Cascade Township, MI 
Cascade Township Park Share
Uploaded By: apdrvya Hole #1 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 381ft.   4 / 381ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

2-4    7/1/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: manonthemoon9
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course makes great use of elevation changes to enhance a course that otherwise may be repetitive in shot type
-Has some great long shots
-A couple of very fun and memorable holes (6,15,16)
-Great place to practice throwing in high winds
Cons: -Discs highly affected by wind frequently; some people may not enjoy this
-Positioned next to a busy freeway, less of a hazard for discs and more of a loud nuisance that takes away a bit of peacefulness
-The course is in a multi-use park, so caution is needed to not hit bystanders
Other Thoughts: This course is a great place to work with beginners as it offers some variety without too much punishment. That being said, it isn't extraordinary either. It is a great place to just go and throw a round or two on an afternoon, but it isn't necessarily a destination.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent place

5+    7/7/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: el_pwnzor
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Some really sweet hills that tinker with elevation (5, 14, 15)
Not very busy, you usually aren't stuck waiting on the course.
You won't have a hard time knowing where the next hole is.
Some holes on the last 9 are very, very long.
The trees pose a good challenge on many hills, and combined with elevation, leave you with a variety of shots and hole types.
Cons: Many holes have a fairway only 30 feet wide, surrounded by tall, unkept grass and shrubs. This makes it a nuisance to find lost discs!
The tall grass around this time of year makes your legs itchy if you spend too long in it; everyone I've played with has this problem.
There are many holes that are right beside parking lots, walking paths, and social gathering places. I've seen people get hit by discs before.
Some of the tees are lumpy.
Drinking fountains and the bathrooms are gross!
Other Thoughts: It's a great place to take beginners. No water, and the first 9 holes won't overwhelm them, and by the time they are posed with challenging hills, they will be up for it.

Windy fun

5+    10/10/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: TheKohn
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: front 9 is great, shorter holes with varied elevation and trees. no water hazards but there is a few spots you're in danger of losing a disc to the woods.
Cons: can get Extremely Windy!!! right next to the highway and airport. mostly open holes.

theres a couple spots that you have to throw over a road or really close to a parking lot

navigation can be a little confusing the first time you play here so print out a map or play with someone who's been there
Other Thoughts: i like this course as long as its not to windy (which it often is) but if its a nice day it can be a lot of fun.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Quick update

5+    5/19/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: balth99
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
Pros: After seeing some of the other reviews, I just wanted to say there are tee numbers, but no map. The course is freshly mowed, no trash and a great course for intermediate and above players. It's a truly fun and unique course despite the hazards below.
Cons: Players can easily lose discs to the interstate, bad safety hazards on several holes where the fairways cross the tees to other holes. Several shots across roads, near parking areas or tennis courts and walkways. Beginners should expect to bogey or above on most holes just for safety concerns.
Other Thoughts: If you don't have a map (look under files/links), you may think this is a 9-hole course like the first three times we played here!

 Not as long as you think

1    9/12/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: discgolf13
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of room for big arms. Mowed fairways help navigation. Some elevation changes, one long uphill. Not alot of disc golf traffic.
Cons: The downloadable map with scorecard is decieving. The lengths listed on card are nowhere near actual distances(play far shorter than listed). Couldnt find tee off on #14(blind uphill drive). No signs. Couldnt use intended tee box on #10 due to kids soccer game. Lots of traffic due to soccer and field hockey games going on. Played early Sat morning.
Other Thoughts: Dont go on a Sat morning. At least not during soccer and field hockey season. With signage this would be a really nice course. Need to get the scorecard found on this site figured out as it is not correct to actual distance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 nice manicured, long hole park

5+    9/8/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: Terry C
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Long holes, a couple over 600ft
-great safe area, big park
-not too crowded ever
-18 holes
-nice new baskets
-beautiful open fairways
-elevation changes
Cons: -download a course map or youll never figure this park out
- the layout of the course is a bit goofy
-several baskets near parking lots (literally like 5 feet from parked cars)
-must throw over the road with cars driving by some times.
-holes criss crossing each other
-mediocre course design, theres so much room here and they laid this course out wrong in my opinion.
-no pads , tees are natural
-no signs, poles, markings for the course whatsoever
-along the highway for the first 5 holes,
- it is usually very windy.
-lacking more obstacles, most holes are just very long with 1-2 trees to avoid.
Other Thoughts: This park used to be a pole course, i played it 15 years ago.It continues to get better every year. Plan on being here a while, lots of ground to cover.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Getting better all the time

5+    8/24/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: ovar
Played: 73  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cascade has been getting better since it was created 3 years ago. The county now only mows the fairways making it much easier to navigate. The course is extremely long and will give you a lot of practice with your drivers. A variety of shots make this course a lot of fun. Uphill, downhill, flat, blind, short, LONG, left, right....great course.
Cons: Dirt pads accompanied with no signs can make the course difficult to navigate the first time you play it. But now that they just cut the fairways it's much easier to see where you should be going.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 long and windy

5+    6/28/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: underpar24
Played: 118  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: long holes. nice rolling hills. not to many people even in the playing area.
Cons: hard to find next tee pads, not cemented and no signs. next to airport so it is always windy.
Other Thoughts: on one of the back nine holes there is a parking lot running along side the fairway. when cars are parked there you need to be careful. it annoys me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great potential

2-4    7/5/2008   10/5/2008
Review By: chuckw
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of elevation on holes 4,5,7,10,15, and 16, and obstructed holes, especially 4, 5, 12, and 14.
Watch the tennis courts on 17.
You will need an arm as many holes exceed 400'. The short holes can be quite a challenge, especially 13 -- basket is a few feet from OB. Control is essential.
Cons: Easy to get lost -- No tee pads or signs -- I played it over the July 4th weekend, and while the park was busy, not many folks were disc golfing.
I did run into some local disc golfers on my last round, and they said that they had plans to improve the course.

The drainage stinks, there was lots of "casual water" -- wetlands really -- when I played it. Especially around 3, 11, and 12.
Other Thoughts: The course is relatively "young" so I am confident that the local club will bring it to fruition in time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Open Layout

1    8/21/2008   9/18/2008
Review By: PhattD
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 23.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course with some holes to challenge some pretty long arms. Really nice use of the somewhat hilly terrain. # 15 was the signature hole of the course IMO. 360' to the pin down hill and then right back up again with trees at the bottom creating a gap to shoot through. If you can hit the gap andhave reasonable distance you're golden otherwise it's trouble.
Cons: Baskets are marked with hole numbers and that's about all the help you get. Look for dirt patches and then try to figure out what basket they're pointing at. Had to make up some tee's on our own.
Other Thoughts: I don't agree with the am par listed but I am not sure what protocol is for changing it. I play in the Am3/Rec/Novice division in my leagu and I shot a 55 my first time ever on the course, so par 73 seems a little high. I am also skeptical on the distances list, they seemed shorter, but I had no measuring devices andwasn't sure I was throwing from the right tee.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.