricky holes. The fairways are mowed, and the weeds in the rough can be real tall, encouraging you to have accurate drives off the tees. A few of the holes favor backhand drives while others favor forehand drives. There's also a wooded area near some of the holes. This is a nice big park for disc golf, and it has become a good course for people to play, especially when there aren't any soccer games or baseball games being played and there aren't many cars in the parking lot either.
Cons: First of all, it would be nice if they could get cement tee pads so the players aren't standing on uneven ground when they tee off. There are quite a few holes on this course that are real close to the baseball fields and soccer fields, and it isn't safe to play those holes when those fields are being used, unless you're a real accurate thrower. There are also a few holes located near the parking lot, which means that on a busy day a lot of people's cars are in danger of getting hit by a disc that is thrown slightly off target. Some of the holes are way too short and easy to get a low score on. One other problem I have with this course is the par that's assigned for the holes. Most of these holes are in par 3 range, but a lot of them are labeled as par 4s, and at least one is labeled a par 5. There are holes that are long enough that they can be considered par 4s, but some of them are labeled as par 5s instead. This really doesn't make sense. It's way too easy to get under par on these so-called "par 4s" and "par 5s" because of how short and easy they are. Also, it would be nice if they could add some trees and bushes to some of the more open holes to help make them a little more fun and challenging to play.
Other Thoughts: I don't mind playing this course, but it's not a good idea to play here when there are soccer games and/or baseball games being played because some of those playing fields can interfere with people playing disc golf, and there are also a few holes where it would be easy for a player's disc to accidentally hit a car in the parking lot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Little Goofy Layout But, Fun

1    7/27/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: xrockfistx
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very open fairways and not too many trees to worry about. Great uses of elevation and not a very busy park. Nice long holes for those of you that enjoy courses with long holes. Most of them are about 400' I would guess. Easy to find and to get to.
Cons: Some of the shots are very goofy. 12 and 13 are in each others fair way and hole 15 is RIGHT next to the parking lot. If you have a stroller, sometimes pushing it up and down the hills can be it pain. Is deffinately doable, I do it all the time just be wary.
Other Thoughts: My finace hit a car with his frisbee on hole 15. Beware!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/23/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: Adaven
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park is beautiful and nice to walk especially in mid to late spring. The Course plays very long, several holes >400 and at least one >700 and these holes are very open so no worries about losing your discs in heavy forest.. Its not a very popular course and that can be great, you won't have to wait to play.
Cons: The pads are natural, which in itself isn't terrible, except they are not marked at all and since the course appears to be pretty new it can be very difficult to find the natural tee area. Course design I think could be improved, While I think there are some great holes (15) in general I think it was designed quickly and by someone who doesn't disc golf.
Other Thoughts: not much to it, its long and its open so if you don't like that combination then don't play here. I occasionally go because its a big distance course but I generally like more range in my courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.